131 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Bottom

ACCA (V4), Accountants

Topace111
post Oct 25 2008, 09:37 AM

2,102 posts

Well if you follow my post b4 i have always look for every single reason to find another centre other than the "one" i am sitting for right now.
The point i highlight is just to stress that the "one" is not the most perfect centre around. Cost pricing was never my main concern.
I have decided a long time ago which advanced paper lecturer i will pursue (not the "one") so the strategy they opt this time just gives me extra reason not to take it there.
I am a staunch believer & vindicator of "comfortable learning" not "competitive learning" where you must compete for everything from washroom, lifts, water-cooler, seats, fees payment and even lecturer's attention.

This post has been edited by Topace111: Oct 25 2008, 09:39 AM
keith_hjinhoh
post Oct 25 2008, 10:19 AM

Need My Service?
2,656 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Oct 25 2008, 09:37 AM)
Well if you follow my post b4 i have always look for every single reason to find another centre other than the "one" i am sitting for right now.
The point i highlight is just to stress that the "one" is not the most perfect centre around. Cost pricing was never my main concern.
I have decided a long time ago which advanced paper lecturer i will pursue (not the "one") so the strategy they opt this time just gives me extra reason not to take it there.
I am a staunch believer & vindicator of "comfortable learning" not "competitive learning" where you must compete for everything from washroom, lifts, water-cooler, seats, fees payment and even lecturer's attention.
There will not be so called 'perfect center'. It's all up to individual preferences. If you really wants lecturer full attention, your own wash rooms, director seats, perhaps you should hire a lecturer to teach in your house laugh.gif laugh.gif Since pricing was never a concern.

Anyway, I'm just joking, don't take it too seriously tongue.gif
Topace111
post Oct 25 2008, 12:55 PM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(keith_hjinhoh @ Oct 25 2008, 10:19 AM)
There will not be so called 'perfect center'. It's all up to individual preferences. If you really wants lecturer full attention, your own wash rooms, director seats, perhaps you should hire a lecturer to teach in your house  laugh.gif  laugh.gif Since pricing was never a concern.

Anyway, I'm just joking, don't take it too seriously  tongue.gif
None taken. I as contemplating on the fact that for a few incremental cost people will jump college immediately. Its like hypermarket competition which if price drops little bit every customer will flock there no matter how bad is the facility. For me cost is a consideration but not the ultimate factor. I don't think anyone can afford "reputable lecturer" as private tutor unless he / she is your parent (Ha Ha) tongue.gif
carlosandy
post Oct 25 2008, 01:37 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Oct 25 2008, 12:55 PM)
None taken. I as contemplating on the fact that for a few incremental cost people will jump college immediately. Its like hypermarket competition which if price drops little bit every customer will flock there no matter how bad is the facility. For me cost is a consideration but not the ultimate factor. I don't think anyone can afford "reputable lecturer" as private tutor unless he / she is your parent (Ha Ha)  tongue.gif
Man, we are only the student, if college can't improve facility, we also can't do anything.

In last 2 week P5 class, Andrew already told us KSA current problem. He oso said very difficult to sentle due to their BUSY LECTURER problem.

You must understand the following problem b4 complaint anything:-

1) Lecturer very busy, so normally they very difficult to open new class. That's why some time they asking to combine full time and part time class. Like Philip Woo, do you know that he only come back to KL 2 times in 1 months, so how to open another class?

2) Student problem. If student want to do like that (book place for friend), what they can do? Remember students are customer.

3) If you ask KSA to increase fees, then it is very unfair for student. Some more if KSA increase their tuition fees, then MCO oso will increase fees. I don't think student want to see the situation like that.

Topace111
post Oct 25 2008, 09:56 PM

2,102 posts

Actually KSA was a fine centre but the fact it has so much student the centre can no longer support the overflow capacity.
If you want to throw a rubbish but the dustbin was already full with litters you still throw it there for convenient purpose.
Actually i think a good reason why everybody study at KSA bcos it was easy to make friends there (majority of my friends are at KSA).
Most student s will follow their respective group whereever they go, i had a group of 4 friend always study for the same lecturer for a particular paper. Its very hard to be a lone ranger & study else where (as i heard from some of Mco students whre most of their friends are based on KSA).

