Hobbies Tamiya Mini 4wd V4, lets and go!

washywashy
post Mar 4 2009, 10:16 PM

Hi all, I'm a Tamiya fan from Singapore.. Came across this website a few months ago but only decided to register only today as I am now officially poisoned by the hobby again after a stop for almost 9years.. Have been keeping my limited edition Gold plated Knucklebreaker(SuperX) equipped with Jet Dash motor..

Decided to head down to Khatib just now in the afternoon. When I saw the car's performance I told myself how about giving myself another chance at the hobby.. Hence, made another pick up, a Z3 Shadow-Breaker.. biggrin.gif

washywashy
post Mar 4 2009, 11:37 PM

Guys, where in sg do you get your parts from? Only from stargek? Btw is there a track there?
washywashy
post Mar 5 2009, 08:50 AM

Guys, things have gotten abit rust for me.. I wanna know, since there is so much hype about the MS chassis, do people still people still play the older models? Btw, how to make motors fast? Those that just come out of the package can't be that fast right? Also, why cannot use Ni-MH rechargeable batteries for the cars?

Seems like there is a general guideline on how to set the car for speed and technical tracks.. Anyone can share? In my time, we never thought of such things, just anyhow whack and put rollers, no planning at all..
washywashy
post Mar 5 2009, 11:25 AM

Oh ok.. About running in, how long would it take? Oh ok.. Seems like quite hard to get SFM nowadays..

Motor was locked? Btw, where do you get your parts in SG? Where do you normally play? From previous posts seems like you really got a lot of stuff and most probably you have a track at home?
washywashy
post Mar 5 2009, 01:17 PM

I'll be going on the 15th.. Will try to make it to Tampines if possible.. smile.gif
washywashy
post Mar 6 2009, 11:33 AM

QUOTE(R3Ju7Ce @ Mar 6 2009, 11:20 AM)
Woooo .. Master of Mini4wd has spoken .... brows.gifbrows.gif
So which one is more sought after bumper? Btw guys, how come the MS Pro car that is in the black box is so ex and what make sit so ex?? Got all ball bearing and lightweight parts? Got good motor as well? flex.gif
washywashy
post Mar 6 2009, 11:43 AM

QUOTE(david tamiya @ Mar 6 2009, 11:38 AM)
it comes with a lot of goodies
carbon fibre extension
620 ball bearings
thicker front and rear frp
gold plated terminal
carbon reinforced chasis
3 mass dampers
but it did not come with motor and body

worth the money
Is there a website you could lead me to as I want to see pics if possible.. 620 ball bearings? Wonder how that looks like.. What are mass dampers for?
washywashy
post Mar 6 2009, 12:24 PM

QUOTE(david tamiya @ Mar 6 2009, 12:14 PM)
the steering system waste your money
the car maybe still can get
Why the steering system waste money? I have been using it though.. sad.gif Bro FatalMind, if you are from Singapore, there are 2 pieces left at Kiddy palace at Causeway point.. Hope you can find it!

Added on March 6, 2009, 12:27 pm
QUOTE(R3Ju7Ce @ Mar 6 2009, 11:48 AM)
You may visit www.tamiya.com
hmm.gif
This is the one right bro? Seems to be a discontinued product? http://www.tamiyausa.com/product/item.php?product-id=94661

This post has been edited by washywashy: Mar 6 2009, 12:27 PM
washywashy
post Mar 6 2009, 12:48 PM

[quote=david tamiya,Mar 6 2009, 12:36 PM]
[quote=washywashy,Mar 6 2009, 01:24 PM]
Why the steering system waste money? I have been using it though.. sad.gif Bro FatalMind, if you are from Singapore, there are 2 pieces left at Kiddy palace at Causeway point.. Hope you can find it!

it never really help when cornering i have tested even slows down your car smile.gif smile.gif

[/quote]
Thanks for the enlightenment bro! rclxms.gif
washywashy
post Mar 6 2009, 01:01 PM

QUOTE(13lack.12ose @ Mar 6 2009, 12:59 PM)
Will slow down the car in a corner if you put the sliding damper. Put in the rear and it will achieve a faster cornering.

If put the damper in front, car will change direction towards the wall, thus generating resistance and slowing the car down.

However if put in the rear, the car will change direction away from the wall, reducing the forward resistance of the car pushing on the track wall.

It is the same concept as to narrow/wide roller width front, wide/ narrow roller width rear.

