Movies Quantum of Solace: 007 (November 6th, 2008), Craig: The Dark Knight Success of Bond
QuickFire
Jun 30 2008, 09:31 PM
QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Jun 30 2008, 08:48 PM) Kissing her bare back was the best part  But seriously, the hand combat looks very Bourne Ultimatum-ish the first movie was already bourne-ish. I think the trailer looks cool, but could have been edited better. havent seen much of the new bond girls, but I think they are hot. This post has been edited by QuickFire: Jun 30 2008, 09:34 PM
QuickFire
Jul 2 2008, 09:58 AM
QUOTE(farique @ Jul 2 2008, 08:10 AM) the trailer is out.. literally. Not available.  try here. http://www.mi6.co.uk/sections/articles/bon...&s=qos&id=01943
QuickFire
Nov 6 2008, 05:24 PM
Ignoring how bourne-ish it's becoming, the starting half-hour or so was really good. Halfway through though the action becomes rather workmanlike, and you cant fall back on the plot because it's underwhelming. By the end I still dont know what the hell is this Quantum organization about. Craig is good as Bond, but the bond girls while good looking (especially Olga) dont really hold your attention. Mads Mikkelsen played the sweaty, slimy ******* damn well in CR, Mathieu Amalric is about the same, except he's one-fifth of le Chiffe in terms of sweatiness, sliminess, and bastardness.
7/10. One more step towards Bourne, but two steps back from Casino Royale.
p/s: for comparison, the action in Bourne Ultimatum is superior to this.
This post has been edited by QuickFire: Nov 6 2008, 06:19 PM
QuickFire
Nov 6 2008, 06:15 PM
QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Nov 6 2008, 05:32 PM) The Bond girls have gotten from bad to worse over the years. Teri Hatcher was bad, Michelle Yeoh was worse, Denise Richards was rubbish. Of the recent Bond films, I've only liked Rosamund Pike. And now they go for these two Any reason why Campbell didn't want to return?  GoldenEye and CR were two of my fav Bond films (make that, the only two). Halle Berry was the worst! Yeoh was pretty bad too. Rosamund Pike was lovely, and Famke Janssen... now that's a real predator! I quite liked Eva Green too, though aesthetics-wise it sometimes looked like she was a bit too perfect. I dont like that (though I am by no means saying she isnt hot!). But very good acting. Gemma Arteton has very little screen time here. Olga is a beauty with a killer body to boot, but she lacks any real substance and her story isn't compelling enough (as is with the whole QoS story). This post has been edited by QuickFire: Nov 6 2008, 06:17 PM
QuickFire
Nov 7 2008, 09:51 PM
nothing is censored... though it sounded like there a small skip during the opening credits. Speaking of the credits, I actually like the song (listened to it before watching) but it doesnt work as a Bond tune. I also dislike alicia keys' voice. btw, ignore the review in today's The Star -- "... is a sequel of sorts to Casino Roayle". SEQUEL OF SORTS?? It's a direct frigging continuation!! I looked below and as expected... the reviewer was a female.  Plus the review has spoilers. Just stupid. This post has been edited by QuickFire: Nov 7 2008, 09:54 PM
QuickFire
Nov 7 2008, 11:34 PM
forgot about that... from what I heard the whole sex scene is like 5 seconds anyway. Haha.
QuickFire
Nov 8 2008, 09:45 PM
There wasn't a PG-13 before temple of doom.  It's become more Bourne-ish no doubt, but the unique Bond feel is still retained. This is better than that DAD dud anytime. Just bring aboard a director who has expertise in action movies (campbell is always welcome), a little less shakey cam, more dialogue and plot and the enxt can be a winner. I'll be looking forward to Bond23 anyhow. It's probably gonna be a direct continuation again.
QuickFire
Nov 10 2008, 02:45 PM
QUOTE(jehutyz @ Nov 10 2008, 08:36 AM) Watched it yesterday. I seldom watch Bond movie. Didn't watch Casino Royale. Personally I not really like it. It seem like bond movie is changing it path, more toward action movie. Or maybe i didn't really follow the series therefore i dono anything about it. From what i see it really different that last time. It just a normal action-packed movie which don't have the identity of Bond. So.... you prefer Die Another Day? Watch Casino Royale. It's a great Bond movie, a great action movie, great movie period. The last third is a bit lackluster, but the last scene more than makes up for it. One of the best endings, ever! Always gives me goosebumps, that. QoS isnt a great anything. But it's better than DAD.
QuickFire
Nov 12 2008, 12:48 AM
QUOTE(kding2 @ Nov 11 2008, 10:49 PM) Casino Royal's villain look evil? So, for the god sake, he even didnt have epic fight against Bond. Greene > Casino Royal Villain. Yeah, sure that Casino Royal villain did challenge the Bond's manhood but is that really satisfying to you? and again, the new bond series > previous bond movie IMO. You dont need gadget to become a 1337 agent. You call Bond's fight with Greene 'epic'? Le Chiffe and Greene are, in essence, evil businessmen. They aren't supposed to be in a fist fight with anyone weighing more than a 12-year old prepubescent kid! vil⋅lain /ˈvɪlən/ [vil-uhn] –noun 1. a cruelly malicious person who is involved in or devoted to wickedness or crime; scoundrel. I dont see "good in fist fights" anywhere. No where does it say a villain is good only if he's good in fist fights. Greene should have had his butt whipped within 5 seconds in his melee with bond. Le Chiffe was just a lot more like a slimy basterd. Greene on the other hand is no more than some middleman Bond (indirectly) kills in pursuit of higher goals. This post has been edited by QuickFire: Nov 12 2008, 12:51 AM
QuickFire
Nov 16 2008, 11:41 PM
I watched it a second time.
It's a good movie, that's for sure. Nothing spectacular, but solid enough. The editing and fist fights and that motorcycle chase might be straight out of Bourne, but the overall Bond feels is retained. I will be eagerly anticipating the next movie. 7/10.
My sister and mom kept saying how good looking Daniel Craig is (and I dont think they ever agreed on a thing before). Something to do with those blue eyes.
Mom: At first you see him he's ok lah... but after seeing him a few times, he's sooo handsome lah!
QuickFire
Nov 17 2008, 01:21 PM
and Olga is one fine girl. Not too pretty. Not too b****y. Ngam ngam.