I don't mind these, since i will normally make new friends whenever i go (with extra effort & always take the first initiative).
I believe every lecturer are busy i heard lecturer like (Daniel Ho has to huggle china, hong kong & singapore every week) (Chin Ann juggle JB, Vietnam) and may others who have equally if not more troublesome schedule. Personally i respect & admire these lecturers endurance.
SUSthinakarant
post Oct 25 2008, 11:05 PM

42 posts

Hi everyone,

I will be sitting for my first ACCA paper in Dec 08 ... Paper F7 (Malaysian variant).
Need some advice on whether I can use the BPP book for F7 UK or F7 Int.?
I realise that the standards covered in UK & Int. are different than Msia. So will it be useful to get them (UK or Int)?

I am asking this because so far I have only seen the BPP book for F7 UK and so I'm assuming that there isn't one for Msia.
Alternatively, what other books can I use for this paper.

FYI, I will be self-studying.
Thanks a heap. icon_rolleyes.gif
Tsukasa
post Oct 25 2008, 11:14 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(keith_hjinhoh @ Oct 25 2008, 12:36 AM)
Well, the only good things about ACCA is that we're able to choose the college that we want

If you think that's bad, then move to the other college that you prefers.

Because the only way to lower fees = economies of scale or cut cost through reduce benefits (such as lightning, aircond and etc).

Else

You pay a premium nod.gif  nod.gif
Yup. Very true. For me the lecturer and the notes which is applicable is the best. Anyone register for KSA F8 - Ray Ng class. After reading all your comment make me wanna attend another one other than Mr Philip Woo. lolx

P.S. Thanks Coolly for dl the form for us all. Hehe
Topace111
post Oct 26 2008, 12:07 AM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(thinakarant @ Oct 25 2008, 11:05 PM)
Hi everyone,

I will be sitting for my first ACCA paper in Dec 08 ... Paper F7 (Malaysian variant).
Need some advice on whether I can use the BPP book for F7 UK or F7 Int.?
I realise that the standards covered in UK & Int. are different than Msia. So will it be useful to get them (UK or Int)?

I am asking this because so far I have only seen the BPP book for F7 UK and so I'm assuming that there isn't one for Msia.
Alternatively, what other books can I use for this paper.

FYI, I will be self-studying.
Thanks a heap. icon_rolleyes.gif
Technically you are sitting for variant paper not a stream paper (ie : tax & law). If you take different stream you must you use that stream text book.
In case of variant you won't find much different in content & syllabus but minor difference ($ = RM, Mr Smith = Encik Ali......)
Malaysia will be fully compliant with IFRS after 2012 & international variant will the best to follow (however if you pick other variant doesn't matter)

BPP only publish acca books in UK version / stream / variant since its a UK company. You won't find anyone printing malaysian acca textbook yet.
Don't worry just buy the book (it will be quite useful to familiarise yourself with the question style) However some question can be too realistic / too much application.
Kaplan book is another good alternative but BPP is more professional while kaplan is more student based.
You can buy those books through some acca tuition provider in KL (if you wish)
carlosandy
post Oct 26 2008, 03:11 AM

858 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Oct 25 2008, 09:56 PM)
Actually KSA was a fine centre but the fact it has so much student the centre can no longer support the overflow capacity.
If you want to throw a rubbish but the dustbin was already full with litters you still throw it there for convenient purpose.
Actually i think  a good reason why everybody study at KSA bcos it was easy to make friends there (majority of my friends are at KSA).
Most student s will follow their respective group whereever they go, i had a group of 4 friend always study for the same lecturer for a particular paper. Its very hard to be a lone ranger & study else where (as i heard from some of Mco students whre most of their friends are based on KSA).

