125 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

Subwoofer Discussion Thread, A thread for things that go BOOOOMMM!!!

SUSHornyAngMoh
post Aug 26 2008, 11:19 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(ALPS2008 @ Aug 26 2008, 10:10 PM)
rclxub.gif

Suppose to be cheap sub good bass....

Now this thread change to expensive sub...OMG Bass....... drool.gif  drool.gif

rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

Anyway...callmevil....do you manage to hold your heart...be carefull jump out.....keeee...bravo owner... notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
I agree with u totally! Suppose to be cheap & value for money sub...........but now becum very poisonous sub instead! sad.gif Aiyah! MONEY NOT ENOUGH!!! cry.gif Anybody up-grading to that awesome SVS???? I don't mind getting a really 'cheap' sub brows.gif I am sure everybody in this tread have a better sub then my lousy Roger!!! sweat.gif
arremie
post Aug 27 2008, 12:11 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

I'm still very afraid of my 10R. Never pass 50% of the volume. How could you live with that....and that is a really honest question. I bet that thing will scare shit out of me...or could shattered my glass sliding door sweat.gif

Its super cool by the way. Congrats on your purchase notworthy.gif
hian
post Aug 27 2008, 02:12 AM

418 posts

Cheap sub good bass has turned into the dark side... laugh.gif Hell, should I just forget about the CHT-12R or SW250 and go straight to that SVS, one time pain in the account? sweat.gif Damn now I can't get that cylinder out of my head. It's all you guys fault... laugh.gif

callmevil,
Mind if I ask how much is the shipping cost? smile.gif
callmevil
post Aug 27 2008, 05:15 AM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(hian @ Aug 27 2008, 02:12 AM)
Cheap sub good bass has turned into the dark side... laugh.gif Hell, should I just forget about the CHT-12R or SW250 and go straight to that SVS, one time pain in the account?  sweat.gif  Damn now I can't get that cylinder out of my head.  It's all you guys fault... laugh.gif

callmevil,
Mind if I ask how much is the shipping cost? smile.gif
Yes u should.. the sw250 is nothing compared to this cylinder.. ive demoed it.. and with this things, u know u wont have to upgrade it anytime soon wink.gif
as for shipping mine was quoted

380USD for door 2 airport
660USD for door 2 door

but. I am sure it is much cheaper if ur shipping to east msia as the route stops in KL airport before it reach Brunei. Jack28ht got it for below 300USD door 2 door when he got his svs. another user Dirtrun also got svs but im not sure how much his shipment cost.

Just send them an email and ask them how much to send a speaker to ur area (just give ur address), and they will get back to u on it. The staff of SVS are Very nice ppl smile.gif
aiman04
post Aug 27 2008, 07:48 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Congrats on your new vibrating bolster Callmevil! (I hope you're not married tongue.gif ).

Yup, I was quoted for less than $300 too from SVS. biggrin.gif

Guys, at around RM2k, the Velodyne CHT-10R can be considered cheap sub, good bass. Now those monsters like REL, SVS, Paradigm Servo and Velodyne SPL/DD series are in the category expensive sub, excellent bass. nod.gif
timothyy
post Aug 27 2008, 09:03 AM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

Ha! Ha! Ya... I think you all are getting crazy over bass. Hey... there are more than sub in any movie la. Kekekeke...

Anyway, that is a nice SVS. Really would love to test it out and see what is so great about it compared to any normal cheap sub good bass subs.

Well, I guess my new CHT12R will be more than enough. When tested it in A&L, their plster ceiling already trembling. I don'twant my plaster ceiling to follow and got cracks all over after 1 week. He! He! He!
djdyks
post Aug 27 2008, 09:29 AM

404 posts

GREAT SVS ... !

