14 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 >Bottom

GUINEA PIGS CORNER V3, Kiut~kiut~Kawaii...

TSsharil_routh
post Oct 2 2008, 09:00 PM

(~Penentangan adalah sia-sia~)
1,356 posts

FACTS FOR TODAY......

*Did you know that Guinea Pigs are rodents? Did you know that there are over 20 different breeds of Guinea Pigs?

*Guinea Pigs originally come from South America.

*In Peru and Bolivia, they breed them for meat.

*When a Guinea Pig is born, they already have hair and their eyes are open.

*A Guinea Pig can eat solid food at only one day old.

*A Guinea Pig can be bred at 3 weeks old.

*Guinea Pigs are usually very shy.

*If you have a pet Guinea Pig, you should give it Vitamin C everyday.

*Without Vitamin C, a Guinea Pig can get scurvy.

TSsharil_routh
post Oct 2 2008, 09:28 PM

1,356 posts

Guinea pigs don't have visible tails.

Guinea pigs are born with fur and with their eyes open. They are not like rabbits or mice that are born hairless and helpless. They are so small they can fit in the palm of your hand. Their feet look too big for their bodies! They nurse right away on their mommy, and even nibble a little on her food a day or so later. They grow up fast!

Guinea pigs eat a lot of food,. No wonder they are called pigs! Guinea pigs are not related to pigs at all, though. They are really named cavies and they are members of the rodent family, which means they like to gnaw. Don't put your guinea pig near any books or she'll take a bite!

Guinea pigs came from South America, and the Incas domesticated them. They are members of the cavy family. Some think they are called guinea pigs because in England they were sold for a guinea, which is a coin. Some think it is because they were brought to Europe by Spanish sailors from a country called Dutch Guiana in South America.

Guinea pigs need to gnaw to wear down their teeth. Otherwise, their teeth will grow too long and then they won't be able to eat. That is a terrible thing for a pig.

"Cavy" is the official word for guinea pig!

TSsharil_routh
post Oct 2 2008, 09:35 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(limie @ Oct 2 2008, 09:20 PM)
thx for the facts~!

Added on October 2, 2008, 9:25 pmby the way, how to give them vitamin c? orange? or...?
what is scurvy actually? in malay call what?
Foods that contain high levels of Vitamin C include:

* Leafy greens, such as kale, parsley, spinach, and chicory
* Cabbage
* Red and green peppers
* Asparagus
* Broccoli
* Peas
* Tomatoes
* Dandelion greens (no pesticides, fertilizer, or herbicides)
* Kiwi
* Oranges

Vitamin C, also known as ascorbic acid, is one of several important vitamins crucial to maintaining health. For people, guinea pigs and a few other species, this vitamin C must be ingested. Other animals are able to produce natural vitamin C and do not require a consistent outside source.

Ascorbic acid is essential in a variety of chemical reactions necessary for a normal metabolism. It is also essential in the development of normal collagen, a connective tissue important in body functions. If guinea pigs do not get an outside source of vitamin C, a serious illness called scurvy will develop.

What to Watch For

# Weakness
# Lethargy
# Loss of appetite.
# Swollen, painful joints
# Vocalization or crying when handled
# Rough hair coat
# Diarrhea
# Weight loss
# Discharge for eyes or nose

Young growing guinea pigs may develop bone deformities.

Feeding a guinea pig a commercial guinea pig pellet, made specifically for cavies, can help to prevent scurvy. These pellets contain Vitamin C necessary for a guinea pig’s diet. Feed guinea pigs vegetables that are dark green in color every day—these foods are also high in Vitamin C.

Scurvy in malay... penyakit seriawan usus... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by sharil_routh: Oct 2 2008, 09:41 PM
TSsharil_routh
post Oct 3 2008, 07:43 AM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(limie @ Oct 2 2008, 09:53 PM)
about usus 1?....

ish ish ish... nak berak cam mana?
Scurvy leads to the formation of spots on the skin, spongy gums, and bleeding from all mucous membranes.
TSsharil_routh
post Oct 3 2008, 10:44 AM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(limie @ Oct 3 2008, 10:35 AM)
i still looking for cloroplast... may i know where to get?
Stationary shop... carrefour, giant etc at stationary area..
TSsharil_routh
post Oct 4 2008, 05:45 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(tee_jay @ Oct 4 2008, 02:57 PM)
just drop to say hi...

