Hedgehog Corner V5, My New Hideout

wookp
post May 11 2009, 11:47 AM

497 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ May 11 2009, 11:40 AM)
can feed them bout 2-3 mealworms...
give them as treats...
only feed like 1-2 times a week can de
they love to eat mealworms...
Hey jitshiong! your hedgie is doing well. Got him a huge cage, will add photo later on. The fella's a bit aggressive only when i want to pick him up. Once he's in my hands, all ok ad... smile.gif No green color feces. That's good right? But one thing, he sleeps a lot when he's with you? Night time about say 2-3 am only come out and starts to sleep again at 7am.
wookp
post May 13 2009, 03:35 PM

497 posts

QUOTE(kaoru himura @ May 13 2009, 01:23 PM)
haha finaly i got i hoglet~! this guy so cute wor, cannot tahan see his innocent face.....rclxm9.gif he poke me quite alot when i wanna transfer him to his new home, then i leave him 3-4 hours alone with my baju busuk (3days old baju tidur...) then later at night i try to touch him, he sniff sniff then quickly climb my hand. he seemed happy playing on my hands, so i guess he already get used with me hahaha so happy~! i feend him 1 tablespoon of the ultra diet kibble, first leave a few kibblesm then the next morning licin d tongue.gif

i wanna name him Duriduri...but my sibling disagree, saying "wht kind of name is that~!?!" so now still thinking what name to give him...duriduri sound cute oso what... T_T
Congratulations on getting your new hedgie! One thing I noticed is that they actually like to crawl in narrow places. I wonder why...
wookp
post May 14 2009, 08:41 AM

497 posts

eric I have one question for you, how long did it take you to toilet train your hedgie? I mean ken ken... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wookp: May 14 2009, 08:42 AM
wookp
post May 17 2009, 11:30 AM

497 posts

eric, you do not put your wheel in always? My cage once i put the wheel hardly got space to move around...Zzzzz... One more question, how do you keep your meal worms alive? I buy twice already also about3 days later all turn black and die...And how often do you need to change your bedding?

This post has been edited by wookp: May 17 2009, 12:06 PM
wookp
post May 17 2009, 12:13 PM

497 posts

QUOTE(eric138 @ May 17 2009, 12:08 PM)
Soulslayer,

I put my wheel inside at night, then take it out  morning to wash and sun dry..

Mealies
- Story in Dark Place
- Did u poke hole on the container for them to breath?
- Did u feed them? I use rolled oats as bedding, then feed vege/fruits every alternate day.
- Did u let the mealies get in touch with water? Mealies die when get in contact with water. So whatever fruits/vege u give u must make sure it's dry... Don give those watery fruits like wtermelon...
No wonder my mealies die. I thought have to give them a drop of water everyday...plus i feed them mangoes the other day tongue.gif. Will keep that in mind. Thanks! One more thing, when did my nick change to soul slayer??? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by wookp: May 17 2009, 12:13 PM
wookp
post May 18 2009, 10:58 AM

497 posts

Yeah I wanted to ask that question as well...I read from somewhere that your hedgie scratching might mean it has the mites. Hmmm...
wookp
post May 18 2009, 04:50 PM

497 posts

From what I have read over the few weeks, you can rub a black cloth on their body as well to look for moving white particles. Another indication is that your hedgies quill will drop and mite free ones; the quill tends to be sharp on one end and slightly rounded on the other (Hair follicle). If it's sharp on both ends, it is also a sign of mites (but not definitive)
wookp
post May 25 2009, 07:08 PM

497 posts

Mine eats twice a day. Very picky eater. Until now can't get the fella to eat the food specially for hedgehogs. The fella prefers RC 34 kitten. To me, the RC smells a lot better, more fragrant than the Hedgehog food.
wookp
post May 25 2009, 07:24 PM

497 posts

QUOTE(eric138 @ May 25 2009, 07:15 PM)
haha..i think all hedgie are super duper picky eater.. Last time my kenken starve himself for 3days, then only started to eat RC.. RC kibbles seem bit more oily, and it smells like alot meat inside..haha..
Wah starve ar? Nowadays I put only 4 pieces of that hedgehog food campur with RC34 and Orion. All he whack habis except hedgehog food. Sure leave 2.5 piece!
wookp
post May 27 2009, 08:50 PM

497 posts

post more pics! Later anybody who comes into this thread sure kena poison
wookp
post Jun 1 2009, 09:42 AM

497 posts

Try scooping from the side with some woodchips if you are scared. If not, use a spoon to scoop the hedgehog out. Then put that fella onto your hand. The fella might roll into a ball but let him get used to your hand smell. Mine still spikes when I try to pick him up at first. So don't worry, it's normal. Another thing is try to play with him say at night. Do not kacau him in the afternoon. He'll be active and will accept you easier in the night.
wookp
post Jun 2 2009, 11:15 PM

497 posts

Great news fr meiixiin...Congratulations! Normally when I come back from work I'll wake my hedgie up. When I put the fella on my lap, the fella will sniff all over my clothes and starts licking it. I wonder why? Maybe it's because the fella smells left over perfume I applied earlier on?
wookp
post Jun 6 2009, 08:30 AM

497 posts

eric oh eric...On and off from time to time we get pictures of his ken ken...hahaha... Newbies that venture into this thread sure kena poison!
wookp
post Jun 7 2009, 10:52 AM

497 posts

i think it's pellets
wookp
post Jun 22 2009, 04:32 PM

497 posts

I just wanna drop by and tell jitshiong that his hedgie aka my TEQUILA is doing fine. growing well and is very easy to take care. But I think I need to change my housing already. Too small and no place to manouver. Anybody selling Zoozone? How big are they? I am looking at maybe 4 feet in length.
wookp
post Jun 22 2009, 11:51 PM

497 posts

I already got him a wheel on the very first day...everyday have to clean and he's familiar with me already.

Eh somebody selling zoozone2 ar?The one I am having currently was bought from petshack about 2 ft long. Put in the litter box, hideout, wheel and the foodtray already very congested.

0.0387sec    0.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:22 AM