I don't mind these, since i will normally make new friends whenever i go (with extra effort & always take the first initiative).
I believe every lecturer are busy i heard lecturer like (Daniel Ho has to huggle china, hong kong & singapore every week) (Chin Ann juggle JB, Vietnam) and may others who have equally if not more troublesome schedule. Personally i respect & admire these lecturers endurance.
Most of the class will be finish next week, I don't understand why you still want to waste time to argue this issue until today. If I'm not mistake, you already argue same issue by more than 1 month, right?

Do you think Philip Woo or Parmindar will change their mind after you complaint like that? Do you think Andrew can settle the problem after you spend so much time to complaint like that? Since everything can't change, why not spend more time on your study?

I told you some story also la. Actually some lecturer don't care about how much money can earn in teaching ACCA. They teach ACCA just b'cos of their interest but not money. Just like Choong Kwai Fatt, do you think he teach F6/P6 b'cos of money? I can tell you the answer is "NO". Money earn from ACCA class for him is second, cos he can earn more during he give Tax Seminar. That's why nowaday, he don't run normal class every sitting already.

So if you are Andrew and meet the person like that, how you should handle? Can you say "like that ah, I don't want you teaching lo."

As I told you b4, there is no perfect in the world. Until today, I don't see got 1 college can provide Good Quality & Experience Lecturer + Reasonable Tuition Fees + Good Study Environment & Facility + Top Prize Winner + Higher Passing Rate + etc. If you choose to study there, then you have accept their disadvantage.

If you really don't like to study under KSA environment, then next sitting no more study there lo. There is no point already if you keep on to argue same issue every time here.

This post has been edited by carlosandy: Oct 26 2008, 03:28 AM
Topace111
post Oct 26 2008, 09:33 AM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Oct 26 2008, 03:11 AM)
Most of the class will be finish next week, I don't understand why you still want to waste time to argue this issue until today. If I'm not mistake, you already argue same issue by more than 1 month, right?

Do you think Philip Woo or Parmindar will change their mind after you complaint like that? Do you think Andrew can settle the problem after you spend so much time to complaint like that? Since everything can't change, why not spend more time on your study?

I told you some story also la. Actually some lecturer don't care about how much money can earn in teaching ACCA. They teach ACCA just b'cos of their interest but not money. Just like Choong Kwai Fatt, do you think he teach F6/P6 b'cos of money? I can tell you the answer is "NO". Money earn from ACCA class for him is second, cos he can earn more during he give Tax Seminar. That's why nowaday, he don't run normal class every sitting already.

So if you are Andrew and meet the person like that, how you should handle? Can you say "like that ah, I don't want you teaching lo."

As I told you b4, there is no perfect in the world. Until today, I don't see got 1 college can provide Good Quality & Experience Lecturer + Reasonable Tuition Fees + Good Study Environment & Facility + Top Prize Winner + Higher Passing Rate + etc. If you choose to study there, then you have accept their disadvantage.

If you really don't like to study under KSA environment, then next sitting no more study there lo. There is no point already if you keep on to argue same issue every time here.
Dang, i have not critticise the college at all but just sharing my experience how to make it better. When you like a particular thing you always have to be harsh & firm on it to make it better (i don't have any bad intentions tongue.gif ).
However i don't really plan to study for optional there next sitting (since there are better alternative else where). I think the college realised that too & come up with drastic discount pricing.
From your implied statement i deduced that CKF will no longer conduct normal class (i always have many friends asking me whether he will do so since most of them want to take advance tax & they already bought his book : quite detailed they said)
carlosandy
post Oct 26 2008, 02:00 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Oct 26 2008, 09:33 AM)
Dang, i have not critticise the college at all but just sharing my experience how to make it better. When you like a particular thing you always have to be harsh & firm on it to make it better (i don't have any bad intentions  tongue.gif ).
However i don't really plan to study for optional there next sitting (since there are better alternative else where). I think the college realised that too & come up with drastic discount pricing.
From your implied statement i deduced that CKF will no longer conduct normal class (i always have many friends asking me whether he will do so since most of them want to take advance tax & they already bought his book : quite detailed they said)
For CKF P6, until today we also can't confirm he will run the normal class or not in future. Some time if he is better mood, then he will run normal class for P6, IRC for F6 & P6 also. So it is very difficult to say.

