ACCA (V4), Accountants

kelvinlee1983
post Jun 25 2008, 10:49 AM

174 posts

hi, kelvin lee here. nice to meet you all.
kelvinlee1983
post Jun 25 2008, 11:08 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(jonwei @ Jun 25 2008, 10:58 AM)
Which Paper in Fundamental level of ACCA (F4 - F9) are not necessary to attend class...means which 1 can self-study?
F4, law. I think this paper can pass if you self study rclxms.gif
kelvinlee1983
post Jun 25 2008, 11:30 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(jonwei @ Jun 25 2008, 11:14 AM)
how bout other subject? is it possible to self-study for other paper using BPP book?
it depend on the personal.
some people are smart, they can self study for all subject.

Added on June 25, 2008, 11:31 am
QUOTE(jonwei @ Jun 25 2008, 11:26 AM)
isn't it ACCA exam timetable the same for every exam cycle?
1st week JUNE/Dec for sure MOnday ...taxation....n it flows as normal
correct me if i'm wrong
you are right. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by kelvinlee1983: Jun 25 2008, 11:31 AM
kelvinlee1983
post Jun 25 2008, 11:56 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(jonwei @ Jun 25 2008, 11:33 AM)
i'm not saying i'm smart or sumting
i'm just hard-working...n i enjoy studying ACCA BPP study-text
you can try to self study since you are hardworking. thumbup.gif

kelvinlee1983
post Aug 5 2008, 11:46 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Aug 5 2008, 11:32 PM)
yeah something like that, actually i acn explain better (but scared too long) so i just came out with the simple explanation. I think an extract of draft
will better visualise the changes

Previously                                                                                                            Changes
Cost of investment                                                                                x                        Consideration transferred                          x
FV of identifiable net assets at date of acquisition                                                      NCi (% x FV of net asset)                        x
Share capital                                              x                                                                                                                                  x
Pre-acquisition reserves                                                                                         
share premium                                            x
retained earnings                                        x
FV adjustment                                        x
                                                                  x    multiply % of control    x                FV of net assets x 100%                            x
Goodwill                                                                                                x                                                                                          x

At the end you get back the same figure for goodwill if you apply Proportionate share of FV of Sub net asset.
The goodwill will have different figure if you apply F.V of m.v of share by NCI just b4 acquisition.

I apologise for any differences of standards material as (i do not know what it looks like when it was posted)  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

Added on August 5, 2008, 11:41 pmSorry for the above post, let me do justice again (drafting it on table was a disaster) doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
Previous IFRS 3
Cost of investment
- Fv of identifiable net assets at date of acquistion x % of control
= goodwill

Current IFRS 3
Consideration transferred
+ Non-controlling interest (% x FV of net assets at date of acquistion)
- Fv of identifiable net assets at date of acquistion x 100%
= goodwill

Those methods will be applied if use Proportionate share of FV of Sub net asset.
If apply method of F.V of m.v of share by NCI just b4 acquisition. Then question must give m.v of share price of subsidiary (ie : RM3)

Consideration transferred
+ NCI (m.v of share price x no. of shares held by NCI)
- Fv of identifiable net assets at date of acquistion x 100%
= goodwill
But there will be goodwill attributable to NCI at (m.v of share price - % of NCI x Fv of identifiable net assets at date of acquistion)
i think we had studied it when we studied for P2 current issues, right?

kelvinlee1983
post Aug 9 2008, 07:05 PM

174 posts

You can view the June08 answer from the ACCA website.
kelvinlee1983
post Aug 10 2008, 01:57 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(keith_hjinhoh @ Aug 10 2008, 01:55 PM)
18 Aug if not mistaken
yes, is 18th august.

Added on August 10, 2008, 1:58 pm
QUOTE(Topace111 @ Aug 10 2008, 12:28 PM)
None is is easy to pass actually. P5 is getting tougher & tougher. P4 is "blood-sucking". P6 must memorise a lot & has the lowest pass rate previous
sitting. It depends on your skills & competency
P5 : If you can reason & argue well you can pass (a lot of overlapping areas with P3)
P4 : Deemed the toughest (lots of formulaes & models) balanced in calculation & theory. No straight answer.
P6 : Must memorise tons of section to apply effectively in exam. (in detail not just key pointers). If foundation of tax not good very hard to grasp P6.
It is depend on your interest also.

