in the day i put living world hse..like eskimo hse so my hedgie can sleep whole day in it..at nite i remove it and put in wheel..i got post vid my hedgie playing with it..
This post has been edited by Vanda: Feb 19 2009, 07:41 PM
Hedgehog Corner V5, My New Hideout
Feb 19 2009, 07:38 PM
5 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: ampang |
well..u can see my cage setup previous page i think i got post..hedgie 6 weeks ? so 2 months lah ? mine 3 months old..maybe quite same size..i got post oso previous page...pg 68 if im not mistaken.
in the day i put living world hse..like eskimo hse so my hedgie can sleep whole day in it..at nite i remove it and put in wheel..i got post vid my hedgie playing with it.. This post has been edited by Vanda: Feb 19 2009, 07:41 PM |
Feb 20 2009, 08:10 PM
yeap..i also have the same problem..keep poo in the wheel..every morning when i wake up need to wash it..
i juz gave my lil romeo a bath today..coz his nails damn dirty edi.. |
Feb 27 2009, 11:36 PM
i feed my romeo iAM kitten biscuit..he loves it..i giv him 2 ~ 3 mealworms every nite after i play2 with it ..
usualy at nite around 10pm ~ 12am if i try to pick it up it wont be that defensive.. what other toys u guys use for ur hedgies ? for me i use toilet roll,wheel,golf ball..any other ? |
Feb 27 2009, 11:43 PM
yeah at first..everyday just let ur hedgie smell ur hand..after awhile scoop it up and let it walk2 on ur hand..play with it..like mine it wont poke2 that much unless i disturb it sleeping or anything..
Mar 14 2009, 01:03 AM
QUOTE(zoeyhanz @ Mar 7 2009, 09:57 AM) hey...vanda, but i been read an article, they mention that iAM is a good cat food...but it's nt suitable for hedgie...so ..... eh realy ka ? LOL.. and to brokemcqueen yeap yeap..when u first bring ur hedgie home it will poke u ..like my romeo did to me.. hedgies are easy to take care..coz it sleeps alot..less poo.. This post has been edited by Vanda: Mar 14 2009, 01:25 AM |
Mar 18 2009, 04:06 PM
QUOTE(meento @ Mar 18 2009, 09:03 AM) Want to share some story with u guys to keep this thread alive… lol..quite a climber eh ur hedgie.. That other day, one of ma hedgie prison break herself…I think it was a well executed plan since me ma self never saw it coming… MeenTo log, 13 Mac.. Princess A.K.A Lady ‘P’ was a descent hedgie and live a normal life as any other hedgie.. Sleeping and eating, that’s her routine all day long.. I’m quite happy with her… But I was wrong… As usual, every night I would feed all ma pets before going to bed.. Princess would always greet me by sniffing ma hand..And I would always give her a treat as a memento for being such a good gul.. But I was wrong… Went to bad (I sleep on a futon bed) as usual that day, when around 3am I feel like something really sharp poking me.. Who in the world woke poke me during this time of hour, when suddenly I look down and saw Michelle trying to push her self under me…When she realize I’m awake, she juz pause there, looking at me like nothing happened… The moral of the story is, don’t underestimate ur hedgie.. Both ma hedgie live in a custom made 4feet tank with the height is around 1.5feet.. But I have never cover the tank up coz I thought its impossible for them to climb out.. I think She climb out by climbing the box I put in as her hiding place... Bummer.. This post has been edited by Vanda: Mar 18 2009, 04:07 PM |
Mar 28 2009, 03:10 PM
QUOTE(keziaxo @ Mar 27 2009, 06:50 PM) hello! im going to be getting my hedgehog tomorrow at 3. Hey..make sure u take care of tht hedgie good aight ? i plan to get the cage & stuff before that. im not not sure what kind of cage to get! help! i was wondering if it would be alright to get those metal cages? and then have a litter thing on the bottom? or should i get one thats closed off at all sides? (toyogo type of thing) and if i do, how would i clean it? u can see my hedgie pad to giv u some ideas..i think its at page 68..page 70 with wheel(vid).. |
Mar 29 2009, 12:51 AM
QUOTE(keziaxo @ Mar 28 2009, 05:18 PM) just brought my hedgie home. he's sitting in a box with a towel over it... nice2..the hissing is normal..after a week or two it will stop hissing edi..unless it feels threatened.. nothing i read could have prepared me for the hissing, the spiking of spikes and the constant pooing! but its still adorable, and i just brought it home, so maybe it takes time... my kakak is freaked out by it. she thought it was interesting at first but then she tried to touch it, it hissed at her so shes scared now... the hegehog is sleepinggggg hedgie sleeping time ~> 8am - 10pm active hours ~>10pm - 8am.. constant pooing i think cant control..hahaha.. to pet ur hedgie n make it nt scared of u.. just play with it every nite..just hold it while watching tv or while cleaning its pad..let it get used to u..after playing with it..give ur hedgie mealworms as treats..then it will be happy.. if u have xtra budget mayb can buy ur hedgie a wheel.. |
Apr 2 2009, 08:13 PM
Apr 9 2009, 12:16 AM
Apr 18 2009, 03:00 PM
Apr 22 2009, 12:24 AM
wah seongboi ur hoglet so cute..reminds me when i brought my romeo home 1st time..so small..now big n heavy edi..