Ok, talk about cheap sub with good bass ...
Anybody heard of AudioPro SubSeries PS175
http://www.audiopro.com/templates/audio_pr...id_products=195
Type: Powered subwoofer with built-in ace-bass® amplifier, bass reflex
Amplifier: 175 W rms
Woofer: 8” long-throw
Frequency range: 27-100 Hz
Lo-pass filter: 50-100 Hz, variable 24 dB/octave
Hi-pass filter: 100 Hz, 6 dB/octave
Dimensions (WxHxD): 300x357x391 mm
Weight: 13,2 kg
Connectors: Line input, separate speaker level input, heavy duty binding post
Adjustments: On/Auto standby, variable level adjustment, variable frequency adjustment between 50-100 Hz, variable phase adjustment 0-180 degrees
Cabinet: MDF
Finish: Vinyl foil
Colors: Titanium grey

This post has been edited by djdyks: Aug 27 2008, 09:30 AM
timothyy
post Aug 27 2008, 10:52 AM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

QUOTE(djdyks @ Aug 27 2008, 09:29 AM)
GREAT SVS ... !

Ok, talk about cheap sub with good bass ...
Anybody heard of AudioPro SubSeries PS175
http://www.audiopro.com/templates/audio_pr...id_products=195
Type: Powered subwoofer with built-in ace-bass® amplifier, bass reflex
Amplifier: 175 W rms
Woofer: 8” long-throw
Frequency range: 27-100 Hz
Lo-pass filter: 50-100 Hz, variable 24 dB/octave
Hi-pass filter: 100 Hz, 6 dB/octave
Dimensions (WxHxD): 300x357x391 mm
Weight: 13,2 kg
Connectors: Line input, separate speaker level input, heavy duty binding post
Adjustments: On/Auto standby, variable level adjustment, variable frequency adjustment between 50-100 Hz, variable phase adjustment 0-180 degrees
Cabinet: MDF
Finish: Vinyl foil
Colors: Titanium grey
This one... during the AVFest, CMY was offering me at RM900... kekeke... Didn't buy.

But I didn't know the performance. So, didn't buy. I guess I still prefer Valodyne... Kekeke....

TThe AudioPro looks a bit small if u ask me. 8"....
ALPS2008
post Aug 27 2008, 07:50 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Aug 27 2008, 10:52 AM)
This one... during the AVFest, CMY was offering me at RM900... kekeke... Didn't buy.

But I didn't know the performance. So, didn't buy. I guess I still prefer Valodyne... Kekeke....

TThe AudioPro looks a bit small if u ask me. 8"....
Waaaa....RM900 is consider cheap already.......New unit..then fine.....if look at the spec....if compare the velo..then the price also 2x times la

djdyks, have you try to audit the unit
hian
post Aug 27 2008, 08:05 PM

418 posts

I went to an AV shop this afternoon and the owner introduced me this Velodyne SPL-1200, costs at around RM8800 (forgot the exact figure). If compare with the SVS PC-Ultra, which one gives more punch in movies?
arj
post Aug 27 2008, 08:44 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(hian @ Aug 27 2008, 08:05 PM)
I went to an AV shop this afternoon and the owner introduced me this Velodyne SPL-1200, costs at around RM8800 (forgot the exact figure).  If compare with the SVS PC-Ultra, which one gives more punch in movies?
A dude at the AVS forum tested a whole bunch of subwoofers and then rated and ranked them. Check out the rankings below. The PB13 Ultra, the box version of the PC13 Ultra is several rungs above the Velodyne DD-18 which I belive blows the SPL-1200 right out of the water biggrin.gif

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?p=9164136
callmevil
post Aug 27 2008, 09:36 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

ok.. i have just spent a good hour calibrating my speakers / sub (1st time doing this since i bought them), didnt know it could be complicate for beginners.. ok.. so again i used cloverfield to test.. i just skipped to intense scene.. the difference is unbelievable haha.. so for anyoen who havent calibrate their speakers.. PLEASE DO! u dont know what ure missing! i had to reduce my movie volume from 0db down to -5db now..

ok now.. 1 question to sifus.. why do i feel exhausted.. like seriously exasperated after listening to intense BASS + effect?? when i say effect.. the svs rumbles my whole room until every building demolishing scene in cloverfield made me feel like i am RIGHT there... is this some placebo effect??? but i find myself kinda gasping for air when the scene is done.. and now i am exhausted.. and feel a bit scared.. haha

help?

