ATI HD4850 Overclockers' United, welcome to the Darkside overclocking!!

celciuz
post Aug 21 2008, 12:40 AM

14,033 posts

Guys, want ask ar, when i'm doing artifact scanning, I can hear my PSu making some weird noise.. like whistling or whinning? What does it mean? PSU overloaded? I'm using this huntkey 550w (ya i know.. not a branded or whatsoever). and running a gainward 4850 golden sample.

the sound only comes when I start the artifact scanning, happens in both ati tray tool and ati tool.
celciuz
post Aug 21 2008, 07:07 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Aug 21 2008, 01:18 AM)
That's the sound from ur gc if iinm.
From GC? err, I'm new to overclocking.. and my card is factory overclocked.. so this is normal? or abnormal? though it sounded like it was coming from the psu instead... hmm...
celciuz
post Aug 22 2008, 09:31 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Aug 21 2008, 09:15 AM)
that's is the sound made by gc, come from the coils. google for it
Hi, after observations I'm very sure the sound is coming from the PSU. I've found a few other cases on the internet. One of them is using a CM 700W PSU with 9800GX2 and he has the noise as well.

I don't know how to describe the noise but very much similiar to this, which I assume is probably the same case.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vSrf9Jh_8fk

Taiko here who OCed their 4850, what kinda PSU are you guys using? Any noise when stressing the GPU to max?

ps. any sifu free can visit my thread, http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=772911

Thanks a lot.

EDIT :

When loading I mean situations like this... =/ When GPU is up to 99-100% but I don't think the card is overheating or something yet right?

This post has been edited by celciuz: Aug 22 2008, 09:35 AM
celciuz
post Aug 25 2008, 07:06 AM

14,033 posts

About the heat, I think the 4850 GS is running quite "cool" when compared to the reference board.

Though it seems that when running at 100% fan speed, can hear a little bit of metal knocking noise. Probably the heatsink vibrating a little due to the fan and knocking against the plastic cover a little.
celciuz
post Aug 28 2008, 10:20 AM

14,033 posts

At least you never smell something cooking on the card tongue.gif But seriously.. 105 isn't that... very risky and dangerous?
celciuz
post Aug 28 2008, 09:21 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(D-Zire @ Aug 28 2008, 02:17 PM)
ha....a bit worried la...but i boiled the card i still can rma...but the thought of not using the computer for the duration of rma...cant bear with it...later tonite gonna do some burn tests to see if the temp reported by furmark is accurate...
Temperature reported should be right.. since it is reading directly from the GC.

But for real... really want to RMA it ar.. laugh.gif What case anyways? Might be the case though.
celciuz
post Sep 25 2008, 06:23 PM

14,033 posts

Wow, 825mhz core! and 1200mhz on the memory. Nice. Care to post a 3dmark06? Wondering what's the sm2.0 and sm3.0 score is like. TQ.
celciuz
post Sep 25 2008, 07:38 PM

14,033 posts

Henry's card is definitely a true Golden Sample among all the 4850s. Kinda curious what the temperature is though.
celciuz
post Sep 26 2008, 06:58 AM

14,033 posts

Palit 4850 Sonic, if you look carefully, the heatsink is the same. Basically Palit 4850 Sonic is "another 4850 Golden Sample". The board looks the same, heatsink looks the same. Probably manufactured at the same location as well as Palit owns part of Gainward or was it Gainward owns part of Palit.
celciuz
post Oct 7 2008, 10:40 PM

14,033 posts

Use GPU-Z 0.28, it will show up correctly.
celciuz
post Oct 8 2008, 01:06 PM

14,033 posts

My 4850GS sobs sobs, not stable even at stock clock. Now sent back for RMA, wait till I get the replacement xD! Gonna see how much I can push it hehe.
celciuz
post Oct 8 2008, 01:59 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Oct 8 2008, 01:43 PM)
Bro, wat is the DCCFX-P2 card for? Nice sapphire card btw. Show us the clock smile.gif
http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qi...20072433AA7NIFA

I googled around and found this, seems that is it for enabling CrossfireX with the onboard GC...
celciuz
post Oct 9 2008, 03:47 PM

14,033 posts

Aiya, sadly the card bottlenecked by the CPU. Else can see how much this card can score in 3DMark06. Nice clocks! 1300 on the memory is sweet.
celciuz
post Oct 9 2008, 06:56 PM

14,033 posts

Btw, with the current toxic heatsink what are the temps like during load? let's say with furmark?
celciuz
post Oct 15 2008, 05:36 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(rlhc17 @ Oct 15 2008, 12:28 PM)
My HD4850 + HD4850 CF

[attachmentid=630533]
Reference cards? What modding was done? Pencil mod? or bios mod to change the voltage?
celciuz
post Oct 15 2008, 05:49 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(metsatsu @ Oct 15 2008, 05:44 PM)

GG, I'll keep this as a record tongue.gif.

Now 825MHz, damn great. I've seen 4850 with GPU-Z validation at furmark's website. 625 to 825. Wonder how he did it...
celciuz
post Oct 15 2008, 06:13 PM

14,033 posts

Hmm, I manage to do 750/1150 on my GS. Didn't game much, a bit of Warhead and a bit of GRID. Survived for about 30minutes each, didn't crash (yet..) Well, still waiting for the fans I ordered for my case >.< Will try out more when I get them. (Supposed today.. but tak sampai yet haiz).
celciuz
post Oct 17 2008, 08:19 PM

14,033 posts

owikh84, so fast swap your GS heatsink for TRad2? biggrin.gif
celciuz
post Nov 11 2008, 11:33 AM

14,033 posts

My 4850GS idles around 40C. Goes below 40C when I turn on the aircond. 700/1100 stock clock though.
celciuz
post Nov 11 2008, 04:11 PM

14,033 posts

^ You should search around the Gainward thread often to see the idling temp. Some guys were getting much better than mine without aircond!. Better get it quick cause apparently the price will be rising a little due to the currency exchange.

0.0337sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:49 PM