ACCA (V4), Accountants

stephanie0721
post Aug 16 2008, 06:02 PM

88 posts

Topace and watISacca:
thx for both of ur reply =)
yup..nth is perfect..i think i hav made up my mind after reading ur posts..
i prefer to complete my study first..i dun wanna do sumthing which is against my will and with reluctance ><

by the way, what is the difference between online exam registration and the post 1?
they wil send me a form to fill out within September right?
what if i register online? what shud i do with the form? juz ignore it?
which method is better from ur experience?

thz =)
Blackhart
post Aug 16 2008, 06:06 PM

Like a rolling stone
508 posts

QUOTE(stephanie0721 @ Aug 10 2008, 09:33 PM)
umm..i would like to ask..is working experience a necessity to pass acca?
coz my lecturer suggested me to work and gain some experience after completing the first 6 papers in acca ..
but my dad insists that i should complete 14 papers prior to stepping into the working field..
I too hav an intention to do what my dad said..

any advice?

thx =)
It may help a little bit but don't expect it to make that much of a difference from being a full time student.This is because the exam scenarios, especially at professional level assume that you are in a senior and strategic position of a firm so it has little relevance to you if you are only a junior auditor or somewhere at the operational level.

Added on August 16, 2008, 6:13 pm
QUOTE(stephanie0721 @ Aug 16 2008, 06:02 PM)
by the way, what is the difference between online exam registration and the post 1?

thz =)
No difference really.I register online, they are just options for whichever you are more comfortable with.There are people who are afraid of paying online and there are also people who find it inconvenient to submit by mail.By paying online you can afford to register later because it is instantaneous and also you get instant confirmation of your payment.If you register online, you don't need the form nod.gif

This post has been edited by Blackhart: Aug 16 2008, 06:14 PM
pristina
post Aug 16 2008, 06:15 PM

223 posts

the exact time here on coming monday 5pm release the stressful panic result sweat.gif sweat.gif
Good luck to you guys! icon_rolleyes.gif
kelvinlee1983
post Aug 16 2008, 09:42 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(stephanie0721 @ Aug 16 2008, 06:02 PM)
Topace and watISacca:
thx for both of ur reply =)
yup..nth is perfect..i think i hav made up my mind after reading ur posts..
i prefer to complete my study first..i dun wanna do sumthing which is against my will and with reluctance ><

thz =)
ACCA will sent result slip to you by post.
It is better to keep your result slip until you finish all the papers.
Recently, I applied job, they ask me to provide all the result slips. icon_question.gif
pristina
post Aug 16 2008, 10:35 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlee1983 @ Aug 16 2008, 09:42 PM)
ACCA will sent result slip to you by post.
It is better to keep your result slip until you finish all the papers.
Recently, I applied job, they ask me to provide all the result slips. icon_question.gif
got such thing again???? i've been threw all shocking.gif
ilovecookies92
post Aug 16 2008, 11:37 PM

SPM Candidate 2009™
765 posts

QUOTE(kuntaker @ Aug 10 2008, 08:04 AM)
taxation is how to calculate how much tax u nid pay lo...and understanding of tax..
Is this chapter long and pretty important and precise?
pristina
post Aug 16 2008, 11:48 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(ilovecookies92 @ Aug 16 2008, 11:37 PM)
Is this chapter long and pretty important and precise?
not really..
actually it is just simple if you know the technique how to catch up the question.
and memory the format and law should be applied inside..

after that you will realised that why it is so 'kacang putih' sweat.gif
keith_hjinhoh
post Aug 17 2008, 06:45 AM

Need My Service?
2,656 posts

1 more day.... It's the final countdown!
kelvinlee1983
post Aug 17 2008, 08:36 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(keith_hjinhoh @ Aug 17 2008, 06:45 AM)
1 more day.... It's the final countdown!
good luck , wish you all the best.

seline
post Aug 17 2008, 10:48 AM

39 posts

anyone know wat time will the result releasE?

QUOTE(kelvinlee1983 @ Aug 17 2008, 08:36 AM)
good luck , wish you all the best.
kelvinlee1983
post Aug 17 2008, 10:59 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(seline @ Aug 17 2008, 10:48 AM)
anyone know wat time will the result releasE?
normally is 12pm to 1pm.

vin_ann
post Aug 17 2008, 11:26 AM

10,912 posts

as usual, when come to result release period, all people will get nervous.

relax... you have done ur best in the exam. now is just sit relax and receiving the true of the movement.

your all must have confidence on what u have done past 6 months.
roy_pck
post Aug 17 2008, 12:29 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!
552 posts

results are near. wishing you guys all the best tomorrow. wishing for good news from each and everyone of you. smile.gif

as for myself, taken 4 papers in June. do not think i will pass all. pass 2 i'm happy enough already. anyway just face it calmly lo nod.gif
Raymond_ACCA
post Aug 17 2008, 03:22 PM

826 posts

1 day left to results!! hey, just wanna ask, is there something as "fundamental Error" for F8,audit? where if question ask for test of control, but 1 point given is a substantive testing... My lecturer says that u will get 49 for that. Is that true? Many of my friends are worried coz of that.