This post has been edited by callmevil: Aug 27 2008, 09:39 PM
fentanyl
post Aug 27 2008, 09:45 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Aug 27 2008, 09:36 PM)
ok.. i have just spent a good hour calibrating my speakers / sub (1st time doing this since i bought them), didnt know it could be complicate for beginners.. ok.. so again i used cloverfield to test.. i just skipped to intense scene.. the difference is unbelievable haha.. so for anyoen who havent calibrate their speakers.. PLEASE DO! u dont know what ure missing! i had to reduce my movie volume from 0db down to -5db now..

ok now.. 1 question to sifus.. why do i feel exhausted.. like seriously exasperated after listening to intense BASS + effect?? when i say effect.. the svs rumbles my whole room until every building demolishing scene in cloverfield made me feel like i am RIGHT there... is this some placebo effect??? but i find myself kinda gasping for air when the scene is done.. and now i am exhausted.. and feel a bit scared.. haha

help?
Do u have symptoms of palpitation, sweating, rapid breathing? That could be symptoms of anxiety. smile.gif

callmevil
post Aug 27 2008, 10:08 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(fentanyl @ Aug 27 2008, 09:45 PM)
Do u have symptoms of palpitation, sweating, rapid breathing? That could be symptoms of anxiety. smile.gif
palpitation yes.. sweating no.. breathing long and weak... freaky man~~ feels like im tripping..
djdyks
post Aug 27 2008, 10:23 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(ALPS2008 @ Aug 27 2008, 07:50 PM)
Waaaa....RM900 is consider cheap already.......New unit..then fine.....if look at the spec....if compare the velo..then the price also 2x times la

djdyks, have you try to audit the unit
Yes, i been to CMY to check out the AudioPro Sub PS175
Can't compare coz i nvr heard the Velo before.
However ... the AudioPro comes with some interesting features ... auto switch off after 30 mins of non signal detected and auto turn on if signal detected again (save u the hassle of walking forth and back turning it on and off) ... AceBass amplifier (their own in-house thingy) ...
I was sitting right in front of the sub with the port facing at me, yet i can't hear the bass comes from it. However once the volume level turn down, the whole room was without bass at all. The power is quite menacing ... i tested it till half the volume level only, and playing around with the low pass level.

FYI, i was told that the designer of AudioPro speakers / subs is in-fact the 1st person to invent subwoofers while he was 16 yrs old ... now he 40yrs ++
The sub manufactured in Sweden ... AudioPro started biz with doing sub 1st !
Honestly its a good thing at that price range ... poisoning myself ... gotta check out a few more first before deciding !

This post has been edited by djdyks: Aug 27 2008, 10:26 PM
fevercrash
post Aug 28 2008, 01:05 AM

671 posts

help?
dude how do u calibrate ur speakers? my avr got no auto calibrate function..so any tips on how to set it correctly?
hian
post Aug 28 2008, 01:07 AM

418 posts

Thanks for that link, arj. It does help a lot. smile.gif

And this statement below...damn, makes me wanna click on the "buy now" button at their website immediately. That's how a subwoofer should be eh, to make the listener feel like he is right in the action. thumbup.gif Now waiting for the shipping quote from SVS, hopefully everything will turn out smooth...

