ATI Radeon HD 4000 series already released!v2, Hot card in town..bye2 NVidia..

SUSMatrix
post Jul 8 2008, 09:29 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(danieljoey @ Jul 7 2008, 10:45 PM)
What ???  rclxub.gif
HD4870 got HDMI sound as well ? so no need buy sound card ah ??
HDMI is only an output port nothing more. If you play Blu-Ray disc, it simply means you can pass the signal to your amp/receiver in one cable, your receiver decode the 7.1 DD True Master Logic blah blah/ DTS Master blah blah and also send the video image to ur LCD TV via the receiver.

Some high end sound card can actually do this decoding (maybe coming soon) and you can hook up your sound card to the receiver.

But in the end, you still need a sound card if you want to play games and experience EAX for example.
SUSMatrix
post Jul 12 2008, 09:11 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Jul 12 2008, 09:08 AM)
i nearly pull the trigger for 8800GT yesterday. luckily found out bout HD4000. which brand will u guys recommend for it? HD4850 or go for HD4870?

i'm using E6600 3.2ghz, EP35-DS3 and FMA 535W psu on 1280*1024 resolution. this is the first time i actually considers ATi stuff. sorry, i'm WAS nVidia fanboy smile.gif
Best bang for the buck would be 4850. Got $$$ than go for 4870 lor. smile.gif

As for the 3dmark06, i think it's already obsolete. Just browse around the web to see REAL GAMES performance. That should tell you the real story.

SUSMatrix
post Jul 13 2008, 07:16 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Just bought a Sapphire 4850 at CZONE lowyat just now...upgraded my old Nvidia 7600GS...becoz i wanna play Mass Effect without choking frame rates...LOL.

But i think it'll nuke my MAC OSX in the PC......coz hacked driver not available yet...sad.gif

SUSMatrix
post Jul 14 2008, 08:53 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Sk8teR @ Jul 13 2008, 11:11 PM)
Agree with U..... I just got Ati 4850 for RM 640... Now i have to spend around RM400 to get a new PSU....  cry.gif .... My old PSU can't support my new GC...  cry.gif
Sure bor? My Cooler Master 430W can run 4850 without problems...somemore 3 HDD inside. thumbup.gif

But this card really long...i have to disconnect my 2nd IDE CDRW coz the cable is blocking the card!
SUSMatrix
post Jul 14 2008, 09:26 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Speaking of hot...it's really hot...79 degree idle at stock!!! WTH....
SUSMatrix
post Jul 14 2008, 10:59 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(danieljoey @ Jul 14 2008, 10:16 AM)
What is that?? External PSU??
Anyone know how much is it? Stable??  whistling.gif

Added on July 14, 2008, 10:18 am
Both of u guys sure about this?? Anyone tried 4870??
If really no probs then i can save RM6xx for 800W psu de...
of course lah. If you check around the web, the full system power load for this card is only 2xx Watts only. We're talking full system power load with CPU, GPU, HDD, RAM everything. So why waste your money?? 800W PSU?? Overkill already...

4870 not so sure, but you can check the gazillion reviews around the web.

http://www.legitreviews.com/article/731/17/

http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Powerco...HD_4850/21.html

The 4850 is pretty amazing, only use slightly more power than a 3870...and even much less power than dinosaurs like 2900XT, 8800 and 9800!!!

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jul 14 2008, 11:06 AM
SUSMatrix
post Jul 14 2008, 11:36 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Jul 14 2008, 11:31 AM)
haha so many time i'm telling.. if can prepare buy better psu..
just buy the gpu and test first with 400W psu what so ever..
last time ppl also saying 3870 must use 500W or 550W..
everybody rushing changing their psu..
wtf.. i'm currently using 3HHDs, cpu OC & alot of fan.. no PROBLEM...
if i got a chance to upgrade.. i'll try them later.. maybe with phenom.. let them kaboom..
I totally agree. Just test out your system first. It'll not explode. When your system start to run unstable, auto reboot etc etc, then you know you need more power.

PSU supplier are just trying to brainwash people's mind that they need that 1000 TerraWatt PSU so that they can make more $$$.

Added on July 14, 2008, 11:41 am
QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Jul 14 2008, 11:25 AM)
If HD 4870 the power requirement almost or equal to HD 3870 X2.In Other names,minimum 600W True Power PSU is recomended.
I don't think that is quite correct. The 4870 is still much lower than a 3870 X2.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jul 14 2008, 11:47 AM
SUSMatrix
post Jul 14 2008, 02:24 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(zhinsara @ Jul 14 2008, 12:54 PM)
haha yeah. i did the maths and 400w worked out nicely >.< some more a delta psu. specs claim 75% efficiency.

@matrix- tweak the fan to around 40-50%. its bearable and the temps drop like 20c at idle, and max at 80c for load.
Err...how to tweak the fan? Can i do it from the Catalyst control centre?
SUSMatrix
post Jul 14 2008, 03:30 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(zhinsara @ Jul 14 2008, 02:33 PM)
http://www.hexus.net/content/item.php?item=14111

i'mma gonna link you there, and some tips of my own

1)if you cant find that file you're looking for use the windows search function, and search for hidden files and folders also.
2)anything above 50% is noisy.
Thanks for the tip, will try tonight, but that story about setting to 0% can fry your card immediately is scary....sweat.gif
SUSMatrix
post Jul 15 2008, 06:44 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Guys, i need some fast help here, for some reason, my 4850 always goes to 500 core/750 memory speed even after i set to default. I've manually change the settings, but the current gpu always shows 500/750!!!! It should be 625/933 by default. sad.gif

Something wrong with my card?

