4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Casings recommendation thread, What to buy, where to buy, how much?

E-J@1
post Jun 24 2007, 10:35 PM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

QUOTE(Samanoske Akechi @ Jun 24 2007, 10:20 PM)
Lol.....why so mean?  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  His method of asking should signify that he's not too familiar with casings around here....

@ Exhilaration - E-J@1 here's just kidding around, don't take that too seriously....tongue.gif tongue.gif What he wants to convey is that you'll need to specify more than just 'transparent side panel with fans', such as budget, build material, size, removable motherboard tray, brand and other miscellaneous info in order for us to recommend accordingly smile.gif

If you're looking for something basic, with nothing flashy and value for money, the CM Centurion 5 should fit your taste nicely, assuming you ARE in the mood for something simple.....
LOL at least someone get's what needed for us to recommend

@ Exhilaration: No hard feelings ya laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif now let us know the requirement, c'mon not just the transparent side panel = no challenge in recommendation, wanna see how much this forumer's casing database knowledge laugh.gif

This post has been edited by E-J@1: Jun 24 2007, 10:36 PM
E-J@1
post Jun 30 2007, 11:40 AM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

QUOTE(Exhilaration @ Jun 30 2007, 07:51 AM)
Do you guys think the antec nine hundred is good ?
Features:

* Unique Top mounted 200mm TriCool exhaust fan to cool the hottest system
    * Perforated front bezel for maximum air intake
    * Two front loaded HDD cages for up to 6 hard disk drives
    * The HDD cages act as air ducts to take air in more efficiently. Optional middle 120mm fan bracket to cool the hottest graphic cards or CPU
    * Two 120mm TriCool blue LED front fans to cool hard disk drives
    * Window side panel comes with an optional 120mm fan mount for maximum VGA cooling
    * Top mounted I/O ports for easy access
    * Top tray for your MP3 player, digital camera, etc.
    * Power supply mounts at the bottom of the case (power supply not included)
    * Dimensions: 19.4 " x 8.1 " x 18.4" (L x W x H)
      49.3cm x 20.6cm x 46.8cm (L x W x H)
    * Advanced cooling system:
      - 1 top 200mm TriCool fan with 3-speed switch control
      - 1 rear 120mm TriCool fan with 3-speed switch control
      - 2 front 120mm special black TriCool blue LED fans with 3-speed switch control to cool HDDs
      - 1 side (optional) 120mm fan to cool graphic cards
      - 1 middle (optional) 120mm fan to cool CPU or graphic cards
    * 9 Drive Bays
      - External 3 x 5.25"; Internal 6 x 3.5" for HDD, or
      - External 6 x 5.25"; Internal 3x 3.5" for HDD, or
      - External 9 x 5.25"
    * Motherboard: Fits micro and standard ATX
    * 7 Expansion Slots
    * Top I/O
      - Power & reset button with blue LED
      - 2 x USB 2.0
      - 1 x IEEE 1394 (FireWire(R), i.Link(R))
      - Audio In and Out
  • Top mounted 200mm TriCool exhaust fan --> what happen if the fan rosak? where to get brand new after the warranty period ends
  • Perforated front bezel --> prepare to clean ur case regularly
  • Other than that i think this case is great

one more thing i wanna add to that spec of the case brows.gif the weight of the case rclxm9.gif

Weight: 14.1 KG (net) rclxm9.gif / 16.3 KG (gross) rclxm9.gif wah ringan nya laugh.gif
E-J@1
post Aug 21 2007, 10:22 AM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Aug 21 2007, 09:32 AM)
While I'm not sure whether KL still selling this casing but personally I would go for the PC-G7 instead

http://www.lian-li.com/product/product06.p..._index=4&type=b

Main reason being is that the HDD is softmounted on the G7 while the PC-007 use the more traditional screws. Hard mounted HDD's and thin aluminum (both G7 and 007 are the more "value" models) are not a good combo = vibration = HDD noise.
G7 dah ada balik kat ATE ke? shocking.gif
E-J@1
post Aug 21 2007, 12:36 PM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

QUOTE(cusx @ Aug 21 2007, 11:55 AM)
i wanted to buy a Silverstone TJ07, but sadly dont have transparent side panel, and I dont know how to cut one ..

so any case with transparent side panel and as compatible like TJ07 ?

is this a good choice ?

http://www.zalman.co.kr/images/product_img/cooling/ZE1_01.jpg
If I remember correctly, the "Zalman Fatal1ty" casing retail around ±RM2,000.00 OR ±RM3,000.00 (can't remember which one la hmm.gif )

good choice? for me = not good rolleyes.gif

reason:
  1. Main reason = weight doh.gif
  2. Price tag = damn expensive doh.gif

