14 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

GUINEA PIGS CORNER V3, Kiut~kiut~Kawaii...

TSsharil_routh
post Sep 14 2008, 10:57 PM

(~Penentangan adalah sia-sia~)
1,356 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Sep 14 2008, 10:14 PM)
Limie.. I did stop looking for GP after Ollie... but last friday it so happened that I saw grey n white Abby at PLC, pyramid.. but then since I got bad experienced from there I tahan myself no too look at it too much. After that I proceed to Pet Family to see my friend's GP.. then I spot this cutie... Ask the worker to take her out and she just sit there let me pet her wub.gif  wub.gif  That time I can't decide wan to buy or not as I still scared some thing will be happen again. But then, PF animals consider quiet healthy compared to others PLC exclude Petshack of course smile.gif So today when I help my friend pick her GP saw she still there and take her back home  blush.gif
Just bath her.... she's so........ T.T
my friend's GP more friendly... wan to take food from my hand but she dun wan to eat anything from my hand..  sweat.gif
anyway... Limie, how's ur muffin then?
u bought new gp already.... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
TSsharil_routh
post Sep 14 2008, 11:06 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_faye @ Sep 14 2008, 10:59 PM)
Hi, u r here d? Miss ya.. wub.gif
Err..... if u miss LOVER@JACK... go to kopitiam.... later scold by Mod... dont make them angry ya...

nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif

When u wanna have ur own GP?

This post has been edited by sharil_routh: Sep 14 2008, 11:06 PM
TSsharil_routh
post Sep 15 2008, 12:05 AM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Sep 14 2008, 11:48 PM)
Sharil : thanks a lot!!! she's a cutie wub.gif wub.gif lucky i got no time to bring the hay n pellet for emino.. so now I no need to buy anything.. tongue.gif

kelvin : havent think of a name yet.. will she how she behave these day. Maybe a name will popped out from my mind biggrin.gif

fast fast go get ur own GP!!!! we go hunt er I help u hunt tongue.gif
Hmm last time u give name to olympic@ollie when olympic season...

Now fasting season can name it as FASTING la... @ FAST @ FAST n FURIOUS. sweat.gif
TSsharil_routh
post Sep 15 2008, 01:14 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_faye @ Sep 15 2008, 12:43 PM)
Wah her size like dat just one month plus?? Really bravo to Sharil n Petshack! I tot it's an adult tim.. sweat.gif
sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

err.. after she was born she eats a lot.... same as their parents... love to play.... blush.gif
TSsharil_routh
post Sep 15 2008, 01:21 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_faye @ Sep 15 2008, 01:20 PM)
tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif eats a lot like the BREEDER la.. so the other one at Petshack is same age also la?? Hmmm, Joan!! Where r u?? haha sweat.gif
How do u know i eat a lot...? u never meet me.... rolleyes.gif

Yup another one in pet shack also the same age....

Joan in kopitiam la.....
TSsharil_routh
post Sep 15 2008, 06:31 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(Juztiny @ Sep 15 2008, 06:17 PM)
This afternoon purposely go to Pyramid PLC to see the Peruvian, and fell in love with its colour... bought back a pair of GP, added into my collection....the white Peruvian and a Latte colour Abby...Like their colour very much...

Now I have 13 GPs...
Wow.. GREAT!!! 13 GPs!!!

u already move into new house ya..?

TSsharil_routh
post Sep 15 2008, 07:08 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(Juztiny @ Sep 15 2008, 07:00 PM)
Not yet moved...2 more months to go...
lo... i thought u already move coz u added more gp now.... sweat.gif

ur turn now to post up the new gp pixs.... rclxm9.gif
TSsharil_routh
post Sep 15 2008, 08:35 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(babymoli @ Sep 15 2008, 01:34 PM)
Hahahaha... I find her love to eat carrot especially baby carrot. laugh.gif
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

carrot is the first veggie that she know.... no wonder she love it so much.. biggrin.gif

Added on September 15, 2008, 8:36 pm
QUOTE(babymoli @ Sep 15 2008, 03:46 PM)
Hahahaha... Pochapocha really looks like her mummy, Luna. She is darker when I just got her. Getting lighter now.
Ya.. i also notice esp her back getting lighter maybe have a bit her father genes.... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by sharil_routh: Sep 15 2008, 08:36 PM
TSsharil_routh
post Sep 15 2008, 09:17 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(jason86 @ Sep 15 2008, 09:10 PM)
sharil~~~post more ur gp pic la.long time no c d...
I hope i can but they're very messy... sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

And they very fussy now... last time i wanna give pepper but they wont eat.... all my gp now just prefer the same food, shakehead.gif everytime i put new food/veggies they wont eat...membazir....

