5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Hedgehog Corner V5, My New Hideout

livingmonolith
post Nov 9 2008, 02:33 PM

821 posts

perhaps of old age maybe? since it's her third batch, i think her age is catching up already. but i think there's nothing wrong keeping her with her babies for the time being, unless the hoglets are already over 6 months old. they still need the mom's milk anyway.
livingmonolith
post Dec 11 2008, 05:34 PM

821 posts

wow, it's been reeeeaaaaaallllllllyy quiet here for a while isn't it?

where have all the hedgehog lovers gone to?
livingmonolith
post Dec 15 2008, 01:47 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(gaigene @ Dec 14 2008, 10:06 PM)
Hi all... long time no post here. Been very busy with work lately. Just want to ask a few questions. Sammy is now about 4 months old. Should I change to RC Kitten now or wait for another month or so?

Also thinking of buying some mealies for him. Is he old enough to eat them yet? I went to the pet shop in Taman SEA (near Ming Tien foodcourt). They had this "Super Worms" for sale. Are these ok for Sammy?

Thanks for the info....
introduction of new type of food should be done gradually, but there's no specific age as for when you introduce to it though. just add a little by little from day to day, and see if your hedgehog takes them. if not, you can try later. some advice though, some hedgehogs are really picky and sometimes won't eat other types of catfood. i have one of these picky hedgehogs and sometimes it's a struggle to stock up my catfood for them.

instead of superworms, why not try out the mealworms first? you can find superworms in most petstores, but i doubt if any hedgehog owners here will recommend superworms since they're a bit too huge and aggresive, you'll never know if they're capable of injuring your hedgehog. mind you, well-fed mealworms are pretty strong already too, and at times i have difficulty catching them! wink.gif
livingmonolith
post Dec 19 2008, 09:34 AM

821 posts

QUOTE(Wild_Rose @ Dec 18 2008, 04:34 PM)
My fren is having some problems with her hedgie, hope somebody can help her figure it out.

2 days ago, her niece played with the hedgehog. the hedgehog dropped down from the coffeetable. after the inccident, her hedgie started to have this 2 problems.

1. Hedgie is pooing greenish -.-
2. She said her hedgie is spitting out " white air liur "

Is this serious case?? anyway to help her? thanks in advance!
1. it is likely that the hedgehog is still in some state of shock which explains the green poop. how high exactly is the coffeetable? if you feel like it's high enough to bring injuries to the hedgehog, then chances are it did. take it to the vet for better check-up. although the hedgehog may look fine from the outside, it may have suffered some internal injuries, you'll never know.

2. i believe this white saliva is what we all term as 'self-anointing'. the hedgehog licks and bites some new stuff, bend the body into some awkward posture, then proceed to spit out white foams of saliva onto its quills. this is pretty common for hedgehogs, mine always do that when i introduce new things or when they get to lick any unfamiliar objects.

hope i helped. smile.gif

This post has been edited by livingmonolith: Dec 19 2008, 09:34 AM
livingmonolith
post Dec 22 2008, 04:55 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(egomaster @ Dec 20 2008, 12:10 AM)
i wanna ask something...how can we know that hedgie are pregnant besides see the weight?? coz i dun act measure it
not that i know of. even the regular breeders would have difficulty in measuring the weight alone, because sometimes it varies depending on the food intake as well. but i'm not so sure if professional breeders have any special methods to inspect.

if you've mated your hedgehog with another male, then just wait patiently for 30-39 (or longer, depending on the duration time the two adult hedgehogs was put together), this is more of the common practice for breeders.
livingmonolith
post Dec 26 2008, 02:08 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(sophisticate @ Dec 26 2008, 01:56 PM)
I need some advices. I saw very cute hedgie when i was traveling in Bangkok. Last week I been to Bangkok again and i decided to buy one hedgie from there. But they have no stock at that moment. The gal told me that they will have it few days later but too bad i need to travel back to M'sia the day after. She told me the hedgie only costs 450baht which is around RM45. I'm going to Bangkok again very soon. Advice, any of u here have any ideas that is it legal to bring over pets from Bangkok to Malaysia?

