Hedgehog Corner V5, My New Hideout

mattemily_85
post Feb 19 2009, 05:11 PM

watcha lookin at?
566 posts

hi all sifu2,

i'm reporting in first before i'm havin the female hedgie this saturday,now i wanna confirm with you all sifu2 that mind to show that how big is the 6 weeks old hedgie ar?and pls show me some all of your cage setup ar?
mattemily_85
post Feb 19 2009, 06:36 PM

watcha lookin at?
566 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Feb 19 2009, 05:49 PM)
wah, now u alao wanna take in hedgie?
yeah,got breeder wanna sell his hedgie of with 250 bucks for cinammon for female about 6 weeks old.so wanna see her condition 1st,pls advise me somemore info lah.
mattemily_85
post Feb 20 2009, 09:55 AM

watcha lookin at?
566 posts

QUOTE(Vanda @ Feb 19 2009, 07:38 PM)
well..u can see my cage setup previous page i think i got post..hedgie 6 weeks ? so 2 months lah ? mine 3 months old..maybe quite same size..i got post oso previous page...pg 68 if im not mistaken. biggrin.gif but mine albino type.. tongue.gif

in the day i put living world hse..like eskimo hse so my hedgie can sleep whole day in it..at nite i remove it and put in wheel..i got post vid my hedgie playing with it.. tongue.gif
almost 2 months lah bro,thats why i want some clue 1st that hoglet 2 months estimation is how big they are so i can judge it before buy.

really excited to get it 1 at tomorrow,anyway Vanda thanks for the info given.i will appreciate it so much.
mattemily_85
post Feb 20 2009, 10:32 AM

watcha lookin at?
566 posts

oohh ya,forget already that u are a hedgie owner also.haha...

thanks muchan biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

mattemily_85
post Feb 23 2009, 12:22 PM

watcha lookin at?
566 posts

today maybe i'm going to make a 2 lot housing that using a 4 inch PVC pipe for connecting the old house to a new house,yesterday nite my Spooky really active keep on running at the wheel all nite long till the wheel scratching sound very loud haha...

i want to get zoozone but heard this housing already has been stopped prod at market so i have no choice had to make own bigger housing,1 more thing i really curious want to know that how come all sifu2 can handle the hedgie at palm ya while the spine pooked up?as i know from the info from page 1 is not recommended to handle them with gloves.i really cannot tahan leh her spines doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif .
mattemily_85
post Feb 23 2009, 01:31 PM

watcha lookin at?
566 posts

QUOTE(livingmonolith @ Feb 23 2009, 12:40 PM)
um, maybe you can handle it when the quills are not erected? wink.gif

hahaha, we don't pick up the hedgehogs when it has its quills all up, it's a sign of being defensive. let it cool down a bit, perhaps will require a couple of minutes or so, once it's familiar with you i don't think it'll raise its quills when you put your hand nearby to pick it up. about the pain issue, i think it's more

btw, i think the 2nd-hand zoozone in garage sales is still available.
actually my girl Spooky also can say kinda tame already lah coz when i bring back home she already gila2 want to stay at my palm when i offering her to climb up but suddenly movement she quills up then my few finger bleeding.

i bought her a RC baby kibbles in small size but seems din eat at all since the saturday evening till today morning,izzit her too stress?i scare she over starve and die.
mattemily_85
post Feb 23 2009, 06:25 PM

watcha lookin at?
566 posts

QUOTE(Cherriec @ Feb 23 2009, 03:28 PM)
Would hedgehog be hard to keep as pets if one were to get one? hmm.gif
i dont think so it would be hard,it would be more curious for me to study their nature cause really unique and fun for me.
mattemily_85
post Feb 25 2009, 07:03 PM

watcha lookin at?
566 posts

QUOTE(X3nz @ Feb 25 2009, 06:21 PM)
i am juz curious cool2.gif

would a RC for dogs do for hedgehogs? 33% protein 20% fat and ETC @_@~!!

maybe i bought the wrong thing cry.gif

X3nz ohmy.gif
maybe wrong lah,i get mine RC babycat 34 if not mistaken this number.

very cute 1 this kibbles,all small2 nia.
mattemily_85
post Feb 25 2009, 09:04 PM

watcha lookin at?
566 posts

QUOTE(X3nz @ Feb 25 2009, 07:19 PM)
owh... mine are small and cute cute oso geh... juz its for dogs >_<!!!! ho no..... T_T dog fuuuud.. how to clear it... maybe eat it myself =(
maybe u can sell back at sales garages there mah for cheaper abit price,rather then nothing rite?

i not sure lah dog 1 can be serve to hedgie or not.
mattemily_85
post Feb 26 2009, 11:36 AM

watcha lookin at?
566 posts

QUOTE(X3nz @ Feb 26 2009, 03:18 AM)
owh yay!! thats gud news xD!!

thanks blush.gif
X3nz
haha save your money liao,my Spooky still seems like didn't eat much lah the kibbles.