More screen shot from GPU-Z...it shows 625/933 in ons screen, while under 'sensor' screen shows 500/750!!!

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jul 15 2008, 06:52 AM
SUSMatrix
post Jul 15 2008, 09:00 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(zeustronic @ Jul 15 2008, 08:23 AM)
Relax its ATi PowerPlay Technology

-Advanced power management technology for optimal performance and power savings
-Performance-on-Demand
-Constantly monitors GPU activity, dynamically adjusting clocks and voltage based on user scenario
-Clock and memory speed throttling
-Voltage switching
-Dynamic clock gating
-Central thermal management – on-chip sensor monitors GPU temperature and triggers thermal actions as required

U need adjust ur GC fan speed little higher wink.gif .
I already set the fan to 60% and the temp is around 50 degree idle. (Not shown in my previous pic). But it still shows core/mem at 500/750.

You mean it's normal? Something like CPU throttling? I don't want to rush back to Lowyat this week to change the card!!

btw, how come i don't see the drivers for 48xx series even in AMD/ATI website?? doh.gif

========

ok, thanks to everyone who inform me about the ATI PowerPlay. I can stop sweating now. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jul 15 2008, 09:03 AM
SUSMatrix
post Jul 15 2008, 09:12 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

btw, got another problem. Tried to install the drivers in my XP partition this morning...but got a message "Must run as Adminsitrator", when i'm already running as administrator.

I didn't get such message when i install on my VISTA partition.
SUSMatrix
post Jul 15 2008, 09:40 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(chlkaka @ Jul 15 2008, 09:29 AM)
Hi, just get my new pc last saturday.
i'm using Gainward 4850.
Yesterday only finish setting up my OS.
This morning i wake up and install my 4850 driver with the CD come with package.
and the GPUZ show that my 4850 was in 71~74 temp. 1~5% fan speed.
i wonder using this fan speed can have this temp? btw, i'm in a air-cond room
for adjusting the fan speed issues, i've created a profile and edit the line
"manual" and "20" in the xml file.
then i go to overdrive and click activate my profile, but it seems like the fan speed still same, 1~5% speed =.=
what i've missing out there? someone help pls.

thanks~
Try to set to 60 and see?

Maybe post your XML here also.
SUSMatrix
post Jul 15 2008, 12:03 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

One question. If it's set to manual, will it try to increase the fan speed automatically when on full load or just stay there at your pre-set speed?
SUSMatrix
post Jul 16 2008, 09:27 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

One question to those using a widescreen LCD. I'm thinking of buying a 22" LCD, but the native resolution is like 1680 x 1050. Obviously, you'll need a lot of power to run this. I'll rather have lower res and more fps. So if i play the game in 1440 x 9xx, how will it look on a 22" LCD? Will it be very nasty?

SUSMatrix
post Jul 16 2008, 12:38 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(zeustronic @ Jul 16 2008, 09:30 AM)
I using 19" with 1680 x 1050 res, its looks shaper compare to 22".
Is that your native resolution? Wide or 4:3 screen?
SUSMatrix
post Jul 17 2008, 09:45 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(OmniAtlas @ Jul 16 2008, 11:01 PM)
you can buy the sapphire 4850 for much less then 690, in fact, much less then 650, u just need to know where. Shop around lowyat.
Sure or not? I surveyed and cheapest is RM650. Just tell lar where to get cheaper and save people's time here!

Anyway, bought mine for RM650 from CZONE.

SUSMatrix
post Jul 18 2008, 04:38 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(ganaz-x @ Jul 18 2008, 04:19 PM)
Right now all HD4xxx cards are using same PCB, CAPS, BIOS be it Palit, Asus, MSI or the rest. Later only will u see diff cards (OCed, different BIOS, PCB, cooler, etc.). So if u get the Palit as shown in the pic, shouldn't be any problem as it's the same as the rest.
i think the RAM used is difference, this is where cheap RAM and quality RAM comes into play.

Added on July 18, 2008, 4:40 pm
QUOTE(HiT-AbLe @ Jul 18 2008, 04:27 PM)
If u have a look of Hardware section, there's only one thread regarding Nvidia and it's 8800GT thread, but where's the GTX 280/260 thread? Seems like nobody cares to discuss it anymore lol.
2 x 4850 in CF mode can destroy the 280 already...and you still have money left for 1 more 4850. Nothing to tok liao...overpriced and under performed.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jul 18 2008, 04:40 PM
SUSMatrix
post Jul 19 2008, 12:30 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(don^don @ Jul 19 2008, 01:44 AM)
1 good news is, somehow, 4850 has dropped price of around RM80. this is based on my asus pricelist from server, compared with the 1 i received last month, and few days ago. whistling.gif
More details lah. Tell half dun tell half!!!! doh.gif pricelist from 'server'??? What server?? rclxub.gif

Dang..just bought it last week...

0.0396sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:14 AM