A tribute to Dennis Bergkamp, Just sharing~

TSnicholaswinters87
post Jun 26 2008, 01:59 AM, updated 18y ago

134 posts

Brilliant player. Notice his composure even a few yards in front of the goal post. Takes his sweet time (almost everytime), picks his spot, completes the goals like he's alone by himself. Salute!

Evaluation:

First goal (VS Newcastle) - Knows where the keeper expects the ball, slides it to the far post where it is least obvious.

Second goal (VS grey shirts) - Sees the opening between the defender and keeper with the far post corner in his sights, sends the ball in.

Third goal (VS bright yellow) - Balls rolling towards him, justifies enough momentum for a good 'chip', reconfirms the space between the defender in front of him and the him, lobs it just enough to keep the keeper on ground - until its too late.

Fourth goal (VS blue yellow strips) - While dribbling, options open out. Sees the two more defenders standing in place, knows he can shoot, hits the target.

Fifth goal (VS Tottenham I think) - Controls the ball and maintains his balance, knows the keeper will expect him to go for the far post, he tucks it right towards the keeper. The keeper is stunned, hence the ball went past him right above his shoulders.

(Setting up the goal) - cant tell this one, prolly sees the player coming towards him from the other side, keeps the ball in possession to buy time then sets it up.

(VS Liverpool - or is it Tottenham again?) Side swing his foot all the way to push the ball full force front, no curls, no spins, just straight ahead. It didn't make much difference at such distance with such space.

(VS white shirts with blue tummy) A little gap on the right side of goal post, the only spot he can pick at the moment, hits the target with enough down curl so the ball will stay on the lower mid air without going over.

(The header) nothing much to say, right place at the right time, floats in the air and connects with the ball to see results.

(Ajax VS RKC) Must've spotted the keeper getting greedy and coming forward, tight space to lob the ball, but did so with a great technique 'chip'.

(Ajax VS Vitnesse) Sensed the keeper, lobs it, timing was right when the keeper has committed his footwork, no chance for the keeper to back down or jump even.

(VS RKC) on the right side of the field, spins back and moving towards the left, all 3 defenders and keeper are expecting him to go for far post (look at their body positions) but he goes for the near one instead, tighter spot but unexpected and thus GOAL.

(VS white shirts) went past the first defender, space on the right - too obvious he must have thought, quickly tucks it far post (ball went past few inches from the other defender's foot) and scores. Keeper obviously furious with the defender.

(VS Leceister City) Got the ball. The nearest defender is not close enough. Takes a quick look - he's done it before - going to do it again, far post enough space for the ball to do a up-down curl into the corner. Scores.

(VS blue shirts) - Tries to 'chip' the ball past the keeper, just enough because the ball glided past the keeper. Lucky or plain skill? Debatable.

(VS blue shirts again) - Knows the only spot to score is far post (because his footwork position only allows that shot at that split second) decided to go for a mid-air far post since keeper was squatting too much to the left. Right on.

(VS southampton or sunderland) Keeper was in the right position, but the distance between his back and the far post was significant enough for a far post semi-lob shot. Shooting past the defender's back was smart too.

(VS Argentina) Critical moment, no foul ups, calm calm calm... In the six yard box, not much space for a low ball, too risky anyways. Strike it into the air, full force was needed to ensure the ball was fast enough - with that distance, direction made no difference, only had to be quick enough.

This post has been edited by nicholaswinters87: Jun 26 2008, 02:32 AM
sOuLx
post Jun 26 2008, 02:46 AM

Ingenieur (Ir.)
1,358 posts

you should post this in arsenal thread.
but it's ok to let everyone appreciate his contribution. smile.gif
ashburn98
post Jun 26 2008, 08:19 AM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

His goal against Newcastle was a highlight for his skill getting his marker with his back to the defender.

Bergkamp showed perfect composure in the goal against Argentina, but it's thanks to Frank Deboer lobbing a perfectly weighed ball to him from Holland's own half of the field.