E-J@1
post Aug 21 2007, 12:58 PM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

QUOTE(cusx @ Aug 21 2007, 12:44 PM)
waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

so expensive ...

got other good one with transparent side panel ma ??
at least could u tell us ur budget range & what do u expect for ur case? like how many 3.5" & 5" drive u preferred?

u could go for a Lian Li casings [Link]

most of their casings got transparent side panel which needs to be purchase separately (those transparent side panel u can search in the garage sales --> one forumer selling it & i bought one for my LiLi from him thumbup.gif )
E-J@1
post Aug 21 2007, 07:37 PM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

QUOTE(cusx @ Aug 21 2007, 06:06 PM)
my budget is not more than 1.5k ...... dont really get what you mean, you mean that Lian Li de transparent side panel can be bought separately ?? TJ07 is good, very spacious.. too bad Bo Transparent .... haix cry.gif 

any recomanded lian li SPACIOUS casing ? xD
Lian Li's transparent side panel have to buy seperately

it won't include along with the casing, so u need to purchase 2 things, casing & the casing's transparent side panel
E-J@1
post Sep 8 2007, 08:47 PM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

QUOTE(sheahann @ Sep 8 2007, 06:03 PM)
anyone using Sunbeam Samurai ? post picture pls .... and where to buy it ?
you shouldn't open a new thread for these kinda question

next time post it here:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/432628

Added on September 8, 2007, 8:53 pmabout the Sunbeam Samurai case, search at the bulk section

One forumer selling it smile.gif

This post has been edited by E-J@1: Sep 8 2007, 08:53 PM
E-J@1
post Sep 8 2007, 08:59 PM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

QUOTE(westfind @ Sep 8 2007, 05:01 PM)
Does any 1 know where to get this casing from Lowyat plaza??
& the price pls..

Coolermaster Cosmos 1000 (RC1000)
http://www.coolermaster.com/products/produ...cate=17&id=2584
you shouldn't have to open a new thread for these kinda question

next time post it here:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/432628

E-J@1
post Oct 28 2007, 08:53 PM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

QUOTE(hamiru @ Oct 28 2007, 02:28 PM)
in LYP does Silverstone SUGO-03 available on sale?
how muchies?

the reason i ask this is that my current stock casing should be weighted around 6-8kg complete with hardwares
but it provides poor cooling system
+RM500
E-J@1
post Oct 31 2007, 01:59 PM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

QUOTE(ensure @ Oct 30 2007, 09:47 PM)
Hey E-J@1 , I just upgrade to the Intel DQ35 JOE n powercolor X1950 PRO. My existing board is GIGABYTE GA-945GCMX-S2 rev 6.6 n GIGABYTE GEFORCE 7300 GT 256MB DDR2.
Any good casing purpose for me ????
State as much details as possible like what Doom posted icon_rolleyes.gif

Anyway do you know pc hardware ????
not much, i'm not that kinda 'expert guy' regarding these field

ask in the hardware section

or more better u ask it here: http://www.google.com.my/ (last time i did)

If you know can chart with about pc upgrading..
can't do that, don't have internet connection in my hostel room...

only have time when i'm at the computer lab...

for sure wanna spend the time available wisely (not with chatting of course tongue.gif )

Hey E-J@1, you take so long to answer my question...or you not familiar in pc !!!!
cool.gif

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Oct 30 2007, 11:06 PM)
u posted at 947 and u expect an answer within 15 minutes???? somemore simply say people not familiar with pc.... doh.gif

have u ever heard of the word PATIENCE??? doh.gif u think wat?? u ask in an online forum u can get immediate answers is it? doh.gif

also u never say anything about ur budget for a casing how to recommend? later people recommend casing over RM1k u say too expensive doh.gif

sheesh....

doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif :
relax bro laugh.gif

QUOTE(Doom @ Oct 30 2007, 11:14 PM)
Truly agree  notworthy.gif

Ask so money questions without even take the initiative to seek out information on themselves.

Really lack of spirit of learning and politeness as well .. 

No budget stated, no requirement apart from hardware list and no specific details about cooler use.

hai .. .seems like LYN become place where people just drop by to ask a question or two then proceed ..

hardly contribution ....
totally agree with u...

QUOTE(pokok86 @ Oct 31 2007, 12:37 AM)
100% wit wat u say, ned ppl help pls b cultures lah
ask like that ppl can no 1 2 reply wat u ask 4
QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Oct 31 2007, 08:57 AM)
This is not YM lor, be patience. Even u start by calling "Hey", no appropriate.
i dunno why the guy really wants my answer for shakehead.gif

lotsa forumer here are more knowledgeable than me nod.gif
E-J@1
post Nov 2 2007, 05:25 PM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Nov 1 2007, 06:06 PM)
2nd hand can get?

