Public Macro Outing at KL Butterfly Park, Post your pics here!

TSzio
post Jun 29 2008, 09:53 PM, updated 18y ago

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Well, some of you may know that today, a few of us went to the KL Butterfly Farm for a macro outing. The day started on the wrong note though as I thought entrance was RM4 but it was RM9 (inclusive of camera charge). Aduh! But never mind, we can afford tongue.gif Then, no tripod allowed! There goes my hope of good shots with the MSN202.

So, with my lil trusty Canon Powershot G9, I set about my task and these are the results. Hope you enjoy them and do a drop a comment or two smile.gif Constructive criticism is all part of the learning process so don't be shy smile.gif

1. Before entering the Park, I took a few shot outside of some bees? flies? having their morning breakfast

2. Munch, munch, munch

3. Rubbing hands? with glee before diving in to food!

4. We got in, and the insects were still having breakfast!

5. Interrupting a breakfast session

6. A transformation?

7. On top of the world?

8. May ye rest in peace

9. Where there is life, there is also death

10. Who turned on the spotlights?

This post has been edited by zio: Jun 30 2008, 12:02 PM
WyLuxx
post Jun 29 2008, 10:40 PM

nutz
1,718 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Jun 29 2008, 09:53 PM)
3. Rubbing hands? with glee before diving in to food!
i like this the most. nice angle.
t3ngf0ung
post Jun 30 2008, 12:25 AM

66 posts

I personally like #2 smile.gif
temptation1314
post Jun 30 2008, 12:30 AM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

rclxms.gif nice nice... see ur monopod + PnS all pawn us jor... doh.gif

This post has been edited by temptation1314: Jun 30 2008, 12:30 AM
|sorcerer|
post Jun 30 2008, 09:00 AM

full time noob
656 posts

only 1 poster?
i thought u going there in group
looking forward for more macros

love shot #3, if the lighting could be more
nyway, that my noob opinion

p/s: ur outing inspire me to maybe make 1 here in penang butterfly farm..
kennji
post Jun 30 2008, 09:59 AM

381 posts

I've got some to share too...some zoom shots only cuz no macro lens. some of then is minor pp-ed for contrast and picture style in the DPP. click my flickr to get a bigger view (800x533 pix) c&c is welcomed.

1. B&W goodness?

2. classic combo B+W on a butterfly

3. mr. grasshopper says, "urrgg...flash too strong?"

4. colourful worm...

5. hey do you see me?

6. ....

7. flowers...

to be continued...

This post has been edited by kennji: Jun 30 2008, 10:02 AM
TSzio
post Jun 30 2008, 10:01 AM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(WyLuxx @ Jun 29 2008, 10:40 PM)
i like this the most. nice angle.
Heh, thanks. That was lucky I guess. He was kind enough to look at me while I was busy trying to get a good shot tongue.gif

QUOTE(t3ngf0ung @ Jun 30 2008, 12:25 AM)
I personally like #2 smile.gif
Thanks!

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Jun 30 2008, 12:30 AM)
rclxms.gif nice nice... see ur monopod + PnS all pawn us jor... doh.gif
No pwn u all lah! Post pictars!

QUOTE(|sorcerer| @ Jun 30 2008, 09:00 AM)
only 1 poster?
i thought u going there in group
looking forward for more macros

love shot #3, if the lighting could be more
nyway, that my noob opinion

p/s: ur outing inspire me to maybe make 1 here in penang butterfly farm..
Lol, dont know where the rest of the pictures went. Ahhh I wish I had more lighting too for #3 sad.gif

Organise! hehehe then show us penang butterfly farm!

Continuing my final part of the series:

11. Orange! Orange!

12. Dew drop

13. Extreme butt

14. Alien!

15. Eeps, he found me!

16. Poser

17. Broken beauty

18. Look at me!
kennji
post Jun 30 2008, 10:03 AM

381 posts

8. flapping wings

9. this one taken with lifeview, neat function...

10. i like this one...

11. ....

12. dead? resting?

13. this one reminds me the toads in Naruto...lol

hope you guys enjoy. not much of useable shots from me...newbie skill does make a different

Added on June 30, 2008, 10:36 amehhh zio, ur photos have great vivid colour! how to do that? compared, mine is just ..... G9 sure is fearsome...btw, what ios those strings of light on no.12 & 14 ah?

