9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Harmony One remote control, Brief review of Logitech's latest remote

TSterranova
post Jun 30 2008, 10:46 PM, updated 14y ago

1,161 posts

Not sure if there’s already an existing thread in here on this. Did a quick search and did not find anything. So thought I’d share my initial impression of the new Logitech Harmony One universal remote control and also a brief comparison to its predecessor (in case anyone is thinking of upgrading to the One).

Having owned and used its predecessor, the Harmony 880/885, setting up the Harmony One is very simple as the remote management software from Logitech automatically imports all the previous settings and configuration from my previous 880 into the One. All except the favourite channels settings though. Bummer.

However, if you’re using a Harmony for the first time, then it may initially be daunting as the web-based software takes some time to familiarise. However, once you get going, it’s really rather simple. Specify your hardware model and the software accesses the Harmony database and retrieves the remote control code for your hardware. If it’s not available or really obscure, your Harmony remote can learn by receiving the IR command from your device’s existing remote. I’ve scattered some sample screenshots of the management software throughout this review.

The form factor of the One beats the 880 hands down. Although slightly longer, the One is more ergonomic, the remote doesn’t feel as slippery as the 880, the hard buttons are better organised, bigger and feels more solid overall. It is slimmer than the 880 though slightly broader at certain parts.

A noteworthy improvement is the accompanying docking / recharging base station. I really hated the 880’s base station as recharging the unit was usually a hit or miss affair. The contact points on the remote needs to be placed with surgical precision (ok, slight exaggeration on my part!) on the charging pins (on the base station) for the unit to recharge. Many a times, a slight nudge or movement would displace the contact points and you find out the next morning that your remote failed to charge. This has happened so many times that it was no longer funny to play the “wake up and see if your remote was charged” game. The One’s docking station is much improved, the One sits firmly in its base when you plonk it down. The LED light at the top turns green when it’s fully charged. A nice addition over the previous version.

The main enhancement of the One over the 880 is the introduction of a hi-res touch-screen. The only other Harmony remote in the market right now that has touch screen is the Harmony 1000, but that sports a different form factor altogether (the 1000 is a tablet style remote). The pic below may not do the One justice, but I can attest that the new screen on the One is really beautiful, bright and clear and much better than the one found on the 880. There are also 2 context-based soft keys at the bottom and 2 arrow keys on the side of the touch-screen. If there was any complain, it would be that the new screen only affords 3 activities to a single screen whereas the old screen could accommodate 8 activities on one page (however to activate any of the 8 activities requires you to press that tiny button next to the activity, something people with fat fingers like myself may find hard to do).

You can have as many pages of activities as you need on the One. But I’ve read on forums that if you go beyond 6 pages, the remote becomes sluggish. I only use 3 pages, so can’t really comment on that. But heck, I’d take the One any day. smile.gif

Press the desired Activity on the touch-screen (e.g. Watch Astro TV) will trigger a sequence of pre-defined instructions (e.g. switch on TV, switch on AV Receiver, select input mode on AV Receiver, switch on Astro decoder, switch on air-conditioner!!) all in a single press. Other universal remotes call this a “macro” function, but Logitech calls their macros “Activities”. Different name, same thing.

You can customise your favourite channels on the touch screen through the management software.

Another improvement of the One over the 880 : Favourite Channels now can accommodate 4 pages (4 pages x 6 channels = 24 favourite channels) to a single Activity whereas the 880 restricted this to only 2 pages x 8 channels = 16 favourite channels per Activity. Hence, if I wanted to include more channels beyond the 16 channels allocation on the 880, I would have had to create 2 activities e.g. “Watch Astro 1” and “Watch Astro 2”.

Besides adding your favourite channels on the touchscreen, you can also customise the touchscreen to include functions or buttons not found on the hard keys.

