ACCA (V4), Accountants

andy888
post Oct 28 2008, 05:08 PM

516 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Oct 27 2008, 01:37 PM)
I am thinking of chin ann already since i have followed his tax in lower levels b4 (something like reporting & tax needs to follow same lecturer for better synergy). I have realised in my P2 that my lecturer touches very little on his F7 standards which is still relevant for P2 (Ie : leases & PPE)
Since i have followed his f7 class i don't have much worries but i don't think other students feel the same way (some from different lecturer background or they have skip P2 for one sitting). This also happens in my P1 where the lecturer cover less in detail in his audit area.

So far in my revision I have uncovered some normal concepts : (just to share only  tongue.gif )
P1 : 4 main area (which majority touches on CG). Lecturer not confident to spot since last sitting the trend blows off. Apart from CG everything can use self reasoning (ethics ). Even CG has duplication of contents especially if you touch on roles (aud comm, nomination comm, chairman....etc) The only part i am worried is abou professinal marks for answer structure (How to prepare a memo or official letter already ? wink.gif )

P2 : better still if you know haneef he will spot everything (especially last sitting touches more on standards than consol). According to him the examiner for P2 favours reasoning rather than mathematical adjustments (still important but lesser extent). Therefore i will never expect my a/c to balance like last sitting also  sweat.gif . My foundation is strong but i cannot use fast techniques / shortcuts to calculate. So far question is not that tough yet but i need to build in my speed. I heard many people forced to resit since the paper is now more theory based than calculational.
I am not trying to brag here but after constant & barrage of knowledge imparted by haneef, i feels BPP theory question are not that difficult.

P3 : everyone said its huge but i beg to differ. Yeah its quite heavy if you read everything. If i summarise into key words its not that large you just need some reasoning & elaboration skills. Even the the key words are self explanatory. Maybe the IT part needs some attention. I can remember & understand the content of P3 well but authors name are quite hard to digest (Malekzadeh & Navahandi anyone) I can calculte over >100 authors.
tis sitting world prize winner should be u biggrin.gif

andy888
post Nov 1 2008, 09:16 AM

516 posts

QUOTE(Felicia - HL @ Oct 31 2008, 01:56 PM)
Hi...

Is anyone planning to go for KSA F8 (Ray Ng) revision class on 7-9 Nov? and F9 (Andrew Pang) revision class on 10-13 Nov?

I haven't make up my mind whether to attend the above revision class b'cos i'm from Johor.

Any comment for Ray Ng & Andrew Pang in these 2 particular subject? Were their revision effective? Good or not good?

Added on October 31, 2008, 2:05 pmHi... If i plan to go KL for revision class, is anyone can suggest a hotel which are:
- cheap (< RM100per night),
- room rate include free parking (i'll drive to KL)
- Not too far from KSA
b'cos i probably will stay in kl for 6 nights(7 nov - 12 Nov) just for the revision class.

Thanks in advance!
u can stay at petaling street - stay orange hotel . walk within 3 min to KSA
quite cheap . below rm 60 per night
go online booking www.stayorange.com
andy888
post Nov 1 2008, 05:42 PM

516 posts

QUOTE(Finding_Nemo @ Nov 1 2008, 06:09 PM)
Can book seat ha??? this is my first time at KSA.....coz i m outstation student o.........

How to book ah??

Added on November 1, 2008, 5:37 pm

wat bout hotel malaya????

which one nearer?

tat stayorange safe or not??
hotel malaya about rm 165 to rm 200 per night.
if u stay 7 day, about 1 thousand plus wo... rclxub.gif doh.gif

stay orange is safe
andy888
post Nov 4 2008, 05:43 PM

516 posts

want to register ksa-f8-ray ng revision class but full already.
they said it is limited to 60 students only.
cry cry rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Added on November 4, 2008, 5:48 pmDEC 08 - Tips from FTC

http://www.pqaccountant.com/Pages/studyguides.php?id=67

This post has been edited by andy888: Nov 4 2008, 05:48 PM
andy888
post Nov 8 2008, 09:03 AM

516 posts

QUOTE(strawberrywaffle @ Nov 8 2008, 12:43 AM)
i was in his class too...hmm..i disagree with you..philip woo is much much better n detail!He is like running around with the ques  only...=.=
can u post his tips here if it is available ? can ? thumbup.gif
thanks a lot. notworthy.gif

Added on November 8, 2008, 9:04 am
QUOTE(strawberrywaffle @ Nov 8 2008, 12:43 AM)
i was in his class too...hmm..i disagree with you..philip woo is much much better n detail!He is like running around with the ques  only...=.=
can u post his tips here if it is available ? can ? thumbup.gif
thanks a lot. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by andy888: Nov 8 2008, 09:04 AM
andy888
post Nov 12 2008, 05:44 PM