Actually he want to run IRC for F6 and P6 for Dec 08 sitting, but problem is SEGI don't want to charges low tuition fee, so finally he choose to run e-IRC.

May be if any of your friend planning to study P6, then can email to ask him la. CKF email address is dr.choong.kwai.fatt@gmail.com or kwaifatt@yahoo.com. When more ppl email him, I think the chance he come back to teach will be very high.

If CKF run P6 class, I strongly recommend yours go, cos in his class, he will share a lot of commercial practice experience with student.

Actually nothing wrong if you just want to share something with other ppl. But since you already complaint a lot also can't change anything, so why not take more time on your study? Young man, no point already if you still continue talk samething every day. People will know what they actually want. Even you complaint a lot for Philip and Parmindar class here, but ppl still will go there.

This post has been edited by carlosandy: Oct 26 2008, 03:48 PM
Topace111
post Oct 27 2008, 12:37 AM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Oct 26 2008, 02:00 PM)
For CKF P6, until today we also can't confirm he will run the normal class or not in future. Some time if he is better mood, then he will run normal class for P6, IRC for F6 & P6 also. So it is very difficult to say.

Actually he want to run IRC for F6 and P6 for Dec 08 sitting, but problem is SEGI don't want to charges low tuition fee, so finally he choose to run e-IRC.

May be if any of your friend planning to study P6, then can email to ask him la. CKF email address is dr.choong.kwai.fatt@gmail.com or kwaifatt@yahoo.com. When more ppl email him, I think the chance he come back to teach will be very high.

If CKF run P6 class, I strongly recommend yours go, cos in his class, he will share a lot of commercial practice experience with student.

Actually nothing wrong if you just want to share something with other ppl. But since you already complaint a lot also can't change anything, so why not take more time on your study? Young man, no point already if you still continue talk samething every day. People will know what they actually want. Even you complaint a lot for Philip and Parmindar class here, but ppl still will go there.
Don't worry i am a "hard" person. I am a hardworking student, hardcore gamer, bookworm & sport fanatics. I always study from day 1 itself (not much lo just 2.5 hours everyday) so i won't have much stress when comes to revision.
I don't think any college will charge low fees, even if they did it won't have enough capacity to support large group of student. Malaysia are still blessed with healthy amount of lecturer.
I heard some countries like vietnam & hong kong, the class will be conducted in 500 - 1000 students. 2 weeks can finish one paper already.
Some more hardworking lecturer will juggle evenly by weekly basis (even that is very rare).

Touching on CKF, i mentioned that bcos i have mentioned him as the top priority for P6 "full time class". Therefore my recommendation seems void now since IRC is more likely (but they insist on full time lecturer). I have also recommended Fung chee kong as audit lecturer for P7 but after checking with FTMS he will no longer teach (wrong advice again). It seems more & more lecturer drop out from optional papers. If i am not mistaken there use to be 2 very good tax lecturer around. Hopefully i don't have to self study next sitting.
(I heard Daniel ho is going to retired can anyone confirm these rumours since i really like that fellow)
carlosandy
post Oct 27 2008, 01:49 AM

858 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Oct 27 2008, 12:37 AM)
..........................................................................................................................
Touching on CKF, i mentioned that bcos i have mentioned him as the top priority for P6 "full time class". Therefore my recommendation seems void now since IRC is more likely (but they insist on full time lecturer). I have also recommended Fung chee kong as audit lecturer for P7 but after checking with FTMS he will no longer teach (wrong advice again). It seems more & more lecturer drop out from optional papers. If i am not mistaken there use to be 2 very good tax lecturer around. Hopefully i don't have to self study next sitting.
(I heard Daniel ho is going to retired can anyone confirm these rumours since i really like that fellow)
For your information, even if CKF run the normal class, but he won't split to Full time class and Part time class. Normally he will run the class in saturday (1.30pm - 7.30pm) and sunday (9.00am - 5.30pm) with combination part time and full time student. There is no "full time class" for CKF P6. So I think same problem like Parmindar P3 class will happen if you willing to join his P6 class.

