Public Bridge Over River Kwai & Memorial Park (Thailand), HDR shots with Nikon D300

TSzio
post Jun 16 2008, 11:42 PM, updated 18y ago

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Went to Thailand a while back and of course, took quite a number of shots. This is a HDR series of two of the places I went, the Bridge Over River Kwai and WWII Memorial Park located on the outskirts of Bangkok.

1. This is the bridge itself. It actually has a railway track that runs across it. It was built by POWs back in World War 2

2. Of course, you can walk on the bridge

3. Went for a different angle, by placing my camera almost on the railway track itself. The strap actually went in between the tracks and nearly got caught onto it tongue.gif

4. The train service is actually still running but I am not sure if its just a tourist gimmick

5. And of course, what is a tourist place without street food? She had good grilled sotong!

6. Next, after the Bridge, we visited the WWII Memorial Park. It was more touching for the Australians in our tour as they were actually history teachers. So they knew more about it than we did.

7. It was a memorial for the people who suffered as POWs and built the bridge

8. The graves are lined up neatly and the park is well-maintained

9. We were just after ANZ Day so there were fresh wreath being placed there
hornetEJ
post Jun 17 2008, 12:07 AM

648 posts

Very nice HDR shots there Zio. What lens did you use for the shots? UWA?
TSzio
post Jun 17 2008, 12:08 AM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(hornetEJ @ Jun 17 2008, 12:07 AM)
Very nice HDR shots there Zio. What lens did you use for the shots? UWA?
Thanks smile.gif

First shot using Nikkor 24-70mm f2.8 and the rest using the Nikkor 10.5mm fisheye smile.gif
razuryza
post Jun 17 2008, 05:22 AM

\('o')/~fewwwiitttt~\("0")/
5,515 posts

all.. one shot RAW right.. not so HDR ler.. huhu ;p anyway.. nice and great tonemapping..exccept no 8.. too over dreamy to me..
' or 1=1 --
post Jun 17 2008, 09:52 AM

ayam sadding
1,443 posts

wow wow! very nice biggrin.gif love the fisheye. and you managed to get the whole dynamic range of the sky and the foreground with just one shot. did you use an nd filter? awesome stuff
TSzio
post Jun 17 2008, 10:33 AM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ Jun 17 2008, 05:22 AM)
all.. one shot RAW right.. not so HDR ler.. huhu ;p anyway.. nice and great tonemapping..exccept no 8.. too over dreamy to me..
Lol not even RAW, all using one JPG tongue.gif So yes, its pseudoHDR.. dont la expose me haha..

QUOTE(' or 1=1 -- @ Jun 17 2008, 09:52 AM)
wow wow! very nice biggrin.gif love the fisheye. and you managed to get the whole dynamic range of the sky and the foreground with just one shot. did you use an nd filter? awesome stuff
Thanks! No ND filter used, can't afford it haha.. maybe the software was good smile.gif Didn't use photomatix.
razuryza
post Jun 17 2008, 12:51 PM

5,515 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Jun 17 2008, 10:33 AM)
Lol not even RAW, all using one JPG tongue.gif So yes, its pseudoHDR.. dont la expose me haha..
Thanks! No ND filter used, can't afford it haha.. maybe the software was good smile.gif Didn't use photomatix.
ini lagi tipuu..haha..neah..nevermind..me also sometimes like that.. haha..especially for old photos...hhihi... laugh.gif
TSzio
post Jun 17 2008, 01:14 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ Jun 17 2008, 12:51 PM)
ini lagi tipuu..haha..neah..nevermind..me also sometimes like that.. haha..especially for old photos...hhihi... laugh.gif
Lol that time still haven't found the need to shoot RAW yet. If I shoot RAW also I will convert to JPG then HDR. tongue.gif Its faster tongue.gif although the results are less versatile.
bikz
post Jun 17 2008, 01:18 PM

386 posts

eiz....i've been here...very nice place..haha....
did u stay on the river ?
TSzio
post Jun 17 2008, 01:21 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(bikz @ Jun 17 2008, 01:18 PM)
eiz....i've been here...very nice place..haha....
did u stay on the river ?
hey, nope. I stayed in Bangkok city. Went on a one-day tour out to the province smile.gif
razuryza
post Jun 17 2008, 02:24 PM

5,515 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Jun 17 2008, 01:14 PM)
Lol that time still haven't found the need to shoot RAW yet. If I shoot RAW also I will convert to JPG then HDR. tongue.gif Its faster tongue.gif although the results are less versatile.
using photomatix no need to convert to JPEG...straight from RAW to HDR..heheh..more faster and easier!

This post has been edited by razuryza: Jun 17 2008, 02:32 PM
TSzio
post Jun 17 2008, 02:46 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ Jun 17 2008, 02:24 PM)
using photomatix no need to convert to JPEG...straight from RAW to HDR..heheh..more faster and easier!
I mean the processing time. The software I use can also do RAW to HDR, jst that it takes 1-2 mins longer tongue.gif
' or 1=1 --
post Jun 17 2008, 04:58 PM

ayam sadding
1,443 posts

jpeg or raw, photomatix or whatever doesn't really matter. thing is the end result is great and thats all i care about amd i think thats all that really matters. biggrin.gif good job man!! thumbs and toe thumbs up!! biggrin.gif
TSzio
post Jun 17 2008, 06:23 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(' or 1=1 -- @ Jun 17 2008, 04:58 PM)
jpeg or raw, photomatix or whatever doesn't really matter. thing is the end result is great and thats all i care about amd i think thats all that really matters. biggrin.gif good job man!! thumbs and toe thumbs up!! biggrin.gif
Thanks man. Yay! Got compliments from HDR mastah! tongue.gif
kopitiam
post Jun 18 2008, 10:20 PM

cookie monster
4,480 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Jun 17 2008, 02:46 PM)
I mean the processing time. The software I use can also do RAW to HDR, jst that it takes 1-2 mins longer tongue.gif
which software u using? hmm.gif wanna try it rclxms.gif
~\G.O.D/~
post Jun 18 2008, 10:42 PM

♪♬♪~\GooD/~♪♬♪〖&#
1,924 posts

wow great hdr...
u use 1 raw file to create or ??how ar?
butterflydarling
post Jun 18 2008, 10:46 PM

544 posts

i lie down on that bridge and the train really came...! that was fun. love the fish eye shots.
TSzio
post Jun 18 2008, 11:13 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(kopitiam @ Jun 18 2008, 10:20 PM)
which software u using?  hmm.gif wanna try it rclxms.gif
Digital Photo HDR by Media Chance. smile.gif

QUOTE(~\G.O.D/~ @ Jun 18 2008, 10:42 PM)
wow great hdr...
u use 1 raw file to create or ??how ar?
Thanks! I used one JPG to create. Then just played with saturation, vivid colours, dramatic light, dramatic light strength, smoothening. and applied noise reduction smile.gif

QUOTE(butterflydarling @ Jun 18 2008, 10:46 PM)
i lie down on that bridge and the train really came...! that was fun. love the fish eye shots.
Thanks! Glad you enjoyed it.

0.0230sec    0.66    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 01:08 AM