4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Food Good food in Ampang?, recommend please

vivienne85
post Jun 30 2008, 06:01 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(sephiaric @ Jun 19 2008, 10:55 AM)
Ampang:
- Taiwan House (Beef Noodle) at Ampang Point

ya..love the noodles in Taiwan House...

sephiaric
post Jul 1 2008, 12:29 PM

50 posts

any other hot places around biggrin.gif ?
TSohho_poon
post Jul 1 2008, 02:58 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(sephiaric @ Jul 1 2008, 12:29 PM)
any other hot places around  biggrin.gif ?
i also wan to know too
mencelan
post Jul 1 2008, 03:09 PM

me too...recommend...sick of same old place laa..ehehehe..wink.gif...
-PenG-
post Jul 1 2008, 03:24 PM

62 posts

hey... why all donno what famous in Ampang? for chinese 1 sure is "Ampang Yong Tau Foo" ..la ,there are three restaurants serving delicious Yong Tau Foo in Ampang. Just drive down to Pekan Ampang one way street and you will see the row of restautants on your left. They are 'Ampang Homeland', 'Orchard View' and 'Fong Fong'. These three restaurants, side by side, separated by a small drain, offering a total of almost 150 tables, with seating capacity of nearly a 1000 people.

Yong tau foo is actually fish paste stuffed into items like smooth taufoo, ladies fingers, fried taufoo, chillies or sliced brinjals. You can also find them wrapped in thin soya skin (dumpling) which are then served in a soup or fried. The secret of the Ampang Yong Tau Foo is in the smooth white taufoo and the use good ikan parang (for the fish paste).

Besides Yong Tau Foo, these restaurants also serves 'deep fried chicken in wrapped paper' which goes well with the Yong Tau Foo. The Yong Tau Foo costs 70 cents a piece. Don't miss this delicious dishes when you come to Ampang. You will like it. smile.gif
blackburry
post Jul 1 2008, 10:36 PM

104 posts

Opposite Balai Police Ampang there is a kopitiam selling chicken rice. Quite famous. I forget the shop name thou.

I highly recommend Pat Kin Pat Sun @ Tmn. Shamelin wink.gif there food portion is large, not pricey & the taste of food is great! They served from Hong Kong style to Western. There is also steamboat. I recommend their claypot lou shu fun, tomyam soup, fried spaghetti, french toast & many many more .. as for drink.. try Ribena Soda smile.gif

This is 100% better than Station 1 & others HK style cafe smile.gif
xsaintx
post Jul 2 2008, 12:18 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(blackburry @ Jul 1 2008, 10:36 PM)
Opposite Balai Police Ampang there is a kopitiam selling chicken rice. Quite famous. I forget the shop name thou.

I highly recommend Pat Kin Pat Sun @ Tmn. Shamelin wink.gif there food portion is large, not pricey & the taste of food is great! They served from Hong Kong style to Western. There is also steamboat. I recommend their claypot lou shu fun, tomyam soup, fried spaghetti, french toast & many many more .. as for drink.. try Ribena Soda smile.gif

This is 100% better than Station 1 & others HK style cafe smile.gif
i went to pat kin pat sun once and the food was very disappointing! i never went back again...

at the pekan ampang thr got the famous loke yun chicken rice. SUPER YUMMY! thumbup.gif
blackburry
post Jul 2 2008, 12:32 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(xsaintx @ Jul 2 2008, 12:18 AM)
i went to pat kin pat sun once and the food was very disappointing! i never went back again...

at the pekan ampang thr got the famous loke yun chicken rice. SUPER YUMMY!  thumbup.gif
izzit ?? wat u order that time? unsure.gif
i went there many many times edi.. i brought my fren. After that my fren brought her frens & family they all love that place too..

so dat kopitiam name is loke yun lar? ? laugh.gif yummy right ? drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
xsaintx
post Jul 2 2008, 01:57 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(blackburry @ Jul 2 2008, 12:32 AM)
izzit ?? wat u order that time?  unsure.gif
i went there many many times edi.. i brought my fren. After that my fren brought her frens & family they all love that place too..

so dat kopitiam name is loke yun lar? ? laugh.gif yummy right ?  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
forgot what i ordered edi, it was long long time ago. maybe it was just tat day..

the hainanese chicken rice damn delicious! my fren who studies in australia will ask me to bring her thr everytime she comes back. thr was a period when my dad always brought us thr for brunch on sundays...will never get sick of it biggrin.gif
sephiaric
post Jul 2 2008, 11:07 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(-PenG- @ Jul 1 2008, 03:24 PM)
hey... why all donno what famous in Ampang? for chinese 1 sure is "Ampang Yong Tau Foo" ..la ,there are three restaurants serving delicious Yong Tau Foo in Ampang. Just drive down to Pekan Ampang one way street and you will see the row of restautants on your left. They are 'Ampang Homeland', 'Orchard View' and 'Fong Fong'. These three restaurants, side by side, separated by a small drain, offering a total of almost 150 tables, with seating capacity of nearly a 1000 people.

