Casings recommendation thread, What to buy, where to buy, how much?
sHawTY
Apr 6 2007, 08:34 AM
QUOTE(vincent09 @ Apr 6 2007, 08:12 AM) Because of ATX, so what we need to care if buy LL casing? Like inside enought space to put many pci card or those big big cpu fans inside or something like that problem ? Make it simple. If a casing can fit ATX, it can fit various types of board from Mini ATX, Micro ATX to Full Size ATX but not extended ATX. Full size ATX board has 7 slots that consists of mixed PCI-E, PCI, or AGP slot, it depend on your motherboard itself. Normally all Lian Li casings can fit any types of heatsink fan. Except for those casings that are made for HTPC setups. **Extended ATX boards are a very rare occasion.The easiest way to find out is to give us the model of your motherboard. This post has been edited by sHawTY: Apr 6 2007, 08:34 AM
sHawTY
Apr 6 2007, 09:13 AM
QUOTE(nazerry @ Apr 6 2007, 08:44 AM) LL PC-007 + transparent window + 25cm fan (ayyo..  ) = RM288 You don't want that 25CM fan? Easy. Take out the sidepanle that comes with the 25CM fan, buy a new arcylic in any advertisement makers shops, cut the new arcylic to the same size of the original arcylic that comes with the LL casing, then put the new arcylic on the sidepanel back, then wallah! This post has been edited by sHawTY: Apr 6 2007, 09:14 AM
sHawTY
Apr 6 2007, 09:26 AM
QUOTE(akachester @ Apr 6 2007, 09:18 AM) Yea, thats what i had been thinking as well.I dont want that 25cm fan but asking me to cut an acrylic seems  ..lol...Maybe i just go ahead and ask people to do it for me..lol.. EDITED: Actually from ATE's price list, they list down the PC-007 as a version that comes with side panel and a 25cm fan.Does this means that the casing is actually the PC-7? You're in PJ dude, just send your sidepanel to ianho and get yourself a new sidewindow that doesn't have that fugly fan. Plus, u can also ask him to make you a sidewindow with a smaller fan either 80mm, 92mm or 120mm.
sHawTY
Apr 6 2007, 09:40 AM
QUOTE(akachester @ Apr 6 2007, 09:29 AM) Anyway, is having a side fan recommended?I mean, it makes alot of difference in term of airflow and temperature? Yes! You know that the PC-G7 has the sidepanel fan right? I made the sidepanel fan as intake [originally, it's exhaust] to cool my 8800, and to my surprise, my 8800 were 5 degrees cooler compared to if the sidepanel fan were not there. So, it's up to you either you want to put fan there or not, but if i were you, i'd put a blowhole on the sidepanel to blow directly to my GFX.
sHawTY
Apr 8 2007, 07:39 AM
QUOTE(unamed @ Apr 8 2007, 02:27 AM) I want to go get a 007 too since it's consireably cheap for being fully aluminium! But i can't drive yet! How to get there tru public transport(rapidkl, LRT)? Is it possible for me to get that casing to subang using public transport?  Take the monorail in imbi to KL sentral, then, from kl sentral, use komuter to komuter subang, and wallah! You got yourself a PC-007 and u have arrive subang safely.
