University -+-+- Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM) -+-+-, Now with PIX on 1st page!

TSeuropology
post Jun 21 2008, 06:53 PM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

QUOTE(bononoz @ Jun 21 2008, 03:28 PM)
From PTPTN website:
Pemohon hendaklah memohon pinjaman PTPTN secara online melalui Laman Web Pinjaman online di alamat http://epinjaman.ptptn.gov.my.  Akan tetapi, pemohon hanya boleh memohon mengikut tarikh buka dan tutup IPT masing masing.

When is closing date to apply for ptptn online for USM?

can i just avoid doing online and do manually at USM there..maybe easier?
The bold words say it all. smile.gif

You must print it out and photocopy certain pages the number of copies it requires.

QUOTE(redlynxchan @ Jun 21 2008, 06:02 PM)
eh? i thought during orientation there'll be a session for ptptn loan application?

I already sent lampiran A to USM... oddly, my buku panduan i downloaded form USM didn't state to use their envelope... so weird one!!! >.<

europology, did you do your medical checkup b4 start of uni?
Probably it's using your own envelope. I could be wrong cos I din use this method last yr. I just handed it to them when I arrived in USM.

Medical checkups will be conducted in USM. You guys will be doing this in USM's clinic.

ATTENTION TO ALL PTPTN NEW APPLICANTS!
Make sure EACH PRINTED PAGE bears the PTPTN logo watermark (must be in blue), else they won't accept it. There may be certain pages which do not bear the watermark. So what we did last yr was to get a blank piece of paper and print out the watermark first (there are certain pages with only the watermark and no words in the PTPTN acrobat document) and then print the page that you want on that paper. Get those related documents signed and verified in BLACK-INKED BALLPOINTS. Those who have no printing service at home, you can do that in USM but with a hefty charge applied (1 page = RM0.10).

This post has been edited by europology: Jun 21 2008, 08:21 PM
TSeuropology
post Jun 21 2008, 08:20 PM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

QUOTE(maniac08 @ Jun 21 2008, 07:32 PM)
where to get the watermark?
The watermark is the big blue-ish PTPTN logo on every page of the PTPTN acrobat document.

QUOTE(*serenity* @ Jun 21 2008, 08:00 PM)
I see. Because I heard that the hostels in the campus are more strict. Spot checks are often done to see if the students are in the room. My mom's friend used to take care of the aman damai campus and she said she had to go check every night. And  I got aman damai. doh.gif

Alright gotta check on it then. It's kinda scary to stay in aman damai as my bro's gf said many negative stuff about it. She's staying in tekun and she said tekun is much nicer to stay... *gulps*

and how's the toilets? i know it's cubicle type but are the door the ones u can lock or is it the curtain type?

thanks again
Tekun's the best hostel so far among all hostels with cleaner environment and good WIFi connection.

The toilet and bathroom cubicles come with locks. You can only find those curtain types in the West lol.
TSeuropology
post Jun 22 2008, 01:05 AM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

QUOTE(hokuan @ Jun 21 2008, 10:00 PM)
I heard there's an insect that will bite us, after the bite will leave a mark if didn't do anything. is the any method to prevent it?
Not every hostel has it... Most of them linger around Indah Kembara. You can go to USM Clinic to request for ointments to rub on the insect bites. Don't worry, it's free.
TSeuropology
post Jun 22 2008, 01:16 AM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

QUOTE(maniac08 @ Jun 22 2008, 01:06 AM)
any idea about indah kembara?

do we get to choose the room type. For example, 1 per room, 2 per room , 3 per room etc or they assign for us?
Indah Kembara (IK) has big tables and all beds are double-deckers. Your table is located on the lower deck and ur bed is the upper deck. IK is notorious for its small fans, so its advisable to bring another portable fan with u although it's a banned item. So u gotta keep it in a proper place when not in use.

This post has been edited by europology: Jun 22 2008, 01:17 AM
TSeuropology
post Jun 22 2008, 01:20 AM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

they'll assign for u... i'm not sure whether u can choose or not, probably no.
TSeuropology
post Jun 23 2008, 01:26 AM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

QUOTE(bononoz @ Jun 22 2008, 11:47 PM)
concerning things to bring : 1. Is kettle allowed ? 2. Is mattress provided ? 3. Need to/can bring iron + ironing board?
Where are you from?