im still waiting for free GP from my friend, sharil...

till today...

also waiting for GP from cousin, limie...

but..... cry.gif  cry.gif
HA
HA
HA

who's ur fren, i'm not ur fren... whistling.gif

Buy la...if u really can sacrifice for animal.. u not worry about money to buy gp... whistling.gif

R u ready for gp good attention? rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by sharil_routh: Oct 4 2008, 05:46 PM
TSsharil_routh
post Oct 5 2008, 01:11 AM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(tee_jay @ Oct 4 2008, 11:31 PM)
Im not talking about u also...

why u terasa..??

whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif

attention..?? I can pay attention on my SGs, why not GPs...

icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on October 4, 2008, 11:43 pm
so nice of u, my lovely cousin, limie...(unlike d cocky sharil)

but now is not d time la...

now having 6 SGs... they make me  rclxub.gif ....

listen 2 d 6 spinning wheels everynite...

going crazy already...

hehehe....
Ok... if u not talking to me... i feel relieve. my GP safe then... whistling.gif

Added on October 5, 2008, 1:13 am
QUOTE(kelvin_faye @ Oct 4 2008, 11:20 PM)
What does Chirp means, Moli?
QUOTE(kaoru himura @ Oct 5 2008, 12:39 AM)
I read about this when i did a search about GP, its a rare case and my YUI and NAO never chirp b4....some say GP will chirp if they sense trouble or bad omen....dunno if its true or not lar...

here's a site on chirping...even got a recording if the sound if we wanna hear how a GP chirp sounds like... http://www.guinealynx.info/behavior.html
yup... i also heard , its difficult to hear gp chirp..even mine i never notice they have chirp or not.... hmm.gif

Added on October 5, 2008, 1:47 am
QUOTE(s0ts0tdandelii0n @ Oct 4 2008, 10:15 PM)
where do they sleep?
they wont run out ar
l0l
rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

of coz in cage... doh.gif

how they come out if they in cage...??? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by sharil_routh: Oct 5 2008, 01:47 AM
TSsharil_routh
post Oct 5 2008, 10:39 AM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(jason86 @ Oct 5 2008, 02:50 AM)
wow....sounded so  blink.gif  blink.gif .... pls no war in gp thread.....u can refer back wat u had posted....here ur post saying tat u waiting gp frm ur fren,..sharil!!! blush.gif
hahaha.. dont worry jason... TJ is not my fren, he's my bro.... laugh.gif

Last time he plan to rear gp but not ready yet....
TSsharil_routh
post Oct 5 2008, 10:56 AM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(kaoru himura @ Oct 4 2008, 09:59 PM)
ya its suppose to be a kolam one...but they oso use it as a crab dry pool...you know la just put pasir and colorful stones as decoration and tehn put the pinky crab inside...no water one....look kinda interesting to be a GP cage....

aha you really have the GP for me or not? still want another GP, preferably a long fur one...you got ar? wo yau wo yau!!

Sharil...i read the previous threds and wow you sound like a GP doctor aredi...you should be a GP Specialist man...happy.gif

Selamat Hari Raya everyone!!! everytime my relatives will come to my house their jaws will drop and make a  shocking.gif face when they c Nao and Yui....and said "what is that!! look at the size of em!! so cute!!! muahahaha so bangga my hidong kembang alredi.... brows.gif

still so many ppl dunno what is a GP....so kesian lor....they mis the cutest pet they could get...happy.gif
I'm not doctor.... and not plan to become GP pro also.... sweat.gif just wanna share what i know in here...

U wanna add new member ke?
TSsharil_routh
post Oct 5 2008, 12:04 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(jason86 @ Oct 5 2008, 11:04 AM)
ai ya...sharill~~~u make me perasan pula!!!alamak!!!malu nye....
Its ok jason... hahaha.. no need to shy... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(kaoru himura @ Oct 5 2008, 11:08 AM)
Yup...i'm ready to add another pair....just thinking of having 2 pairs of GP running like mad around my house makes me feel i wanna stay home all day and play with em hehehe...plus i'm now working in a new place, normal office hour so i got plenty of time at home for them...

so limie how bout it?

sharil you have another GP to gv me? hehehe.........ohya i like your custom cage.
o ic... mine u can get at pet shack.... coz now i not make a reservation if someone wanna buy GP from me, coz i dont hav time to COD... sweat.gif

TSsharil_routh
post Oct 6 2008, 12:35 AM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(Yukaeshi @ Oct 5 2008, 11:29 PM)
I recently heard that Cavia Complete has actually been discontinued for quite some time? If so, what's a good replacement for it? sad.gif
Really? i not notice about that, i need to ask pet shack. How about gerty guinea pig or prestige cavia duo? i think those two ok also.. i just try use dat once but then i refer back to hagen coz my GP so difficult to change to another food, when they eat dat pellet just dat pellet.

