Casings recommendation thread, What to buy, where to buy, how much?

akachester
post Apr 4 2007, 06:45 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 4 2007, 06:01 PM)
What type of casing?
If you're talking about Lian Li, yes, it is available at Lowyat Plaza.

Find ATE Computers, and feel the love on each of the Lian Li casing.

Lian Li casings doesn't have those fancy schmancy desing like Thermaltake [EEUUWW!!!].
Lian Li design their casings to look smart and more to executive looks. wub.gif

Thermaltake [EEUUWW!!! again] design their casings to look fancy schmancy like children toys. laugh.gif
Do you know where i could find the pricing for LL cases online?Thinking of getting one as well if i got the budget in the future..lol..

And just wondering, is that PC007B full alu?Kinda attracted to it since the price is good as well.Maybe its time to dump my C5..lol..

This post has been edited by akachester: Apr 4 2007, 06:47 PM
akachester
post Apr 4 2007, 07:38 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 4 2007, 07:27 PM)
I don't think you can find any pricing for LL casing online. sweat.gif

PC007B is full alu, dude, where got Lian Li casing got no full alu? laugh.gif
lol..i dont know anything about LL casing before.Just realise how beautiful they are but the price as seen in those garage sales was sweat.gif ..Seems so expensive..lol..But reading from the top, there is low end LL casing priced below RM300 which should be fine with me.Therefore, i kinda interested to get it..Too bad it has a big 24cm fan rclxub.gif Hate that..lol...Any version below RM300 that dont have that big fan but comes with side panel window?
akachester
post Apr 4 2007, 07:58 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 4 2007, 07:55 PM)
Not scream la, it's more than want to puke when i hear thermaltake name. tongue.gif

A10?
That's my previous dream casing. laugh.gif

Now my dream casing is V1200B Plus II!!! wub.gif  wub.gif
lol...I love the V1200B as well but damn, at that price point, i would have been broke..

Now i understand more about that LL..lol..About the PC007, does it come with sidepanel window?I wanted a sidepanel window as well...Below RM300 should be affordable with me but not for now..maybe a month time.. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by akachester: Apr 4 2007, 07:58 PM
akachester
post Apr 5 2007, 12:22 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Just wondering, is the difference between the PC-7 and the PC-007 only at the sidepanel?From the look of the front design, it seems there aint much difference.If they are the same, i guess my best choice (if i am going to get this casing) would be getting the PC-7, take out that fugly 24cm fan, and replace it with a normal acrylic...Damn, i am starting to get addicted to LL...lol..

Anyway, just found this out.If any of you needed to know the price of LL casing in ATE, there is an updated price list at hardwarezone malaysia.Try finding it there...

This post has been edited by akachester: Apr 5 2007, 12:25 AM
akachester
post Apr 5 2007, 07:31 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Just wondering, how do we know whether a casing is going to fit an ATX mobo or its design to fit the mATX version?

Is the V600 able to fit an ATX mobo?Cause from their website, they state that it will fit P4 mobo and ATX but from ATE's price list, its categorized as mATX..
akachester
post Apr 5 2007, 02:33 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

I am interested in this 2 models as well.If any of you know the price, please do inform here ok..

PC-7BYCF and PC-007B
akachester
post Apr 5 2007, 07:43 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ Apr 5 2007, 05:30 PM)
Just now look some Lian li casing on web, some air flow interesting, back fan also intake air go in....
pc-G7 not bad ah XD.

Some i still don't understand, infront got fan and without hole how to intake air go in ?
Yea, i have this doubt as well.There are some casing that have a cover at the front without any ventilation holes but there is a front intake fan.How do they actually provide the air for intake?Casings like the LL PC-A10 (IINM) have front plate to cover those roms slot etc.
akachester
post Apr 5 2007, 10:26 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ Apr 5 2007, 08:45 PM)
Ic...  that G7 not bad leh, more expensive than pc-7 ?
The G7 seems to be the cheapest LL available as far as i can see..But not sure whether ATE still have them or not cause i am really tempted.Damn, if only i could have my budget earlier..
akachester
post Apr 6 2007, 01:00 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

How about the 007?Do ATE still have those?I still cant consider those high end, uber expensive LL.If not, i would need to abandon the ambition of owning a LL..lol...
akachester
post Apr 6 2007, 01:06 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(fo33il @ Apr 6 2007, 01:04 AM)
for 007...ATE still got them... rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
better hurryyyyy... laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Oh..My....

Then this is too tempting. And i thought i wanted 1month to get the budget and buy the casing..Damn.. drool.gif
akachester
post Apr 6 2007, 09:18 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 6 2007, 09:13 AM)
You don't want that 25CM fan?
Easy.

Take out the sidepanle that comes with the 25CM fan, buy a new arcylic in any advertisement makers shops, cut the new arcylic to the same size of the original arcylic that comes with the LL casing, then put the new arcylic on the sidepanel back, then wallah! laugh.gif
Yea, thats what i had been thinking as well.I dont want that 25cm fan but asking me to cut an acrylic seems sweat.gif ..lol...Maybe i just go ahead and ask people to do it for me..lol..

