Nokia Nokia E71, Messenger of Steel!

SapperJones
post Jul 26 2008, 02:43 AM

26 posts

Held the E71 today for the first time and just love the form factor.....it's so thin and fits my land like a glove. The metal surface is also very appealing.

Gonna get it real soon. Black keys one look much nicer, lah.....the white face one i hear is coming next month.

Nokia Careline centre in 1-Utama is listing the E71 at RM1,999.

The salesman there insisted those sold at Low Yat at RM1730 are AP sets, though I think he was bull-shitting so as to get customers to buy from his shop.

So there appears to be 3 pricing tiers, which i have split into 3 classes.

(Class 1)
Original from Nokia Careline centre (most expensive) at RM1,999

(Class 2)
Original from Avaxx/Zitron/authrorised sub-dealers at RM1,700++

(Class 3)
AP sets from any Tom-d***-Harry retailers at RM1530 to RM1650

is this a correct assessment?

btw, VS.com - a shop located on the top floor of Low yat Plaza - claims to be an original Nokia seller at the Class 2 level. Is it?

SapperJones
post Aug 7 2008, 06:55 PM

26 posts

can't sent SMS
==========

the E71 fails to send messages thru my Maxis line.

appreciate if anyone could explain the fix for this. this is an original handest from avaxx

I was able to send sms when using the sim card on an older phone. btw, the card is just a few months old and is 3G-enabled.

cheers.
SapperJones
post Aug 8 2008, 06:05 PM

26 posts

Is it possible to disable the glowing light (aka Notification light) around the scroll key?

There's an 'Off' setting but it doesn't switched the light off.

while it looks cool initially, the constant alternate blinking will suck some juice from the battery even if it's slight.

On another note, .......................

Found the solution to the issue of not being able to send SMS. My message centre setting should have been the Maxis SMS centre no as listed here a few posts earlier: +60120000015

Nice app from Nokia Lab: Conversation that allows threaded SMSes.

Download at http://www.nokia.com/betalabs/applications
SapperJones
post Aug 9 2008, 12:03 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(amdx @ Aug 8 2008, 09:26 PM)
my e71 can switch off the breathing light wo... what's ur firmware version?
Since the e71 is so new, i guess all E71s are on the first firmware and there has yet to be any updates even in other Nokia forums.

anyway, my firmware is 100.07.76
08-06-2008
RM-346
SapperJones
post Aug 10 2008, 12:17 AM

26 posts

Finally disabled "Breathing Light"
=====================

the answer below is extracted from a singapore forum. sharing it with u chaps.

There are TWO light-blinking sequences.

1. Notification light where light pulses quickly for notified events(Missed call, New text Message, New MMS msg, New email). Another is Breathing light where it pulses slowly to show that the E71 is still powered up.

Settings - General - Personalisation - Notification light - Blink light for - Notified events - Missed call, New text Message, New MMS msg, New email.

2. