Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

47 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom
Bump TopicReply to this topicRSS feed Start new topic Start Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> The Tomato/Victek's Tomato Firmware Club, Victek himself is here to help you !

Intrigue
post Jun 27 2008, 03:47 PM
L O W Y A T E R
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,858

Joined: Jan 2003
From: - Johore -


prasys... i just got the wrt54gl 2 days ago so i'm good to go for this firmware? Is there anything else that i need to take note of? I scare later kill my own router. THen as for the password and username. Is it the same?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
-Teddy-
post Jun 27 2008, 03:58 PM
meh
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,920

Joined: May 2006


QUOTE(Intrigue @ Jun 27 2008, 03:47 PM)
prasys... i just got the wrt54gl 2 days ago so i'm good to go for this firmware? Is there anything else that i need to take note of? I scare later kill my own router. THen as for the password and username. Is it the same?
*
I flashed mine within 5 minutes. For the username and password, both are "admin" in my case, if it won't work try "root". The only thing that troubles me after flashing is that I cannot find the place to enter my Streamyx login details, it's like hidden.

Just in case you are as blur as me, it's at Basic > Network > Choose PPPoE on the drop down menu (Type) under WAN / Internet. It took me quite sometime to look for it as I was searching on every single tab looking for the form, who knows it is hidden—considering I know quite nothing about those things.

Any free wifi signal strength monitor that will display signal strength in %? The bars aren't that reliable IMO.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Intrigue
post Jun 27 2008, 06:09 PM
L O W Y A T E R
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,858

Joined: Jan 2003
From: - Johore -


another tomato-er reporting in!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
prasys
post Jun 27 2008, 06:24 PM
<3 Ash
Group Icon
Group: Staff
Posts: 12,639

Joined: Mar 2005
From: Kuala Lumpur

QUOTE(Intrigue @ Jun 27 2008, 06:09 PM)
another tomato-er reporting in!
*
Are you into p2p ?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Intrigue
post Jun 27 2008, 06:50 PM
L O W Y A T E R
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,858

Joined: Jan 2003
From: - Johore -


QUOTE(prasys @ Jun 27 2008, 06:24 PM)
Are you into p2p ?
*
yea.. definitely.. thats what streamyx for.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
prasys
post Jun 27 2008, 07:42 PM
<3 Ash
Group Icon
Group: Staff
Posts: 12,639

Joined: Mar 2005
From: Kuala Lumpur

QUOTE(Intrigue @ Jun 27 2008, 06:50 PM)
yea.. definitely.. thats what streamyx for.
*
Use Speedmod version or the modded version. It improves overall RAM usage and total number of connections.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Intrigue
post Jun 27 2008, 08:13 PM
L O W Y A T E R
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,858

Joined: Jan 2003
From: - Johore -


QUOTE(prasys @ Jun 25 2008, 05:42 PM)
http://www.filesend.net/download.php?f=d7e...5941c8f6d1ec491

I am using that

_ Updated to BusyBox 1.10.2 (IP WAN DHCP renew tested and fixed)
_ JHash Conntrack 8092 connection (Speed Mod)
_ Conntrack default values adjusted for high P2P load
_ Theme for visual handicaped
_ Eight additional themes, Bluedream, Enlightenedd, Tijuana, Asus, Linksys, Buffalo
_ Spain TZ included
_ CPU Frequency.
_ Previous IP display
_ Two additional window for Button script
_ Bandwidth Limiter per IP/MAC
_ Code Optimization

It comes with SpeedMod + lots of mods and its way faster. It has improved QoS , which is better then regular Tomato !

http://www.linksysinfo.org/forums/showthread.php?t=57912
*
i'm using this
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
xjukie
post Jun 27 2008, 09:21 PM
Blogger photographer
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,235

Joined: Sep 2005
From: Kota Bharu - Klang Valley




so we can say speedmod for p2p geek and victek for superb QoS?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
prasys
post Jun 27 2008, 10:28 PM
<3 Ash
Group Icon
Group: Staff
Posts: 12,639

Joined: Mar 2005
From: Kuala Lumpur

QUOTE(xjukie @ Jun 27 2008, 09:21 PM)
so we can say speedmod for p2p geek and victek for superb QoS?
*
victek is jack of all trades. Victeck mod's includes the speedmod + Improved QoS. But since it has some extras , it doesn't give you as much of Free RAM as Speedmod's firmware. Both do have its pros and cons. If you are more into p2p and you want more memory space , then opt for speedmod. but if you're into qosing and p2p too , then opt for Victek
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
amyhs99
post Jun 28 2008, 12:02 PM
I'm Banned...
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,794

Joined: Jan 2003

Just switch from dd-wrt to the tasty tomato. When i'm using dd-wrt v24, i got dhcp problem. Now everything is solved after switch to tomato.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Intrigue
post Jun 28 2008, 12:29 PM
L O W Y A T E R
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,858

Joined: Jan 2003
From: - Johore -


with this tomato.. yesterday i tested at my house.

