The thing about distortion pedals..., What's the big difference between them?

nkphnx
post Jul 12 2008, 01:39 AM

390 posts

There are lots of combinations to get that generic rock tone... Easiest is to just use a Marshall amp and maybe a subtle gained Tube Screamer at the front to give it some extra crunch and body... No heavy metal pedals here of course... wink.gif
frusciante
post Jul 15 2008, 04:43 AM

48 posts

To me,soloing using Distortion is disastrous.Riffing is cool.Overdrive is ideal for soloing.You can also try to blend both to get a unique sound.Try activate both togather.

This post has been edited by frusciante: Jul 15 2008, 04:43 AM
TSthebassist
post Jul 16 2008, 09:58 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(nkphnx @ Jul 12 2008, 01:39 AM)
There are lots of combinations to get that generic rock tone... Easiest is to just use a Marshall amp and maybe a subtle gained Tube Screamer at the front to give it some extra crunch and body... No heavy metal pedals here of course... wink.gif
Tube Screamer? That's new. Haven't exactly heard of that XD

Care to elaborate a bit?

Added on July 16, 2008, 9:59 pm
QUOTE(frusciante @ Jul 15 2008, 04:43 AM)
To me,soloing using Distortion is disastrous.Riffing is cool.Overdrive is ideal for soloing.You can also try to blend both to get a unique sound.Try activate both togather.
Thanks for the tip mate. I'm using my lead's super overdrive right now.

And we've got a song that's got a double solo in there somewhere and it sounds pretty awesome.

This post has been edited by thebassist: Jul 16 2008, 09:59 PM
blacktrix
post Jul 16 2008, 10:13 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Tube Screamer, Ibanez TS-9. the Green Beastie...... used by musician's everywhere to boost their amps.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ibanez_Tube_Screamer

It's perhaps one of THE most famous overdrive pedals used.

For me? I prefer the ZW-44 Overdrive.

This post has been edited by blacktrix: Jul 16 2008, 10:13 PM
sean392
post Jul 16 2008, 11:26 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

TS808 > TS9
xD

nkphnx
post Jul 17 2008, 02:59 PM

390 posts

Unlike the common Boss DS-1, the Tube Screamer retains the body in the output tone.. and with it's soft clipping, it's balances well with crunchy British amps such as a Marshall... go try it out..
TSthebassist
post Jul 25 2008, 04:36 AM

109 posts

Hey all thanks for the tips. Going out to look at Tube Screamers later today. Cheers.
fatboythin
post Jul 25 2008, 08:59 AM

LYN Insomniac
816 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Jul 16 2008, 11:26 PM)
TS808 > TS9
xD
So true, haha.

Btw, anyone tried a Maxon-808? Heard it was on par with the TS-808.
blacktrix
post Jul 25 2008, 11:17 AM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Yeah, Maxon was the original manufacturer of the Ts-808 under the Ibanez name. Take of some of the earlier Ibanez TS-808 and TS-9 cover and you can see the name Maxon printed on the boards.
sean392
post Jul 25 2008, 11:21 AM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(fatboythin @ Jul 25 2008, 08:59 AM)
So true, haha.
Btw, anyone tried a Maxon-808? Heard it was on par with the TS-808.
TS808 were made by Maxons anyway =/
Maxons ftw

gappy used to carry some maxon pedals, still do now i think
uber GAS I tell ya

bad monkey apparently is a very good copy of the TS808 (and it's cheap too)

ameerfirdaus
post Jul 27 2008, 12:21 PM

45 posts

digitech bad monkey is yes, very good OD pedal.

Bad Monkey RM 200 and a TS for 600, you choose
gapnap
post Jul 27 2008, 11:08 PM

1,782 posts

Maxon OD808 will blow an ibanez TS808 away ..

but trust me ..try the maxon with TUBES...

Maxon ROD-880...those are the real deal ..but its pricy lah ..around 250 USD
nkphnx
post Jul 28 2008, 09:41 PM

390 posts

Maxon is the original company before Ibanez bought them over... So basically they share the same designs... Onli thing different is the components used, such as the vintage op-amps chips which has been discontinued by semicon companies...
sean392
post Jul 29 2008, 12:54 AM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(nkphnx @ Jul 28 2008, 09:41 PM)
Maxon is the original company before Ibanez bought them over... So basically they share the same designs... Onli thing different is the components used, such as the vintage op-amps chips which has been discontinued by semicon companies...
Heh like TI's JRC4580D?? Is TI still making those?
My uni having a trip to TI but got class and plans
howwwwwwwww
nkphnx
post Jul 30 2008, 01:28 AM

390 posts

Not sure bout that but I think TI is switching its operations more towards digital ICs... NS on the other hand might have a similar device...
afad
post Oct 31 2008, 03:13 PM

308 posts

a little help here guys,
have anyone ever try MXR DIME DISTORTION?
how is it sound? can give me a short personal reviews?
thinking of getting one myself, so i wanna hear what do u guys thinks???

thanks...
nimrod2
post Oct 31 2008, 04:17 PM

the imba one
2,521 posts

i wan bass pedals! cry.gif

anyone knows any good ones?
afad
post Oct 31 2008, 04:21 PM

308 posts

sory bro, guitarist here...
fatboythin
post Oct 31 2008, 04:50 PM

LYN Insomniac
816 posts

QUOTE(afad @ Oct 31 2008, 03:13 PM)
a little help here guys,
have anyone ever try MXR DIME DISTORTION?
how is it sound? can give me a short personal reviews?
thinking of getting one myself, so i wanna hear what do u guys thinks???

thanks...
Don't know much about it, but I basically hate any product with Dime's name of it. Haha, check some videos of it on Youtube and reads up on the reviews I guess.

afad
post Oct 31 2008, 04:58 PM

308 posts

lol, and what is that about dimebag that u hate?
i dont know much about him, just that i want a metal distortion pedal,
just thought gonna give the mxr dd a try..

already checked the videos and reviews,
just wanna hear local reviews i think,
it just dont feel rite if i dont ask opinion from the forum for a certain things that i never heard of,
before i buy it biggrin.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0219sec    0.88    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 09:30 PM