Added on October 6, 2008, 12:38 am
QUOTE(tee_jay @ Oct 6 2008, 12:19 AM)
don't worry...

bcos this thread is under my brother(sharil) supervision, so nothing will happen...

hahaha.... not like other thread...

there is no war under sharil's "eyes".... hehehe...

sorry cos spamming....  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
err.. bro... i'm not the one like those "gila kuasa" one.. sweat.gif

this is not only my thread , its everybody thread.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by sharil_routh: Oct 6 2008, 12:38 AM
TSsharil_routh
post Oct 6 2008, 12:55 AM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(tee_jay @ Oct 6 2008, 12:42 AM)
hi guys....

I just got back from sharil's house....

all GPs owner, u guys need to go to sharil's house to check it out how he make a garden for his lovely GPs...

it was superb...!!! no other word for it....

nicely done, sharil..!!  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
QUOTE(bonai @ Oct 6 2008, 12:43 AM)
yah, and so cute babies there too.. sharil's gp are very healthy and active..
QUOTE(tee_jay @ Oct 6 2008, 12:48 AM)
his GPs also quit huge...

I think got as big as 5 months old rabbit la...

if Im a GP, how I wish to have owner like sharil...

u guys need to go to check it out...
QUOTE(bonai @ Oct 6 2008, 12:52 AM)
his how quite far.. it's like 53 stations from kelana jaya lrt..

sharil, post us some pics of your awesome gp cage setup!!
53 stations!! sweat.gif sweat.gif u bonai....

U all make it story too much la.... sweat.gif my cage just a simple one....

err... i think i already post the pixs at previous page.. nod.gif

This post has been edited by sharil_routh: Oct 6 2008, 01:07 AM
TSsharil_routh
post Oct 6 2008, 01:43 AM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(tee_jay @ Oct 6 2008, 01:34 AM)
dont be shy la sharil...

its true what...

so nice u did the garden for ur GPs...

u dont 1 2 share u info n tips with other pple is it..??

whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

Now here u can kenakan i ya bro? if u there u better watch out..

No la... really.. for me, its just a simple area for my gp.... coz i think hav other owners better than me..

This post has been edited by sharil_routh: Oct 6 2008, 01:44 AM
TSsharil_routh
post Oct 6 2008, 12:25 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(kaoru himura @ Oct 6 2008, 09:13 AM)
Morning everyone...just dropping by b4 going to work...and yeah sharil's GP all huge...Nao is still bigger than 7months Yui (Nao is 5months++)
Kaoru... r u free roam ur GP inside ur house? ur previous post sound like it... tongue.gif

Added on October 6, 2008, 12:36 pm
QUOTE(Yukaeshi @ Oct 6 2008, 01:49 AM)
I got my information from http://www.chubbypetsgarden.com

My GP has been eating Cavia Nature + Cavia Complete- he's an incredibly picky eater. He used to eat Gerty Guinea Pig but he didn't really like it, he prefers Cavia Nature + Cavia Complete more (He eats more of them compared to Gerty). The reason why I added Cavia Complete was because he picks his mix (Cavia Nature) but at the same time he doesn't eat pellets at all. The only "complete" food he eats is Cavia Complete. So yeah. I'm thinking of Cavia Duo- not sure if he'll like it sad.gif
huh.. really..? mine also sumtime quite picky... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by sharil_routh: Oct 6 2008, 12:36 PM
TSsharil_routh
post Oct 6 2008, 04:31 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(tee_jay @ Oct 6 2008, 04:24 PM)
yeah..

sharil's GPs very big...

I have never see GPs that huge before....

for sure he got secret "food" for his GPs thats why so big...

share d info la sharil....

u give ur GPs drugs ka..??

doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
haih.. u bro... sweat.gif

no secret... just feed at the right time, always wash their veggies/food before give to them, give them 'air masak' (coz some people , i see they use water direct from pipe, dat not being filt), i use filter water for my GP.

i also deworm them.