Actually you are very unlucky oso since a lot of lecturer drop out from optional paper. If CKF don't run normal class, may be you can try Chow Chee Yen (if he run the normal class next sitting). In case CCY oso don't run normal class, then you can try Low Chin Ann and IRC go for CCY or CKF la.
Topace111
post Oct 27 2008, 12:37 PM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Oct 27 2008, 01:49 AM)
For your information, even if CKF run the normal class, but he won't split to Full time class and Part time class. Normally he will run the class in saturday (1.30pm - 7.30pm) and sunday (9.00am - 5.30pm) with combination part time and full time student. There is no "full time class" for CKF P6. So I think same problem like Parmindar P3 class will happen if you willing to join his P6 class.

Actually you are very unlucky oso since a lot of lecturer drop out from optional paper. If CKF don't run normal class, may be you can try Chow Chee Yen (if he run the normal class next sitting). In case CCY oso don't run normal class, then you can try Low Chin Ann and IRC go for CCY or CKF la.
I am thinking of chin ann already since i have followed his tax in lower levels b4 (something like reporting & tax needs to follow same lecturer for better synergy). I have realised in my P2 that my lecturer touches very little on his F7 standards which is still relevant for P2 (Ie : leases & PPE)
Since i have followed his f7 class i don't have much worries but i don't think other students feel the same way (some from different lecturer background or they have skip P2 for one sitting). This also happens in my P1 where the lecturer cover less in detail in his audit area.

So far in my revision I have uncovered some normal concepts : (just to share only tongue.gif )
P1 : 4 main area (which majority touches on CG). Lecturer not confident to spot since last sitting the trend blows off. Apart from CG everything can use self reasoning (ethics ). Even CG has duplication of contents especially if you touch on roles (aud comm, nomination comm, chairman....etc) The only part i am worried is abou professinal marks for answer structure (How to prepare a memo or official letter already ? wink.gif )

P2 : better still if you know haneef he will spot everything (especially last sitting touches more on standards than consol). According to him the examiner for P2 favours reasoning rather than mathematical adjustments (still important but lesser extent). Therefore i will never expect my a/c to balance like last sitting also sweat.gif . My foundation is strong but i cannot use fast techniques / shortcuts to calculate. So far question is not that tough yet but i need to build in my speed. I heard many people forced to resit since the paper is now more theory based than calculational.
I am not trying to brag here but after constant & barrage of knowledge imparted by haneef, i feels BPP theory question are not that difficult.

P3 : everyone said its huge but i beg to differ. Yeah its quite heavy if you read everything. If i summarise into key words its not that large you just need some reasoning & elaboration skills. Even the the key words are self explanatory. Maybe the IT part needs some attention. I can remember & understand the content of P3 well but authors name are quite hard to digest (Malekzadeh & Navahandi anyone) I can calculte over >100 authors.
laysiew
post Oct 27 2008, 04:31 PM

hi, i have some question but dunno how to solve it..
can anyone help me?tq..
the question as below:

Milo plc has a number of chemical processing plants in the UK. At one of these plants it takes an annual input of 400,000 gallons of raw material A and converts it into two liquid products,B and C.

the standard yield from one gallon of material A is 0.65 gallons of B and 0.3 gallons of C. product B is processed further, without vulome loss, and then sold as product D.Product C has hitherto been sold without further processing. in the year ended 31 July 2000, the cost a material A was RM20 per gallon. the selling price of product C was RM5 per gallon and transport costs from plant to customer were RM74,000.