Added on December 26, 2008, 1:57 pmI need some advices. I saw very cute hedgie when i was traveling in Bangkok. Last week I been to Bangkok again and i decided to buy one hedgie from there. But they have no stock at that moment. The gal told me that they will have it few days later but too bad i need to travel back to M'sia the day after. She told me the hedgie only costs 450baht which is around RM45. I'm going to Bangkok again very soon. Advice, any of u here have any ideas that is it legal to bring over pets from Bangkok to Malaysia?
if i've not mistaken it's at the chatuchak weekend market right? wink.gif

if you want to bring it in legally, the hedgehog will have to be quarantined for a duration of time (there was a discussion here almost a year back), 3 weeks if i remembered correctly. i'm not too sure about the other aspects of legal procedures though. maybe some others can help?

but if the hedgehog you said you saw back in bangkok is from chatuchak, and if you've decided to buy one there, do look carefully because the last time i went there they were selling hoglets of barely 4 weeks old, which is not a suitable age to be separated from their mother yet.
livingmonolith
post Dec 26 2008, 02:31 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(sophisticate @ Dec 26 2008, 02:22 PM)
Its actually from Saphan Phut Night Bazaar near Chinatown. The gal told me the hedgehog already 2yrs old. Quarantine arr, how if my baby die during that period? 3 weeks is kinda long actually.
that's usually the case with quarantine, i don't think it'll die that easily during quarantine, but then again neither do i think it's worth it to have it imported in like this. it can do much stress to the hedgehog because they're rarely good travellers, some owners here have experienced their hedgehogs vomiting after a short journey in car, let alone in plane.

besides, i believe there will be some charges as well if you're importing in livestocks, but i've never paid much attention in this sense so i can't help you there. in the end you may end up paying more than if you buy locally. but this part i am only making assumptions, not sure how's it like.
livingmonolith
post Jan 5 2009, 05:23 PM

821 posts

like what empty_reg said, most owners keep their hedgehogs in either toyogo boxes or zoozones, just make sure it has enough room for them to move around. just make sure it's not the wired-cages like those you keep sugar-gliders etc. hedgehogs are pretty clumsy pets, they climb around but aren't very good climbers, and there are high chances that they can get their fragile legs stuck in between the wires.
livingmonolith
post Jan 6 2009, 11:49 AM

821 posts

younger hedgehogs (less than 6 months old) tend to eat a little bit more than adults. when i first got mine it takes about one and a half spoons of RC, but the older it gets, the lesser it eats. now it takes only about a spoon, and sometimes can't even finish the spoonful, but is still a bit obese despite running in the wheel every night.

just monitor your hedgehog's intake of food for about a week or two, you'll roughly get an estimate of how much your hedgehog eats in a day. start with one spoonful, if the next morning you see the bowl is empty, add a little bit more on the next day, and so on. but i'd advise not to put more than 2 spoons of RC per day. RC catfood has the most similar diet needed for hedgehogs but in actual the percentage of fat is still too high for them.

i started off feeding RC34 kitten before changing to RC32 fit which has lower percentage of fat, but my hedgehog is a little bit picky and won't eat, so now i have no choice but to revert back to RC34 and monitor its intake.
livingmonolith
post Jan 13 2009, 11:43 AM

821 posts

it's pretty similar to forest hedgehogs or west european according to wikipedia, from the photos that you've posted.

do you know of any hedgehog owners where you stay (johor if i've mistaken from your sig)? or maybe someone who'll be interested to take care of them for the time being?

i don't think these hedgehogs belong in the wild, so they're unlikely to survive if released back to nature. we do not have hedgehogs in our forests, and they're most likely pets released by owners.
livingmonolith
post Jan 13 2009, 12:58 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Jan 13 2009, 12:43 PM)
i'm not in malaysia.
contacted Rspca, they said to release them bcoz afraid they got virus or worm..
so.. tonite gonna hard-boil egg and try to feed it.. sweat.gif
ah, no wonder. then would it be too personal to ask you about your whereabouts?

since you're not in malaysia, i can't make more assumptions, but if you're in countries like nz, australia and others, it's pretty common to find wild forest hedgehogs in the garden or backyard, which in this case, the hedgehogs you rescued could be from the wild.

