Subwoofer Discussion Thread, A thread for things that go BOOOOMMM!!!

swine
post Oct 17 2008, 04:25 PM

157 posts

i tot we normally set to LFE only, which just let the sub to handle the lows, which means the sub will only do work when a low frequency hit the notes, and stop working when no real low..
this is to take advantage of a more clearer vocal and much more cripsy sound from the front pairing...especially u have a full range front speaker...

if u set it to MAIN + LFE, den the the front pairing will throw out everything together with the sub woking full load...which resulted a loud but rather rojak noise...lack the precision
swine
post Oct 17 2008, 04:59 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Oct 17 2008, 04:37 PM)
It's an option, you don't have to select "LFE+Main" if you don't want to. It's just that if you have full range speakers, you can. This comes back to each own's listening taste, some people like more bass.

My main point here, if you don't have full range speakers, don't select "LFE+Main", just select "LFE" only and set the proper crossover. This will avoid your speakers from trying to produce the low frequencies that it can't do, thus avoiding damage.
erm...how to consider it is full range or not?? 2x 6.5in driver + 1.25in dome tweeter??
as far as i know the AV fellar said that if u do get a fullrange front pairing spk, u shud take advantage of those precision of the vocal, midrange, tweeter...hear the precision of it instead of hearing just like normal compact satellite spk which throw everything out together....

so he dinn recommend to LFE + MAIN, of cos he say u can select that for ur likings if u prefer a more bommier sound..^^

just my 2 cents, correct me if i m wrong..
swine
post Oct 24 2008, 11:49 AM

157 posts

any nice sub woffer within the price range of RM1000-RM1500??
swine
post Oct 24 2008, 06:36 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 24 2008, 03:43 PM)
or MS309 at lil more
ms309i at wat price may i know??
ty..
how about Mission sub?
swine
post Nov 24 2008, 10:24 PM

157 posts

hi velodyne user here..
how much does velodyne cht-10 r cost?
hope to get some feedback b4 deciding on this sub..
swine
post Nov 24 2008, 10:45 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Nov 24 2008, 10:37 PM)
RM1,950.
any velodyne 10"sub tat cost around rm1.5k?
swine
post Nov 28 2008, 11:21 AM

157 posts

velodyne impact 10 and cht10r? which one better?
heard the cht10r is few years older model than the impact series..
swine
post Dec 1 2008, 04:43 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Nov 29 2008, 07:09 PM)
Impact is marketed as entry level sub. Hence, the price and performance is lower than CHT series. On paper, Impact-10 loses out to CHT-10R
thx bro..in terms of spec CHT series is better, can see that from the weight of the sub and the material used..spec too..i do like the CHT-12
taking $$$ into account, i ended up wit impact 12 tongue.gif
swine
post Dec 2 2008, 10:19 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Dec 2 2008, 07:30 AM)
My CHT-10R is powerful enough for me. I can't imagine getting a bigger and more powerful one. It would be overkill to my movie experience. If I get a bigger more powerful one, to balance it out, in the end I'll be using lower dB for the sub to match the whole setup. But yeah, the only thing that I would want is deeper and lower frequency response. If I can go 20Hz for a 10" with affordable price then I would consider. tongue.gif
how much and when u bought it?
i got quoted RM2.1k for cht10r recently.. sweat.gif
swine
post Dec 2 2008, 12:56 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Dec 2 2008, 12:27 PM)

Added on December 2, 2008, 12:34 pm
I bought at A&L for RM2k. At that time it as been out of stock for a long time. While I was jalan2 with my wife at Sg Wang, I dropped by A&L and to my surprise there it is in the auditioning room. My wife gave the nod and the rest is history. When I picked up mine, the manufacture date was just a few weeks before. laugh.gif
Now can get for only RM1.9k I think.
actually i am considering cht10r..but the price put me off at RM2.1K.. cry.gif
and he quoted me Impact 12 for RM1.8k..
so i place an order for the Impact 12..waiting to be delivered next week..
if as u said RM1.9k, shud i negotiate wit him and change my mind to cht10r?
swine
post Dec 2 2008, 05:39 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 2 2008, 05:06 PM)
It is RM1,950 for CHT-10R (Maybe my negotiation skill is lacking). Look for Rick. I would go for CHT-10R. The remote comes in handy too.
haven done any audition the diff between cht10r & impact 12..
but cht10 out weight impact 12 by 8kg, and outpowered impact 12 by 20W rms sweat.gif
frequency response is 28Hz & 29Hz respectively..
not sure whether can negotiate till RM1.9k..if not den wills stick to impact 12..
hopefully the performance wont be too far behind cht10r.. tongue.gif