why ur dad wont let u keep it anyway ? This post has been edited by Vanda: Apr 22 2009, 12:26 AM |
Apr 24 2009, 12:12 PM
QUOTE(empty_reg @ Apr 24 2009, 11:35 AM) @ yana_adell : lol empty_reg..my hedgie oso love to sleep like that.. Regarding biting issues, that depends on how you looked at it. Anything with teeth will bite.. Including myself. swt... But in sense of aggressive biting to defend itself is extremely rare, and does not often happened to captive bred hedgehogs that are familiar with people. They bite most likely because they've mistaken you for food. Generally, hedgehog identify things / objects based on scent or smell. If your hand smell of something else (something new that they never smell of), for example after washing your hand with fragrance soap, it'll rise the curiousity of the hedgehog to see what it is (if it's edible). [attachmentid=924661] Lol. Like that also can sleep, won't neck pain meh? yeah..agree2..1 time i juz came back from dinner..ate garlic bread..when i came back gave my romeo scent my finger..he started lickin n then bit my finger..haha..lucky not much pain though.. last friday,i went for friday prayers as usual..when i came back my maid was in panic mode..she said 4~5 monkeys were in my room..my hse located near hutan area..she closed my room door n too scared to scare off the monkeys..i was so worried about my hedgie ..n when i went in my room all was messed up..books all over the place..glass,radio all broken..monkey faeces all over the place..lucky my hedgie was okay..so i think compared to other small pets , hedgies are the most safest due to their quills tht can scare off other animals.. eh wanna ask sumthing..do ur hedgies when they eat/chew sumthing they dont like they will spit it out on their body..my hedgie have tht habit..lol..weird This post has been edited by Vanda: Apr 24 2009, 03:47 PM |
Apr 24 2009, 07:10 PM
Apr 25 2009, 10:42 AM
QUOTE(empty_reg @ Apr 24 2009, 01:47 PM) ^ oh icic..thanks for the info guys..learned sumthing new.. = ) as what eric138 said. They'll self annoint when encountered will foreign scent or smell. You may also observe this when playing with your newly adopted hedgehogs. When I put both the parent hedgehog together to let them run around. I've observed both performing self annointing, after I move the female back to her habitat with her hoglets, the hoglets will go and smell the saliva left on the mum's quills. Somehow could be related to identifying the scent of something to help them remember what it is. *at least that's what I think** According to the some websites, self-annointing could be interpreted as: Self defence (toxic quills?) Interpreting between food and predators / self defence Toxic hedgehog... Maybe that's why my hands get red dots after between poke by their quills. toxic hedgehogs ?! |
Apr 27 2009, 04:42 PM
QUOTE(M.soniQ @ Apr 27 2009, 02:45 PM) lol bantal.. actualy hedgies dont sleep tht much i think..coz they sleep when we are awake and they active when we are asleep.. |
Apr 28 2009, 12:48 AM
QUOTE(cottonkandy @ Apr 27 2009, 09:15 PM) kaoru, don't rush to get your pet. it's more worth it to wait for 2-3 months for a healthy pet rather than getting a unhealthy pet and supporting the irresponsible petshop. yeap..i got my romeo from the reptiles kingdom fella.. maybe you can try pm the reptiles kingdom fella in GS. he is selling hedgies for Rm150. i'm not so sure about the quality. you can have a look there. and yes pokimons are very adorable. meento : yeah..they run demm fast..last time my romeo run on the wheel silent n slow2 oni..now my hedgie already grown big run in the wheel how many times edi the wheel disconnected from the steel thingy..big sized fella run on the wheel oso like wan roboh nia..haha.. |
Apr 28 2009, 07:16 PM
Apr 29 2009, 11:39 AM
QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Apr 28 2009, 10:17 PM) Ya, i think your call it Albino, the 'body' look pinky, the quills is creamy colour, very sharp and hard tho. yeap...i guess its albino type then.. my romeo is an albino type..here are some pics..big red eyes.. Attached thumbnail(s) |
May 1 2009, 04:37 PM
| Change to: | 0.0511sec