This post has been edited by kelvinlee1983: Aug 10 2008, 01:58 PM
kelvinlee1983
post Aug 10 2008, 03:45 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(pristina @ Aug 10 2008, 03:21 PM)
the most scary date in this month  sweat.gif
still left around 8 days.
Good luck! cool2.gif
kelvinlee1983
post Aug 14 2008, 10:26 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(pristina @ Aug 14 2008, 10:24 PM)
4 days to go!!! sweat.gif a little bit stress cause of it..
and the F4 difficult indeed to absorb!
actually now still left around 3.5 days tongue.gif

kelvinlee1983
post Aug 16 2008, 12:52 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Aug 16 2008, 11:36 AM)
I have a general enquiry about the exam results
1) Which website is faster / slower when received by e-mail ?
2) When view online they said is 1600 GMT in Britain. So in Malaysia is +8 hours so figuratively speaking we can check online at 12.00 a.m that's
    on early tuesday morning.
    However in past trend (last sitting) we can already check online at 3.30p.m. Can anyone clarify on this issue ?
normally we receive the result at monday afternoon , from 12pm-1pm .

most of my friends received it at 1pm
kelvinlee1983
post Aug 16 2008, 09:42 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(stephanie0721 @ Aug 16 2008, 06:02 PM)
Topace and watISacca:
thx for both of ur reply =)
yup..nth is perfect..i think i hav made up my mind after reading ur posts..
i prefer to complete my study first..i dun wanna do sumthing which is against my will and with reluctance ><

by the way, what is the difference between online exam registration and the post 1?
they wil send me a form to fill out within September right?
what if i register online? what shud i do with the form? juz ignore it?
which method is better from ur experience?

thz =)
ACCA will sent result slip to you by post.
It is better to keep your result slip until you finish all the papers.
Recently, I applied job, they ask me to provide all the result slips. icon_question.gif
kelvinlee1983
post Aug 17 2008, 08:36 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(keith_hjinhoh @ Aug 17 2008, 06:45 AM)
1 more day.... It's the final countdown!
good luck , wish you all the best.

kelvinlee1983
post Aug 17 2008, 10:59 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(seline @ Aug 17 2008, 10:48 AM)
anyone know wat time will the result releasE?
normally is 12pm to 1pm.

kelvinlee1983
post Aug 17 2008, 03:46 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(HBK-reloaded @ Aug 17 2008, 03:24 PM)
me too...max if takin 4 papers pass 2 happy already,if 3 of course its better...but to pass all 4..that can happen laugh.gif ..
since u're working at BTMH, u sure can juggle btw work and study if there still have pass to go(hopefully not).. icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on August 17, 2008, 3:30 pm

i think there is such term..and mostly that what makes examiner really piss off..its like  u dont answered what the questions wants..and it shows that candidates are lack of understanding the term and meaning of TOC(u have to know how to differentiate btw Subs. test and TOC, when to use it,is it necessary based on the case)..many times alan published the articles and exam report regarding silly(fundamental) mistakes that candidates did during the exam and student should noticed about that..
do you think that ACCA got quota to pass for each papers?

kelvinlee1983
post Aug 18 2008, 11:48 AM

174 posts

good luck to everyone!!!!!!!!!!!
kelvinlee1983
post Aug 18 2008, 12:03 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Aug 18 2008, 11:59 AM)
Ha Ha Ha, I think you will pass at least by 75 marks.
don't make me scare rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by kelvinlee1983: Aug 18 2008, 12:04 PM
kelvinlee1983
post Aug 18 2008, 12:25 PM

174 posts

i pass P4 with 65 and p6 with 50,how about you?
kelvinlee1983
post Aug 18 2008, 12:43 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(HBK-reloaded @ Aug 18 2008, 12:36 PM)
Your examination results for the June 2008 session issued on 18-AUG-08 are:

Paper Details: P2INT Corp. Rep. 
Result: Pass
Mark: 68
Paper Details: P3 Bus. Ana. 
Result:Pass
Mark: 53

icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif 

This p2 really killed me off..my P2 notes all tear off..learn IFRS,IAS only..so what can i say is that..IAS,IFRS is important in P2..
For p3,i hv no idea
good, congratulation notworthy.gif
kelvinlee1983
post Aug 18 2008, 03:40 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(rvp @ Aug 18 2008, 03:04 PM)
as long as pass it's sufficient. im glad i get 50 for p1.
i also glad that my p6 get 50 rclxms.gif

Added on August 18, 2008, 3:42 pm
QUOTE(carlosandy @ Aug 18 2008, 03:29 PM)
ACCA really difficult estimate. I oso don't know why can pass P2. 1st question don't even finish on time, the essay question just goreng and agak-agak do the FRS question, but finally can pass. May be I'm lucky..... rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
i think it is better for us to gorent theory in each papers in ACCA

This post has been edited by kelvinlee1983: Aug 18 2008, 03:42 PM
kelvinlee1983
post Aug 18 2008, 04:02 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(rvp @ Aug 18 2008, 03:46 PM)
so u've completed ur ACCA? congratz if dats da case.
talking bout 'goreng', there is no right or wrong about wat u 'goreng' but it is up to the marker to judge ur answer.
i completed my acca,

sometimes, you need to write a lot, then the marker will give you some marks, to make you pass with 50%

0.0521sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:22 AM