malaysia doesn't have wild hedgehogs but there are many countries that do, so perhaps it's only lost or got stuck.
livingmonolith
post Jan 13 2009, 01:19 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Jan 13 2009, 01:05 PM)
that's what i'm thinking.. gonna release it in an hour.. bye bye hedgie.. lol
it might be from bush infront of our flat..

dang.. the spine so damn sharp hard to lift it
nz, huh? plenty of wild hedgehogs running around in the backyard, good pest controllers. wink.gif

since it's from the wild, do take care when handling. like you mentioned earlier yourself, they make carry germs which may cause illness to human, don't forget hedgehogs are tolerance to certain venoms from other animals, we don't know if they've coated their quills with such venoms.

but perhaps you can do something about the gutter outside your flat, maybe fence it with some wires to avoid anymore wild hedgehogs from falling into it again. wild and domesticated hedgehogs alike, are not good climbers and pretty clumsy, you'll never know when the next one falls into the underground gutter again. wink.gif

hope you had some fun with the hedgehog while it was under your care. smile.gif
livingmonolith
post Jan 13 2009, 05:16 PM

821 posts

well, i don't think your wish will be too hard to come true. in nz at night times the wild hedgehogs will wander into residential backyards or gardens to search for food (insects), so i think you'll meet up again with the hedgehogs soon. wink.gif

and frankly, the forest hedgehog looks a bit tamer than expected.smile.gif
livingmonolith
post Jan 15 2009, 03:30 PM

821 posts

although mealworms are a good source of protein, they also contain too much fat percentage for hedgehogs, so instead of finding ways to feed it mealworms, maybe boiled egg (only white, without yolk) will be a better choice?

that if your hedgehog takes eggs. wink.gif

some hedgehogs are just generally picky. i'm stuck with several types of RCs because one of them is extremely picky, even on catfood itself let alone treats. smile.gif
livingmonolith
post Jan 16 2009, 02:11 PM

821 posts

perhaps you can pass it to your friends to take care for a few days, just daily feeding and needs very minimal monitoring.

too much travelling may not be too good for the hedgehogs, although not all are bad travellers. from the hedgehogs i have, three doesn't have much problems travelling in the car, but one will puke if it stays in the car for more than one hour.

wink.gif
livingmonolith
post Jan 21 2009, 04:59 PM

821 posts

unique ways to make a home for hedgehogs. wink.gif

would've been nice if i have more space to keep my hedgehogs, sigh...
livingmonolith
post Jan 21 2009, 06:32 PM

821 posts

besides that, i do think that the displayed cage is a bit too 'flimsy' for hedgehogs. some hedgehogs enjoy pushing things around, and from the looks of it the cage seems to be a bit too fragile. wink.gif

but anyway, the photos provided are good ideas on how to improvise and make your own enclosement, if i've the space and budget i'd like to DIY one too, haha...smile.gif
livingmonolith
post Jan 22 2009, 01:13 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(lzxian88 @ Jan 22 2009, 12:53 PM)
i think my hamster bedding should be fine =)
anyway, i put my hamster into the new house, seems like he's happy..
can hedgehog and hamster coexist in the same house?
never tried housing both in the same encagement before, but i'd disagree to it. anyway, they take different types of food, you don't want to see your hedgehog chip its tooth gnawing sunflower seeds or stuff like that...wink.gif

anyway, i'd recommend wood shavings or breeder celect as the bedding, to control the odour. hedgehogs poop every single day, and if you're using other types of bedding (eg towel or newspapers) the odour will be pretty strong and intolerable.
livingmonolith
post Feb 1 2009, 09:49 AM

821 posts

like meento mentioned, which i think is most likely the scenario, the hedgehog should be still quilling, hedgehogs don't stop changing quills until they're over 6 months old. wink.gif

btw, i'm back after one week disconnected from the cyberworld! yay!
livingmonolith
post Feb 1 2009, 10:17 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(orangecow @ Feb 1 2009, 09:46 PM)
MID DECEMBER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
not necessarily a bad thing. if you look at the brighter side, you have almost a year to research about hedgehogs before you officially get one as a pet. not the hardest to take care, but it's definitely not easy, so at the time being maybe you can read up websites and articles on hedgehogs to understand their behaviour better.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:33 PM