ACCA (V4), Accountants

littlediana
post Jun 29 2008, 12:23 AM

498 posts

is the acca career fair really crowded???
and any thing to share with us blush.gif

This post has been edited by littlediana: Jun 29 2008, 12:23 AM
littlediana
post Jun 29 2008, 04:10 PM

498 posts

anyone knows any changes in p1 last sitting and this coming sitting?
littlediana
post Jul 2 2008, 05:11 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(littlediana @ Jun 29 2008, 04:10 PM)
anyone knows any changes in p1 last sitting and this coming sitting?
anyone knows?
littlediana
post Aug 18 2008, 05:43 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(twom @ Aug 18 2008, 01:00 PM)
P1  44
P2  45
P3  49

My employer didn't allow me to take any study leave and only given me exam leave, feel a bit sad. This coming exam, thinking taking full time class. Any suggestion which college which is good and the student per class is not a lot like kasturi?
wow wat kind of employer is tht
i took leave but still fail my p1 and p2

resit cry.gif
littlediana
post Oct 2 2008, 03:02 PM

498 posts

wanna ask one thing

about sunway college do students still need to line up and pay for the notes?
waiting in the line .. wasting time...

i attended f7 last last sitting and studied at sunway...

or is it only f7???

icon_question.gif

littlediana
post Oct 3 2008, 12:15 AM

498 posts

QUOTE(liondoncefreak @ Oct 2 2008, 11:42 PM)
Yes that's how things work in Sunway for all their papers. Get's quite sickening how we have to pay obscene prices for our fees, and yet still have to pay for our notes. This is unlike other colleges where the cost for the notes are all absorbed into the fees. Sighh..  shakehead.gif
omg for all papers... luckily this time i doing at kdu blush.gif
as us part-timers busy working and studying quite hard hehe...

littlediana
post Oct 24 2008, 10:35 AM

498 posts

i cant wait for the exam tips this sitting ............ p3......... blush.gif

This post has been edited by littlediana: Oct 24 2008, 10:36 AM
littlediana
post Nov 1 2008, 03:29 PM

498 posts

1 more month till exam so scary!!
p3 omg
anyone have any advice or something

littlediana
post Nov 10 2008, 07:53 PM

498 posts

tips on p3?
littlediana
post Nov 11 2008, 07:59 PM

498 posts

P3

ACCA Exam Tips for December 2008

According to FTC Kaplan following are the topics that are expected to appear in P3 Business Analysis for December 2008 attempt. WARNING:The examiners deliberately try to avoid question spotting. Use the tips as areas to have a good look at, but remember that no-one knows what’s in the exam except the examiner. Your safest bet is to achieve good syllabus coverage in your revision, as the examiner aims to do in the exam.The areas that we would expect to see most regularly in the exam are:

Analysis-type question – PESTEL or on risks.

Product choice use of BCG.

SWOT, Ansoff and change management.

Opportunities and problems of different growth strategies, eg acquisition and organic growth.

CSF and PI – relate to a scenario.

Ethics – business benefits of being socially responsible (short question).

Quality – six sigma linked in with the CMMI model (possibly technical).

Project management – stages of the project with stakeholder mapping of project members.Supply chain management.

IT – general question relating to the benefits of e-commerce. Also use of the internet and development of a niche strategy
littlediana
post Nov 16 2008, 08:44 PM

498 posts

p3 question

kotter change model
blur here
wat is the 4 factors that cause resistance to change?
how to deal with resistance to enable driving forces of change?

how is kotter and kurt lewin linked? eeeee blur....

help me pls

tq tq tq ... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by littlediana: Nov 16 2008, 08:44 PM
littlediana
post Nov 16 2008, 11:50 PM

498 posts

[quote=Topace111,Nov 16 2008, 10:56 PM]
Lewin touches on 2 theory = 1) Force-field theory & 2) Change process model.

1) Force-field theory
We need to identify the forces that requires company to change & forces restrainging the changes.
Example : You want to eat at 5 star hotel but usually you ate at hawker stall.
Forces requiring change = You want to appear more elegant.
Forces restraining change = You don't have enough money.

2) Change process model
We need to "unfreeze" old way of doing things (make them feel dillusioned about current way).
Then we perform the "change" necessary (on 7S)
The we "refreeze" the new culture (so that they won't revert back to original state).

Next is Kotter (& Schlesinger) on HOW TO Weaken restraining forces :
1) Education & communication = create awareness
2) Participation & involvement = create sense of belonging
3) Facilitation & support = Offer reward & coaching
4) Negotiation = Reach "win-win" situation.
5) Manipulation = Bribe Or appease the informal leader of resistance
6) Coercion = Serve warning / get tough.

