ACCA (V4), Accountants

yemm
post Oct 14 2008, 10:10 AM

19 posts

Hi there, i am new here as well... this forum is very useful for me in fact... Actually i would like to know who is the best tutor for paper P!. I saw the recommendation Sheila John n Philip Woo, any idea who should i choose?

I will be taking paper P1 coming december, is there anything that i should take note?
yemm
post Oct 14 2008, 08:59 PM

19 posts

Thanks so much guys...

there are actually more than 25 rows? that's big and i do not have any frens there.. the seats are first come first serve?

This post has been edited by yemm: Oct 14 2008, 09:13 PM
yemm
post Jan 6 2009, 11:45 PM

19 posts

Hi, actually i am working full time and this side has provided me many information i need. Erm.. i found that for P2 the recommended lecturer will be

P2 Corporate Reporting CR(3.6)
Haneef (McO)
Ms Menon (Sunway)
Joe Fang (KSA)

Are these lecturers still teaching at the college stated above?

I am doing self study actually because i cannot spare time for part time courses. So i printed out all available article n question from acca website for self study? Is it possible to get notes from any of you who are attending these lecturer's class?

yemm
post Jan 7 2009, 09:10 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(soul_project @ Jan 7 2009, 08:59 PM)
yeah Ms Menon is still teaching at Sunway
she say it's impossible to self study for P2 in the current sitting as the syllabus has totally changed
i was from the previous sitting and resit student as i failed the previous-previous sitting and the group accounts have changed tremendously
this sitting not only the groups accounts has changed but major changes in IASs n IFRSs as well she sed
Really? hmm.. but i am working full time and is too tired for evening class.

You studying at Sunway now?
yemm
post Jan 7 2009, 10:26 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(soul_project @ Jan 7 2009, 09:31 PM)
no lo .. working full time dy too but still awaiting results for final 3 papers ..

yeah i just started work just awhile ago n i can imagine how tiring it is to be working full time for a long while dy ..

y not weekends class then ya ? perhaps it's better ?
i work on saturday too..lol.. it will be unbearable if i hav to study on Sunday, besides do they hav sunday class?

Btw, how do you study for the last sitting, you went for class? Where?

yemm
post Jan 13 2009, 12:06 PM

19 posts

May i know who are the recommended lecturers for P2 and P3? and where are they teaching now?
yemm
post Jan 13 2009, 08:18 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Jan 13 2009, 12:48 PM)
For P2 its more thereothetical now so i will recommend haneef at Mco, fees around Rm1000 for full term.
For P3 since its quite obvious i will say you need to try parmindar at KSA , fees around Rm 700 - Rm 800 for full term

If you want the recommended lecturers at this forum please refer to the first page, its all there minus the adjustments for june 2009 seating (keith farmer will not be teaching this seating at KSA due to personal reason).

Added on January 13, 2009, 12:57 pm

okay.. Do they teach revision classes as well?

Btw, is anyone in this forum studying at the respective college now?
yemm
post Feb 16 2009, 07:22 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(hanaAz @ Feb 16 2009, 05:10 PM)
i was expecting i failed for p1 coz i didnt write much n left out 20marks q.but i passed.Thank God.But the miserable thing is i failed my p2-49...God plis kill me.is there any changes in p2?im scared to death to attend miss menon's class coz she knows me.aiyoh!
Hey there, i took P1 as well and my marks is 50.. pheww... nearly missed... sweat.gif still have P2 and P3 to go.

anyway, just want to ask you or anyone who had attended miss menon's or Mr.Haneef's class, how was it?? what variant we should take?

btw, wat is an OBU?

Thanks ya.
yemm
post Mar 10 2009, 06:55 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(Joel718 @ Mar 10 2009, 12:33 AM)
ms menon in sunway?? p2 or f7??
rm 1430 per paper...

i was under ms menon for f7(int)..and under mr joe fang(KSA) for p2 (int)...
mr joe fang's class costs about 800-900...

ms menon would cover almost everything for financial reporting...sometimes more than what exam requires...
12 hours a week...tiring...

mr joe fang has his own consolidation method..but he seldom focuses on teaching theory..so u may need to read up the accounting standards yourself...but his method in tackling section B (p2) is really good...thus u dun have to worry for section B...coz once ur familliar with his method, tackling question 3 and 4 would not be a problem....but u have to cover the knowledge on accounting standards urself...his way of doing consolidation is unique and fast, thus u must familiarise yourself with the method...and show your WORKINGS clearly...

there are other lecturers teaching financial reporting...mr haneef (McO), Mr Yap (kolej bandar), mr keith (KSA)...i did not study under them..thus, no comments..haha:p..

Hey there, we should take international variant for P2 is it?

I will be taking P2 this coming June, anything that i should be aware of?
yemm
post Mar 11 2009, 05:49 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(Joel718 @ Mar 10 2009, 07:54 PM)

you could either take MYS or INT...
not much difference..difference lies between d names FRS and IAS...

hehe...p2...write write write and continue to write eventhough not sure of the answer...
must write relevant things la..according to standards one...
dun spend too much time on question 1 until u dun have time for section B...
must allocate time properly..finish all ques...then should be alright..
okay.. thanks for the explanation. Usually college lecturers teach INT or MYS variant?
yemm
post Mar 14 2009, 08:31 PM

19 posts

my cert only shows "exempted" for some of the subjects because i studied in TARC , will the employers ask for transcipt as well?
yemm
post Mar 16 2009, 05:59 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(booooster @ Mar 14 2009, 09:42 PM)
can I ask wat papers u got exempted from?
F1 Accountant in Business Conv. Exemption June 2007 0
F2 Management Accounting Conv. Exemption June 2007 0
F3 Financial Accounting Conv. Exemption June 2007 0
F4 Corporate and Business Law Conv. Exemption June 2007 0
F5 Performance Management Conv. Exemption June 2007 0
F6 Malaysia Taxation Conv. Pass June 2007 57
F7 Financial Reporting Conv. Exemption June 2007 0
F8 Audit and Assurance Conv. Exemption June 2007 0
F9 Financial Management Conv. Pass June 2007 50
OPT Business Information Management Option Conv. Pass June 2007 55
P1 Professional Accountant Pass December 2008 50
P6 Malaysia Advanced Taxation Pass June 2008 56