This post has been edited by kennji: Jun 30 2008, 10:36 AM
TSzio
post Jun 30 2008, 10:57 AM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

@kennji wah i like ur #1 and naruto toad! smile.gif The butterflies very nice also.. power of kit lens! Can ask me for the Raynox ma, dont need shy shy wan..

My colours and yours like lebih kurang sama.. Didn't do any major PP except for #8, #9 and #10 which were all HDR tongue.gif

#12 is a cobweb i think, and #14 got string of light?

mitmivec
post Jun 30 2008, 12:36 PM

Creative Photo
641 posts

wah zio ... so fast u start to master MSN202 lieo kah tongue.gif

anyone want this great lens? i have 3 more with me
goldfries
post Jun 30 2008, 12:43 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

mitty - what lens? MSN202? i tot it's a course about using MSN. biggrin.gif

anyway - i want step-up ring la.
TSzio
post Jun 30 2008, 12:49 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(mitmivec @ Jun 30 2008, 12:36 PM)

Master it? More like it master me lah. Damn painful using this lens. tongue.gif Bug has to be patient, I have to be patient tongue.gif

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 30 2008, 12:43 PM)

Lol, Raynox Close-up lens tongue.gif MSN202 offers 25x magnification! tongue.gif Sample shot is #14 from my series hehehe
goldfries
post Jun 30 2008, 12:52 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

hehe. didn't know that was the name for it.
nairud
post Jun 30 2008, 01:39 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

QUOTE(mitmivec @ Jun 30 2008, 12:36 PM)

i called you just now about it and so fast you post in here laugh.gif

QUOTE(zio @ Jun 30 2008, 12:49 PM)
Master it? More like it master me lah. Damn painful using this lens. tongue.gif Bug has to be patient, I have to be patient tongue.gif
Lol, Raynox Close-up lens tongue.gif MSN202 offers 25x magnification! tongue.gif Sample shot is #14 from my series hehehe
mivec said 4x only wor
goldfries
post Jun 30 2008, 01:45 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

waiting for my step-up ring la. x4 close-up filter now have to rely on selotape. smile.gif
WyLuxx
post Jun 30 2008, 02:05 PM

nutz
1,718 posts

a couple first.

1.frog with sucker digits.

2 dragonfly

3. dragonfly again
what? no butterfly shots? all dragonflies and frog?
mitmivec
post Jun 30 2008, 02:24 PM

Creative Photo
641 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 30 2008, 12:43 PM)

order already should be coming soon

QUOTE(nairud @ Jun 30 2008, 01:39 PM)
i called you just now about it and so fast you post in here laugh.gif
mivec said 4x only wor
didnt u just ask me to come here and see this tread tongue.gif than i mah kepo a bit and adv a bit lo lol laugh.gif

msn202 is +25 and 4X but its all depands on what lens and focus distance might be higher or lower smile.gif

This post has been edited by mitmivec: Jun 30 2008, 02:35 PM
forger
post Jun 30 2008, 04:01 PM

734 posts

Wah....

nich pic guys!......

i havent even seen mine tongue.gif

after the outing have i just go to sleep, wake up then have to go to a weeding.
finish around 12pm and then there'is euro.....

will try to salvage anything and post it under artistic.. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by forger: Jun 30 2008, 04:02 PM
kennji
post Jun 30 2008, 05:01 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Jun 30 2008, 10:57 AM)
@kennji wah i like ur #1 and naruto toad! smile.gif The butterflies very nice also.. power of kit lens! Can ask me for the Raynox ma, dont need shy shy wan..
#1 came as a surprise to me too...so decided to make it in B&W to play play. narutards power in real life lol...too bad the light source cannot be altered to show better colour. i haven't even tame the kit lens la...where got time use the raynox...me stay away from poisonous stuffs...

My colours and yours like lebih kurang sama.. Didn't do any major PP except for #8, #9 and #10 which were all HDR tongue.gif
err...if compared your #16 and my #10 same stuff but big difference ohh...

#12 is a cobweb i think, and #14 got string of light?
sorry, its #16. cobweb too i guess

awaiting for other's shot too...

WyLuxx
post Jun 30 2008, 07:31 PM

nutz
1,718 posts

4. decided to try hdr on this one. subjects are overpowered by background... yes?

a few more.

pls visit my flickr for more, in 'macro' set.

0.0181sec    0.91    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:59 PM