Besides the Activities macros, you can also control each device in your household individually like you would on a normal remote. You do this by going to the Devices function, select the Device of your choice, and carry out the remote function. This would be useful particularly for standalone devices that do not require a sequence of events (e.g. control the air-conditioner, open the electric gate, etc.). The colour scheme on the touchscreen changes to amber when you are in Device mode. In Activity mode, it’s blue. You can also change the color theme in the remote settings page. I chose to stay with the default theme.

Although the 880 has served me well over the years, it’s time to move on. The One is a major improvement over the 880 in many ways, and then some. If there is one complain, it would be that the One’s black glossy mirror finish really shows up finger-print residue. Impressively, included in the package that came with the One is a micro-fiber cloth that does an admirable cleaning job. Kudos to Logitech.

Footnote:
(1) Sorry if the photos are not very good. I’m lousy at handling a camera. *shy*
(2) If this thread doesn’t belong in the Audiophile section, would appreciate if the mods would move this to another section deemed appropriate. Cheers.

This post has been edited by terranova: Jun 30 2008, 11:13 PM
arremie
post Jun 30 2008, 11:01 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Pergh....remote control also so fancy these days rolleyes.gif
songbo
post Jun 30 2008, 11:14 PM

♥ ▬▬ ҳ̸Ҳ̸ҳ 爽吗 ҳ̸Ҳ̸ҳ ▬▬ ♥
1,029 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Jun 30 2008, 11:01 PM)
Pergh....remote control also so fancy these days  rolleyes.gif
exactly shocking.gif .
i wonder wats the price shocking.gif
justone
post Jul 1 2008, 01:03 AM

justone
1,067 posts

arn RM1k?
damn nice, remote wif LCD... drool.gif
aiman04
post Jul 1 2008, 07:46 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Wow, nice! drool.gif

And that's some write up! You got the talent of a reviewer! rclxms.gif

It's my dream to have a universal remote one day. For my AV setup alone, I'm using 6 remotes! (Will be 7 with the possible coming of Velodyne sub) doh.gif (If can get the one Adam Sandler used, even better! tongue.gif )

Terranova, mind to share how much is the remote? And how to get it?

This post has been edited by aiman04: Jul 1 2008, 08:08 AM
mpyw
post Jul 1 2008, 08:20 AM

3,603 posts

Terranova,
Your 880 for sale now brows.gif

was really tempted to get the ONE at one point when they're on promo at $179....but don't think the wife will agree to it as my URC RF20 still less than a year. tongue.gif

i am using the URC RF20 with RF base for my upstairs Astro control..got it for only $71....not as good looking as the Harmony but it get the things done and most importantly...cheap...if you are getting the Remote itself only...it's around $55....but with RF base...your remote can be used anywhere within the range and point to any direction thumbup.gif
JonC
post Jul 1 2008, 11:22 AM

Forever Silenced But The Truth Will Be Told - JFT96
1,612 posts

Already wanted to get one but the price put me off. sad.gif Aiyoh now got more power poison with this review. sweat.gif Must resist! Must resist!
songbo
post Jul 1 2008, 11:29 AM

♥ ▬▬ ҳ̸Ҳ̸ҳ 爽吗 ҳ̸Ҳ̸ҳ ▬▬ ♥
1,029 posts

QUOTE(JonC @ Jul 1 2008, 11:22 AM)
Already wanted to get one but the price put me off.  sad.gif Aiyoh now got more power poison with this review.  sweat.gif  Must resist! Must resist!
same here. if i got vit. M i also wanna buy one.. drool.gif
TSterranova
post Jul 1 2008, 11:42 AM

1,161 posts

THanks guys for the kind words. I bought mine for US$199. The price has come down since the launch price of US$250. rclxm9.gif I remember I bought the 880 a few years back for US$250 also.

@ aiman - Best bet is to get it online. Perhaps you can try getting it online here:
http://www.expansys.com.sg/p.aspx?i=162748

Not sure if they deliver to Malaysia, guess you'll have to check with them.

@ mpyw - suggest you get the One over the 880. The price difference (new unit) is marginal only, but worth it. Once you see and use the One, you won't want the 880.