Bergkamp is a Arsenal legend, undoubtedly.
navilink
post Jun 26 2008, 08:23 AM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

not to mention...he's phobia of heights....
his goal against argentina was among the best in history...controlled a long pass using right leg...then dummy a defender using right leg...then kick the ball into the goal using right leg....one-legged goal! hehe thumbup.gif
Merlin MY
post Jun 26 2008, 08:46 AM

45 posts

the legend.....
Notoriez
post Jun 26 2008, 10:03 AM

I am Notty and Notorious !!!
2,499 posts

I love his ball control skills..thumbup.gif
Duke Red
post Jun 26 2008, 10:21 AM

6,112 posts

The goal that stands out to me is the one where he lobbed the ball over his shoulder with his back to goal, totally dumbfounding Dabizas before slotting the ball past given.
nizamhameed
post Jun 26 2008, 10:27 AM

6,437 posts

he is oe of arsenal great players, his skill and very fast and sharp in front of goal. btw i guess TS should discussed i Arsenal's thread
verx
post Jun 26 2008, 10:37 AM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Jun 26 2008, 10:21 AM)
The goal that stands out to me is the one where he lobbed the ball over his shoulder with his back to goal, totally dumbfounding Dabizas before slotting the ball past given.
I remember that goal very well as well. When I first saw it I thought he fluked it but on the replays you could see he clearly meant it. Class! thumbup.gif
leongtat
post Jun 26 2008, 10:40 AM

950 posts

is ok share it around....bergkamp does not only belong to arsenal anyway....
nice compilation....nice song too....dun stop me now!!!
ahaha totally a great great player in his era...
Duke Red
post Jun 26 2008, 11:18 AM

6,112 posts

Bergkamp to me epitomises the role of a 2nd striker, much like Jari Litmanen. Both were/are excellent marksmen from 20 - 25 yards and both could pass the ball really well. These days 2nd strikers are mostly diminutive and often paired together with a bigger centre forward. Creating chances comes 2nd to latching onto knockdowns and supporting their bigger colleague.
jameslionhart
post Jun 26 2008, 12:05 PM

586 posts

wow nicholas....i didnt know ur a fan of bergkamp also...thanks for the books and the awesome clip!!
sOuLx
post Jun 26 2008, 12:52 PM

Ingenieur (Ir.)
1,358 posts

one hell of a legend.
his class is permanent. he is good in juggling the ball too.
but i wonder why he has flight phobia?
i heard he crashed 2 times and survived. izzit true?
butthead012
post Jun 26 2008, 01:05 PM

1,040 posts

yah, he is a great player... a legend...

he can't fly with plane... ahahha he only take bus/train even to other country
SUSkillingspree
post Jun 26 2008, 01:31 PM

456 posts

My Idol since I was a kid, true footballer...True great fan would recognise him as great player that ever exist...The like of him, van basten, johann cruff, always makes me rated holland player higher....

notworthy.gif salute notworthy.gif
raul7
post Jun 26 2008, 02:31 PM

67 posts

if you are the true BPL or Football fan... i bet that you remember the 1st goal on the video (vs newcastle)... its very classy goal from mr dennis bergkamp...
jameslionhart
post Jun 26 2008, 02:59 PM

586 posts

yeah his phobia towards height is pretty well known...thats why u wont see him play in places that cannot be reach by land or sea
Kerplunk
post Jun 26 2008, 03:24 PM

802 posts

i guess we can't call him the flying dutchman then laugh.gif
is there any other player similar to his style of play today?
red_brick_zero
post Jun 26 2008, 03:31 PM

161 posts

non-flying dutchman.
his ball control and composure is kinda like van persie.his is better ofcourse
RVP is too agressive comparing to him
Alternation
post Jun 26 2008, 03:33 PM