someone recommend me another giant size sub by mordaunt short...around RM2.5k
he assure me that will outperform cht12r blink.gif
swine
post Dec 9 2008, 03:57 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(sagern @ Dec 7 2008, 12:44 PM)
Thanks Augustine

I have just gotten the CHT10-R, had a test in between the impact 10, 12 and CHT.. no turning back after comparing the 3.. sad.gif big hole in my pocket now..

Typically it will be used it for movies.. even if it's music it will be concerts..
impact 12 really so far behind even compare to cht-10r??
i still waiting for mine on delivery cry.gif
swine
post Dec 17 2008, 12:19 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Dec 17 2008, 09:35 AM)
You're using an Onkyo AVR? Letting the Audyssey doing the EQ?

My sub was also looking like it was very hard to keep up, during some very deep LFE scenes almost sound distorted.

Then I manually set my own EQ. Now my sub is working very smoothly and sounds the best as it should have been.  You have to play around the EQ for other speakers too once you turn off Audyssey's. To properly adjust EQ you'll need a test tones CD and an SPL meter.

Sure, the Audyssey was great, but my own EQ sounds better to me.
so how to adjsut the EQ for the sub?
reduce the Db level for the sub from the avr? or adjust the volume knob of the sub? rclxub.gif
adjust the phase?
swine
post Dec 18 2008, 12:42 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Dec 18 2008, 10:59 AM)
Manually adjusts the EQ in the receiver. Play a test tone CD for the correct frequency and adjust the dB so the reading on the SPL meter is uniform for all frequencies. For Onkyo, there is a 5-band graphic EQ.

Because of the room conditions, certain frequencies could be louder than the others, the purpose of graphic EQ is to equalize them.

i dun hav an SPL meter, so i do i calibrate it? and i m using 805 where is the 5band graphic EQ located? biggrin.gif
swine
post Dec 23 2008, 09:30 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(augustinesoh @ Dec 23 2008, 08:26 AM)
Just spoke to Rick of A & L yesterday and hear that the new CHT-Q series is already available for audition. Will try to check one out sometime this week...
last week been to A&L sg wang..
have seen the CHT-Q 10 impressive sub drool.gif
and just a mere few hundred more than the old CHT-10R...worth it tongue.gif
swine
post Dec 24 2008, 01:27 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(augustinesoh @ Dec 24 2008, 10:29 AM)
Did they have the CHT-12Q there for demo/audition also? Am looking to upgrade from my Impact-12 to this...

Added on December 24, 2008, 10:36 am
they now having CHT10Q for demos onli..was impressed by it..
so never ask for CHT12Q, nvm the pricing.. tongue.gif
they also have cht10r demo set for sale brows.gif
swine
post Jan 6 2009, 07:49 PM

157 posts

some AV sifus told me..
u shud not identify the direction of where the sub coming from..
but u can feel the LFE with ur ears from left, right, up, down smile.gif
thats make a good sub
swine
post Jan 8 2009, 09:34 AM

157 posts

wharfy sub generally lack of ommpppss
tried the downfiring sw250 with that kind of performance at that price range is unacceptable..sad.gif
swine
post Jan 8 2009, 09:31 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jan 8 2009, 06:51 PM)
i m using tat lo...sad.gif sad  cry.gif
dun be sad..as htkaki said change to velodyne laugh.gif
the money u spend on sw250 more than enuf for u to get cht-12r
swine
post Jan 15 2009, 06:03 PM

157 posts

want to ask how the set the frequency from the 805 for the sub, the lowest range can go is 80Hz THX, so means anything below 80Hz goes to the sub?

0.8374sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:03 PM