Compared to stock linksys firmware, i get occasionally high latency and poor connection. But with tomato.. it seems to be gone. I pump up to 70mw and the router doesn't becomes too hot.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
xjukie
post Jun 28 2008, 12:33 PM
Blogger photographer
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,235

Joined: Sep 2005
From: Kota Bharu - Klang Valley




QUOTE(Intrigue @ Jun 28 2008, 12:29 PM)
with this tomato.. yesterday i tested at my house.

Compared to stock linksys firmware, i get occasionally high latency and poor connection. But with tomato.. it seems to be gone. I pump up to 70mw and the router doesn't becomes too hot.
*
thumbup.gif rclxms.gif u wont regret at all after switched it.

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
amyhs99
post Jun 28 2008, 03:31 PM
I'm Banned...
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,794

Joined: Jan 2003

70mW consider safe for the router. But the best is to wait until warranty finish. Open up the router and put some "metals" inside it.

This post has been edited by amyhs99: Jun 28 2008, 04:21 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Graham
post Jun 28 2008, 05:56 PM
New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 45

Joined: Feb 2007
Hmm.. Any firmwares I could use on DSL-2640T
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
prasys
post Jun 28 2008, 06:16 PM
<3 Ash
Group Icon
Group: Staff
Posts: 12,639

Joined: Mar 2005
From: Kuala Lumpur

Well Tomato firmware is getting popular and its way better then DD-WRT in many ways. especially when it comes to stability. DD-WRT was once a good firmware and it is now bloated up as windows vista.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Graham
post Jun 28 2008, 06:38 PM
New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 45

Joined: Feb 2007
i'm using a DSL-2640T currently.. also got a WRT54GS which i'm flashing with tomato atm, but no spare modem so can't test it with internet... well I *could* through the dsl-2640t but it would add a few unneeded ms

I tried flashing it with WRT54GS.bin and it immediately said error, then I tried WRT54GSv4.bin and again a error thing popped up. What should I do?

I'm attempting to put Tomato 1.19.8815 Mod

This post has been edited by Graham: Jun 28 2008, 06:56 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
amyhs99
post Jun 29 2008, 03:51 PM
I'm Banned...
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,794

Joined: Jan 2003

Is there a way to completely block P2P using this firmware? I used the access restriction to block it now. But still haven't test whether it is working.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
wiraone
post Jun 29 2008, 05:27 PM
Who cares about all the stars?
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,427

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Back on earth!
Tomato has the predefined P2P applications/port numbers. Just include them in the access restriction rules and you'll be fine. It is so simple.. anyway, I'm using Tomato on WRT54GSv4 and WRT54GL .. both configured to support AP+WDS and the WRT54GSv4 as the Internet gateway connected to an ADSL modem. Been using Tomato since it was available and love the simplicity ..


Added on June 29, 2008, 5:34 pm
QUOTE(Graham @ Jun 28 2008, 06:38 PM)
I tried flashing it with WRT54GS.bin and it immediately said error, then I tried WRT54GSv4.bin and again a error thing popped up. What should I do?

I'm attempting to put Tomato 1.19.8815 Mod
*
What version do you have for your WRT54GS? Version 5 and above I believe is not supported by Tomato. You may need to go for DD-WRT.

This post has been edited by wiraone: Jun 29 2008, 05:34 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
davidlowjw
post Jun 29 2008, 05:57 PM
New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 39

Joined: Nov 2004
From: Miri, Sarawak


QUOTE(gsan @ Jun 21 2008, 10:31 AM)
personally I suggest to use Tomato if your router have large memory, eg. 32MB or above.
*
disagree...Tomato runs perfectly in my WRT54GL V1.1, which has only 16MB...
I only use ddwrt for its universal repeater feature... biggrin.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Graham
post Jun 29 2008, 06:10 PM
New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 45

Joined: Feb 2007
QUOTE(wiraone @ Jun 29 2008, 05:27 PM)
Tomato has the predefined P2P applications/port numbers. Just include them in the access restriction rules and you'll be fine. It is so simple.. anyway, I'm using Tomato on WRT54GSv4 and WRT54GL .. both configured to support AP+WDS and the WRT54GSv4 as the Internet gateway connected to an ADSL modem. Been using Tomato since it was available and love the simplicity ..


Added on June 29, 2008, 5:34 pm

What version do you have for your WRT54GS? Version 5 and above I believe is not supported by Tomato. You may need to go for DD-WRT.
*
ah damn it, it says version 6!

What choices do I have for firmware?

This post has been edited by Graham: Jun 29 2008, 06:11 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

47 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0834sec    5.86    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th June 2017 - 03:14 PM