912 posts

for all the credits given 2 him, i think he's still quite underrated. He's jst so complete! superb vision n passing range. incredible composure n killing instinct, out of the world technique n best of all, extremely down to earth and a committed family man.
red_brick_zero
post Jun 26 2008, 03:52 PM

161 posts

complete?
hes lightweight and lacks pace
Alternation
post Jun 26 2008, 03:58 PM

912 posts

QUOTE(red_brick_zero @ Jun 26 2008, 03:52 PM)
complete?
hes lightweight and lacks pace
yup, but his 'off the ball' positioning, dribbling and trickery is more thn enuff to compensate his lack of pace. Lightweight? compared with Samba type he is, but compared with Terry type he's lightweight? R u sure?
red_brick_zero
post Jun 26 2008, 04:08 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(Alternation @ Jun 26 2008, 03:58 PM)
yup, but his 'off the ball' positioning, dribbling and trickery is more thn enuff to compensate his lack of pace . Lightweight? compared with Samba type he is, but compared with Terry type he's lightweight? R u sure?
hes not complete. ofc he doesnt need to be.
have you ever seen he beat defender using physical contact? fighting for headers?
rexoxo
post Jun 26 2008, 04:15 PM

426 posts

no doubt he is a legend..
a great one...
after retired where is he now??
did he follow tony adams step into coaching??

jameslionhart
post Jun 26 2008, 04:21 PM

586 posts

yess...he is pretty weak when comes to body contact...
jackdante22
post Jun 26 2008, 04:27 PM

694 posts

Bergy & Overmars are the reason I support Netherlands. Bergy's goal against Argentina in WC98 QF (am i rite?) was marvellous.
Alternation
post Jun 26 2008, 04:28 PM

912 posts

QUOTE(rexoxo @ Jun 26 2008, 04:15 PM)
no doubt he is a legend..
a great one...
after retired where is he now??
did he follow tony adams step into coaching??
He's offered a trainee role by MVB at Ajax nxt season.
blademaster
post Jun 26 2008, 04:29 PM

1,009 posts

Berkamp ain't good as Akmal Rizal. I saw Rizal's performance with my own eyes.
red_brick_zero
post Jun 26 2008, 04:30 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(blademaster @ Jun 26 2008, 04:29 PM)
lol thumbup.gif
broken_string
post Jun 26 2008, 04:34 PM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

QUOTE(red_brick_zero @ Jun 26 2008, 04:08 PM)
hes not complete. ofc he doesnt need to be.
have you ever seen he beat defender using physical contact? fighting for headers?
there is no such thing as complete footballer.
to be complete u must be able to play from gk right up to forward.

anyway back to topic, bergkamp dun have to bulldoze his way up using physical contact because he can use his skills instead whistling.gif
blademaster
post Jun 26 2008, 04:36 PM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(red_brick_zero @ Jun 26 2008, 04:30 PM)
lol  thumbup.gif
true what icon_idea.gif
red_brick_zero
post Jun 26 2008, 04:45 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(broken_string @ Jun 26 2008, 04:34 PM)
there is no such thing as complete footballer.
to be complete u must be able to play from gk right up to forward.

anyway back to topic, bergkamp dun have to bulldoze his way up using physical contact because he can use his skills instead  whistling.gif
exactly. eventhough hes weak physically, you rarely see him getting touched ohmy.gif . the video is like he's telling me "i don't need strength and pace" tongue.gif

QUOTE(blademaster @ Jun 26 2008, 04:36 PM)
true what  icon_idea.gif
youre serious?? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by red_brick_zero: Jun 26 2008, 04:52 PM
jameslionhart
post Jun 26 2008, 05:00 PM

586 posts

lol....u serious? check out bergkamp play 1st then onli compare....