This post has been edited by Raymond_ACCA: Aug 17 2008, 03:31 PM
HBK-reloaded
post Aug 17 2008, 03:24 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(roy_pck @ Aug 17 2008, 12:29 PM)
results are near. wishing you guys all the best tomorrow. wishing for good news from each and everyone of you. smile.gif

as for myself, taken 4 papers in June. do not think i will pass all. pass 2 i'm happy enough already. anyway just face it calmly lo nod.gif
me too...max if takin 4 papers pass 2 happy already,if 3 of course its better...but to pass all 4..that can happen laugh.gif ..
since u're working at BTMH, u sure can juggle btw work and study if there still have pass to go(hopefully not).. icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on August 17, 2008, 3:30 pm
QUOTE(Raymond_ACCA @ Aug 17 2008, 03:22 PM)
1 day left to results!! hey, just wanna ask, is there some thing as "fundamental Error" for audit? where if question as for test of control, but 1 point given is a substantive testing... My lecturer says that u will get 49 for that. Is that true? Many of my friends are worried coz of that.
i think there is such term..and mostly that what makes examiner really piss off..its like u dont answered what the questions wants..and it shows that candidates are lack of understanding the term and meaning of TOC(u have to know how to differentiate btw Subs. test and TOC, when to use it,is it necessary based on the case)..many times alan published the articles and exam report regarding silly(fundamental) mistakes that candidates did during the exam and student should noticed about that..

This post has been edited by HBK-reloaded: Aug 17 2008, 03:30 PM
kelvinlee1983
post Aug 17 2008, 03:46 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(HBK-reloaded @ Aug 17 2008, 03:24 PM)
me too...max if takin 4 papers pass 2 happy already,if 3 of course its better...but to pass all 4..that can happen laugh.gif ..
since u're working at BTMH, u sure can juggle btw work and study if there still have pass to go(hopefully not).. icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on August 17, 2008, 3:30 pm

i think there is such term..and mostly that what makes examiner really piss off..its like  u dont answered what the questions wants..and it shows that candidates are lack of understanding the term and meaning of TOC(u have to know how to differentiate btw Subs. test and TOC, when to use it,is it necessary based on the case)..many times alan published the articles and exam report regarding silly(fundamental) mistakes that candidates did during the exam and student should noticed about that..
do you think that ACCA got quota to pass for each papers?

Topace111
post Aug 17 2008, 04:57 PM

2,102 posts

There are such terms as "fundamental error" in ACCA. Although not absolute, it applies extensively for F6, F7 & F8 bcos this are the fundamental papers. It means there are terms, formats, framework or wording that "must not go wrong" = these are the fundamental areas.
Technical areas are more difficult areas which requires more application (examiner will be more forgiving) Examples :

F6 Tax :
Examiner expects students to display a deep understanding on format of tax computation especially when to use wording as adjusted income,
statutory income, aggregate income or chargeable income. Where to classify employment inocme or biz income. If you insert the wrong figures it is
expected but if you mistakenly insert the wrong wording don't expect the marker to be generous.

F7 Reporting :
Examiner expect student to know the format of comprehensive income statement, financial position, cash flow statement & others.
Wrong figures again won't be heavy penalised if you got appropriate workings to support. If you put the item in a wrong area again the examiner
will not be pleased. Example you put dividend under profit before tax or included goodwill under equity.

F8 Audit :
This has become a norm where very year student will ask the same qs, when to use SP or TOC. Unless the qs stated specificly general assumption is to use SP. If thet clearly clarify / hinted to use TOC then use TOC. Why the debate bcos this area will almost decide the fate of the paper itself,
if wrongly answered it can even become 0 out of 15/20/25 marks.

TOC : since this sitting ask TOC (which shocks most students who assume its SP qs since come out quite extensively), i will dwell on this mattter.
Basicly TOC almost same with SP in its audit procedure but different in 2 ways :
1) the wording : Don't use the word trace back, cast, or other SP words (using this will generally get 0 mark).
Use wordings like observe, inspect, inquire, which are methods to obtain evidence.

2) Objective : It is to test effectiveness of internal control (whether the sytems are working adequately) not SP which is to detect material misstatement.
Technically apart from this 2 ways, the audit prodeures content should be almost similar.
Perhaps the examiner notice this he only allocates around 10 - 15 marks for this area. last time he can give up to >20 marks.

Raymond_ACCA
post Aug 17 2008, 06:21 PM

826 posts

i see i see, so it means that u will only fail that particular question is it.. not the paper as a whole.. This is extremely worrying.
na21m
post Aug 18 2008, 08:51 AM

Uuuu i have four already!
545 posts

Good luck to everybody with their results.. Very the suspense..
carlosandy
post Aug 18 2008, 11:29 AM

858 posts

Good luck for everybody.

131 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0283sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:49 AM