129 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Bottom

Chubby Hamsters V9, Rolling Fat Furballs.

Jamien
post Jul 6 2008, 10:42 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(coltrain @ Jul 6 2008, 10:33 PM)
so,if like that toilet and bathroom also get those brown bowl loh....much more easy....just that not so fancy loh.... tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Yah~ Basically toilet and bathrrom is just the brown bowl. It's easy, cheaper, better to use. Best combination for me. Hehe... biggrin.gif

The thing about pets is, sometimes, the best solution for better health and usage may turn out to be the cheaper, less attractive option. Like 2ft tanks vs attractive habitrail cages. Quite unexpected.
xusnebuer
post Jul 6 2008, 10:51 PM

QUOTE(Jamien @ Jul 6 2008, 10:42 PM)
Yah~ Basically toilet and bathrrom is just the brown bowl. It's easy, cheaper, better to use. Best combination for me. Hehe...  biggrin.gif

The thing about pets is, sometimes, the best solution for better health and usage may turn out to be the cheaper, less attractive option. Like 2ft tanks vs attractive habitrail cages. Quite unexpected.
yaya~

that's why we have to work hard to let our cute hamsters enjoy staying in their mini palace

wub.gif

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jul 6 2008, 11:01 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

fancy stuff always come with a higher price, and of course nice for our eyes to admire.... but if talk about practical usage, alot of cheap and normal stuff can be used. I like using those brown clay bowls as toilets and flower pots as hides. If anyone follows me go pet shopping, you will notice that I only get pet food and rarely buy those hides or fancy tubes.... A good wheel is a must for hamsters la.
anderyna
post Jul 6 2008, 11:40 PM

Design Freak.. Muahahaha
1,072 posts

wow, so many things had happen just few days.. 41 pages already.. my housemate moved the hamsters to a place near balcony.. scared me only.. she say that place more airy..
UNDERGROUND
post Jul 6 2008, 11:42 PM

█ REMEMBER MY NAME █
2,308 posts

But more sunlight ?
Jamien
post Jul 6 2008, 11:44 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(anderyna @ Jul 6 2008, 11:40 PM)
wow, so many things had happen just few days.. 41 pages already.. my housemate moved the hamsters to a place near balcony.. scared me only.. she say that place more airy..
But will it be too hot in the daytime? Will get heat stroke if too hot o.
nezumitaro
post Jul 6 2008, 11:59 PM

Taro: I am the KING, all GERBILS are MINE!!
4,711 posts

QUOTE(kmao @ Jul 6 2008, 05:15 PM)
Hi guys, I got a question. How long it takes for a hammie to start consuming mealworms or fresh vegies/fruits?

Actually I mean after the baby hammy is weaned, usually how long it takes to consume things other than staple food?
they should able to eat fresh 1st before commecial staple food. as long as they can eat solid.. say 10 days old.. but still they need their mummy milk smile.gif

QUOTE(coltrain @ Jul 6 2008, 09:10 PM)
This is my hamster that i just bought yesterday at Pet Shack....
His name is Colby(Thanks to Jamie tongue.gif  tongue.gif )

Colby inside his Wheel...

His Nest.....

look at the big @ss.......
cute fela there smile.gif hving good life too wor..smile.gif

QUOTE(coltrain @ Jul 6 2008, 09:27 PM)
aiks...not u meh ? I remember is you wo.......
Toilet? got think before,but can teach me how to train him go toilet.....
Other than toilet,wat else will i need for Colby ?
just put some toilet sand in the bowl/toilet, sooner later he will learn it.

QUOTE(UNDERGROUND @ Jul 6 2008, 09:43 PM)
My hammie only pee at the toilet, she doesn't poo there, she poo everywhere doh.gif

Any idea how to "fix" this ar ?
yes normally they only pee in toilet, but poo everyway. unless VERY good syrian only will pee ppo in toilet.. smile.gif
kmao
post Jul 7 2008, 12:09 AM

206 posts

[quote=UNDERGROUND,Jul 6 2008, 09:31 PM]
That one ar, is like corn, carrot and green pea inside ?

Yeah, that's it.
anderyna
post Jul 7 2008, 12:11 AM

Design Freak.. Muahahaha
1,072 posts

QUOTE(Jamien @ Jul 6 2008, 11:44 PM)
But will it be too hot in the daytime? Will get heat stroke if too hot o.
nope, i just scare its too windy that they will freeze up.. its really windy rclxub.gif
usually i put near kitchen, we stay in condo de.. tongue.gif
the kitchen there got a small wall to separate it from living room, i'm using cage, so i will put half the cage hide in the wall, but half expose.. laugh.gif

nezumitaro
post Jul 7 2008, 12:16 AM

Taro: I am the KING, all GERBILS are MINE!!
4,711 posts

[quote=kmao,Jul 7 2008, 12:09 AM]
[quote=UNDERGROUND,Jul 6 2008, 09:31 PM]
That one ar, is like corn, carrot and green pea inside ?
Yeah, that's it.

