CLOSED

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 6 2008, 12:57 AM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(Quenox @ Sep 5 2008, 10:42 PM)
I sent a pre-sales enquiry mail to them asking about the HP LP2475w but yet to get a reply from them...sigh....
Any HP reseller wanna do a bulk purchase here ? hehehe....
You should try calling and emailing Angie since it's faster. I left her contact thumbup.gif

Maybe she can help direct you to a reseller if you prefer rather then buying from them directly. But not sure if i was in your shoes would like to go through that hassle.

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 6 2008, 02:42 PM

4,456 posts

Only Monday since they don't work on weekends :[
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 6 2008, 09:13 PM

4,456 posts

Quenox - I got a ring and they said my monitor will be delivered on Monday.

I ordered on Thursdays, and their delivering on Monday ... so basically it took 3 days from the order day, verify cc, and for shipping to arrive biggrin.gif sweet (weekends aren't counted because they are non working days).

aztechx - can't advise because don't know what monitors your talking about and what sort of criteria you are looking for. TN ? PVA ? IPS ? What is the monitor for ? Work ? Photography ? Gaming ? Watching videos ? What price your looking for doh.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 6 2008, 09:16 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 7 2008, 03:34 AM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(Quenox @ Sep 7 2008, 01:09 AM)
Wow, that is great, so glad to hear that you no need to wait 14 days for this baby to reach you ! laugh.gif

Please do share with us your feedback on the LCD once you received it on Monday.

Can't wait until Monday to call her up and proceed with the ordering and confirmation !!
While waiting you can look about this monitor more at these links

http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1326971&page=30

http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?p=12441445

http://translate.google.com/translate?u=ht...TF8&sl=de&tl=en

http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/read.asp...essage=28967370

A official review will be posted on the TFT Central site according to the site owner in a weeks time he said. He already has the unit but his still reviewing it.

http://www.tftcentral.co.uk/

A surprising fact i found was that this is actually a H-IPS lcd panel thumbup.gif

I wonder why HP put as S-IPS but didn't say it was in fact H-IPS. The proof is when viewing at angle, people didn't see any purple shade which S-IPS lcd panels have.

The LCD panel technology is ranked from worse left, to better right. ( Even though TN has the lowest input lag and latency, this rankings is based on over all performance seeing as how S-PVA, S-IPS and H-IPS latency and input lag are within acceptable limits for gamers and movie viewers. )

TN > PVA > S-PVA > S-IPS > H-IPS

brows.gif

It arrived this afternoon, probably the first one delivered to an end user in the UK.

First impressions are favourable, no bad pixels, no backlight problems, settings out of the box are bit on the bright and colourful side - I have just run the supplied software calibration and set a revised profile which has calmed things down somewhat.

For those that were concerned on dpreview and other fora that the two model numbers on the HP UK site at very different prices meant two different specifications need not worry (according to HP !). The HP code KD911A4 is the monitor at the normal retail price of £476 + VAT whereas the KD911AT is the same monitor at a promotional price of £389 + VAT available through nominated retailers. They indicated that they have a set number of monitors available in the UK (they have no knowledge of what is happening elsewhere) at the promotional launch price and then they will revert to the normal price. I bought mine for £365 + VAT from MacWarehouse.

One final thought at the moment - for those wanting a really smart, shiny, elegant piece of kit, look elsewhere. The LP2475w is just a functional piece of hardware, which is all I wanted.
This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 8 2008, 12:22 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 7 2008, 04:29 PM

4,456 posts

2408 is a s-pva and has high input lag that makes gaming and even non gaming a pain.

hp 2475 has h-ips and very playable input lag between 10-20 ms.

I think it's pretty clear the Hp is the better choice.

Why would you consider the dell and what about the hp that your not sure about ? if you can help explain i can try an answer what your not certain about these monitors. But bottom line the dell has high input lag so why consider it at all ?

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 7 2008, 04:31 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 7 2008, 04:51 PM

4,456 posts

I would pay the RM 120 for the HP it's worth it.

At the amount of money your paying the dell is not worth it. The Hp is the better monitor for over all value.

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 8 2008, 12:12 AM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(Intrigue @ Sep 7 2008, 10:57 PM)
may i know how much is the hp2475 now? cannot seems to find the price anywhere in hp website
I find that hard to believe shakehead.gif

Anyway price on site says rm3000 but when i asked they said it was Rm 2.4 K

Mine is arriving tomorrow. If you check the previous pages for this thread i posted a lot of information already nod.gif
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 8 2008, 02:35 AM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(aztechx @ Sep 8 2008, 02:01 AM)
guys..i just got myself a samsung T220 today..so far im happy with it except for the fact thAT i need to do so much to get it running..i mean drivers and things to setup etc.and i have zero knowledge over all those..i thought i just could plug it in,install whatever on the cd and voila,i have my lcd at its best! sad.gif
Unfortunately lcd monitors don't work like this. You need to properly calibrate them preferably with a calibrator hardware like mine, the X-rite Eye One Display 2.