Negotiations are taking place with Takeup Ltd who would purchase the total production of product C for the years ending 31July 2001 and 2002 provided it was converted to product E by further processing. it is unlikely that the contract would be renewed after 31 July 2002. new specialized transport costing RM120,000 and special vats costingRM80,000 will have to be acquired if the contract is to be undertaken. the vats will be installed in part of the existing factory that is presently unused and for which no use has been forecast for the next 3 years. both transport and vats will have no residual value at the end of the contract. the company uses straight line depreciation.

Projected data for 2001 and 2002 are as follows:
-----------------------------------------------------LIQUID A-----LIQUID D-----LIQUID E
Amount processed (gallons)---------------------400,000
Processing cost (RM):
-----Cost of liquid A per gallon--------------------------20
-----Wages to split-off (p.a.)----------------------400,000
-----Overheads to split-off (p.a.)-----------------250,000
-----Further processing cost:
----------Materials per gallon-------------------------------------------3.5------------3.30
----------Wages per gallon----------------------------------------------2.5------------1.70
----------Overheads (p.a.)-------------------------------------------52,000--------37,000
Selling cost (RM):
-----Total expenses(p.a.)---------------------------------------------125,000
-----Selling price per gallon (RM)--------------------------------------40,000---------15.50
Total plant administration cost are RM95,000 p.a.

you are required:
a) show whether or not Milo plc should accept the contract and produce liquid E in 2001 and 2002

b)Calculate, assuming that 10,000 gallons of liquid C remain unsold at 31 July 2000, and using the FIFO basis for inventory valuation, what would be the valuation of:
(i) The stock of liquid C, and
(ii)10,000 gallons of liquid E after conversion from liquid C.

FOR the question a),i did the income statement for the liquid C,but i dunno whether want to include the production costs which are material,wages and overhead costs coz it is not stated on the question but the liquid E having state those costs.izzit wanna to include those costs?

for the b) i really dunno how to do..can any one help me n teach me how to do it?
thanks u

This post has been edited by laysiew: Oct 27 2008, 04:37 PM
andy888
post Oct 28 2008, 05:08 PM

516 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Oct 27 2008, 01:37 PM)
I am thinking of chin ann already since i have followed his tax in lower levels b4 (something like reporting & tax needs to follow same lecturer for better synergy). I have realised in my P2 that my lecturer touches very little on his F7 standards which is still relevant for P2 (Ie : leases & PPE)
Since i have followed his f7 class i don't have much worries but i don't think other students feel the same way (some from different lecturer background or they have skip P2 for one sitting). This also happens in my P1 where the lecturer cover less in detail in his audit area.

So far in my revision I have uncovered some normal concepts : (just to share only  tongue.gif )
P1 : 4 main area (which majority touches on CG). Lecturer not confident to spot since last sitting the trend blows off. Apart from CG everything can use self reasoning (ethics ). Even CG has duplication of contents especially if you touch on roles (aud comm, nomination comm, chairman....etc) The only part i am worried is abou professinal marks for answer structure (How to prepare a memo or official letter already ? wink.gif )

P2 : better still if you know haneef he will spot everything (especially last sitting touches more on standards than consol). According to him the examiner for P2 favours reasoning rather than mathematical adjustments (still important but lesser extent). Therefore i will never expect my a/c to balance like last sitting also  sweat.gif . My foundation is strong but i cannot use fast techniques / shortcuts to calculate. So far question is not that tough yet but i need to build in my speed. I heard many people forced to resit since the paper is now more theory based than calculational.
I am not trying to brag here but after constant & barrage of knowledge imparted by haneef, i feels BPP theory question are not that difficult.

