131 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

ACCA (V4), Accountants

Slowpoke
post Jul 16 2008, 10:34 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(Raymond_ACCA @ Jul 6 2008, 11:36 PM)
Hi, my lecturer says that it is advisable to take P2 and P7 together, as the changes in standards can study simultaneously. But those who have taken P7...can please give feedback on how much of P2 is applicable in P7? around how many percentage?

The problem is, im taking P2 this sem, next sem only P7 maybe, but stds will continually change, not sure how much it will affect P7 in 1 sem..
I can't say about p7, but i took 3.1 and later p2 separately. The 3.1 stuff wasn't really tricky or difficult, just normal standards you can find in the earlier accounting papers. Then again it was designed that way back then, optionals before compulsory papers. If you really want to know, why not look up the past p7 exam paper/syllabus?

QUOTE(ilovecookies92 @ Jun 29 2008, 12:26 AM)
Hi. Currently, I have a short interest on accounting. Just wondering, what does ACCA students do throughout the whole year? 6 hours of studying in the lecture hall? Practical works? And what things you guys have gone through?
Depends lo. For sunway or other KL students its hardcore I think. See in thread always borrowing notes, got 4 acca threads liao around 100 pages are about note-borrowing i think. I sleep 4 months study 1 month rest back 1 month, and repeat.

QUOTE(jactval @ Jun 28 2008, 01:13 PM)
I am in dilemma now. Previously I visited to Sunway and I been told that for those who fail in CAT cannot proceed to ACCA Part 2(Well, all of us aware of this rule). But problem occured as Sunway required its CAT students to take T8 which is an audit paper instead of the one I had studied that is T10 Financial Management. ACCA students always claimed that audit is the toughest paper. I worry if I really fail(touch wood!), my 30% ACCA tuition fees have to be forfeited and the rest defer to next semester. Money is not a big matter since it is not a big amount. But how about I fail this time, and I do the audit paper(is compulsory to all malaysian students, this is the rule set by Sunway) then I fail again? This will definitely diminishing my confidence and determination to further anymore. As this is the case I saw many times, many students suffer from this before.

My next option would be to study at Singapore since I'll be seeking my career in the later days at Singapore. But the application of student pass is troublesome and it takes time. Furthermore the course commenced on July. I'm think of whether I should really take a break for half year or find a half year job at Singapore perhaps?

Any suggestion from you guys?
So you think you are going to have problems passing CAT audit paper but will have no problems passing the ACCA audit papers? Think until run to singapore, aiyo... if you dont think you can pass CAT then what plans do you have to pass ACCA?

This post has been edited by Slowpoke: Jul 16 2008, 10:42 AM
McDee
post Jul 16 2008, 10:46 AM

37 posts

Miss Menon from Sunway is advising those students who have been exempted from F7 but taking P2 to undergo a 9-month course, where this 9-month course would cover the syllabus for F7 and P2 together. She mentioned that P2 relies a lot on F7.
Any comments out there regarding this?
Is it a risk worth taking to take P2 without going through F7?

carlosandy
post Jul 16 2008, 11:28 AM

858 posts

QUOTE(McDee @ Jul 16 2008, 10:46 AM)
Miss Menon from Sunway is advising those students who have been exempted from F7 but taking P2 to undergo a 9-month course, where this 9-month course would cover the syllabus for F7 and P2 together. She mentioned that P2 relies a lot on F7.
Actually is depend on person. For the topic we study in 2.5/F7, I think it was cover also in your degree course (if I'm not mistake, you are from accounting degree, right?). But how wide it cover in your degree course, then I'm dun know.

So may be you download the 2.5/F7 syllabus guide and past year question, to look through what is study in 2.5/F7 and baru consider want to take the 9 month course la! If you feel that you know 2.5/F7 knowledge after read through the syllabus guide and past year question, then you no need to waste you money lo.

But if you really dun know and feel 2.5/F7 very hard for you, then you go ahead for this 9 month course.

Actually, I tell you the story oso. This is one way for the College to make money from student. As you know that, if you plan to study in Sunway, then they will think a lot of way to get money from student. For eg, their OBU mentor can charge up to RM4,500. But outside I can find better mentor where she/he only charges less than RM3,000.