i put 1 teaspoon for 2 days also seems like din touch at all,really scary lah but she looks like still very active.

however also i feed her 2 mealworms each night in case scare she very hungry for replacing the kibbles

can give any advice ar?almost 5 days already loh she like this.
mattemily_85
post Feb 26 2009, 02:13 PM

watcha lookin at?
566 posts

QUOTE(livingmonolith @ Feb 26 2009, 01:06 PM)
did you remove the remaining overnight kibbles? do add up to the existing in the bowl as some hedgehogs pick their food. sometimes if the kibbles don't smell 'fresh' enough, they won't eat it. may a kibble a two, but that's all.

always dispose the overnight kibbles regardless of how much it eats.

also, it the food sealed tight in the packaging or tupperwares after you first open? i once left my food package unsealed properly for a night and my hedgehog refused to eat until i bought a new one. now i keep my food in tupperwares instead of the original packaging.
i got changed but still remain the qtys looks like

yup i got sealed my RC inside the tupperware

Added on February 26, 2009, 2:15 pm
QUOTE(meento @ Feb 26 2009, 01:20 PM)
I would agree with livingmonolith...
Usually i would prefer to feed them right b4 i go to sleep at night..Then wake up in the morning most of the kibbles usually gone..then top up again b4 go to work...Maybe overnight kibble 'Masuk angin' hahaha....thats y the lil durian become a bit choosy...

Have u guys ever give ur hedgie wet cat food...coz sometimes when i feed ma cats, ma hedgie sometimes will wake up...i think is because of the smell..is it ok for consuming? hmm.gif
i got think before the question that can hedgie be feed cat wet food

but seems all ppl also say feed kibbles only so i consider other then kibble and mealworm is not suits.

This post has been edited by mattemily_85: Feb 26 2009, 02:15 PM
mattemily_85
post Feb 27 2009, 09:46 AM

watcha lookin at?
566 posts

QUOTE(empty_reg @ Feb 27 2009, 07:36 AM)
Is he weak? can see any sign of injuries?

Try giving hard boiled egg / boiled chicken breast meat together with kibbles, 30:70. See if it'll take the eggs / meat. Try not to offer mealworms anymore, they'll survive without it cause too much is not good.

If they'll take the eggs / meat willingly, then most probably they don't like the cat food. You can substitute the meat with other meats as well, but as long as not high in fats.

@ 11-11 : Most will categorized it as exotic.
what a miracle yesterday after wash her housing and changed bedding and finally i saw her ate like monster haha....almost 2 teaspoon she had rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

then hor,while i'm scooping her up suddenly she bite my thumb till don't wanna realease but luckily their teeth are not sharp haha.So manja her doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

eerrmm...try to feed her the another meal as you stated,izzit give the food in solid type or blend it?
mattemily_85
post Feb 28 2009, 02:46 PM

watcha lookin at?
566 posts

QUOTE(Vanda @ Feb 27 2009, 11:43 PM)
yeah at first..everyday just let ur hedgie smell ur hand..after awhile scoop it up and let it walk2 on ur hand..play with it..like mine it wont poke2 that much unless i disturb it sleeping or anything.. laugh.gif
i can pick up mine but she will gila2 sniff at your hand then bite 1 lah.She damn eats lots oohh...can eat till 2 tablespoon between 4 hours now,really have to stop this routine haha....
mattemily_85
post Mar 18 2009, 09:15 AM

watcha lookin at?
566 posts

QUOTE(meento @ Mar 18 2009, 09:03 AM)
Want to share some story with u guys to keep this thread alive… rclxms.gif
That other day, one of ma hedgie prison break herself…I think it was a well executed plan since me ma self never saw it coming…

MeenTo log, 13 Mac..

Princess A.K.A Lady ‘P’ was a descent hedgie and live a normal life as any other hedgie.. Sleeping and eating, that’s her routine all day long.. I’m quite happy with her…
But I was wrong… shakehead.gif

As usual, every night I would feed all ma pets before going to bed.. Princess would always greet me by sniffing ma hand..And I would always give her a treat as a memento for being such a good gul..
But I was wrong… shakehead.gif

Went to bad (I sleep on a futon bed) as usual that day, when around 3am I feel like something really sharp poking me.. Who in the world woke poke me during this time of hour, when suddenly I look down and saw Michelle trying to push her self under me…When she realize I’m awake, she juz pause there, looking at me like nothing happened…

The moral of the story is, don’t underestimate ur hedgie..
Both ma hedgie live in a custom made 4feet tank with the height is around 1.5feet..
But I have never cover the tank up coz I thought its impossible for them to climb out..
I think She climb out by climbing the box I put in as her hiding place...
Bummer.. doh.gif
yup this statement almost same as mine but mine not put together in 1 room with me lah.

mine escape from climbing up to the hiding box and jump down to floor,Luckily not high the housing i place at.

i feel so worried when wake up early in the morning and found that my hedgie MIA.

luckily found her back at the glass sliding door hehe...maybe wanna run away from me loh...

0.0514sec    1.13    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:03 PM