TSsharil_routh
post Oct 6 2008, 05:44 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(babymoli @ Oct 6 2008, 04:40 PM)
Oh.. Talk about deworm. Sharil, how you deworm them & the correct dosage?
Like dogs and cats, guinea pigs can be afflicted with internal parasites such as tapeworms and roundworms. A bloated tummy, rough-looking coat, and evidence of worms in the feces or crawling around the rear end are good indicators of an infestation.

I use syrup one.. err.. i forget what its name.. sweat.gif if u go to pet shack they will know coz last time i told them about it, at first i bought it from a vet.

U can see the direction at the bottles, the direction wrote 1 ml per dosage ( i think, if wrong i will refer back then sweat.gif ) but i use just half of it , advise from dr, coz afraid GP cant take it too much, dat syrup also for cat and dogs. The direction also wrote stage u must deworm them, let say today u deworm after 2 weeks deworm them back then after 4 weeks deworm them then after 8 weeks deworm them, lastly, u must deworm every 3 months.

I will show the pixs later... icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on October 6, 2008, 5:46 pm
QUOTE(babymoli @ Oct 6 2008, 04:57 PM)
A question here. Will a GP doesn't move if she/he is scare? Yesterday i brought Pocha to my bf's room, she just flat herself on the bed without moving. So I wonder if she is scare.
yup... if they in new environment, they just stay still.... laugh.gif but in a few minutes / hour they normally will explore if they think dat place safe for them. tongue.gif

Added on October 6, 2008, 5:47 pm
QUOTE(tee_jay @ Oct 6 2008, 04:44 PM)
yeah... same goes to human...

very well sharil..

I also use boiled or filter water for my SGs...

its better than...
thanks bro ... u appraise me too much... sweat.gif

and very well to u too.... rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by sharil_routh: Oct 6 2008, 05:48 PM
TSsharil_routh
post Oct 6 2008, 07:10 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(Yukaeshi @ Oct 6 2008, 07:01 PM)
Well, seems like there's no other suggestions for my question sad.gif Oh well. I'll find a substitute eventually. This thread is very clique-y sweat.gif
hahahahaha.. no clique la.. we hope all GP/non GP owner feel accepted and enjoy when come in dis thread... icon_rolleyes.gif

"Happening n Informative" is our motto... tongue.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by sharil_routh: Oct 6 2008, 07:15 PM
TSsharil_routh
post Oct 6 2008, 09:32 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(limie @ Oct 6 2008, 08:48 PM)
haiz haiz haiz....

Sharil... GP GP... ur white GP what name d?
Do u mean Chiko.. dats the only white GP i hav (not fully white la..mix a bit wit other color, its tricolor)

Added on October 6, 2008, 9:33 pm
QUOTE(babymoli @ Oct 6 2008, 08:59 PM)
Ok noted. Will ask jtl about the deworm syrup. Thanks.
ur welcome...

This post has been edited by sharil_routh: Oct 6 2008, 09:42 PM
TSsharil_routh
post Oct 7 2008, 12:13 AM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(kaoru himura @ Oct 7 2008, 12:01 AM)
i didnt free-roam them all the time la, if i do that sure their poo poo will be everywhere....... i just give them about 1 hour a day to free-roam my living room...they'll just run here and there...and its funny when yui always will tailing nao, they look like super duper cute fury toy train...hahaha! at first i'm afraid they'll get lost or try to sneak away, but they seem to have fun so i dont think i should worry...plus if i wanna call them back i just have to call them while clapping my hand and they come running to me...so kawai!!!!!!!!!
sharil, about the deworm syrup, how much it usually cost?  i think i wanna buy it.....advise appreciated..
So kawaii.. when u clap they come.. blush.gif

Hmm.. i also forgot about the price, about RM20+++, the brand is troy.. got kitten and dogs pixs.

This post has been edited by sharil_routh: Oct 7 2008, 12:13 AM
TSsharil_routh
post Oct 7 2008, 12:49 AM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(kaoru himura @ Oct 7 2008, 12:45 AM)
owh rm20++...okla reasonable...but how to use? u jab the GPs? or rup it on the bare skin behind their ears?
dat thing is bottle come with syringe.. just suap by using the syringe.

14 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 >Top

0.0817sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:37 AM