QUOTE(pokok86 @ Nov 2 2007, 04:53 AM)
i think the more cheaper n quality is tt shark lol, new 1 baru RM450++

TT Shark is not a server/full tower chassis (assuming qwerty referring to Server/Full Tower case)

if u look at the TT Shark dimension, u already know it's not a server/full tower case...

wanna full tower chassis, go to Lian Li web, now that's what i call server/full tower chassis...

compare Lian Li's server/full tower case dimension with TT Shark... lotsa, lotsa differences in measurement (especially its height) laugh.gif

This post has been edited by E-J@1: Nov 2 2007, 05:29 PM
E-J@1
post Nov 9 2007, 09:24 PM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

QUOTE(ltcbomd @ Nov 9 2007, 09:01 PM)
Hi guys i has been poisoned by lian li casing...hehe..need some advice from u all... my budget is around 800++....should i choose V1200 o new tower casing  PC-A71A?? i do using big CPU cooler (xigmatek 1283) n i scare it will block with the side fan of V1200...thx for opinion 1st..smile.gif
celah mana side fan of V1200 tu? shocking.gif

as far as i know, V1200 doesn't got any side fan on top of the Proc area rclxub.gif
E-J@1
post Nov 9 2007, 09:27 PM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

QUOTE(kennykck @ Nov 9 2007, 06:20 PM)
fan create noise. where is the fan?>>PSU, CPU, GC, casing fan.

check which one generate most noise. alternative is to use water cooling system. ur budget just enough to get a decent one.
ya, water cooling also need fans to cool down the rad...

if just one 120mm fan could be fitted that rad, u need a high cfm to cool it down fast...

if 3x120mm fan could be fitted on that rad, u can use a low cfm to cool it down..

so, either air cooling or water cooling same as me, both setup got fans
E-J@1
post Nov 9 2007, 09:53 PM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

QUOTE(ltcbomd @ Nov 9 2007, 09:31 PM)
Dun hav meh?? refer to tis site:

http://lian-li.com/product/product06.php?p..._index=2&type=a

Or maybe the side fan is just optional upgrade...
aiya, i know got one, that's what i post earlier, celah mana side fan on top of proc area?

if on gc area, how in the blue hell can it block the proc tower heatsink, must be hella side fan that can block proc cooler while its position is on the gc area

QUOTE(Doom @ Nov 9 2007, 09:32 PM)
but it might be a different scenario with m-atx mobo  ...
i thought both mobo got the same measurement for the proc area?

or could i be wrong hmm.gif

QUOTE(ltcbomd @ Nov 9 2007, 09:35 PM)
Oh my bad look like the mobo is putting up side down in tis casing...tat one should be side fan for gc... am i rite??
LOL, refer to this post:

QUOTE(ltcbomd @ Nov 9 2007, 09:31 PM)
E-J@1
post Nov 11 2007, 08:58 PM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

QUOTE(punkysue @ Nov 11 2007, 12:48 PM)
wahh.. exp.. ok seriously now.. i need a casing less than 250 bucks.. =D.. yeng one preferbly wid nice airflow~~~
RM250 with nice air flow = Lian Li PC-7S

QUOTE(gth517 @ Nov 11 2007, 02:30 PM)
with RM250 you can get lian-li pc-7/pc-007, if choose CM also have one very nice 1, web front panel and maximum can install 4 fan+. (forget how many, but it is almost). it is the CM RC-690, saw that on cycom's price list with RM290. very attractive also. while lian-li is in ATE lowyat or cycom also have it. but when it come to lian-li, ATE is very famous with it in low yat. got many types.
4 fans+ shocking.gif

wah, u like to install as much fans into ur casing ar rclxub.gif

i prefer to reduce as much fan as possible, to reduce the sounds as much as possible laugh.gif

QUOTE(punkysue @ Nov 11 2007, 07:40 PM)
aiya.. i think 250 budget too low de.. ok i increase 350..
i think that the raidmax sirius looks nice.. hmm i think ill buy that one but.. how is it in terms of air flow?? and weight..
hahaha rclxm9.gif trust me, those cases are damn fckuing heavy
E-J@1
post Nov 12 2007, 01:50 PM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Nov 12 2007, 12:05 PM)
CM690 user here. So far this case have serve it purpose for me. My CPU and casing temp reduce more than 5°C. Nice design and spacious.
But mind you that this casing is quiet heavy after all the installation.
rclxm9.gif the main reason why i hate SECC chassis...

heavy cases is a no no no for me who moves a lot biggrin.gif
E-J@1
post Nov 12 2007, 07:08 PM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

