ATI Radeon HD 4000 series already released!v2, Hot card in town..bye2 NVidia..
blindbox
Jun 27 2008, 07:58 PM
Four 4870x2 is going to be the ULTIMATE Crysis killer. Too bad Crysis doesn't support crossfire lol.
Those developers better start updating crysis (or maybe ati better start updating the drivers?) or ppl will be very pissed off.
Indeed, a lot of crossfire 4xxx series spotted. Scalings are impressive and the cards are cheap, except for crysis anyway, that's why (2 4850s for the performance of gtx280 or better, who wouldn't want that?).
blindbox
Jun 27 2008, 08:13 PM
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jun 27 2008, 08:08 PM) i hear a lot of silly things about HD4870x2 but lets think about it for a second if two hd4870 uses 4x6pin pcie that means HD4870x2 is either 2x6pin pcie + 1x8pin pcie or 2x8pin pcie... do u have psu's that can handle that?? not many ppl here does.. think about it.. judging from the hd3870 crossfire 2x6pin to hd3870x2 using 1x6pin+1x8pin It's 160 watt, 4870's wattage that is. Since x2 would probably be clocked lower, expect 300 watt. Four of those would be um... 1200 watt. Now we need 1500 watt psus, which doesn't exist yet (I've always wondered if 2 psu setups are possible). Maybe 4870x2 would be using a smaller fabrication, 45nm perhaps? That saves power. They're with AMD anyway so that should be possible  . Let's dream on, lol.
blindbox
Jun 28 2008, 01:39 AM
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jun 27 2008, 08:14 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « just only solved the driver issue so not yet on gaming Added on June 27, 2008, 8:19 pmdriver 8.7beta no issue with crossfire.. taken fron at   dude also remember crysis having 1gb makes a difference also for those who are keen on 1gb 4870.. its going to cost a lot y?? ppl like me and others who had saphire hd2900xt 1gb vs 512 can attest to u very few games make for that 1gb difference Meh, guru3d reviews showed that crossfire did absolutely nothing. Yes, let's wait for better drivers. Now I hope ati can get that 4870 x2 running, lol. QUOTE(jeromeccm @ Jun 27 2008, 09:21 PM) hi guys... is there a software that can really measure our ocmputer power watt usage? at lease we dont have guess and calculate.... which is also mostly estimation.. You can just read guru3d's reviews if you want. They tell you the recommended PSUs to use  . This post has been edited by blindbox: Jun 28 2008, 01:41 AM
blindbox
Jun 29 2008, 12:22 AM
QUOTE(ben_panced @ Jun 29 2008, 12:14 AM) plz look at the benchmark again, most of the time 88gt sli beats gtx 280 Shhh let him enter the dark side  . Yup, 88gt sli beats gtx 280, except for non sli optimized games probably. If you go and get radeon 4000 series, you'll have to suffer bad performance scaling on crysis with crossfire. You're going to need a CF compatible mobo too. What am I doing? Gah just enter the dark side  . For the first time buyers and non SLIers though, 4850 and 4870 are good choices. This post has been edited by blindbox: Jun 29 2008, 12:22 AM
blindbox
Jun 29 2008, 02:49 AM
QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Jun 29 2008, 02:36 AM) hm...why my ati tools cant work? download liao, install liao but keep on crash? >.< Explain crash. Anyway you went off topic  .
blindbox
Jul 19 2008, 11:24 AM
QUOTE(Archaven @ Jul 19 2008, 10:37 AM) How about the picture quality, IQ and compatibility issue?  ATi has always been the one with a more superb IQ, likes what pikacu stated. You can check the websites (google lah) and see for yourselves if you want. Xbitlabs is a good one.
blindbox
Jul 19 2008, 12:41 PM
QUOTE(Archaven @ Jul 19 2008, 12:06 PM) Btw, can HD4850 play crysis on at least high settings at 1680x1050?   From http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/radeon...870,1964-9.htmlWell, I guess you can. I don't get what they mean by max details though. My theory would be High settings, you can't get that fps with very high. Here's another, clearly stated at highest settings.  You should be hoping that's the minimum fps. A minor setback of .2 fps wouldn't cost you much. This post has been edited by blindbox: Jul 19 2008, 01:09 PM
blindbox
Jul 19 2008, 01:11 PM
I don't know, I can play games at 30 fps no problem.  Anyway, I updated the above post.