- The original book/comic/movie/etc was better.
- It was great, not necessary need to follow the original.
So which sides are you on?
This post has been edited by firedauz: Jun 20 2008, 11:50 PM
FOLLOW THE ORIGINAL STORY LAH! <- is it necessary?, A look into originality, fans & critics
Jun 20 2008, 11:50 PM, updated 18y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
876 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Tokyo, London, Singapore, KL, Space |
Over the times, when any adaptation is done, we will get 2 major views from the ones who saw them:
- The original book/comic/movie/etc was better. - It was great, not necessary need to follow the original. So which sides are you on? This post has been edited by firedauz: Jun 20 2008, 11:50 PM |
Jun 21 2008, 01:54 AM
963 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
as long as a movie is good...no matter from where the source is, it will always be good...
Jun 21 2008, 02:15 AM
6,106 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang |
I personally don't think an adaptation needs to follow the source to the letter.And it's natural for ppl to compare which is better (source or adaptation),which is fine by me as well.
It's only annoying when ppl (or fanbois to be exact) condemn a movie simply because it didn't follow the source,regardless of whether the modification was actually from a neutral perspective, good or not. This post has been edited by ellimist: Jun 21 2008, 02:17 AM |
Jun 21 2008, 04:23 AM
244 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
i think dont do anything is the best. lol!
even if the movie is good, i wont think it'll be better than the comics. heck, even manga-to-animes are like that. i think its because that we can look at a single comic page or a frame to absorb as many information we want as long as we want. plus, pages could be flipped back to if we sorta missed something. but in the movies, the story is projected at 24 fps... so, i dunno how comic to movie translation like The Watchmen is going to be presented. cos in the comic, the illustrations were so detailed that certain plot elements were planted in the drawings. so, i think its almost impossible to follow the original story. (dragon ball how to follow? 100++ publications) This post has been edited by anthrax33: Jun 21 2008, 04:26 AM |
Jun 21 2008, 06:08 AM
10,672 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: shah alam - skudai - shah alam |
i've always advised anyone to watch the film first before going for its original source (be it a novel, comic, real-life event, game etc).
Jun 21 2008, 09:41 PM
2,054 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Johor Bahru, Johor |
its ok as long as the movie is ok, not KO.
only jgn la lari tajuk or lari jalan cite, kang x dapek sambutan baru nk nangeh |
Jun 21 2008, 09:48 PM
863 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Tanjung Segitiga Masonic Lodge |
QUOTE(crashoverride @ Jun 21 2008, 07:03 PM) as for me slight changes is acceptable. but when you change too much it is really piss inducing. take for example Da Vinci Code » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « LXG » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « i'm gonna hold my verdict for WANTED.. dah tengok baru bole komen eh? |
Jun 21 2008, 09:54 PM
12,275 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: KL |
Jun 21 2008, 10:13 PM
330 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
i think we shouldnt follow exactly the same.
No everything shuld be transcripted excatly into movie. Aslong as it is good, why not |
Jun 22 2008, 01:13 AM
1,232 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
an adaptation must stick to the original.for me,an adaptation is the way to show the story in motion pictures rather than just words or still pictures as in graphic novels or comics.that's why the movie must stick to the original story line,characters,timeline n etc so that it won't be different than the original.the way the director manages to picturized(i cant find the suitable word for now) the original story is very important.only good director can produce great adaptation.tim burton's batman is my all time favourite.he really show how dark bruce wayne is and how annoying joker can be.
Jun 22 2008, 01:26 AM
1,098 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
Not necessary to stick absolutely true to the source material. A movie is different from a comic book. Imagine if every minuscle detail of a comic book is put into a movie - it just won't work on the silver screen.
Of course, you "don't want to stray too far from the source material but to capture the heart of the content and put it in motion, that ultimately brings out the quality that was meant to be had." |
Jun 22 2008, 01:36 AM
725 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: Kuala Lumpur |
I would go for as long as the movie is good in terms of acting skills, story line, cinematography and many more. Originality will only gives me a guideline to the movie but i will be not impressed if the movie is not 'good'.
Jun 22 2008, 08:43 AM
10,672 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: shah alam - skudai - shah alam |
there are not many films that are better or atleast as good as the original source. but one film that's really outstanding to me is the prestige (hugh jackman, christian bale). the film is totally different from the novel, but gives a whole different insight to the novel. the novel is written in a 1st person account, something that is very hard to be interpreted into a film. realizing this, the script writers revamped the entire story telling, but maintained the original spirit and intention of the film.
the change was pretty obvious. the film is pretty obvious that it's a sci-fi flick. but the novel was not. it was a horror novel, almost to a point that touches on spirituality and life after death. totally different approach to the same story, but totally equal in presentation. |
Jun 22 2008, 01:08 PM
635 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: M'sia |
Actually,sometime it is a bit hard to follow the real story line,as sometime they will face some problem bout the story.
For me,as long as the story not edited too much,it is ok for me. |
| Change to: | 0.0439sec
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:24 PM |