QUOTE(blademaster @ Jun 26 2008, 04:29 PM)
blademaster
post Jun 26 2008, 05:09 PM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(jameslionhart @ Jun 26 2008, 05:00 PM)
lol....u serious? check out bergkamp play 1st then onli compare....
but I see with my eyes and I compare wo...

just because Rizal is Malay/Asian he didn't get a chance to play world class football but he is actually world class footballer
jeff_v2
post Jun 26 2008, 07:04 PM

965 posts

Greatest Goal ever...
v Newcastle
v Argentina
Classic Goal...
BERGKAMP notworthy.gif
matyrze
post Jun 26 2008, 11:53 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

QUOTE(jameslionhart @ Jun 26 2008, 02:59 PM)
yeah his phobia towards height is pretty well known...thats why u wont see him play in places that cannot be reach by land or sea
i think ive read somewhere that he traveled by sea to play an away UCL match..i dont remember against whom..err, maybe juventus??cant remember la rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

i think it is wise to make this thread..to remember what he has done for the game..salute for bergy notworthy.gif notworthy.gif he is legendary icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
Kerplunk
post Jun 27 2008, 12:37 AM

802 posts

QUOTE(blademaster @ Jun 26 2008, 05:09 PM)

just because Rizal is Malay/Asian he didn't get a chance to play world class football but he is actually world class footballer
bold statement.since u seem to know a lot about him, please enlighten us on his amazing attributes as a player
SUSjoe_star
post Jun 27 2008, 12:42 AM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

Posting this for the lulz. Probably what i'll remember Bergy best for rclxm9.gif

blademaster
post Jun 27 2008, 12:22 PM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(Kerplunk @ Jun 27 2008, 12:37 AM)
bold statement.since u seem to know a lot about him, please enlighten us on his amazing attributes as a player
Akmal Rizal can run faster, run longer distance, shoot more accurately, shoot faster, so better free-kick taker, have better discipline, have more passion and most importantly, have better trickery and ball control than Berkamp or any other premiership players. Akmal is an undiscovered talent. Should I open a thread for him LOL?
nkw1987
post Jun 27 2008, 01:31 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(blademaster @ Jun 27 2008, 12:22 PM)
Akmal Rizal can run faster, run longer distance, shoot more accurately, shoot faster, so better free-kick taker, have better discipline, have more passion and most importantly, have better trickery and ball control than Berkamp or any other premiership players. Akmal is an undiscovered talent. Should I open a thread for him LOL?
R u Akmal Rizal? whistling.gif
blademaster
post Jun 27 2008, 01:33 PM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(nkw1987 @ Jun 27 2008, 01:31 PM)
R u Akmal Rizal? whistling.gif
Of course not. Akmal is most probably training right now. He has dedicated his entire life with football rclxms.gif
Mido_Ban
post Jun 27 2008, 01:43 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(jackdante22 @ Jun 26 2008, 04:27 PM)
Bergy & Overmars are the reason I support Netherlands. Bergy's goal against Argentina in WC98 QF (am i rite?) was marvellous.
Anelka always complain that overmars only pass to bergkamp haha biggrin.gif
yogurt7
post Jun 27 2008, 01:59 PM

Why So Serious
1,042 posts

but then, who was akmal rizal opponent? some high school player? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by yogurt7: Jun 27 2008, 02:00 PM
Kerplunk
post Jun 27 2008, 04:01 PM

802 posts

i like your spirit of supporting one of our local talents laugh.gif
now that you've mentioned all of that, i just wish we had some videos of him at his best..so we can make a comparison hmm.gif
adioz88
post Jun 27 2008, 05:40 PM

791 posts

Im some of his fan
Dah lama tak dengar orang sebut pasal dia
Bila tengok thread ni, rasa tertarik
BTW, nice job by thread starter
glozz
post Jun 27 2008, 05:45 PM

"Robocop"
1,681 posts

Since you mentioned he's under-rated; how come his record doesn't say the same thing?