516 posts

now is difficult to get tips from lowyat forum lio... tongue.gif

last time got gary,roy pck,colly here . got a lot of tips

now, cry.gif doh.gif
andy888
post Nov 15 2008, 04:25 PM

516 posts

anyone here got f8 and p1 tips from kasturi or mcorange ?

pls post here, can?

thanks. rclxms.gif
andy888
post Nov 19 2008, 02:42 PM

516 posts

QUOTE(vvvvv @ Nov 19 2008, 02:38 PM)
Anyone can provide Mock exam paper for P1& P3 -for dec08 exam.
currently, it is difficult to get mock exam or tips for ACCA exam from tis forum already. not like old days already.

this forum now become like kopitiam, argue there/here, argue lecturer, argue college

tongue.gif biggrin.gif

not mean of offend, but it is reality. doh.gif

Added on November 19, 2008, 2:43 pm
QUOTE(vvvvv @ Nov 19 2008, 02:38 PM)
Anyone can provide Mock exam paper for P1& P3 -for dec08 exam.
currently, it is difficult to get mock exam or tips for ACCA exam from tis forum already. not like old days already.

this forum now become like kopitiam, argue there/here, argue lecturer, argue college

tongue.gif biggrin.gif

not mean of offend, but it is reality.

This post has been edited by andy888: Nov 19 2008, 02:43 PM
andy888
post Dec 3 2008, 10:00 PM

516 posts

f8 seems easy but a lot to write . not enough time........ cry.gif cry.gif
andy888
post Dec 9 2008, 09:09 PM

516 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Dec 9 2008, 09:41 PM)
Round 2 of my exam summary
Regarding P2
Section A : Qs 1a)
Thank goodness examiner released cash flow & i was literally cry out a victory triumph but my heart sank after looking at next page of the notes.
My 5 star salute to graham holt as he will never makes my life easy. My P2 lecturer always said if you find it very easy doing P2 either you are a prize winner or you have miss out a lot of standards inside the question & true enough i discovered this was the sittitng graham holt use his license to kill to the maximum :
- Available for sale financial asset (take FV not cost)
- Retirement benefit liability (ignore the contribution paid)
- PPE (this is the most exciting PPE qs in cash flow i have ever experienced with so many hidden transactions)
- foreign PPE (pretty straightforward, but careful on the 3 dates)
- Investment in associate (quite ok but careful on the profit after tax)
- This is the ultimate puchline : deferred tax merge into all the transactions above (2 in 1)
Actually there are a lot of marks to pick up, format mark easily up to 5 like working capital, interest, tax & I explain the standards behind all the transactions just the final figure runs a bit.

Qs 1 b) Explain what cash flow highlights
I think this is the bonus mark since student can answer without even looking at notes of question by just looking at FS. I quote the negative balance, huge investment in asset, reduction in all WC, issue of shares & redemption of loan, huge impirment of asset......etc. So student s who cannot answer part a can answer part b with a smile.

Qs 1 c) Ethics behind creative a/c : After my P1 this is simply copy & paste

Section B : Qs 2 (never do i just skip since it all jumbles up)

Qs 3 : This area requires maximum knowledge of different parts of standard then apply.
I don't remember the flow so well but i thik forst para touch on license (i give the whole thing about intangibles asset ......)
2nd para touch a bit on leased land (since from govt....etoch again on amortisation, bla bla) then the payment.....
3rd para touch on revenue : risk & benefit....first para its sale but 2nd para touch on "substance over form" the sales trat as loan since dealer get majority profit, so company profit treat as interest, sales as loan.....

Qs 4 : I never though my reading on lecturer notes 10 minutes b4 exam turn out exactly (since its not much)
A) touch on a/c standards = give objective of IASB = harmonisation, comparability,global recognition,......
B) Voluntary / additional / extra disclosure = just done this in my P1 yesterday, so huge bonus for me
- touch on cost to preparer & benefit to user.

I think again now you don't even need to bring calculator and yet you can still pass P2 with high marks (for good students). I barely even have the chance to use calculator, but again i think you need to wirte a lot earn those maximum marks.  My hand nails puke so deep to my hand it literally
bleeds (small only don't scream). I finished exactly when they asked us to stop, i speed my watch 10 minustes faster to build up my suspense.

Ah my cash flow never balance again (HA HA HA) figures really funny (HA HA HA) still can't stop laughing.
seem u are very outstanding and good student to me. u sure score high marks.

salute u.respect u. bright future ahead of you notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

andy888
post Jan 3 2009, 01:55 PM

516 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Jan 3 2009, 01:31 AM)
Really, why no body inform here until today?
so, must scold 'colly' lio. hahaa biggrin.gif

0.0613sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:22 PM