sHawTY
Apr 9 2007, 09:16 AM
sHawTY
Apr 10 2007, 10:40 AM
QUOTE(Doom @ Apr 9 2007, 02:53 PM) @sHawTY ... what's so nice about this case besides it's small size ??? Are u considering to do a bulk or just to give some alternative to the forumer here ..... Nothing, i just post about that casing here, afterall, this is a casing recommandation thread right? QUOTE(blessedvillain @ Apr 10 2007, 10:26 AM) May I know which is exciting casing? Still not sure wat casing to get for average budget. I'm not looking for fancy, pancy casing, just a good casing with good airflow (12cm fan) and silent. All LL casing is exciting, it doesn't have the "fancy schmancy" design. All LL casing design is smart and cool, it have the executive look. This post has been edited by sHawTY: Apr 10 2007, 10:41 AM
sHawTY
Apr 20 2007, 07:59 AM
QUOTE(zul2 @ Apr 20 2007, 07:18 AM) apa lebihnya kalu pakai case aluminium compare with normal case? mmg la lg cantik, but dr segi penyejukan system main pranan gak ke? (just wondering; never use alum case, still using old style ATX case  ) The most important thing about using Aluminium casing would be: LightweightTake a sample of two casings that is on the same size, and the material is on the same thickness. One of them is using SECC material, and one of them is aluminium. Then compare the weight by yourself. There you'll see that aluminium cases are either half the weight of the SECC casing and the max would be 70% of the weight of an SECC chasis. Just my opinion though.
sHawTY
Apr 22 2007, 01:47 AM
Do remember that 1-3 degrees in temperature drop is not something that you should take lightly. 1-3 degrees of temperature drop is very high for me. That's why i choose Alu case.
sHawTY
Apr 22 2007, 04:09 PM
QUOTE(point blanc @ Apr 22 2007, 03:06 PM) sHawTY, erm...sHawTY can u tell me why 1-3C drop shouldn't be taken lightly? i'm a noob in pc temp control... Think, with 1-3 degrees less in temps, don't you think you can overclock your hardwares higher? Yes you do. That's why a temp differences of 1-3 degrees is something you should not take lightly.
sHawTY
May 22 2007, 11:09 PM
sHawTY
May 22 2007, 11:20 PM
QUOTE(tyrion4 @ May 22 2007, 11:17 PM) Wow. Nice case! They finally dumped the shameless fatality branding. Not actually right. The Fatal1ty case is still up & selling. It's just that this new model doesn't have that buggers name anymore. If you look carefully, you'll see the differences between this casing and the Fatal1ty casing.
sHawTY
May 23 2007, 10:06 AM
QUOTE(akachester @ May 23 2007, 09:57 AM) Still look better with Red LED though to me..lol..Good job in ditching the Over-Hyped Fatal1ty branding and come bring the price down...lol... That's true, the one that comes with Red LED's look better.
sHawTY
Jul 9 2007, 12:35 PM
Give some good reason why you don't want Lian Li V2K Series.  You want to know why no one is suggesting Thermaltake Shark? Because it's a casing for childrens, for kids.  Elite users only choose three, Lian-Li, Silverstone and last but not least, Soldam. This post has been edited by sHawTY: Jul 9 2007, 12:37 PM
sHawTY
Jul 9 2007, 12:47 PM
QUOTE(newmel @ Jul 9 2007, 12:45 PM) LoL, Lian Li too expensive lerr abang Shawty... lu sponsor aku 1/2 aku beli lor... then I spraypaint your name on top kekekekekeke deal?  Ahh, you can buy expensive hardwares, why can't afford a Lian Li V2K?
sHawTY
Jul 13 2007, 01:24 AM
What makes you say aluminium casings are heavier than arcylic casings? IMO, aluminium casinsg is lighter than arcyclic casings. And seriously, any reason why you want arcylic casings? You said in the first post you always move your PC around, seriously, you don't want an arcylic casings, just a little bump, and there'll be a crack on the casing. If i were you, i'll stick with some good ol' aluminium casing, yes it's not sturdy as SECC, but it's more sturdy than an arcylic casing. The weight is a plus point too, as aluminium casing is lighter than SECC.
sHawTY
Jul 13 2007, 06:57 AM
QUOTE(SephirothX @ Jul 13 2007, 01:37 AM) What's SECC? I supposed it's a metal type casing right? Btw, I heard that aluminium is stronger than metal? Yes. SECC is steel. But your sentences about aluminium stronger than metal is wrong. Aluminium is softer than metal. Thus, aluminium can bent easily compared to stell casing.