P3 : everyone said its huge but i beg to differ. Yeah its quite heavy if you read everything. If i summarise into key words its not that large you just need some reasoning & elaboration skills. Even the the key words are self explanatory. Maybe the IT part needs some attention. I can remember & understand the content of P3 well but authors name are quite hard to digest (Malekzadeh & Navahandi anyone) I can calculte over >100 authors.
tis sitting world prize winner should be u biggrin.gif

Topace111
post Oct 28 2008, 06:24 PM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(andy888 @ Oct 28 2008, 05:08 PM)
tis sitting world prize winner should be u  biggrin.gif
I can never be top scorer ( or prize winner) but maybe be a top student (to me education life is not everything).
My school pricipal once told us that good students belong to 2 groups :
1) A top scorer (those who can score 21 As in SPM or those like you said achieve prize winner in acca) : know everything about something.
2) a top student (a student who can balance in everything) : know something about everything.
I am not those hardcore sudent who can study > 5 hours everyday (i am quite lazy also tongue.gif ). I just study smart.

maybe i should go to UTAR mental programming seminar to boost my memory brows.gif
Tsukasa
post Oct 28 2008, 11:35 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Oct 28 2008, 07:24 PM)
I can never be top scorer ( or prize winner) but maybe be a top student (to me education life is not everything).
My school pricipal once told us that good students belong to 2 groups :
1) A top scorer (those who can score 21 As in SPM or those like you said achieve prize winner in acca) : know everything about something.
2) a top student (a student who can balance in everything) : know something about everything.
I am not those hardcore sudent who can study > 5 hours everyday (i am quite lazy also  tongue.gif ). I just study smart.

maybe i should go to UTAR mental programming seminar to boost my memory  brows.gif
lol. And i only go for classes only and haven't start revising yet and have 4 subject to cover.. lolx.. That make me worst.
SUSthinakarant
post Oct 30 2008, 02:52 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Oct 26 2008, 12:07 AM)
Technically you are sitting for variant paper not a stream paper (ie : tax & law). If you take different stream you must you use that stream text book.
In case of variant you won't find much different in content & syllabus but minor difference ($ = RM, Mr Smith = Encik Ali......)
Malaysia will be fully compliant with IFRS after 2012 & international variant will the best to follow (however if you pick other variant doesn't matter)

BPP only publish acca books in UK version / stream / variant since its a UK company. You won't find anyone printing malaysian acca textbook yet.
Don't worry just buy the book (it will be quite useful to familiarise yourself with the question style) However some question can be too realistic / too much application.
Kaplan book is another good alternative but BPP is more professional while kaplan is more student based.
You can buy those books through some acca tuition provider in KL (if you wish)
Topace111,

Thanks for the advice. I will get the BPP F7 book. Should I get the UK version or International version?
I have tried several MPH bookstores but they seem to be out of stock for F7 book. Any advice on where I can buy it?

I saw someone selling ACCA books in LYN (Angeline). Thinking of buying from her & she is also selling F7 Financial Reporting Standards For Malaysia (Jane Lazar) RM 75.00 - is this book worth buying (in addition to the BPP book).

Thanks again! icon_rolleyes.gif
Topace111
post Oct 30 2008, 07:53 PM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(thinakarant @ Oct 30 2008, 02:52 PM)
Topace111,

Thanks for the advice. I will get the BPP F7 book. Should I get the UK version or International version?
I have tried several MPH bookstores but they seem to be out of stock for F7 book. Any advice on where I can buy it?

I saw someone selling ACCA books in LYN (Angeline). Thinking of buying from her & she is also selling F7 Financial Reporting Standards For Malaysia (Jane Lazar) RM 75.00 - is this book worth buying (in addition to the BPP book).

Thanks again!  icon_rolleyes.gif
If i am not mistaken you can buy them at centre provider at KL (if transport & location is not a problem)
Mcorange : sells BPP (its located near masjid jamek station : beside TM headquarters)
FTMS : possible BPP (opposite central market : between KFC & MCD)
KSA : possible kaplan (near Pasar Seni, at plaza nationwide 11th floor)

If you are looking for books on tax / law you can buy on your own (most examiners publish their own books : but mostly for tax like Chong Kwai Fatt & Richard Thornton (he is P6 examiner).

131 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0319sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:53 PM