Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Bump TopicReply to this topicRSS feed Start new topic Start Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Gigabyte Superb 550W, Is it true power/efficiency?

vedder1979
post Jul 3 2008, 10:36 PM, updated 8 years ago


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 168

Joined: Nov 2006
From: Kota Kinabalu


Sorry if this is in the wrong section(but I think it's here right?)
Anyway, Does the psu have good efficiency and also true power cause i don't know how to measure the
efficiency on a psu or to add up and declaring it as a true power psu, reason for this question is that i wanna run
SLI(Nvidia 7 series) on an A8NSLI-Deluxe and was wondering if the psu has enough juice before purchasing
BTW, already googled it, no review says that its either true or not true power

Pic of the Spec
user posted image

Thanks in advance thumbup.gif

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sjn hassan
post Jul 3 2008, 10:41 PM


Member's of MAKAN MEGGI club
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,544

Joined: Jan 2003
From: United States of Cybertron




Bro..i thought this PSU don't have dual PCI-e power supply..so don't think it's recommended to setup a SLi system
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
vedder1979
post Jul 3 2008, 10:49 PM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 168

Joined: Nov 2006
From: Kota Kinabalu


QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Jul 3 2008, 10:41 PM)
Bro..i thought this PSU don't have dual PCI-e power supply..so don't think it's recommended to setup a SLi system
*
If you use the 4 pin molex converter to pci-e, is this advisable?

aw man wrong section ler, mod can relocate this?..sorry just noticed the little bar that says Hardware Questions & Answers sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TristanX
post Jul 3 2008, 11:28 PM


Where is my stars?
Group Icon
Group: Elite
Posts: 15,087

Joined: Nov 2004
From: Setapak, Kuala Lumpur


Well if you wanna go SLI, go at least 750W to be on the safe side. You still can use your same PSU when you upgrade your computer anyway.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
vedder1979
post Jul 3 2008, 11:37 PM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 168

Joined: Nov 2006
From: Kota Kinabalu


QUOTE(TristanX @ Jul 3 2008, 11:28 PM)
Well if you wanna go SLI, go at least 750W to be on the safe side. You still can use your same PSU when you upgrade your computer anyway.
*
The thing is the psu is cheap. So how do you measure the efficiency on a psu anyways? or knowing if it's true power or not.
The PSU is just to power up my old A8NSLI-Deluxe and wondering if it has enough juice to power up 2 7900gs/7600gt

This post has been edited by vedder1979: Jul 3 2008, 11:49 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TristanX
post Jul 3 2008, 11:42 PM


Where is my stars?
Group Icon
Group: Elite
Posts: 15,087

Joined: Nov 2004
From: Setapak, Kuala Lumpur


I have no idea. You can try emailing gigabyte's support for the confirmation.

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
vedder1979
post Jul 3 2008, 11:49 PM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 168

Joined: Nov 2006
From: Kota Kinabalu


sweat.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif sweat.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
NUR_VER.3
post Jul 5 2008, 03:06 AM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 245

Joined: May 2008
From: Dun ya


currently using it right now...the true power is 450w

The PSU can reach 550W, but its not true power..

if you want to run SLI mode, at least look for Gigabyte ODIN series with 550W true power...
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.1054sec    9.44    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th August 2015 - 05:30 PM