From the veggies rosak... i just mix with their favourite veggies.... sweat.gif but sometime they more clever... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by sharil_routh: Sep 15 2008, 09:20 PM
TSsharil_routh
post Sep 16 2008, 02:18 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(Juztiny @ Sep 16 2008, 02:14 PM)
Here is my earlier batch mixed Abby baby I bought.  Some of her fur are now long and standing up... icon_idea.gif
ohmy.gif ohmy.gif ohmy.gif

I thought I post mine.... rupanye U punye.... sweat.gif

Almost like my Jazz.... tongue.gif
TSsharil_routh
post Sep 16 2008, 04:44 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(Juztiny @ Sep 16 2008, 02:31 PM)
How many GPs you have now?? Long time didn't see you post any picture. rolleyes.gif
Still with my 3 lovely GPs....
TSsharil_routh
post Sep 21 2008, 03:32 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(jason86 @ Sep 21 2008, 12:15 PM)
i saw it at pet safari....tis gp damn cute..feel lik buying it..but dont knw can buy o not since got tis...wanna ask...will tis recover???
Jason u better go to vet treat ur GP.... before its getting worst.. nod.gif
TSsharil_routh
post Sep 23 2008, 01:53 AM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(chuakz @ Sep 22 2008, 07:27 PM)
hey guys....usually when I change my guinea pig cage's bedding I put a layer of newspaper and then the bedding on top of that....but few weeks ago I decided to try it without newspaper and I found out my guinea pig was having severe hair loss.....what can I do?? Fungal infection perhaps??
While there are many possible reasons for hair loss, the most common reason by far is microscopic mange mites, a painful parasitic condition easily treated with ivermectin. Fungal infections are a close runner-up.

NATURAL Hair Loss
-Naturally occurring bald spots behind the ears
-Shedding hair

MECHANICAL Hair Loss
-Barbering: "Hair cutting" by another artistic, jealous, or bored pig
-War wounds and Abrasion (and other miscellaneous mechanical hair removal)

PARASITES
-Extremely common. Treat any pig with suspected mange mites with ivermectin.

FUNGUS

-Often starts on the face, usually easily treated with an anti-fungal cream.

METABOLIC Hair Loss
-Vitamin C deficiency : can be hard to identify, signs may suggest other illnesses and a deficiency may also compound other problems.
- Postpartum and Hormonal hair loss, usually bilaterally symmetric. Important to note that the stress of birth may lead to an outbreak of mites.
- Bacterial infection Cryptococcosis or staphylococcal dermatitis lesions and associated hair loss, usually occurring on the trunk (Harkness and Wagner)
- Low protein diets (under 15% CP)
- Animals near weaning age Thinning of hair is frequently observed in young animals at time of weaning and is associated with "the period of transition between loss of baby fur and appearance of more coarse guard hairs".
TSsharil_routh
post Sep 23 2008, 02:53 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(chuakz @ Sep 23 2008, 02:45 PM)
hmm...I just brought a friends pig in for mating and it turns out it's a male....he doesnt even know how to sex a pig....since i've brought it in my guinea pig starts losing hair.....weird?? well....I'll try to bathe him more often n see what happens...
Some guinea pig if we bathe them more often their hair shed a lot.... sweat.gif
TSsharil_routh
post Sep 23 2008, 04:28 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(knot666 @ Sep 23 2008, 04:10 PM)
can anyone pls tel me where to buy Peruvian guinea pig..really need 1..i already have Abyssinian guinea pigs...plzz..need some info
they said Pet lover centre at sunway pyramid sell peruvian gp, but don know their condition...
TSsharil_routh
post Sep 23 2008, 10:34 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(knot666 @ Sep 23 2008, 04:35 PM)
ermmm ok thanks mr. sharil_routh!!!...
ur welcome..... before u buy check the healthy of the GP first.. thumbup.gif
TSsharil_routh
post Sep 24 2008, 09:44 AM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(knot666 @ Sep 24 2008, 09:19 AM)
ermmm..sharil what is the best way to check the healthy of the GP?

as i mention on my first post.i got pair of ABBSYN GP, if i wanna bath them what is the suitable shampoo i must use? smile.gif  smile.gif  smile.gif
Find a reputable breeder or pet store. Some larger chain pet stores buy guinea pigs in bulk from breeders that may not breed ethically. By not separating family, some guinea pigs are inbred, causing serious health defects later in life. In addition to unknown breeding standards, pet stores generally keep guinea pigs in large cages where disease can spread easily from one pig to another.Juztiny is good guinea pig breeder u can try ask her either she have stock for peruvian gp or not. thumbup.gif if pet store u can go to pet shack, but now just have abby type gp. sweat.gif

Analyze their behavior. Although guinea pigs can be sleepy like any animal, they shouldn’t appear overly lethargic. If woken up, they will usually scurry around or chirp. A guinea pig hiding does not necessarily equate a sick pig. Guinea pigs are often skittish around new people.