Oh, and forgot to add that the 880/885 is the same model, 880 is the US model and 885 is its EU cousin. 890 is different altogether as it adds an RF (radio frequency) emitter to the unit besides transmitting in IR (infra-red).

This post has been edited by terranova: Jul 1 2008, 11:44 AM
aiman04
post Jul 1 2008, 11:44 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Thanks bro! Will check it out! thumbup.gif

Added on July 1, 2008, 12:25 pmThey do ship to Malaysia, using Fedex. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by aiman04: Jul 1 2008, 12:25 PM
rx330
post Jul 1 2008, 02:19 PM

11,808 posts

poisons come non stop...
TSterranova
post Jul 2 2008, 08:05 PM

1,161 posts

@ aiman - u ordered? thumbup.gif how much do they charge for shipping?

@ rx - you should get one. I know you have at least 6 or 7 remotes lying around the house. All replaced by a single One. tongue.gif
mpyw
post Jul 2 2008, 08:59 PM

3,603 posts

I will get one someday...just not now
maybe after i setup the upstairs properly then can get it tongue.gif
aiman04
post Jul 3 2008, 07:48 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ Jul 2 2008, 08:05 PM)
@ aiman - u ordered?  thumbup.gif how much do they charge for shipping?

@ rx - you should get one. I know you have at least 6 or 7 remotes lying around the house. All replaced by a single One.  tongue.gif
Shipping is not bad, SG$26 using Fedex. But my fund is a little short. In fact, never had any fund for it, let's see if I can save some from my subwoofer fund end of this month. sweat.gif
JonC
post Jul 3 2008, 12:45 PM

Forever Silenced But The Truth Will Be Told - JFT96
1,612 posts

Beli bro, jagan tak beli! tongue.gif brows.gif I might only be able to get a unit later near the end of the year...... my speding on bd aint helping my funding for the remote any bit. blush.gif
rx330
post Jul 3 2008, 01:08 PM

11,808 posts

terra, now since i have split the av area, my remotes become less liao, 4 on ground floor, 4 on 1st floor biggrin.gif
aiman04
post Jul 9 2008, 09:34 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Hi guys,

I'm also eyeing Philips Prestigo. Anyone got any comments/experience? How does it compare to this Harmony One?

Thanks! notworthy.gif
pierreye
post Jul 9 2008, 10:09 PM

1,308 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jul 1 2008, 08:20 AM)
Terranova,
Your 880 for sale now brows.gif

was really tempted to get the ONE at one point when they're on promo at $179....but don't think the wife will agree to it as my URC RF20 still less than a year. tongue.gif

i am using the URC RF20 with RF base for my upstairs Astro control..got it for only $71....not as good looking as the Harmony but it get the things done and  most importantly...cheap...if you are getting the Remote itself only...it's around $55....but with RF base...your remote can be used anywhere within the range and point to any direction thumbup.gif
Where you get URC RF20 for $71 (USD or RM)? I already have a harmony one but need another simpler remote for my living hall. My son and daughter drop my normal remote few times so I need a more rugged and cheaper remote for normal use. Can URC RF20 learn from other remote? Need that to control my aircon, fan and remote lighting system.
tong1774
post Jul 10 2008, 11:20 AM

1,065 posts

Nice! But bloody expensive. Even more expensive than 90% of the DVD player on the market. But nice!
mpyw
post Jul 10 2008, 11:27 AM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Jul 9 2008, 10:09 PM)
Where you get URC RF20 for $71 (USD or RM)? I already have a harmony one but need another simpler remote for my living hall. My son and daughter drop my normal remote few times so I need a more rugged and cheaper remote for normal use. Can URC RF20 learn from other remote? Need that to control my aircon, fan and remote lighting system.
got it through Amazon tongue.gif USD71, I think price gone up already, but buying the remote alone will be cheaper, should be less than USD60
have not tested the fan & air-cond but it learn well from my ASSTHROW remote

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0250sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:35 PM