So dun just 100% trust what the Sunway college ppl said. Go to ask the more senior person in other college(means ACCA student), then look through the 2.5/F7 syllabus and past year question, and baru consider la!

This post has been edited by carlosandy: Jul 16 2008, 12:04 PM
McDee
post Jul 16 2008, 12:49 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Jul 16 2008, 11:28 AM)

Actually, I tell you the story oso. This is one way for the College to make money from student. As you know that, if you plan to study in Sunway, then they will think a lot of way to get money from student. For eg, their OBU mentor can charge up to RM4,500. But outside I can find better mentor where she/he only charges less than RM3,000.

So dun just 100% trust what the Sunway college ppl said. Go to ask the more senior person in other college(means ACCA student), then look through the 2.5/F7 syllabus and past year question, and baru consider la!
yeah..i think this is one way they make money too...but they r doing a special promo for this sem students...where we dun pay extra for the extra 3-months....but i heard other students have to pay extra rm 400....

but then...9 months lor...longer time...sien...
Topace111
post Jul 16 2008, 06:17 PM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(McDee @ Jul 16 2008, 10:46 AM)
P2 is actually "add-on" to F7 and its true that if you don't have a strong foundation in F7, P2 will be a very hard paper to "digest". Try watching 3rd Star wars film without watching the first 2 film. As all of you know ACCA is an "accounting" association unlike other professional bodies, they know many ways to "entice" students to try out their course by offering many exemptions (ie : SPM accounting top achievers exempt CAT T1.....). so that they can generate more income (student annual fees, exam fees,...).

There is a clause in ACCA that student must pass a particular paper in "10 years period grace". However they change their syllabus every 10 year (notice their tactic here). So technically the rule above looks rather stupid.

I have certain friends whom are degree holder in IPTA / IPTS are exempted from F7 but all of them agree F7 covers wider exposure than their respective field. Do not forget you must "pass" F7 (ie : pass over 50 marks) to progress to P2 without relying on any projects.

The most important comment i must insert that F7 & P2 has unergo tremenduos adjustments, update & changes from previous ACCA 2.5 / 3 not to mention degree programme which are different than ACCA course. Just this year alone we have changes in IAS 1 & IFRS 3 which changes the structure. Even previous 2.5 student which have stopped temporarily find it difficult to cope in P2.

pristina
post Jul 16 2008, 09:39 PM

223 posts

who ever consider to go the UK study ACCA?
Raymond_ACCA
post Jul 17 2008, 12:07 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(pristina @ Jul 16 2008, 09:39 PM)
who ever consider to go the UK study ACCA?
Study in UK so expensive.. somemore sitting same exam, don't think theres more benefit then the costs incurred..
I think the lecturers in malaysia is good enough:D
carlosandy
post Jul 17 2008, 09:20 AM

858 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Jul 16 2008, 06:17 PM)
P2 is actually "add-on" to F7 and its true that if you don't have a strong foundation in F7, P2 will be a very hard paper to "digest". Try watching 3rd Star wars film without watching the first 2 film. As all of you know ACCA is an "accounting" association unlike other professional bodies, they know many ways to "entice" students to try out their course by offering many exemptions (ie : SPM accounting top achievers exempt CAT T1.....). so that they can generate more income (student annual fees, exam fees,...).

There is a clause in ACCA that student must pass a particular paper in "10 years period grace". However they change their syllabus every 10 year (notice their tactic here). So technically the rule above looks rather stupid.

I have certain friends whom are degree holder in IPTA / IPTS are exempted from F7 but all of them agree F7 covers wider exposure than their respective field. Do not forget you must "pass" F7 (ie : pass over 50 marks) to progress to P2 without relying on any projects.