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 8 2008, 11:37 AM

4,456 posts

Vivi Sama... wub.gif

PJ, Selangor :]

Shipping free of course.

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 8 2008, 12:28 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 8 2008, 06:36 PM

4,456 posts

Just received my HP LP2475W biggrin.gif the quality is excellent.
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 8 2008, 07:25 PM

4,456 posts

ITS HERE I GOT IT !!! SETTING IT UP NOW biggrin.gif WILL POST PICTURES SOON!

My first views.

Opening package its all neat inside and surprisingly lots of cables all well protected biggrin.gif

HDMI to HDMI, DVI to DVI, DVI to Analog, Display port to Display port cable wink.gif

Besides that there is the monitor, the stand and the installation disc.

Popping the monitor onto the stand was easy. It clicked into place. Removing it is easy also, you just flip the switch at the back and you can take it out :] My Dell 2405FPW has no such thing, which makes me appreciate this more especially if i want to install onto a vesa mounting later on biggrin.gif

My impressions of the stand compared to the Dell 2405FPW was that it wasn't as big as i had thought it would be. Compared to my Dell 2405 yes the base takes more space but nothing serious.

To adjust height you push down on the monitor from above lightly, then press the button at the front of the base to lift it up. It's very easy to do wink.gif no issues there.

Plugged in dvi to dvi cable, and the monitor fired up and auto detected the inputs :cool:

I noticed the colors looked more colorful instantly :eek: It is bright but to me not eye burning bright, but i may need to calibrate it in 30 minutes anyway wink.gif

Will update soon once i play with it more yawn.gif

*testing in Counter Strike 1.6

*update:

Ok playing this in counter strike has no ghosting or lag issues. Who said you needed a Tn panel only for gaming wink.gif I got the best of both worlds.

*calibration

Waited 30 minutes then used x-rite Eye One Display 2 to calibrate with Eye Match software. I didn't use the provided hp assistant calibration tool since i have no idea what to do with it unless someone want to give some tips biggrin.gif

target:

D65

2.2 gamma

So anyway reset to factory. Then checked contrast, it was ok by default, next was RGB.

R = 242

G =221

B = 255

Brightness = 2

I used basIIColor to verify the final result as shown in the screenshot. Contrast isn't the full 1000, i wonder if it can be improved any thoughts ? :confused:

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 9 2008, 11:48 PM

4,456 posts

Fearless - A professional reviewer can explain it better. Check out the OFFICIAL REVIEW FOR THE HP LP2475W WHICH IS CONFIRMED TO BE THE LATEST NEWEST H-IPS PANEL !!

http://www.tftcentral.co.uk/reviews/hp_lp2475w.htm

Summary: No regrets having paid 2.4k for this baby biggrin.gif However it does need to be calibrated to get the best out of it. I paid Rm 1k for my Eye One Display 2 Calibrator. So in total i paid 3.4k for monitor + calibrator doh.gif well i see the monitor all the time so it was a good buy for me. I can sleep well knowing i have a good monitor for when Diablo 3 comes out biggrin.gif

I did my best calibration attempt today.

When i factory reset, i had left brightness at the default 90. I set color controls to custom but i left the values at the default for it which were RGB 255. Contrast was at the default 80. I used strictly Eye match and followed the order contrast > RGB > Luminance based on the program's step by step. At the end of all the calibration, i used basICColor to review the results.

Target settingsfor calibration were

D65

140 luminance

2.2 gamma

Contrast: left at default 80 since when i used the calibrator to check contrast it was already at the best point doh.gif seems odd ...

RGB:

R: 246

G: 226

B: 255

Brightness: then when i was calibrating to the target 140, i adjusted accordingly to reach the target. The default 90 was spot on 400 or so as the tft central review said it was on default.

On TFT-Cntral, their service menu shows this

HOWEVER mine shows below with a different firmware.

F/W: GIG 032
S-L0614

Panel: LPL LM240WU4

hmm.gif

Quenox - any updates ? Did you get yours yet ?

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 9 2008, 11:53 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 10 2008, 08:23 AM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(Quenox @ Sep 10 2008, 12:40 AM)
Already placed in the order, awaiting them to ship the "Fella" to me.. hahaha...
Your calibration so high tech, I don't have such device to perform this sweat.gif
Where you live ? hmm.gif

When you get your monitor, press and hold the menu button and then press to turn on the monitor, when your screen displays let go of menu button. You now have access to the service option. Post what your firmware is.

This is mine,

Well i helped someone and they copied my RGB and brightness. They said it improved their color so it's better than nothing laugh.gif

This is my profile i had uploaded to rapidshare followed by the rgb and brightness setting i had put for it.

http://rapidshare.com/files/143595144/Moni...2008_1.icc.html

ITS HERE I GOT IT !!! SETTING IT UP NOW biggrin.gif WILL POST PICTURES SOON!

My first views.

Opening package its all neat inside and surprisingly lots of cables all well protected biggrin.gif

HDMI to HDMI, DVI to DVI, DVI to Analog, Display port to Display port cable wink.gif

Besides that there is the monitor, the stand and the installation disc.

