There are so many fakes and replicas out there, with a huge range of pricing. I went to US site TireRack.com to find out price ranges of popular brands, omitting ones that are not so popular in MY. All prices converted to Ringgit using 4x
Advanti $3,000-4,000
BBS $4,800-20,000
HRE $8,000-11,000
O.Z. $5,000-7,500
Rays $9,000-12,000
SPARCO $3,000-5,000
Vorsteiner $7,000-9,000
So when someone sells a brand new set for RM1,200-2,000 from one of the names above, is it legit item? I met someone who paid RM2,000 for brand new BBS CH-R 19" for his 5-series and insists that it's original from a "well know rim retailer in shah alam". I know a chain that sells those for RM10,000 in person the quality is superbly made.
Performance aside, there's a huge safety concern and if family member or close friend gets into an accident there's no replacement parts there that can save you. I'm not asking to pay more, but know what you pay for. Sry for the rant, had to get this off my chest for buyer awareness
(BTW TireRack.com quite cool, you can see what your potentially new rim looks like on your car with their simulator)
Sport RIM Talk, Sport Rim + Tyers
Jun 27 2019, 09:57 AM
0.0157sec