The most important comment i must insert that F7 & P2 has unergo tremenduos adjustments, update & changes from previous ACCA 2.5 / 3 not to mention degree programme which are different than ACCA course. Just this year alone we have changes in IAS 1 & IFRS 3 which changes the structure. Even previous 2.5 student which have stopped temporarily find it difficult to cope in P2.
ACCA not change syllabus every 10 years, but change syllabus every 6 or 7 years. Dec 2007 - 1st sitting for current syllabus, Dec 2001 - 1st sitting for old syllabus (1.1, 1.2.........3.7), Dec 94 - 1st sitting for more older syllabus (Module A, B, C, D, E, F).

Ya, you are right, for those didn't take 2.5/F7 before, they will find difficult to pass P2. But sometime also depend on student. I have a friend under more older syllabus is IAS and when attend 3.6, she/he take MASB, but also can pass. So as I said b4, student better look through the 2.5/F7 PYQ and syllabus guide, then baru consider.

For the FRS update, if you meet better lecturer, then they flash back related 2.5/F7 knowledge to P2 in the class. For eg, Joe Fang in the P2 class, he will flash back some 2.5 knowledge during teaching consol and also will provide summary of FRS notes to P2 student. The good lectuer will help student to pass and not just ask student to pay extra money to attend other class.

This post has been edited by carlosandy: Jul 17 2008, 09:21 AM
kyoko2008
post Jul 17 2008, 01:12 PM

15 posts

Hi! can i seek advise from any of you here.
May i know whoever who have taken P7? is it must have a strong foundation in P2 cause the accounting standards is applicable when analyzing question in p7.

For eg,if a degree student to take p2 and p7 together,will it be hard to cope with studying full time? assume this student is not any smart student.

and p2 is the hardest sub in professional papers and p7 has the 2nd highest failing rate after tax paper,,,,
vin_ann
post Jul 17 2008, 01:54 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(rachelmay1402 @ Jul 12 2008, 01:45 PM)
pretty hard to find job now in auditing firm isn't? waiting and waiting  wacko.gif shakehead.gif
QUOTE(sching @ Jul 13 2008, 09:28 AM)
Thanks! Hope to see you there too...
I found it so too...all the waiting and waiting...
why said so? audit firm now is lacking of people. perhaps now is Off-peak already. the required staff is lesser.
but they still need people.

mind im asking, are your applying big4 or medium firm? how long ur have sent out ur resume?
respones from medium firm is much faster than Big4.

Slowpoke
post Jul 17 2008, 06:00 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Jul 16 2008, 11:28 AM)

i dont recall the exact figure but i am quite sure i was charged a lot less than 2k for OBU shakehead.gif shakehead.gif
jepertine90
post Jul 17 2008, 08:04 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(Slowpoke @ Jul 17 2008, 06:00 PM)
i dont recall the exact figure but i am quite sure i was charged a lot less than 2k for OBU shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif
metro prima college(kepong, kl) charge OBU degree round 1.7k... of course a package... XD... nt sure they provide single OBU degree course... i heard that some of the institution does... hmm... still in diploma... long way... 1st year somemore... =p
pristina
post Jul 17 2008, 08:44 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(Raymond_ACCA @ Jul 17 2008, 12:07 AM)
Study in UK so expensive.. somemore sitting same exam, don't think theres more benefit then the costs incurred..
I think the lecturers in malaysia is good enough:D
i know.. but we're still young why don't give a chance to ourselve to gain more experiance?
life only once in time..
jocelin2714
post Jul 17 2008, 09:51 PM

29 posts

attention for penang's acca student
i'm studying disted for acca F4, 5 n 6
b4 i register they say wil provide textbook n revision kit for all subject
but later say bpp no textbook n revision kit for F4 n F6
although college in penang wil provide textbook other brand 4 them
summore the tax lecturer dont noe 2 teach
sumtime wil teach wrong thing
the college employ lawyer to teach law
she not really noe the new syallbus
then i 1 2 withdraw this two subject
they say cant cause disted just offer course for full time student
except u 1 2 withdraw the full course
actually got student take only 2 paper in disted
then take other paper in other college
but now they say b4 starting the class they accept the student offer
if u now 1 2 withdraw cant liao
wat the stupid reason
they yesterday meeting 2 find way 2 dont 1 me withdraw the only 2 subject
cause the paper 5 lecturer very good la
summore like this really waste lot of money nia
summore they cost many fee
register fee for RM300, resourse fee for RM300, caution money RM300la...
all cant refund la...
b4 register all r good la
later 1 2 withdraw all shit la
so b4 enter disted college
better ask more question
Raymond_ACCA
post Jul 17 2008, 10:38 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(pristina @ Jul 17 2008, 08:44 PM)
i know.. but we're still young why don't give a chance to ourselve to gain more experiance?
life only once in time..
Experience is good:) but when u go UK study acca... in the end ull just end up studying, hardly got any life:D
I know some friend who study degree there only shiok.. can drive here drive there visit places.. but acca student.. dun think got time kua tongue.gif