Season Club Apps (Goals)
1999 Kedah FA
1999-2000 RC Strasbourg 22 (5)
2000-2001 FCSR Haguenau (loan) 14 (5)
2002-2006 Kedah FA ? (10)
2006-present Selangor FA ? ()

Bergkamp played 185 games and scored 103 goals with his first club Ajax, where he stayed for 7 seasons. They say numbers don't lie. Where is it exactly in both player's 7 years that says Akmal Rizal's better than Bergkamp?

BTW though; Akmal Rizal's fatter than Bergkamp ever since he came back from France though. I guess you forgot to mention that. rclxms.gif

Added on June 27, 2008, 5:51 pm
QUOTE(blademaster @ Jun 26 2008, 05:09 PM)

You're wrong there. He didn't make the grade at RC Strasbourg where he trained for almost 3 years I think. And that was a club in the French 2nd division. He was offered a contract at FCSR Haguenau though; one of Strasbourg's sister clubs which played in the French 3rd Division, which he played on loan there in his last year; but he rejected it, saying he didn't want to work hard in a lower league and preferred to come home and play in our overrated domestic league.

If that's what makes a world class footballer; I think we've got millions of 'em.

This post has been edited by glozz: Jun 27 2008, 05:54 PM
blademaster
post Jun 27 2008, 05:53 PM

1,009 posts

You guys can't compare Akmal Rizal and Berkamp just by statistical analysis. You got to watch how they play when they get the ball, how the do off-the-ball runs. Akmal Rizal is simply spectacular. Should I open a thread dedicated to him LOL?

TS, sorry if it feels as if I'm bombarding your thred but Berkamp just reminds me alot of Akmal Rizal LOL

Cheers!
glozz
post Jun 27 2008, 05:55 PM

"Robocop"
1,681 posts

So; the numbers are wrong then? It's thus wrong to say he didn't make the grade in France?

I find this all very strange. The Akmal Rizal I've seen is rather lazy and selfish. Waits for the ball too much. I also remember him acting like a small kid rushing to mob the MU players when they played a friendly here 'couple of years back.

If you think he's THAT good? Prove it. Open a thread and highlight his goals; or moves.

This post has been edited by glozz: Jun 27 2008, 05:58 PM
yogurt7
post Jun 27 2008, 06:38 PM

Why So Serious
1,042 posts

QUOTE(blademaster @ Jun 27 2008, 05:53 PM)
You guys can't compare Akmal Rizal and Berkamp just by statistical analysis. You got to watch how they play when they get the ball, how the do off-the-ball runs. Akmal Rizal is simply spectacular. Should I open a thread dedicated to him LOL?

TS, sorry if it feels as if I'm bombarding your thred but Berkamp just reminds me alot of Akmal Rizal LOL

Cheers!
then again, you can't compare player that play with bunch of world class on the pitch (bergkamp) and player that play against semi pro class (akmal rizal)...i bet if bergkamp, or any other world class player play against semi pro player, they will look not only spectacular, but marvelous, superb, etc...
ashburn98
post Jun 27 2008, 06:48 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

Berkamp > Akmal.

Until the day Akmal can do the same thing against EPL defender like what Berkamp did to the Newcastle defender (the first goal), Berkamp > Akmal.
jameslionhart
post Jun 27 2008, 08:03 PM

586 posts

unless u post some video clips...and even thou u can find some video clips about him playing in malaysia but still u have to remember...bergkamp play in epl and international games...not like selangor vs kedah thingy (for example) bergkamp is against world class defender or most of the epl best defenders and gk...ur Akmal is against maybe malaysia best at most...is pretty hard for u to compare both players that is playing in different world

Cheers!
albirri
post Jun 27 2008, 08:04 PM

shinobi
2,250 posts

The goal against Argentina (World cup 1998) really make me sick of this guy as i'm a die hard fan of Argentina. But i have to admit that, the goal was brilliant at very critical time of the game, min 89th. The game also became a memorable to me as Aerial Ortega was sent off after his unacceptable action by heading Van Der Sar. Thinking back, it was already 10 years ago...and i was 10 years young...

