9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Harmony One remote control, Brief review of Logitech's latest remote

v_alex85
post Jun 4 2009, 03:19 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(bsl555 @ Apr 21 2009, 11:29 AM)
I actually still own a Marantz Pronto RC5000 touch remote and software customization with it was GREAT!.
I'm actually beginning to hate this Logitech remote software after some days fooling around and customizing it to my components.

1. The software NEED internet access.
2. The Logitech component database isn't exact or duplicate of your remote, even by model. You can have numerous other buttons and features that may not exist on your component.
3. The software (even when updated to latest) is slow and very slow from step to step. I think it refers everything from Logitech server database.
4. Cannot directly learn from ori remote unless through software.
5. The firmware upgrade feature keeps updating it despite your own is already updated to latest. It doesn't bypass update it found to be latest.

Many other regrets lah..
I think this remote is overhyped!.  shakehead.gif
Well if it really wanna get rid of this you can sell it to me. pm if interested

Regards
Vinod
attentional
post Jun 13 2009, 09:24 AM

358 posts

Anyone knows where I can buy that denon customised remote for denon av receivers?
MusashiX
post Jun 13 2009, 02:05 PM

34 posts

i prefer remote to have hard buttons instead of touchscreen. Trust me, hard button make remote control feels more connected. Although synchronization & programming are a little sluggish, i can live with my harmony. After all, nothing is perfect.
jchong
post Jun 15 2009, 09:30 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(robinlim @ May 13 2009, 09:37 AM)
yes, it's sold at a whopping RM1099!  sweat.gif
Is the RM1099 price still current for the Harmony One?

Anybody wanna bulk from either US/UK? The One is much cheaper over there.
SUSnordingh
post Jun 15 2009, 11:17 AM

I not 24 hours here...
4,419 posts

Yes stilll Rm1099 as yesterday at lowyat plaza...
jchong
post Jun 15 2009, 11:24 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(nordingh @ Jun 15 2009, 11:17 AM)
Yes stilll Rm1099 as yesterday at lowyat plaza...
Thanks for the info.
Hwoarang45
post Jun 15 2009, 08:20 PM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

i wonder wats the lifespan and durability of these babies, wont wanan accidently trip this 1k remote and end up lcd crack hahahaaa
arremie
post Jun 15 2009, 11:13 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

I was thinking of getting this but my marantz universal remote can control like 80% of the stuff in the house including my ceiling fan so I think I spent the 1k on something else la. Anyway, there's one ebay seller from hongkong selling this for USD155 and free shipping. Might want to check it out if u wanna one.
rthj
post Jun 15 2009, 11:23 PM

1,048 posts

Harmony 1100 is the way to go....too bad its like almost 3X the price of One.....cant afford neither..plus my old harmony is still working fine...

This post has been edited by rthj: Jun 15 2009, 11:24 PM
jchong
post Jun 16 2009, 07:50 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Jun 15 2009, 11:13 PM)
I was thinking of getting this but my marantz universal remote can control like 80% of the stuff in the house including my ceiling fan so I think I spent the 1k on something else la. Anyway, there's one ebay seller from hongkong selling this for USD155 and free shipping. Might want to check it out if u wanna one.
Hi, you got the link to this ebay seller?
arremie
post Jun 16 2009, 09:12 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jun 16 2009, 07:50 AM)
Hi, you got the link to this ebay seller?
I saw the other day but now I search no more. Maybe wait a few days n try again in case he list the item again.
Star_Scream
post Jun 16 2009, 10:41 AM

138 posts

hi.. want to ask..

i planned to get my first harmony but i was wondering which model to take.. currently aiming for the cheapo 525.

why is 525 so much cheaper than 885 and One?? i dun think i would spend extra few hundred bucks if the difference is only on the coloured LCD and rechargable battery..

also, can it control our astro decoder unit? tried to check its compatibility from their websites but i do not have the decoder's model number.. sorry blush.gif

appreciate if someone could help...

P/S: want to use it for LG LCD TV, Astro, Yamaha AVR, WDTV, and KDK ceiling fan..
SUSnordingh
post Jun 16 2009, 10:24 PM

I not 24 hours here...
4,419 posts

525:
4 activity button
non color screen (text only)
use normal AAA battery
cannot customize image for channel (no color mah..)
like normal remote design (boring)

885:
8 activity button
color screen
use rechargeable battery like hp type
cannot customize image for channel like TV3, RTM1(got color mah..)
can set wallpaper and screen saver while charging.
ergonomic design

One:
more advance than 885 with touch screen.

LG LCD TV, Astro, Yamaha AVR, WDTV, and KDK ceiling fan

Some I found:

For LG and Yamaha shouldn't have any problem... For WDTV sure have.. I using now,,,,

when you have the remote... you can try a few model until find the correct setting. Take me 2 whole days to perfect my setting. Now with just pushing few button, I can relax and enjoy my entertainments.

I check here.

This post has been edited by nordingh: Jun 16 2009, 11:05 PM
armourone
post Jun 17 2009, 02:06 AM

108 posts

waoooohhh cool man
SUSnordingh
post Jun 17 2009, 02:10 AM

I not 24 hours here...
4,419 posts

QUOTE(armourone @ Jun 17 2009, 02:06 AM)
waoooohhh cool man
But not sure RMVB player supported or not tongue.gif
Star_Scream
post Jun 17 2009, 08:58 AM

138 posts

QUOTE(nordingh @ Jun 16 2009, 10:24 PM)
525:
4 activity button
non color screen (text only)
use normal AAA battery
cannot customize image for channel (no color mah..)
like normal remote design (boring)
Many thanx to you! Now i m enlightened...
TSterranova
post Jun 17 2009, 11:05 AM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(Hwoarang45 @ Jun 15 2009, 08:20 PM)
i wonder wats the lifespan and durability of these babies, wont wanan accidently trip this 1k remote and end up lcd crack hahahaaa
they're pretty solidly built. and the screen is durable. had mine for close to a year now, and it has survived numerous drops from the sofa to a hard floor.

Added on June 17, 2009, 11:11 am
QUOTE(rthj @ Jun 15 2009, 11:23 PM)
Harmony 1100 is the way to go....too bad its like almost 3X the price of One.....cant afford neither..plus my old harmony is still working fine...
i would say that the harmony 1000/1100 caters to a different market segment, ie those looking for a tablet remote.

This post has been edited by terranova: Jun 17 2009, 11:11 AM
SUSnordingh
post Jun 17 2009, 01:11 PM

I not 24 hours here...
4,419 posts

My 885 still look good, like new after 1 year.....
Nitrous
post Jun 23 2009, 11:47 AM

212 posts

Hey guys
I currently have Harmony One remote, which is being used for all IR items in my apartment currently (saves me from walking and pick up remotes from everywhere). It is an excellent remote, though since last week, I was without my remote.

I have just sent my remote in back to the Logitech distributor MCL for warranty claim, as the battery for my Harmony One no longer holds the charge. My remote runs flat after 8 hours of use (non-continuous). I tried to remove the battery to check, but unable to. The battery was so bloated inside the remote's battery compartment, that the battery got stuck in it.

My question is, after the warranty period (FYI, the warranty for Harmony remotes are 2 years), how do i get new batteries for the Harmony one? I tried to ask logitech/MCL if I can purchase additional battery but the answer is no. Anyone knows where I can purhase the Logitech harmony batteries?

Thanks!
Nit
SUSnordingh
post Jun 23 2009, 11:54 AM

I not 24 hours here...
4,419 posts

Daddy eBay got...

http://cgi.ebay.com/Logitech-Harmony-One-1...93%3A1|294%3A50

9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0225sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled