ATI HD4850 Overclockers' United, welcome to the Darkside overclocking!!

D-Zire
post Jul 29 2008, 10:57 PM

560 posts

where exactly do u get the MSI bios?
D-Zire
post Jul 30 2008, 09:08 AM

560 posts

QUOTE(SkywalkerxX @ Jul 30 2008, 12:41 AM)
bro..that one no Vmod and stock cooler ar??
bro..when u want to test whether the oc process is ok or no..what tool do u use to check it?since ATItool 0.26 cant work with 4800 series..i cant check it..scare oc high high -> kaboom!
u can oc from CCC and RBE Radeon Bios Editor,u can get it from TechPowerUP...
RBE Bios Editor full name is RaBit Bios Editor right?

i found ATI Tools ver0.27c....i duno whether its bugging anot coz even when i'm on stock settings, artifacts were found during scanning...hmmmm blink.gif

http://downloads.guru3d.com/ATi-Tool-0.27-...wnload-725.html
u might wanna give it a try
D-Zire
post Jul 30 2008, 11:09 AM

560 posts

try to reduce the mem to 1000 and try again...i tried 700/1050...wa once i start scanning...all the artifacts come out alredi....then i change it to 1000 then the artifacts detected reduced...but still got artifacts la... duno why
D-Zire
post Aug 1 2008, 03:17 PM

560 posts

between battle axe and accelero twin turbo which one is better?
D-Zire
post Aug 4 2008, 06:06 PM

560 posts

how did u do that?
D-Zire
post Aug 6 2008, 11:49 AM

560 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Aug 5 2008, 09:17 AM)
Flash the edited bios back to the card. Edit the original bios using Radeon Bios Editor and flash it using AtiWinFlash. You can get them both at TechPowerup.
wow....blardy....i extracted my bios out using gpu-z and loaded the bios into atiwinflash....great....the card died on me....cant even boot up....not even into bios....so i gotta send back to shop and ask for a change...whoever this is flashing shit is fun to play with...think again....better be well prepared that ur card might give up on u vmad.gif
D-Zire
post Aug 7 2008, 10:45 AM

560 posts

anyone mind to guide me on using RBE?
i've loaded in the bios and found that there are 9 clock info there..which one should i edit? and if i need to change voltage right, do i change it for every clock info or juz one only?
D-Zire
post Aug 21 2008, 10:30 AM

560 posts

QUOTE(leezhunkeat @ Aug 15 2008, 12:42 PM)
yes, it's a stock cooler fan from Gigabyte HD4850. (3 years warranty) rclxm9.gif

i set the fan speed at 60%. a bit noisy. so i reduce to 55%. sounds pretty quiet.

i've tried 100%, it sounds like my HD4850 cooler is gonna explode anytime. haha

Added on August 18, 2008, 12:29 pmI've found a better software than CCC

It's call ATI tools tray. It's much more sophiscated and more tweaks can be done.

Here's the link http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=270486
wat version of ATI tools tray are u using?

i downloaded ATI Tray Tools 1.3.6.1042 and tried to oc it but when i click apply it gave me BSOD... sad.gif
D-Zire
post Aug 22 2008, 09:32 AM

560 posts

yea must download the driver seperately for vista 32bit....ati webmaster was half asleep when he post up the links...=(
D-Zire
post Aug 26 2008, 07:21 PM

560 posts

i wonder how furmark stability test works? something like atitools? so when u run the program...the fur donut will show artifacts as well?
D-Zire
post Aug 27 2008, 10:26 AM

560 posts

QUOTE(leezhunkeat @ Aug 26 2008, 08:32 PM)
i think if there are artifacts, you'll start seeing white dots randomly appear on the donut
thanks for the info.

btw anyone tried auto-tune before? i wonder if its reliable enough....
D-Zire
post Aug 28 2008, 10:15 AM

560 posts

i'm using a stock gigabyte 4850 oc to 690/1120...idle temp 57 load temp....105......wow imagine that....105....can boil the water alredi....@_@
D-Zire
post Aug 28 2008, 02:17 PM

560 posts

ha....a bit worried la...but i boiled the card i still can rma...but the thought of not using the computer for the duration of rma...cant bear with it...later tonite gonna do some burn tests to see if the temp reported by furmark is accurate...
D-Zire
post Aug 28 2008, 10:50 PM

560 posts

fan is running 54%....load temp still 105...i cant imagine the temp if i put it to auto....fries my card instanntly....anyhow i'm using a raidmax sagitta casing...i dun think is the case airflow problem....must be the card la....hmmm...generating too much heat
D-Zire
post Aug 29 2008, 09:55 AM

560 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Aug 28 2008, 11:56 PM)
I think he's still on stock thermal paste which is damn sucky.  doh.gif
yea...i'm still on stock thermal paste....ok i'll put in new paste and see how the temp goes with stock cooler... smile.gif
D-Zire
post Nov 10 2008, 03:12 PM

560 posts

Akasa Vortexx Neo doesnt perform as good as artic twin turbo...but the blink blink nice la...lol
D-Zire
post Aug 28 2009, 12:08 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(lingloong @ Aug 27 2009, 02:28 PM)
I think factory OCed HD4890 is damn fast edi  laugh.gif
but still the cards have potential to be further overclocked...lets start a 4890 OC thread?

0.0297sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:45 PM