This post has been edited by albirri: Jun 27 2008, 08:57 PM
kimhoong
post Jun 27 2008, 08:24 PM

5,154 posts

Never thought there are so many football lovers who could forget about their favored clubs' rivalries and agree upon the same thing/player even if he is from Arsenal.

I'm not going to add anymore since you guys have almost listed down everything laugh.gif

Please don't compare Bergkamp with any other players. Every player has his uniqueness and class to become a topic, to become a legend.

I agree on the proposal of creating thread for other players (such as Akmal Rizal dry.gif ) if you want to know more on how others think on the player.

Anyway, just a keep the thread clean wink.gif

This post has been edited by kimhoong: Jun 27 2008, 08:25 PM
afaris
post Jun 27 2008, 08:41 PM

160 posts

Dennis Bergkamp what can i say he's trully a legend. notworthy.gif
BuLLs10
post Jun 28 2008, 11:11 AM

355 posts

he is so coollllllllllllllllll~!~ i like his finishing...robert pires also wonderful winger
navilink
post Jun 28 2008, 12:40 PM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

QUOTE(jackdante22 @ Jun 26 2008, 04:27 PM)

i almost forgot about Mar Overmars...his career seem to fall after move to Barca...should have stayed at Arsenal and he and Bergkamp would be legend...
broken_string
post Jun 28 2008, 07:09 PM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

lol akmal rizal lol

i tink bergkamp can control the ball with his foot better than akmal with his hands doh.gif
disco333
post Jun 28 2008, 07:54 PM

453 posts

That compilation doesn't do the great man justice. He is simply the best, his touch is unbelievable. Most technically sound player ever to grace an English pitch. Top class!
clsiluf
post Jun 28 2008, 09:28 PM

2,058 posts

QUOTE(Alternation @ Jun 26 2008, 03:33 PM)
for all the credits given 2 him, i think he's still quite underrated. He's jst so complete! superb vision n passing range. incredible composure n killing instinct, out of the world technique n best of all, extremely down to earth and a committed family man.
... he where got underrated ... hmm.gif

-Nos-
post Jun 28 2008, 11:47 PM

I Hate Stupid people!!
1,770 posts

Cheers!
What bullsh*t
If not compare about statistic compare about what?
If you say how great and amazing is this Akmal Rizal why top clubs around the world wouldn't sign him?

I wonder how Bergkamp is similar to Akmal in any way.
Please ask the scout talents to sign him as he is so 'great' and they can get the quality of Bergkamp calibre for 1000 times cheaper price.
fcuk90
post Jul 2 2008, 08:33 AM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

bergkamp is a legend.....i m arsenal fans i know him very well but he dont know me -.-
clsiluf
post Jul 2 2008, 09:16 AM

2,058 posts

QUOTE(-Nos- @ Jun 28 2008, 11:47 PM)
What bullsh*t
If not compare about statistic compare about what?
If you say how great and amazing is this Akmal Rizal why top clubs around the world wouldn't sign him?

I wonder how Bergkamp is similar to Akmal in any way.
Please ask the scout talents to sign him as he is so 'great' and they can get the quality of Bergkamp calibre for 1000 times cheaper price.
lol agree .... laugh.gif

y people compare a legend with a kid ?

azmal totally not in the class of bergkamp ... not even near ... even a south korean or japanese striker is better then Azmal

yes, even azmal can do those 'great' move, it also limited to M league, if he in EPL, i think he can't even get the ball because the pace is much much faster then the school boy M league ...

toshio14
post Jul 2 2008, 09:21 AM

704 posts

bro, it's not 'Azmal'. it's 'Akmal'

Bergkamp is a legend, the best that ever is in his position

now, where's the Akmal's thread?
Meis
post Jul 6 2008, 03:44 AM

Thinker & Real Patriot
3,077 posts

bergkamp is a living legend nuff said
jam_lennon
post Jul 6 2008, 10:32 AM

4,156 posts

i trying to youtube
akmal rizal, 6 records found
dennis bergkamp - 494
giotto
post Jul 6 2008, 11:11 AM

3,051 posts

We don't need youtube to tell us that Bergy is much if not million times better than Akmal Rizal. People who come out with statement such as Akmal Rizal better than Bergy are people who're in here to be flame grilled. In short, they are too free and have nothing to post.