QUOTE(punkysue @ Nov 12 2007, 03:48 PM)
hmm so the raidmax sirius is heavy.. issit a good thing or a bad thing??
cuz its not like im gonna put it on my head the whole time.. hmm.. how bout in terms of performance and airflow
so, u sometimes put ur casing on ur head la...

not all the time rclxub.gif but sometime la, kekekeke

LOL, who the hell put their casing on their heads doh.gif

& what do u mean by "performance"? first time i hear such thing for a casing laugh.gif

air flow? any casing will have a good air flow as long there's nothing obstructing the air flow...

seriously, its impossible that nothing will obstruct it sweat.gif

so what could be obstructing the air flow:

1. Cables --> can managed it
  2. HDD Bay --> can't do anything unless u go modding
  3. the air intake design --> nah, not much of obstruction, still can be a troublesome (especially noise issue)

1. Cables

No need explanation, just managed it la

2. HDD Bay

compare these two cases, in your opinion which casing's hdd bay position will obstruct air flow greater than the other? (not to mention the noise produced cause of the obstruction)

Lian Li PC-G7

imagine u use all the hdd slot shocking.gif pretty hard for the intake air to go through that hdd bay rclxub.gif

Lian Li PC-007

now, with this kinda position, even u use all the hdd slot, still got room for the intake air to go through

less obstruction compared to Lian Li PC-G7 wink.gif

3. Air Intake Design

again, compare these two cases, in your opinion which casing's air intake design will obstruct air flow (air intake) greater than the other? (not to mention the noise produced cause of the obstruction)

Lian Li PC-G7

had this case once, me use Vizo on this casing --> noisy, damn noisy compared to PC-007 (currently using wub.gif )

Lian Li PC-007

me using this case now, using the same Vizo fan --> seriously the noise reduce a lot, u can hear the difference wub.gif

& certainly with the holey design on the front, makes the air to be suck in much easier compared to G7 thumbup.gif

so just watch out for those two things --> hdd bay position & air intake design...

cables? hmm.gif no matter what case u use, cables will obstruct the air flow unless u managed it wink.gif

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Nov 12 2007, 03:55 PM)
If you move a lot, SECC casing is not for you. But my PC always fix under my comp table so have no problem. Also the price is cheaper if compare to Alu casing.
yup, if u don't move a lot, go for SECC --> cheaper & heavier thumbup.gif
E-J@1
post Nov 15 2007, 04:12 PM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

QUOTE(@meno @ Nov 15 2007, 01:01 AM)
Doom was actually giving you some options for future upgrade.
The 460w is nice for your current setup but if you gonna run a high end GC in it, then you might start to find that 460w is no longer enough for it.

Bout the few Doom recommended, i would say try avoid the ST56F Strider. That PSU has some quality issues, a lot of people using are complaining about the clicking sound from the PSU Fan, it's pretty annoying.

While for the case, the CM C5 is available for as low as RM160. Try to find in Imbi(you know which shop to get it lar). That should be the best case you can get which you leave you quite some budget for the PSU.
LOL, danielyeap isn't a gamer la, that's why he stated he won't upgrade his pc often --> so he wouldn't upgrade his GC to any high end GC

correct me if i'm worng danielyeap coz u did state that u "not much a gamer" in your previous thread
E-J@1
post Nov 20 2007, 05:51 PM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

go for Lian Li PC-A05 [Link]

the case is 4kg only (Net Weight --> case only) compared to ur Praetorian that is 6.3kg shocking.gif

no choice better than that wink.gif

plus with its size is rather shorter than normal ATX case, same height with mATX case drool.gif
E-J@1
post Nov 21 2007, 11:42 AM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

QUOTE(kalakatu @ Nov 21 2007, 01:39 AM)
how much is it? and will the case provide a good airflow?...
for Sugo03 = u gotta manage the cables really damn good, seriously u need to cool2.gif

QUOTE(kalakatu @ Nov 21 2007, 01:39 AM)
... considering that using 3 hdds gonna heat up the system sweat.gif
psst, my hdd in Sugo03 = 57C doh.gif

QUOTE(kalakatu @ Nov 21 2007, 09:01 AM)
thanks for the input..
uhm, any other ideas for budget as low as RM350? hmm.gif
look no further laugh.gif

Lian Li PC-V300 [Link]

Lian Li PC-V350 [Link]

PC-V300 fits ur budget... but PC-V350 = dunno (me think not yet available locally sweat.gif )

both casing fits only 2 HDDs -> just buy one hdd bay slot & slam it in 5" bay laugh.gif

PC-V300 = dual 8cm intake fan
PC-V350 = dual 12cm intake fan

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0239sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:44 PM