Decent speakers for my Proton Savvy

TSkobe8byrant
post Jul 5 2008, 06:27 PM, updated 16y ago

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

Using the speakers that came with my Savvy and pretty much, they SUCK! How much would a decent pair of speakers cost for my Proton Savvy?

Budget: Depends how much mid range car speakers would cost?
Brand: Would prefer Kenwood or Pioneer since I've only heard of those two. Would accept recommendations.
SUSathlonxp
post Jul 5 2008, 07:05 PM

1,067 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Jul 5 2008, 06:27 PM)
Using the speakers that came with my Savvy and pretty much, they SUCK! How much would a decent pair of speakers cost for my Proton Savvy?

Budget: Depends how much mid range car speakers would cost?
Brand: Would prefer Kenwood or Pioneer since I've only heard of those two. Would accept recommendations.
how much is ur budget?

a pair of component speaker can cost from RM200 to RM4000 wink.gif
mADmAN
post Jul 5 2008, 07:46 PM

10,515 posts

yeah....put down the exact numbers....

how much ur WILLING to spend for the speakers?
TSkobe8byrant
post Jul 5 2008, 10:04 PM

12,275 posts

Errm, what can 400 to 500 ringgit get me?
dirsly
post Jul 11 2008, 12:19 PM

Safe Trader
1,426 posts

compnnt speaker..

This post has been edited by dirsly: Jul 11 2008, 12:20 PM
hypermount
post Jul 11 2008, 12:57 PM

Patriot!
1,635 posts

Turn on your HU'S LOUD function first and see if it's worth to upgrade or not.. Most people do not know of this function ..

otherwise get component speakers...I spent 300 nia for cheap amp and components with own installation, still sound much better than stock.

400-500 for mid quality component speakers alone. RM100 labour and amp kit outside shop.
dirsly
post Jul 11 2008, 02:23 PM

Safe Trader
1,426 posts

gud idea too..so tht ur money not melt so ezy.. smile.gif
jimmylim85
post Jul 11 2008, 11:46 PM

iPhone world....
7,665 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Jul 5 2008, 10:04 PM)
Errm, what can 400 to 500 ringgit get me?
Soundstream Picasso PCC6 Component speaker RM 3xx to RM 4xx

or

JBL GTO around RM 399
ckmoy007
post Jul 12 2008, 01:47 AM

5 Star ICE Noob
865 posts

i think a set of jbl will suit your budget.
SUSathlonxp
post Jul 12 2008, 02:46 AM

1,067 posts

400-500 can get

JBL 607C
or
pegasus PG62

avoid soundstream at all cost, many fakes around, even the real one sound so so for the price
ivanlmh
post Jul 12 2008, 08:11 AM

Dark Knight
829 posts

JBL would be the way to go. Its better if you have plans to upgrade your HU later..then you can plan to buy what speakers now
SUSathlonxp
post Jul 12 2008, 01:44 PM

1,067 posts

if u go with JBL GTO602C u need an amp because that component run on 2ohm, might kill ur HU if u connect direct to HU
TSkobe8byrant
post Jul 12 2008, 07:31 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(hypermount @ Jul 11 2008, 12:57 PM)
Turn on your HU'S LOUD function first and see if it's worth to upgrade or not.. Most people do not know of this function ..

otherwise get component speakers...I spent 300 nia for cheap amp and components with own installation, still sound much better than stock.

400-500 for mid quality component speakers alone. RM100 labour and amp kit outside shop.
Guys thanks for your replies. I'd assume HU stands for House Unit? Well, yes I did turn on the LOUD function and it still sounds like crap. I'd change the HU one day but at the moment, I just want better speakers but I'm not sure if it's the speakers or the car because the Savvy is my first and only car and the speakers are at the doors so I was thinking if there'd be better quality if I change the speakers or since the position of the speakers is at the doors, it'd be the same thing.

And an amp kit? What would that do? Thanks in advance. A lot of people have recommended the JBL so far = )
Benjamin1213
post Jul 13 2008, 08:46 PM

Junkiez©
827 posts

Try boschmann budget set as im using it, if you would like to have something bassy i would recommend you to go for a sub. No point having nice speakers when the stock position (Door) does not allow the speaker to produce bass and it is irritating to listen to those plastic door panel hitting.
mnkh27
post Jul 13 2008, 09:10 PM

212 posts

i've a pair of diamond D362 demo set, with box and manual for only rm650. I'm selling a new pair at rm800. retail price is set above rm1100.

let me know if you're interested. warranty included. installation cost rm30-60 for a basic plug and play with a wooden mdf ring.

dirsly
post Jul 14 2008, 06:58 AM

Safe Trader
1,426 posts

aaa...ths is a great deal frm u ts...
but for me i just installed my infinity compnt speakers...

This post has been edited by dirsly: Jul 14 2008, 06:59 AM
hypermount
post Jul 15 2008, 10:31 AM

Patriot!
1,635 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Jul 12 2008, 07:31 PM)
Guys thanks for your replies. I'd assume HU stands for House Unit? Well, yes I did turn on the LOUD function and it still sounds like crap. I'd change the HU one day but at the moment, I just want better speakers but I'm not sure if it's the speakers or the car because the Savvy is my first and only car and the speakers are at the doors so I was thinking if there'd be better quality if I change the speakers or since the position of the speakers is at the doors, it'd be the same thing.

And an amp kit? What would that do? Thanks in advance. A lot of people have recommended the JBL so far = )
try to upgrade speakers first - to components definitely...even better powered with an amp - you'll get to hear details you haven't heard before with stock speakers. My stock rear was powered with HU, front components with an amp. amp kit = cables ,wires, etc..if you don't plan to do re-wiring, pins no 2,3,4,5 of the 8-pin speaker connector are for the front speakers - 2,3 - front right, +ve first and -ve wires.

If you got the moolah, of course those brands like JBL, infiniti will do better.

be warned though once u take a plunge into ice world, you'll get addicted and waste lotsa money hehe.

Added on July 15, 2008, 10:33 am
QUOTE(Benjamin1213 @ Jul 13 2008, 08:46 PM)
Try boschmann budget set as im using it, if you would like to have something bassy i would recommend you to go for a sub. No point having nice speakers when the stock position (Door) does not allow the speaker to produce bass and it is irritating to listen to those plastic door panel hitting.
Mine is ok..you need to some detailed operation on the door - apart from the locking metal rods, the white clips to fasten the door panel into frame is the culprit.

This post has been edited by hypermount: Jul 15 2008, 10:33 AM
MobyDick
post Jul 15 2008, 10:42 AM

731 posts

I would not suggest to replace your current stock speakers in order to get better overall sound as the replace component may not match your current HU output. Maybe get better mid-bass but lose highs/clarity or vice-versa. Would suggest TS to save a bit more $$ & get HU & front component set installed together at same shop. Test the component speaker until satisfied within your car with the new HU, don't give chance for installer to give excuses if sound not to your taste.
fireballs
post May 18 2021, 11:22 AM

5,627 posts

question.. whats the size of the speaker? is it 6 or 6.5inch?
ktek
post May 19 2021, 04:38 PM

拼拼拼多啦
12,537 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ May 18 2021, 11:22 AM)
question.. whats the size of the speaker? is it 6 or 6.5inch?
halo2. ppl ask during 2008. perhaps he will changed again after 13 yrs later

0.0165sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 07:29 PM