[/quote]
those are not nutrition, its better u get fresh carrot, corn and bean. but still do feed in a balance way smile.gif
kmao
post Jul 7 2008, 12:20 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Jul 6 2008, 11:59 PM)
they should able to eat fresh 1st before commecial staple food. as long as they can eat solid.. say 10 days old.. but still they need their mummy milk smile.gif
cute fela there smile.gif hving good life too wor..smile.gif
just put some toilet sand in the bowl/toilet, sooner later he will learn it.
yes normally they only pee in toilet, but poo everyway. unless VERY good syrian only will pee ppo in toilet.. smile.gif
QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Jul 7 2008, 12:16 AM)
those are not nutrition, its better u get fresh carrot, corn and bean. but still do feed in a balance way smile.gif
Thanks for the advice again Nezu. wink.gif
deleted
post Jul 7 2008, 01:21 PM

Restored
671 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jul 6 2008, 10:40 PM)
Nice solid cream syrian you got there.

Get a smaller bowl and exchange your food bowl with a smaller bowl. The current brown bowl use as a toilet and the smaller bowl use as food bowl. Syrian only require 1-2 teaspoon of dry food per day.

Get Frisian non-clumping cat litter for the toilet sand. Remember non-clumping as it is safe for hamsters. If you see your hamsters chewing on the cat litter, don't worry is ok. They just need their minerals for it. You see that they will eat back their poo also sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

No need bathroom as syrian will groom themselves. You just need to wipe them with a damp cloth once a week or they get poo or pee on their fur. Currently my long hair solid cream, SamSam, is getting lots of poo stuck on his on fur at his backside. Really a dirty boy.
is cat litter better than the Potty Litter with the pic of the hamster on it stuff? unsure.gif

oh and is it ok to use those disposable tupperwares to hold the hamster food? got a small one like they use for jams and small dodols that I thought can be used, but not sure since from what you guys say hamsters like to bite alot of stuff
blurjoey
post Jul 7 2008, 01:46 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(deleted @ Jul 7 2008, 01:21 PM)
is cat litter better than the Potty Litter with the pic of the hamster on it stuff? unsure.gif

oh and is it ok to use those disposable tupperwares to hold the hamster food? got a small one like they use for jams and small dodols that I thought can be used, but not sure since from what you guys say hamsters like to bite alot of stuff
Well it is more economical to buy the big pack about RM10+ for the cat litter than buying the small pack of hamster toilet sand for rm8+.

Also if I'm not mistaken that some of the hamster toilet sand are clumping kind which is bad for the hamster if long term use.

That is why it is better to get the clay bowl than use plastic as some hamsters will chew on the plastic.
UNDERGROUND
post Jul 7 2008, 01:49 PM

█ REMEMBER MY NAME █
2,308 posts

I tried bathing sand as toilet sand, bad choice ! It clump easily and stick on my hammie's body, all over the cage.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jul 7 2008, 01:53 PM

12,047 posts

Bathing sand doesn't deodorize pee, so it would make it sticky and very stinky. That is why got difference. Cat litter has added baking soda, which deodorizes the pee smell. I prefer the cat litter coz it comes in 5L, more economical and absorbs pee much better.
UNDERGROUND
post Jul 7 2008, 02:01 PM

█ REMEMBER MY NAME █
2,308 posts

Hmm, how long does a 5L last if change it every 2 days ?
And how much does it cost ?
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jul 7 2008, 02:04 PM

12,047 posts

I bought my cat litter RM10 from Petsmore.... 5L is very big, like 1 sack of 5kg rice LOL.... or is it 10kg rice? Anyway, it is heavy and with 5L, can last for months.... I dunno how long it would last for you, I have to fill up 10 toilets but it can still last me a few months loh.
UNDERGROUND
post Jul 7 2008, 02:06 PM

█ REMEMBER MY NAME █
2,308 posts

Whoah ! Like that it's gonna last 1 year for me laugh.gif
I guess i will find it somewhere at Penang... Since postage is kinda expensive =_=
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jul 7 2008, 02:09 PM

12,047 posts

Just try and get hold of non-clumping. It would say on the package. Then check for it being natural. i think sure can find lah. If post, so heavy..... postage gonna cost more than the cat litter LOL.
UNDERGROUND
post Jul 7 2008, 02:16 PM

█ REMEMBER MY NAME █
2,308 posts

Yeah yeah laugh.gif
I'm getting a 2nd hand play pen for my hammie, and an exercise ball too... Damn this hamster so hidup mewah doh.gif

129 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0166sec    0.86    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:07 PM