5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Subwoofer Discussion Thread, A thread for things that go BOOOOMMM!!!

arremie
post Aug 27 2008, 12:11 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

I'm still very afraid of my 10R. Never pass 50% of the volume. How could you live with that....and that is a really honest question. I bet that thing will scare shit out of me...or could shattered my glass sliding door sweat.gif

Its super cool by the way. Congrats on your purchase notworthy.gif
arremie
post Aug 28 2008, 06:37 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

How to use SPL meter? Looks interesting. Any guide around? I want to get one from ebay leh...20 bucks only tongue.gif
arremie
post Aug 28 2008, 11:10 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

callmevil, thanks for the instruction dude notworthy.gif
Easy enuf to understand without getting onky manual tongue.gif
arremie
post Aug 29 2008, 11:02 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 29 2008, 07:17 AM)
Are you sure? I can let you borrow my Onkyo manual. Nothing poisonus in the manul, don't be afraid. whistling.gif  brows.gif
Its ok bro. I already downloaded the manual tongue.gif

QUOTE(timothyy @ Aug 29 2008, 08:35 AM)
Eh... eh... tumpang one. USD20 is like eating KFC only.
Sure.... 10%+ 15% laugh.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(arj @ Aug 29 2008, 08:51 AM)
That's the one la bro biggrin.gif
arremie
post Aug 30 2008, 02:46 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(s6xs9x @ Aug 29 2008, 12:52 PM)
arremie, after u get the meter come my house set mine also ya.
Sure bro no prob smile.gif

QUOTE(callmevil @ Aug 29 2008, 06:46 PM)
same.. bought it for 40usd
Radioshack nice but analog. I prefer digital tongue.gif

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 29 2008, 06:48 PM)
Eh, got tax for value under RM500 ar? hmm.gif
The tax is for me as a service charge laugh.gif laugh.gif
arremie
post Sep 5 2008, 03:36 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Time for SVS? wink.gif
arremie
post Sep 5 2008, 09:26 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Giving the size of that thing....sending back broken item to them for replacement will break you for sure laugh.gif
arremie
post Sep 5 2008, 01:07 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Cool....but still like htkaki I don't think I want all the hassle unless I can have some macha do for me tongue.gif
arremie
post Sep 6 2008, 03:17 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(djdyks @ Sep 6 2008, 02:25 AM)
Bro, how much u paid for the sub cable ? All in till your doorstep ?
I was quoted for $100 ++ from CMY, but not sure its Qunex Silver Reference SR-SW or other
Dude...not possible la to get SR-SW for only RM100++ especially from CMY. Must be different model.
arremie
post Sep 6 2008, 02:32 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

I use this one. The Y adapter already built into the cable.

Added on September 6, 2008, 2:38 pmIf you want something cheaper...
You can use this for Y adapter.

This post has been edited by arremie: Sep 6 2008, 02:48 PM
arremie
post Sep 6 2008, 11:37 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Using Y connector will give you up to 3db more. I don't think you even notice but its there so why not use it. Plus even the manual also encourage you to use it. Won't cost you arm and leg tongue.gif
arremie
post Sep 7 2008, 12:12 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

eBay bro. See a few post back I gave the link to the eBay store. That one is longer. Mine only 4.5m and cost me USD63 with shipping.
arremie
post Sep 7 2008, 12:57 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Bro the Y splitter is on the sub side and not amp. Your amp will still output whatever it can whether you use Y splitter or not. If you use Y adapter on the amp side (like the one from Audioquest), you'll need 2 cables to utilize the sub stereo input. Either way, the latter surely will cost you more money tongue.gif

Taken from Velo manual...
"If using the LFE output from your receiver, plug the single cable into the "L"- LFE input or for more signal use a Y connector and feed the signal into both R and L input"

I'm not sure what they meant with "for more signal" but I've read somewhere in AV forum that the maximum gain by doing so is not more than 3db. Like I said previously, you may not even notice. Even I myself don't even bother about the increase but my cable already come with built-in Y splitter so I use it.

If the argument is to save money from buying the Y splitter then by all mean please do so. Heck I will also use single cable without the Y splitter if I don't already have my current cable biggrin.gif
arremie
post Sep 7 2008, 01:03 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

....but u got to admit....the temptation of using stereo input on your sub is irresistible laugh.gif
arremie
post Sep 7 2008, 01:15 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Haha I understand bro. No argument here but I will utilize the stereo input if I can. Peace icon_rolleyes.gif
arremie
post Sep 7 2008, 02:04 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Use original la bro. The sound is far more superior and a must if you are setting up your system biggrin.gif

Added on September 7, 2008, 2:39 amSome tips I found from the net. Boleh pakai ke...
I ask because it seems at 0db the sub kind of overpowered everything else even the sub volume is about 40% only.

How to optimize subwoofer levels

It's confusing. In most home-theatre setups, your Dolby Digital/dts A/V Receiver has a menu for setting the levels of all your speakers, including an adjustment for the Low Frequency Effects (LFE) channel. This determines the strength of the electrical signal fed to your subwoofer's built-in amplifier. But there's also a volume control on your subwoofer, right?

So where do you set each control?

To keep your receiver's LFE output level from overloading the input stage of your subwoofer amplifier, and to keep noise levels below audibility, adjust the receiver's LFE/subwoofer output level to "0 dB", and leave it there. When you do your level checks, start with the sub's volume control at about the 10:00 a.m position, then use that control to set or trim your final subwoofer level. And of course you may have to vary it somewhat depending on which source you're watching or listening to--CD, DVD, VCR, or off-air TV. However, except for some bass-heavy CD or DVD programming, the sub level shouldn't require much re-adjustment.

This post has been edited by arremie: Sep 7 2008, 02:39 AM
arremie
post Sep 8 2008, 09:06 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

So the basic rules so far...
1) turn up crossover on ur sub to max and control crossover using amp
2) set sub level to 0db at amp and do adjustment on sub

some more?

This post has been edited by arremie: Sep 8 2008, 09:07 PM
arremie
post Sep 9 2008, 05:07 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Dude...SVS is expensive sub. Let it do the work. Its not meant to be pampered tongue.gif
arremie
post Sep 10 2008, 04:01 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

That's the reason to buy extra length for sub cable. You'll never know the best position might be the farthest away from your front speakers and amp.
arremie
post Sep 12 2008, 12:09 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Earlier in this thread Velo is so hot and considered elite. Even I got poisoned to get one. Now SVS comes in the picture, Velo become peasant already doh.gif

Cut it out people vmad.gif

This post has been edited by arremie: Sep 12 2008, 12:10 PM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0421sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:55 PM