I grew up watching Bergy play and he's actually a joy to watch. The Dutchmaster ball control is superb and he's not exactly the typical striker who scores but he has an eye for his other team mates and makes some superb assist. I think we don't have to be reminded for the wonder goal he scored Newcastle. I remember watching that match early in the morning and it made me excited whole day long. I was talking about that goal to my college mates and they didnt believe me he scored such a goal. And then there's the brilliance of Bergy setting up Ljungberg for the 2nd goal against Juventus. He controlled the ball superbly, saw Ljungberg darting pass and he flicked the ball to Ljungberg and he slotted it home. Brilliant assist! And not many will remember 2002 UCL group stage match against Bayer Leverkusen. He was tormenting the Bayer defence all night long and set up 1 or 2 of the goals. The fans knew it was not over till Bergy score. True enough, he scored a fabulous 4th goal. He received the ball from Wltord, took 3 or 4 touches, saw the GK slightly out of position, chipped the ball into the top right corner of the GK and the crowd went crazy. And then there's the 7-0 demolition of Everton in year 2005. I think we just lost the title to Chelsea before this game. Bergkamp was all over Everton and he created like 2 goals and to top it up, he scored one and it was the biggest win at Highbury that season. You can search that 7-0 win at youtube and his passes are all of the highest quality, typical Bergkamp.

He's truly an Arsenal legend. He's my alltime favourite Arsenal player, and thats probably coz i grew up watching him play. Thats the reason i did up my prized Arsenal 05-06 maroon jersey with Bergkamp 10 name and number. Probably not gonna wear it for a long time.

Bergkamp 10
s3liparjepon
post Jul 6 2008, 05:07 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(blademaster @ Jun 27 2008, 06:53 PM)

Cheers!
Blademaster

Dont talk crap ok? you yourself mentioned we cant compare bergkamp with Akmal..but then who start the comparison?
If akmal so similar with Bergkamp, our national team would at least won the Asian Cup...and the backroom staff at Strausborg should have retain him and offer the contract...wth...

He even did not pass the fitness test...

Should i open a thread dedicated to him?
ya..where is the thread and make sure you enlighten us with all the fact and figures to support your statement "Akmal is simply spectacular"..spectacular in what? spectacular in eating?

Stop talking crap ok?

best statement sp far by blademaster:

This post has been edited by s3liparjepon: Jul 6 2008, 05:09 PM
GodLuvSxS
post Jul 6 2008, 06:44 PM

1,359 posts

Dennis Bergkamp, another member of my dream strikeforce, Bergkamp at peak + Shearer at peak = golden double! Too bad it never happend and wont happen sad.gif
laica
post Jul 6 2008, 07:13 PM

grown up child
801 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Jun 26 2008, 08:23 AM)
not to mention...he's phobia of heights....
his goal against argentina was among the best in history...controlled a long pass using right leg...then dummy a defender using right leg...then kick the ball into the goal using right leg....one-legged goal! hehe thumbup.gif
yup thats 1 of my favorite goal follow by newcastle's goal

he is surely my favorite player thumbup.gif
StarGhazzer
post Jul 6 2008, 08:08 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(GodLuvSxS @ Jul 6 2008, 06:44 PM)
Dennis Bergkamp, another member of my dream strikeforce, Bergkamp at peak + Shearer at peak = golden double! Too bad it never happend and wont happen sad.gif
Shearer was probably a better goal getter, but Dennis was definitely the more skillful one. Not only he's a striker, he's a playmaker as well.
The goal vs Newcastle was absolutely stunning, but his hattrick vs Leicester where each and every goal was beautiful in its own way truly speaks of the Dutchman's genius feet.