Regarding your Qs,

1: NOOOOOO... All electrical items are BANNED, except like chargers for laptops/cells. But you can bring there, just that you have to keep it in a proper place. Once you get caught using it during spot checks (which is very rare lah), you'll be fined RM50 and ur name will be blacklisted (or smth like that). If you're scared, there are kettles provided (shared by many others), which I think is erm... pretty unhygienic. I did bring mine there, so far I'm still safe lol. *touch wood*

2. Yup... But do bring your own pillow and sheets.

3. As in #1, NOOOOO... But they are provided in the laundry room.
TSeuropology
post Jun 25 2008, 04:53 PM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

NOTES:

1. The sum you can clear it all at ONCE. That'll save you al the fuss and hassle.

2. The watermark is the big big blue logo on the paper background.
TSeuropology
post Jun 27 2008, 07:07 PM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

Hohoho... I guess this thread will be silent for at least a few weeks... tongue.gif
TSeuropology
post Jul 6 2008, 12:51 AM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

So what's up guys? How's it so far? tongue.gif
TSeuropology
post Jul 7 2008, 08:51 PM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

QUOTE(tkn1201 @ Jul 6 2008, 10:19 AM)
was wondering if i wann hit the gym do i have 2 pay? n wat time to wat time? one more thing wat time is the last bus? tq
No need IIANM.

As fr the bus, I think it's from 7.00/7.30am (not so sure tongue.gif) to 10.00 pm.
TSeuropology
post Jul 13 2008, 02:50 AM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

So HBP juniors, I heard some complaints regarding last night's event. Get used to it, it's somewhat a tradition of the school, regardless you like or do not like it. smile.gif

But don't blame me lah! I was not involved in that! tongue.gif
TSeuropology
post Jul 16 2008, 02:35 PM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

Tekun's food is the best u can get in the campus. Others I have no comments. tongue.gif

If you get bored with the campus food, try Sungai Dua, Khaleel etc. smile.gif
TSeuropology
post Jul 20 2008, 01:19 AM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

QUOTE(kueh karas @ Jul 18 2008, 07:24 PM)
hi miss oliver.. kui kui kui..

i'm oliver crime partner.. i'm glad to help who need my help esp archi junior...

LOL since when oliver becomes a MISS? tongue.gif doh.gif

QUOTE(tkn1201 @ Jul 20 2008, 12:12 AM)
agreed so far no place can beat ik price.... but not so much on the taste... i urge ppl(especially boys) 2 boycot the tekun mia hooi cafe....
Hooi cafe's pricing kinda scare me off during my first time there. But after buying from him consistently, he'll give u a much cheaper price. I eat a lot (twice as much as one would normally eat) but he still count me cheap. But this depends on what type of dishes u're getting. Broccolis are expensive as far as I know.
TSeuropology
post Aug 15 2008, 05:57 PM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

RST isn't that strict lately (I mean b4 convo)... Dunno why lol.
TSeuropology
post Nov 26 2008, 12:38 AM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

QUOTE(Panda12 @ Nov 22 2008, 05:04 AM)
Wow.. I'm truely amazed by the beauty of the environment there! This place has really good environment for studying, man. Is the cost studying there expensive?
Expensive? You must be kiddin' me. It's a public uni, not some private colleges. tongue.gif

QUOTE(f4tE @ Nov 22 2008, 10:15 AM)
LOL..sweet and bitter memories there..just graduated...so can joni this thread r?
Oh sure!
TSeuropology
post Nov 27 2008, 06:21 AM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

QUOTE(NutterButters @ Nov 27 2008, 01:28 AM)
Helloooo all...*waves*

1st year student here...School of Chemical Sciences...

I was wondering...what happens in the first week of the 2nd semester? Do we start attending lectures right away?

Oh, and I'm curious...what happens when you fail a subject? Do you retake it right away in the 2nd semester?
Yes, we have lectures starting from the first day.

You'll need to resit for the paper if you fail. I'm not so sure about your last q, but some students retake the subject and attend the lectures all over again in their next sem.
TSeuropology
post Sep 15 2009, 10:27 PM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

long time din come and pay this thread a visit... tongue.gif
TSeuropology
post Jul 21 2010, 02:36 AM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

QUOTE(pc123 @ Jul 20 2010, 02:28 PM)
Ishh, im wounded by those bugs..now there are so many red spots on my body =.= can the health centre do anything?
IIANM, the clinic will probably gv u an ointment to rub on those bites.

0.0459sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:58 PM