the svs rumbles my whole room until every building demolishing scene in cloverfield made me feel like i am RIGHT there... is this some placebo effect??? but i find myself kinda gasping for air when the scene is done.. and now i am exhausted.. and feel a bit scared.. haha

help?
This post has been edited by hian: Aug 28 2008, 01:09 AM
callmevil
post Aug 28 2008, 06:21 AM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(fevercrash @ Aug 28 2008, 01:05 AM)
dude how do u calibrate ur speakers? my avr got no auto calibrate function..so any tips on how to set it correctly?
I used this thing called "SPL Meter". i got it from the svs website (free shipment with a sub purchase)
theres alot of guide online on how to do this. but if ur lost just send me a pm here and ill give u step by step guide hehe basically its just making sure every speaker in ur room (including the sub) is outputting the SAME or As similar as possible volume to the listening position.. meaning, say ure SL is further from ur SR, calibrating would determine just how much stronger should ur SL be outputing so that itll equal the sound coming from ur SR..

i set all my speakers at the recommended 75db and my sub at 80db.. hehehe

QUOTE(hian @ Aug 28 2008, 01:07 AM)
Thanks for that link, arj. It does help a lot. smile.gif

And this statement below...damn, makes me wanna click on the "buy now" button at their website immediately. That's how a subwoofer should be eh, to make the listener feel like he is right in the action.  thumbup.gif  Now waiting for the shipping quote from SVS, hopefully everything will turn out smooth...
Good luck Hian!! hope u get it through, then we can have more screenshot poison for SVS ! hahaha Gambate~~~!
mpyw
post Aug 28 2008, 08:54 AM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(djdyks @ Aug 27 2008, 10:23 PM)
Yes, i been to CMY to check out the AudioPro Sub PS175
Can't compare coz i nvr heard the Velo before.
However ... the AudioPro comes with some interesting features ... auto switch off after 30 mins of non signal detected and auto turn on if signal detected again (save u the hassle of walking forth and back turning it on and off) ... AceBass amplifier (their own in-house thingy) ...
I was sitting right in front of the sub with the port facing at me, yet i can't hear the bass comes from it. However once the volume level turn down, the whole room was without bass at all. The power is quite menacing ... i tested it till half the volume level only, and playing around with the low pass level.

FYI, i was told that the designer of AudioPro speakers / subs is in-fact the 1st person to invent subwoofers while he was 16 yrs old ... now he 40yrs ++
The sub manufactured in Sweden ... AudioPro started biz with doing sub 1st !
Honestly its a good thing at that price range ... poisoning myself ... gotta check out a few more first before deciding !
that AudioPro sound can never match the 12R....tested b4 i go for the 12R...for small room still ok....but for medium size room...u just don't feel the punch.... sweat.gif
mys_terious
post Aug 28 2008, 12:33 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 27 2008, 07:48 AM)
Congrats on your new vibrating bolster Callmevil! (I hope you're not married tongue.gif ).

Yup, I was quoted for less than $300 too from SVS. biggrin.gif

Guys, at around RM2k, the Velodyne CHT-10R can be considered cheap sub, good bass. Now those monsters like REL, SVS, Paradigm Servo and Velodyne SPL/DD series are in the category expensive sub, excellent bass. nod.gif
bro actually svs entry level is just a tiny bit more than velodyne cht series.. and with longer warranty period.. n definately goes lower.. so i think its worth considering and its also considered an affordable sub... pb10nsd is only usd430+ shipping (assuming)usd220=usd650 x3.25=rm2112.5 then plus some coffee fees rm400 .. nett price is around rm2500 .. i bought pb12nsd nett below rm3k but that time usd was the lowest..
So dont be affraid to consider or try internet direct brands like hsu or svs u get more value...

Added on August 28, 2008, 12:46 pm
QUOTE(arj @ Aug 27 2008, 08:44 PM)
A dude at the AVS forum tested a whole bunch of subwoofers and then rated and ranked them. Check out the rankings below. The PB13 Ultra, the box version of the PC13 Ultra is several rungs above the Velodyne DD-18 which I belive blows the SPL-1200 right out of the water biggrin.gif

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?p=9164136
the fella's name is craigsub.. he has since joined av123 to build an affordable monster sub i think

This post has been edited by mys_terious: Aug 28 2008, 12:46 PM

125 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0267sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:16 AM