What is a good and lasting modem these days?

TSBoonie
post Jun 27 2008, 12:17 PM, updated 18y ago

I am quite fed up with Dlink recently.. either the adaptor spoil or the modem itself is half kapot..

can anyone recommend me a good modem brand quick?
jaychow
post Jun 27 2008, 12:20 PM

111 posts

Using linksys AM300 for a year+ .. still good running 24/7
osxchd
post Jun 27 2008, 12:23 PM

Am I a Freak?
1,083 posts

linksys all the way...
leelc99

235 posts

If you're looking for a wireless modem, go for Linksys!
King83

I'm the guy your mother warned you about
5,237 posts

I think ur modem is faulty....
to me any modem is fine as long as they don't get fried by lightning.
webbie
post Jun 27 2008, 12:24 PM

Loving OHE
2,381 posts

linksys - you r my holy modem.i wub.gif u thumbup.gif
jaaway
post Jun 27 2008, 12:26 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(Boonie @ Jun 27 2008, 12:17 PM)
I am quite fed up with Dlink recently.. either the adaptor spoil or the modem itself is half kapot..

Get aztech usb modem..been using for YEARS and still recommending them.. cheap, good ,fast ,less mess.. smile.gif
TSBoonie
post Jun 27 2008, 12:26 PM

lol okok linksys i go buy now

erm ... or aztech .. thanks all!!

This post has been edited by Boonie: Jun 27 2008, 12:27 PM
kunyit_kampung
post Jun 27 2008, 12:28 PM

483 posts

im using dlink for 3 years now n it giving a good service ...........................dunno why urs alway kaput
myremi
post Jun 27 2008, 12:59 PM

1,846 posts

beginning to think that maybe it depends on the Dlink modem. My wifi 2640T having a suspiscious blinking problem and WWW browsing is a bit slow. But WoW still acceptable atm although only for Wifi. LAN cable issue. This is my 2nd 2640T modem.

Time to buy linksys and see how it goes. Any model recommendation? Belkin looks pricey in Kuching.
Quazacolt
post Jun 27 2008, 01:00 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

when it comes to networking, ONLY trust dlink or linksys.

for myself im using linksys router/modem thats served me for many many long years (3-6? years give/take or more, i have to check my router's start up/updated firmware date)

for you, it could be other reasons, and power adapter issues are barely the modem's issue itself and can be easily replaced so long you match the socket that plugs into the modem and the voltage required (my dlink router's power adapter failed and i replaced it a few years back, and no problem at all. i replaced it with some random HP power adapter that i bought from LYP too tongue.gif)
sets84
post Jun 27 2008, 04:52 PM

383 posts

a modem that is not used in the tropical climate, or as our old Geography classes teaches us, "Iklim Panas & Lembap Sepanjang Tahun"
tunasandwich
post Jun 27 2008, 09:32 PM

974 posts

belkin... life time warranty rclxm9.gif
Sebastianlyn
post Jul 6 2008, 06:37 PM

13 posts

hmm i recommend linksys ..
radzy82
post Sep 29 2009, 09:04 PM

19 posts

any router that can control bandwith coz im sharing my net with other people..they r stealing my bandwith leaving me with 100kbps to play on WOW
GameHub
post Oct 1 2009, 06:46 PM

QUOTE(radzy82 @ Sep 29 2009, 09:04 PM)
any router that can control bandwith coz im sharing my net with other people..they r stealing my bandwith leaving me with 100kbps to play on WOW
Any router featured with "bandwidth throttling" will cost you a leg or an arm.

Check out http://www.draytek.com.my/ and some models have "bandwidth throttling" capability.

soitsuagain
post Oct 1 2009, 07:11 PM

Let's do it together!
3,818 posts

I am using Aztech modem and Belkin for wireless. The Aztech has been with me for 6 years!
kunyit_kampung
post Oct 1 2009, 07:16 PM

483 posts

i've been using D-link for 5years ady,so far no problems mate,nt ur luck maybe,i gt 2 dlink in use now,both of them lasting for years now,i even drop it few times,any modem is good i think,but maybe u should go for a brand thay offer u more warranty

This post has been edited by kunyit_kampung: Oct 1 2009, 07:20 PM
a13solut3
post Oct 1 2009, 07:26 PM

Whiner FTW!
1,759 posts

Linksys with DD-WRT firmware!
GameHub
post Oct 1 2009, 07:50 PM

Also look into http://www.routertech.org/