A dipping long range rocket... an audacious chip... and finally a juggle and smack it into the roof.
Perfect. Absolutely perfect.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jul 6 2008, 08:11 PM
giotto
post Jul 6 2008, 08:59 PM

3,051 posts

Yeap, Shearer is your old fashioned centre forward, just keeps scoring and scoring. Bergkamp is a lil different in the sense he plays a lil back and he supports his strike partner. Towards the end of his career, he was playing even further back, almost like an attacking playmaker more than centre forward.
GodLuvSxS
post Jul 7 2008, 01:05 PM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Jul 6 2008, 08:08 PM)
Shearer was probably a better goal getter, but Dennis was definitely the more skillful one. Not only he's a striker, he's a playmaker as well.
The goal vs Newcastle was absolutely stunning, but his hattrick vs Leicester where each and every goal was beautiful in its own way truly speaks of the Dutchman's genius feet.

A dipping long range rocket... an audacious chip... and finally a juggle and smack it into the roof.
Perfect. Absolutely perfect.
QUOTE(giotto @ Jul 6 2008, 08:59 PM)
Yeap, Shearer is your old fashioned centre forward, just keeps scoring and scoring. Bergkamp is a lil different in the sense he plays a lil back and he supports his strike partner. Towards the end of his career, he was playing even further back, almost like an attacking playmaker more than centre forward.
That's what I want, Bergkamp feeding Shearer and he could score some magical one when Shearer is marked tight biggrin.gif
ikram035
post Jul 7 2008, 02:16 PM

55 posts

hahaha.. compared bergkamp with akmal..
bergkamp already played at final round world cup,
akmal only can played asia cup if malaysia being host for that game..
like sky and earth.. hahaa

aladdin
post Jul 7 2008, 02:24 PM

True Love Never Runs Smooth
4,346 posts

wowowo..never know fans from other club love bergkamp too..he is currently attending coaching class and will back to his beloved soccer world again, as a coach/manager.

He actually hold the holland top scoring record before kluivert and VN re-write the record. too bad he retired national squad too early (during his peak), else i think he will still be the top scorer in holland history.

At the age of 36, he still able to maintained his level standard. how many players in this world can actually reach this level? i afraid just a few. some earlier posts mentioned he not that "strong" when against physical types players. I agreed that. This is why most of the goals he made was long distance/outside box...and this type of players, is what arsenal lack of now.
giotto
post Jul 7 2008, 06:22 PM

3,051 posts

aladdin,
Can't agree with you that he's not strong when playing against physical players. Bergkamp isn't a player that loves to take a run against the defender, as such, physical strength isn't that important. He was never the "Drogba" type of player. Bergy was all about technical ability, a materclass passer and he doesn't need to be strong to get away from players. He can make 1 pass that will pass thru 3 players, instead of a dribbling past 3 players.

Also, as much as he loves to score from outside the box, bulk of his goals does not come from outside. The ones you see on youtube are the highlighted super goals he scored from outside, the rest are probably not worth mentioning.
scy320
post Jul 9 2008, 12:07 AM

2,464 posts

QUOTE(GodLuvSxS @ Jul 6 2008, 06:44 PM)
Maybe it can happen in friendly match.
blackcode
post Jul 9 2008, 12:52 AM

It's all about finding de right smile ~
541 posts

QUOTE(scy320 @ Jul 9 2008, 12:07 AM)
Maybe it can happen in friendly match.
use to imagine both of them play together..but only in dreams..so sad,haha
scy320
post Jul 9 2008, 01:37 AM

2,464 posts