Popping the monitor onto the stand was easy. It clicked into place. Removing it is easy also, you just flip the switch at the back and you can take it out :] My Dell 2405FPW has no such thing, which makes me appreciate this more especially if i want to install onto a vesa mounting later on biggrin.gif

My impressions of the stand compared to the Dell 2405FPW was that it wasn't as big as i had thought it would be. Compared to my Dell 2405 yes the base takes more space but nothing serious.

To adjust height you push down on the monitor from above lightly, then press the button at the front of the base to lift it up. It's very easy to do wink.gif no issues there.

Plugged in dvi to dvi cable, and the monitor fired up and auto detected the inputs :cool:

I noticed the colors looked more colorful instantly :eek: It is bright but to me not eye burning bright, but i may need to calibrate it in 30 minutes anyway wink.gif

Will update soon once i play with it more yawn.gif

*testing in Counter Strike 1.6

*update:

Ok playing this in counter strike has no ghosting or lag issues. Who said you needed a Tn panel only for gaming wink.gif I got the best of both worlds.

*calibration

Waited 30 minutes then used x-rite Eye One Display 2 to calibrate with Eye Match software. I didn't use the provided hp assistant calibration tool since i have no idea what to do with it unless someone want to give some tips biggrin.gif

target:

D65

2.2 gamma

So anyway reset to factory. Then checked contrast, it was ok by default, next was RGB.

R = 242

G =221

B = 255

Brightness = 2

I used basIIColor to verify the final result as shown in the screenshot. Contrast isn't the full 1000, i wonder if it can be improved any thoughts ?  :confused:

Hm i don't see any grain by the way, someone asked this earlier :cool:

reviewing 1080P movie Ultra Violet encoded using H264 MKV.

According to phil, it didn't give an exact calibration which was as expected but it did improve some parts for him.

QUOTE(philjohn;1033004201)
Unfortunately not, our ambient light conditions must be very different, but thank you very much for posting it, the RGB values alone tone down the reds and greens to an acceptable level.

This however has made me speed up my purchase of an Eye One Display, will probably order sometime next week (when my supplier of choice should have them back in stock).

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 10 2008, 08:26 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 10 2008, 06:33 PM

4,456 posts

I asked from the X-rite website and they directed me to a local reseller.

Rm 1000 doh.gif

I tried to find cheaper but unfortunately this is the best price i could find. Selling locally in the US is cheaper compared to Malaysia and Singapore i found.

I didn't want to get a calibrator that was worse then the Eye One DIsplay 2 because it had such good reviews and being the cheapest for balance between quality calibration and price. Yes RM 1000 is a lot even for a so called best cheap calibrator but to me it was worth it.

I'd spend money on the monitor first, then if i have change i will get a calibrator :]

I live in Mutiara Damansara if any of you nearby i don't mind coming over to use my calibrator heh.
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 10 2008, 07:32 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ Sep 10 2008, 06:45 PM)
Wanna calibrate a Dell 2408WFP ??  brows.gif
Where you live firstly hmm.gif

By the way people i am selling my Dell 2405 FPW 24'' PVA WUXGA wide screen monitor. If anybody interested just pm me with your offers nod.gif

The condition is good and i have calibrated it already and can pass along the ICM profile for you to use on your pc which is a good deal. Calibrator is expensive, not many people have one cool.gif

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 10 2008, 09:28 PM

4,456 posts

I was thinking of that doh.gif no joke. Calibrator is damn expensive.

Transport fee + duit kopi biggrin.gif

Here's my new calibration on the HP LP2475W

Brightness: 9

Contrast: 80

R: 242

G: 213

B: 246

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 10 2008, 10:48 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 10 2008, 10:50 PM

4,456 posts

depends .....

I don't ever want to go lower then 24'' 1900x1200 native resolution ........ I am also hooked on PVA and IPS panels compared to TN.

26'' is my next target in the future, but i am too poor to look into that nor are there many good 26'' H-IPS monitors.

Anyway pop down to my sell thread for my previous monitor notworthy.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/788432/latest

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 10 2008, 11:17 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 11 2008, 02:16 AM

4,456 posts

You got calibrator ah xchoit ?
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 11 2008, 12:57 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(steven11 @ Sep 11 2008, 12:48 PM)
Hi xchoit, just wanna ask what OS u use? PC or Mac? your desktop(the top bar and dock at the bottom) quite cool, may i know how to get the skin? TQ smile.gif
That is not his monitor, he just copy from another forum.

The original poster was on a German forum. Somebody mentioned it was MACOS using star docks ? They also had posted the parrot wallpaper.

www.hardocp.com check the forum under the HP lp2475W thread for it nod.gif
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 11 2008, 06:14 PM

4,456 posts

Actually i already have smile.gif

Someone posted a very rare and kewl side by side picture shot of the HP LP2475W with the Hazro 24'' i version smile.gif

I uploaded some screenshots i took with my bro's camera.

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=E9NZ7AQR

nod.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 11 2008, 06:17 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0726sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:45 PM