EDITED:

Actually from ATE's price list, they list down the PC-007 as a version that comes with side panel and a 25cm fan.Does this means that the casing is actually the PC-7?

This post has been edited by akachester: Apr 6 2007, 09:23 AM
akachester
post Apr 6 2007, 09:29 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 6 2007, 09:26 AM)
You're in PJ dude, just send your sidepanel to ianho and get yourself a new sidewindow that doesn't have that fugly fan. laugh.gif

Plus, u can also ask him to make you a sidewindow with a smaller fan either 80mm, 92mm or 120mm. thumbup.gif
Great idea as well.Wondering how much would that cost..Will need to find him later i guess if i really buy that.But need to wait another 1-2 weeks before i could get them.Anyway, is having a side fan recommended?I mean, it makes alot of difference in term of airflow and temperature?

This post has been edited by akachester: Apr 6 2007, 09:30 AM
akachester
post Apr 6 2007, 09:54 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 6 2007, 09:40 AM)
Yes!
You know that the PC-G7 has the sidepanel fan right?
I made the sidepanel fan as intake [originally, it's exhaust] to cool my 8800, and to my surprise, my 8800 were 5 degrees cooler compared to if the sidepanel fan were not there. thumbup.gif

So, it's up to you either you want to put fan there or not, but if i were you, i'd put a blowhole on the sidepanel to blow directly to my GFX. thumbup.gif
Great.Thanks for the idea..I guess all i need to do now is find $$$ and get that LL...
akachester
post Apr 6 2007, 01:04 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

I would say, if wasnt for the Aluminium body of the LL, i dont think i will consider the lower end of LL casing..
akachester
post Apr 6 2007, 06:53 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ Apr 6 2007, 06:01 PM)
outdoorxplorer so nice XD.
Hmm dont know still got other stock like pc-7 or g7 or not.
Many people have said that the PC-G7 is already out of stock at ATE and they would not restock it as it had discontinued production already.Thats why i turn my attention to the PC-007...
akachester
post Apr 7 2007, 12:27 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Just wondering, is the 007 still in production?If it is, then i guess they would still be able to order them right if its out of stock?
akachester
post Apr 7 2007, 08:37 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Apr 7 2007, 05:28 AM)
the best thing about Lian Li transparent side panel is that the acrylic is riveted...

it's easy to get it off, wait till u want to put em back --> the acrylic will crack laugh.gif

wanna use screws, fine wait till how fugly it looks laugh.gif

remember my black parade, the transparent side panel should have been riveted, but somehow Ianho couldn't do it, cause the acrylic crack, dunno if he got a new method solving it icon_rolleyes.gif

so Ianho, already found the solution??? brows.gif i bet lotsa ppl gonna send their 007 to replace with a new acrylic
Well, then that should be a trouble eh rclxub.gif Was really hoping to get this next week an join the Ah Lian's Club if my budget arrives..lol..Any other cheap LL casing besides teh G7 and 007?
akachester
post Apr 7 2007, 01:57 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Is the 007 good for cable management?I am having trouble doing good cable management with my C5 and i would hope that my next casing would be easier..I noticed about the A05 as well but its too small to my liking.I had considered the V600 before but after seeing the casing in ianho's MiniMe, i decided to give it about for the reason of having the PSU almost clashing with the mobo..
akachester
post Apr 7 2007, 03:23 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Apr 7 2007, 03:11 PM)
hmmm ... 007 has good internal for cable management ... the only weakness is the HDD cage is not easy maintain as compared to G7 ..

u could check out the Lian Li thread for picture of G7 ... then determine urself ...

for me 007 and G7 is one of the easist case in doing nice cable management of course G7 still is the winner with the betrer HDD cage design ...
Ok.If thats the case, the 007 would be my best choice as of now.If any of you did went to ATE, please do inform me regarding the price and availability of it as i might be going there next weekend to purchase one... rclxm9.gif
akachester
post Apr 17 2007, 11:02 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(awh85 @ Apr 16 2007, 07:21 PM)
anyone have any comments comparing the cm elite 330/331 with the cm centurion 5. i went to see them last week and feel that the centurion 5 is like more harder as in better quality.

the power button also looks and feels better, unlike the 331 that is kinda loose and cheap. the 330 is not that bad tho. dang, now i gotta raise my budget for a cent 5 again. T_T
I have use the C5 before changing to the LL and i must say that the C5 is very well made. Love it very much but there is a few problems that i encounter :

The filters of the C5 really collects alot of dust. You will need to clean it up very often as you will see a tiny layer of dust after a few days.

Taking off the front panel might be troublesome. This is because you will need to take it out whenever you wanted to clean the front intake fan and take out the Rom. Besides, the pins of the leg are kinda flimsy and you must becareful taking them off. I damages one leg before previously and there is no way you could replace them.

Cable management is extremely tough. No many places for you to hide the cables..

Other than those, i like the C5 very much.For a low price and a good design, especially being tooless as well, it is a very good casing. The built quality is very very good and tough. Anyway, besides white, silver side, and blue side, i also say a fully black (black side) as well at ALL IT the other day when i went to LYP..

This post has been edited by akachester: Apr 17 2007, 11:03 AM

0.0193sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:18 AM