However only use the chrome spring. The black spring is too soft.
Bro, can post pics to illustrate? Thanks smile.gif
washywashy
post Mar 6 2009, 02:40 PM

QUOTE(13lack.12ose @ Mar 6 2009, 01:03 PM)
alamak, must post tutorial again liao  shakehead.gif  doh.gif
Whoa bro, dun liddat lah.. Muz help newbie mah.. blush.gif
washywashy
post Mar 6 2009, 10:16 PM

Bro eelen! Referring to this video, you came in 3rd izzit? What causes that high pitched sound? It goes like eeeeeeeeuuu

washywashy
post Mar 6 2009, 10:25 PM

QUOTE(doty @ Mar 6 2009, 10:20 PM)
he got first for that event
Ouh, my mistake.. Sorry.. So what causes the sound and what motor did he use? Care to share?
washywashy
post Mar 6 2009, 10:54 PM

QUOTE(13lack.12ose @ Mar 6 2009, 10:27 PM)
balance damper test successful  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Your mod was successful? Wow.. Cool bro..
washywashy
post Mar 6 2009, 11:09 PM

QUOTE(R3Ju7Ce @ Mar 6 2009, 10:59 PM)
It remind me as i was very freaking sick that still manage to drive down to singapore and watch this race ..  flex.gif
Whoa serious respect you people! Have never treated this hobby so seriously back then.. Glad I'm back.. The internet really opens my eyes about this hobby and its impact on the rest of the world.. Some vids from italy are really something! notworthy.gif
washywashy
post Mar 9 2009, 10:04 PM

QUOTE(FatalMIND @ Mar 9 2009, 09:54 PM)
orite... thx bro. update me with the price n i will pay david, n he will pay u sing dollar.. haha
Bros, just a note for the prices of Tamiya cars in Stargek SG..
SGD$15 for all chassis
SGD$18 for all MS Pro
Hope this helps smile.gif
washywashy
post Mar 12 2009, 10:56 PM

QUOTE(13lack.12ose @ Mar 11 2009, 01:42 PM)
12ose Style Mod: SF-01X chassis.

SF-01X 炎魔

Overall View
1. Aero FRP/ Anti-roll bar
2. Aero FRP with adjustable angle setting
3. Balance Damper
4. Sliding Damper with shortened Super X FRP
5. 1.5mm tyres

Top View

Bottom View
1. Brake/ Mass Damper Unit
2. Reinforcing FRP
3. Hollowed chassis with sponge
4. Sanded down chassis

Aero FRP Mod
Left: Original FRPs; Right: FRP after modification

Gearbox Mod
Bro Eelen! Where in SG can I get the Aero FRP, Sliding Damper, Short stablising poles and 1.5mm tyres? Went to Stargek but couldn't find any.. unsure.gif
washywashy
post Mar 12 2009, 11:16 PM

QUOTE(13lack.12ose @ Mar 12 2009, 11:04 PM)
@washy washy: The aero FRP is custom made by me. Though you will need 0.4mm clear pla-plates. You will need Aero Hi-Mount Roller Set also, but its very hard to find now. 1.5mm tyres u can head down to one of the 2 shops to the new tyres sanded down for u. Short stabilising pole and Sliding Damper you can still get them from Stargek. Just ask the staff there smile.gif
Thanks for the prompt reply bro! Ok, will try getting it from them.. Do they also have ball bearing rollers(not aluminium) of the diameter that you are using as the largest one they have is 10mm.. Btw, for the tires sold separately, I bought a set of tires stated to be "carbon" rims with transparent soft slick tyres but is the normal 2 narrow and 2 broad type. I am looking for a set of all narrow tyres, do they have it and is it true that what I bought are made from carbon as they feel plastic to me hmm.gif

Ps: Did you sell the cover in your avatar to the shop in Khatib? brows.gif

This post has been edited by washywashy: Mar 12 2009, 11:18 PM
washywashy
post Mar 12 2009, 11:33 PM

QUOTE(13lack.12ose @ Mar 12 2009, 11:29 PM)
oooh 10 mm is a gd find actually. I can't seem to find them  blush.gif . 13mm is quite common actually. I saw them in Khatib.

Wheels wise even if you add carbon to the plastic the structure of the wheel (how many spokes etc) is important also. And yeah, when u sand the tyres I was advised to bring them a new set so the sanding would be accurate. Also some tyres are not suitable for sanding. Do check with the shops.

Ooh, the cover I did not sell them la, been with me for so long  tongue.gif . Put there so people who see it will be attracted and want to buy a kit and play lor. More people play den more fun also mah.  nod.gif

And lastly, I am not Eelen  smile.gif . Have much to learn from him  nod.gif  nod.gif  nod.gif
Yup I know you are not Eelen, was posting the qn for him as he is from SG while you are not ryte? Or did I get confused? Haha.. You coming for Sun's comp bro? I guess I'll be the only one with Super X competing.. Would love to learn more from you bro! smile.gif sweat.gif
washywashy
post Mar 15 2009, 10:24 PM

QUOTE(13lack.12ose @ Mar 15 2009, 10:19 PM)
Thx Riku for fixing the link ^^
Anyone with the update of the race just now? Saw Davidtamiya and a few others I dunno.. smile.gif My Super X sucked big time.. mad.gif

0.0503sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:47 AM