Btw, my lecturer advice say its better study acca finish here, coz lecturer in Msia more to spoon feed, rather than giving a brief lecture, then have to self study..

If u really wanna go UK, maybe try to apply for a job overseas in the future:D

This post has been edited by Raymond_ACCA: Jul 17 2008, 10:40 PM
nujikabane
post Jul 17 2008, 11:43 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

Sorry to interrupt, just wondering when will the result come out ?

EDITED: Hehe nvm, found it out already smile.gif

This post has been edited by nujikabane: Jul 17 2008, 11:54 PM
carlosandy
post Jul 18 2008, 12:23 AM

858 posts

QUOTE(Slowpoke @ Jul 17 2008, 06:00 PM)
i dont recall the exact figure but i am quite sure i was charged a lot less than 2k for OBU shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif
Ya ah, then you are lucky lo. From what I know was 3 years ago, the OBU price in Sunway already increase to RM4500.

This post has been edited by carlosandy: Jul 18 2008, 12:25 AM
Slowpoke
post Jul 18 2008, 12:34 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(Raymond_ACCA @ Jul 17 2008, 10:38 PM)
Experience is good:) but when u go UK study acca... in the end ull just end up studying, hardly got any life:D
I know some friend who study degree there only shiok.. can drive here drive there visit places.. but acca student.. dun think got time kua tongue.gif

Btw, my lecturer advice say its better study acca finish here, coz lecturer in Msia more to spoon feed, rather than giving a brief lecture, then have to self study..

If u really wanna go UK, maybe try to apply for a job overseas in the future:D
Are you crazy? ACCA is one of the easiest professional courses in the world. Just need to sit there and shake leg when the lecturer teach, then go home forget everything is normal. When exam just dish out some random reasoning and hope it makes sense. Just think, you need just 50% of the marks for an exam to pass, that's like answering one question wrong for every one you answer right. At most you have to study for the financial accounting papers, F7 and P2. The rest is mostly 40% logic, 20% guesswork and some good writing. Once i saw an entire 50 mark 3.3 question that even a high school student could answer perfectly.

You should go to any public university and see your peers struggle because they have no idea what the hell their esteemed lecturers are saying - it's probably even worse than primary school. Some people I know said they would never have gotten through uni classes if not for lots of support from seniors.

If you signed up for one of those hardcore colleges which churn out top scorers every semester then it's no use complaining, you are getting your money's worth of 'education' laugh.gif For me it's just one long holiday with short periods of stress and panic laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Slowpoke: Jul 18 2008, 12:37 AM
TSThanatosSwiftfire
post Jul 18 2008, 12:44 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

slowpoke. you rock. hahahahaha
stevenma
post Jul 18 2008, 01:27 PM

Here got some uncertainty & doubt on my company’s accounting matter need ur guys to be advise and clarify.
There is a supplier proposed to me to defer the billing from current month July to October to meet their next financial year sales target (their financial fiscal year ended October) albeit the billing is related to work performed (construction) in July. This means that the contract cost incurred in July can only be recorded in October upon invoice being received.
Although this is benefited our company on cash flow as no need to pay earlier since invoice is only raised in October. However, does this make sense and comply with FRS??? FRS always stated that cost should be recognised in the accounting period in which the work is performed.Does this case has already breach the rule set out by FRS?
Many thanks if u can advise and clear my doubts on this. icon_question.gif
Sori 4 my poor English here n hope ur guys could understand.

131 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0308sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:37 AM