Now to answer on your question of how they are linked :

Force field theory & Kotter :
In force field theory we need to identify potential resistance.
Then we need to tak poactive steps to weaken it (hence come Kotter 6 steps).
Finally we implement the changes.

In Change process model
The unfreeze part = we use (education & communication) and (particaption & involvement).
The refreeze part = we use (faciliation & support).

If you have any doubt PM me or if you want reference you can refer to Past year question June 2007, Question no 2. Sayonara tongue.gif

Added on November 16, 2008, 11:13 pm[quote=karhoe,Nov 16 2008, 08:21 PM]
I guess i'm comfortable with Sunway, why do you guys say that the lecturers are inexperienced? I think the lecturers are very dedicated and I can understand what they teach.

I think the lecturer are fine but there are better lecturers out there (you need some effort to find appropriate one).
Most of the people go to Sunway because they want the "sunway" tag at their resume & dedication of lecturer (facilities are added bonus).
However if you want strictly the best lecturer they are considered "2nd best" in terms of experience, wealth of knowledge & reputation compared to those lecturer recommended at this forum (well most of them nod.gif ).

Even sunway student take some papers outside (namely audit if i am not mistaken).
I undertand concern of student because they want the best out of everything so they go for "simplicity" mode by taking at the "best" centre.
However if you want the optimal result, you need to practice this motto "I choose lecturer not college".
Remember we are not talking about degree (where you study everything under one roof) but professional qualification where you are "given" option to self study or choose your own lecturer.
Of course you rather to tell your relatives you are studying at sunway than KSA ? (Ha HA me too rclxms.gif but that time i am still immatured)

This system will create a "HYPER" competition which breeds efficiency among lecturers. You will ask why if these so famous lecturer never teach at big & classy university but settled on less known centres ?
I will answer these in detail next time but its due to 3 main factors : Low stress, Higher return & flexible period.
Most of these lecturer earn 10 - 20 times more than sunway lecturer (even offer better quality too).
However i vehemently support your "dedication of teaching by sunway lecturers" but they are more concern about your marks (hopefully prize biggrin.gif )

[/quote]

omg so in details thanks alot dear blush.gif
are u studying p3 now also or u have passed ACCA hehe

anyways thanks alot
littlediana
post Nov 17 2008, 12:03 AM

498 posts

er.. one more thing

wat is the 4 factors that cause resistance to change? by kotter one...

littlediana
post Nov 26 2008, 11:24 PM

498 posts

omg exams is getting nearer and nearer...

so afraid of p3! hope to pass.. sweat.gif

seems like alot to remember dunno which is which so blur.... cry.gif
littlediana
post Dec 3 2008, 03:15 PM

498 posts

i wanna ask for p3

where and which area to focus on for People (HR) & IT section?

blur and lack of time... sweat.gif

thanks alot blush.gif

This post has been edited by littlediana: Dec 3 2008, 03:16 PM
littlediana
post Dec 3 2008, 09:27 PM

498 posts

one more question on p3

financial analysis - wat ratios to calculate?

net profit margin, gross profit margin, operating profit margin

wat other?

thanks regards,
diana

littlediana
post Dec 6 2008, 10:12 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Dec 6 2008, 08:43 PM)
I share your sentiment, this is my revision summary of 3 core paper :
P1 : The more you study the better (content is very generic & direct)
P2 : The more you study the more complicated it become (Graham holt twist question every sitting)
P3 : The more you study the more you "realised" you don't know.

Just hope this sitting will be easier because the last one all examiner decided to change the trend.
From this forum reply there is possibility difficulty will be reduced.
p3 hehe ya true now i feel and realised i dunno anything so blur on it ....

good one.... thanks for sharing...

aiya.....

Added on December 6, 2008, 10:14 pm
QUOTE(roy_pck @ Dec 6 2008, 09:04 PM)
agree with you, p3 know how to blow water can already tongue.gif
sure or not blow water... sweat.gif

Added on December 6, 2008, 10:18 pm
QUOTE(jayniel @ Dec 6 2008, 08:33 PM)
p3 no need study 1 lol
sure no need to study or not?

seems like many ppl says easy is it true...hmm.....

This post has been edited by littlediana: Dec 6 2008, 10:18 PM
littlediana
post Dec 6 2008, 11:25 PM

498 posts

er ... can i ask something about p3

strategic alliances and joint development same thing?
littlediana
post Dec 7 2008, 02:09 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(littlediana @ Dec 6 2008, 11:25 PM)
er ... can i ask something about p3

strategic alliances  and joint development same thing?
anyone pls help ... thanks alot sweat.gif
littlediana
post Dec 8 2008, 09:41 PM

498 posts

so glad to hear p1 is easy and ok....

good luck in p2...

p3 sweat.gif hope that is easy for me....

0.0259sec    1.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:30 AM