Hedgehog Corner V5, My New Hideout
gaigene
Nov 4 2008, 06:57 PM

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Nov 4 2008, 05:37 PM) I never feed them other than fruits *used to be*, RC or eagle pack cat food and mealies for diet. But the mealies dun feed to much naskrieg : when u guys go yumcha? I'm free after thursday or on thursday nite after pass up my assgn... I also wan to go yum cha.... I bring my wife along.... can ah???
gaigene
Nov 6 2008, 03:01 PM

So nice.... your little piggy always eat. My Sammy does not eat very much. I gave him 1 teaspoon of food since Monday, until today still not finish half yet.
Also, I've been noticing that he is shedding his quills. I see them all around the floor of his cage on the fleece. Can anyone help me? Not sure if there is anything wrong with him.
gaigene
Nov 6 2008, 04:43 PM

QUOTE(livingmonolith @ Nov 6 2008, 04:21 PM) how old is your hedgehog? hedgehogs around the age of 2-5 months are still shedding their baby quills, and will be replaced with longer ones. usually you will only see the real colour of your hedgehog after 6 months, when your hedgehog's quills are all fully replaced. when i got my first hedgehog, it has almost the same amount of white and banded quills, as it grow most of the white ones were replaced with banded quills. added info there, but yeah, so you don't have to worry about the quills shedding off. it's normal.  Sammy is about 2 months old now. Really happy to hear that there is no problem with him. Thanks for the info.
gaigene
Nov 6 2008, 06:43 PM

QUOTE(empty_reg @ Nov 6 2008, 06:19 PM) Take a good look at the quills, if the start of the quill is shaped round like a little knob then is okay. If is shedding alot and the start of the quill doesn't have a little round knob then maybe you have to look at the skin, might be infected by mites. But young hedgehogs tend to shed their young quills to give way for longer quills as they age, so no worries. I'll look into the quills. I really hope he is ok. I'm worried that he got mites, coz he keeps scratching and scratching.
gaigene
Dec 14 2008, 10:06 PM

Hi all... long time no post here. Been very busy with work lately. Just want to ask a few questions. Sammy is now about 4 months old. Should I change to RC Kitten now or wait for another month or so?
Also thinking of buying some mealies for him. Is he old enough to eat them yet? I went to the pet shop in Taman SEA (near Ming Tien foodcourt). They had this "Super Worms" for sale. Are these ok for Sammy?
Thanks for the info....
gaigene
Dec 15 2008, 04:41 PM

QUOTE(livingmonolith @ Dec 15 2008, 01:47 PM) introduction of new type of food should be done gradually, but there's no specific age as for when you introduce to it though. just add a little by little from day to day, and see if your hedgehog takes them. if not, you can try later. some advice though, some hedgehogs are really picky and sometimes won't eat other types of catfood. i have one of these picky hedgehogs and sometimes it's a struggle to stock up my catfood for them. instead of superworms, why not try out the mealworms first? you can find superworms in most petstores, but i doubt if any hedgehog owners here will recommend superworms since they're a bit too huge and aggresive, you'll never know if they're capable of injuring your hedgehog. mind you, well-fed mealworms are pretty strong already too, and at times i have difficulty catching them!  Thanks for the reply. I'll change his food slowly. Probably in Jan'09. Also, where can I find mealworms? Been trying to look for them but cannot seem to find.
gaigene
Dec 16 2008, 12:51 PM

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Dec 15 2008, 04:45 PM) mealworms.. u can try to ask some of the fish shop.. but not sure if they have.... u can ask petshack cuz they selling meal worms also.. or brickfield pet shop ^^ Thanks for the info. BTW, where is petshack?
gaigene
Dec 16 2008, 02:19 PM

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Dec 16 2008, 02:12 PM) petshack located in Sunway Mentari opposite Sunway Pyramid or near Yuen Steamboat if u know.... u can try to contact them before u go. I'm sure they can help u to reach their place Thanks. I know where that is. I'll go this weekend.
gaigene
Dec 16 2008, 04:01 PM

QUOTE(kelvin_faye @ Dec 16 2008, 02:33 PM) What day and when u going? Me might be going too. Might as well meet u there. Hehe  Dun know what time yet. Can arrange something to see if we can meet up. Let me know.