Yong tau foo is actually fish paste stuffed into items like smooth taufoo, ladies fingers, fried taufoo, chillies or sliced brinjals. You can also find them wrapped in thin soya skin (dumpling) which are then served in a soup or fried. The secret of the Ampang Yong Tau Foo is in the smooth white taufoo and the use good ikan parang (for the fish paste).

Besides Yong Tau Foo, these restaurants also serves 'deep fried chicken in wrapped paper' which goes well with the Yong Tau Foo. The Yong Tau Foo costs 70 cents a piece. Don't miss this delicious dishes when you come to Ampang. You will like it.  smile.gif
lol, i really forgot Ampang is famous for its Yong Tau Foo.

Many good restaurant/stall serving it icon_rolleyes.gif
barca
post Jul 3 2008, 08:17 PM

535 posts

I just went to eat Yong Tau Foo at Fong Fong for my lunch with my gf!!!yummy...and the price was increased to 80 cent a piece!!!!
xsaintx
post Jul 4 2008, 12:12 AM

172 posts

had yong tau foo at orchard view yesterday..not that nice.
Andrewhajime
post Jul 9 2008, 03:39 PM

2,171 posts

anyone know where to find " tang yuen " around KL area ?
4Rings
post Jul 9 2008, 03:49 PM

Lord of the Rings
1,783 posts

The best Ampang Yong Tau Fu is at the restaurant opposite On Pong Chinese School.
lot101
post Jul 10 2008, 01:57 AM

Apa got sing sing one......
603 posts

QUOTE(Andrewhajime @ Jul 9 2008, 03:39 PM)
anyone know where to find " tang yuen " around KL area ?
Crap if yo uasked me a month ago I would have remembered, best bet go down to the Super to buy a bag and DIY tongue.gif

Really bored with Ampang YTF......whats good would depend on your taste buds. I tend to lean towards the Peel rd/Maluri one they still serve wild boar curry =P but they just changed their filling again...salt fish is too over powering.

I second the Iranian place in Ampwalk. Cant speak for the tea though. I used to frequent the deli France in Hock Choon for brekkie since they serve freshly baked bread real early.

The usual franchise foods usually suck compared to what the surrounding areas have to offer.

Taiwan noodle house hmmmmmmm you guys should try Korea town across the road. There is a place which serves ice noodles there. Forgot the name of the place. laugh.gif

Oh, if you are hankering for Japenese food Octupus first or second floor the shopping mall in ampang point. I usually eat there when I see the owner.....which is quite rare.

Ampang eats usually kopitiams. too long to list.

mugenh22a
post Jul 10 2008, 08:36 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(vivienne85 @ Jun 30 2008, 06:01 PM)
ya..love the noodles in Taiwan House...
went to taiwan house last Sun and this restaurant seems run down.
Order a Sabu sabu and a beef glass noodle
The foods were average and the chili was too spicy for my liking.

price is affordable. smile.gif

kantiaros
post Jul 10 2008, 08:48 AM

142 posts

where is this place ? Madam Kwan Ice cream house

I tried Yoshinoyo ( i hope i spelt correctly) , the korean bbq is nice but i think a bit pricey..hehe, you need to barbeque(charcoal) the marinated meat yourself, the meat is delicious!
sephiaric
post Jul 11 2008, 11:22 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(kantiaros @ Jul 10 2008, 08:48 AM)
where is this place ? Madam Kwan Ice cream house

I tried Yoshinoyo ( i hope i spelt correctly) , the korean bbq is nice but i think a bit pricey..hehe, you need to barbeque(charcoal) the marinated meat yourself, the meat is delicious!
Madam Kwan Ice Cream House is located at Pandan Indah, its beside the Suzuki Showroom. The area whereby there is pasar malam on friday.
ImSIEBEL
post Jul 11 2008, 11:37 AM

| Mile High Club |
755 posts

where is this taiwan beef noodle at ? wanna try ler...im not from ampang btw, juz that i frequent travel there to pick my friend up ( near suzi's corner )...izzit near there ? smile.gif
acid_head
post Jul 11 2008, 01:47 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(barca @ Jun 21 2008, 03:00 AM)
Oh yeah,TS is go to Taman Cempaka also got 1 Thailand Seafood Restaurant very nice...opened on 6pm-10.30pm only...lot of Foreigner have their dinner at there...
bro? izit that restaurant's boss is thai?

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0158sec    0.67    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:22 AM