Look at the guinea pig's movement. A guinea pig should run around freely. It shouldn’t limp. A guinea pig should run in a straight line. If they are veering to the side or moving in circles there could be something wrong

Inspect the guinea pig's body. A guinea pig should have smooth skin and hair. It shouldn’t be covered in urine or have feces matted in it’s fur. When guinea pigs are ill, they may sit in waste, however guinea pigs are generally very clean animals. Its skin shouldn’t be flaking, bleeding or irritated. The guinea pig's body should not have any abscesses or lumps.

Look at the guinea pig's teeth. Overgrown teeth or misaligned teeth are fairly common in guinea pigs. Gently pull back the guinea pig's lips to ensure that the teeth are aligned properly. The top teeth should fall over the bottom teeth. If they are growing inward toward each other this could cause serious discomfort for your guinea pig, and large veterinary bills for you down the line. Misaligned teeth signify years of clipping and shaving your guinea pig's teeth. This can be costly.

Check your guinea pig's ears. The ears should be clean. Check the genital area. Since many guinea pigs are assigned the wrong gender, it is important to ensure you are purchasing the appropriate sex, especially if you plan to house guinea pigs together. Although the genitalia can look very similar, by pressing gently, a male’s penis will protrude. As a guinea pig matures, their genitalia are more identifiable.

Keep possible cage mates separate. If you do buy a guinea pig, keep him away from all other guinea pigs for at least a week. House him separately. If you notice any change in behavior, do not introduce the guinea pigs since they can pass sickness. Guinea pigs are generally very resilient, however once their immune systems are weakened, their health can deteriorate quickly.

Its not enough just post questions here and its unfair for everybody here..... biggrin.gif post ur gp pixs!!!! rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by sharil_routh: Sep 24 2008, 09:45 AM
TSsharil_routh
post Sep 24 2008, 10:29 AM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(knot666 @ Sep 24 2008, 10:12 AM)
okies...later i'll upload my GP pict. actually 1 normal GP n 1 ABBSYN GP..i rise them  since they are still baby..
ermm sharil how to bath them eh?
The preparation that u must do. nod.gif

Spread out two old towels. Place one on the floor, next to the bathtub, and the other on the bathroom counter or closed toilet lid.

Place a hair dryer near the second towel. Ensure it is safely away from water and that an electrical outlet is available nearby.

Fill a small plastic tub slightly larger than your piggy with two inches of warm (not hot!) water. Add a small hand towel or wash cloth to the bottom of the tub. It provides traction so a frightened piggy is less likely to slip and harm himself.

Place the plastic tub into an empty bathtub. If your pet panics, she cannot harm herself in a long fall off a counter top.

Get mellow. Spend some time petting and talking to your piggy. Guinea pigs are skittish by nature, so a calm, relaxed owner makes them feel more secure about bath time.

Now its their bath time.... rclxm9.gif

Hold your guinea pig firmly (but gently) and lower him into the plastic tub. Speak to him in soothing tones, and pet him gently if you are able. After two minutes, if he or she is still in a panic, remove the guinea pig from the water and skip to step five. If he calms down, proceed with step two.

Use the cup to gather some water. Slowly pour it over your piggy's back, avoiding the face and ears. Speak soothingly in a reassuring tone and pet often.

Pour a small amount of pet shampoo onto her back, and lather well. Remember to avoid her face and ears. Work the shampoo into the fur on her underside. Carefully scrub the grease gland, which is located where a tail might grow if guinea pigs had such things. If allowed, gently lather legs and feet.

Fill the cup with clean water from the tap. Rinse your piggy while speaking in a quiet voice. Remember his underside, and repeat as needed until rinsed well.

Lift your piggy out of the plastic tub and place her atop the towel on the floor. Wrap the guinea pig loosely with the towel, ruffling the fur to wick off excess water. Hold your guinea pig close to your body, and speak softly.

Remove the wet towel and place on the second, dry towel. Again, cover the body to keep warm. Turn on the blow dryer. If he tolerates the noise, skip to step seven. If he panics, turn the hair dryer off and finish drying by ruffling with a warm, dry towel. This will take some time. Unless the weather is very hot, you must be certain he is dry before returning him to his cage.

Exposing one body part at a time, and constantly monitoring the heat upon the skin, use the blow dryer to gently dry the fur.

Dont forget give them a treat like carrot etc... after bath... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by sharil_routh: Sep 24 2008, 10:30 AM
TSsharil_routh
post Sep 24 2008, 11:08 AM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(knot666 @ Sep 24 2008, 10:57 AM)
ok nice n good info sharil...thanksss!!
My pleasure.... biggrin.gif
TSsharil_routh
post Sep 26 2008, 06:29 AM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(jason86 @ Sep 25 2008, 07:29 PM)
helo all.....just came back ffrm johore....

chin~~tat gp i show u all,i saw at pet safari...i fall in lov with him....tat y i try to look for solution.

will update miko's cage soon...keke
U already bring dat gp to vet? smile.gif

14 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0412sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:02 AM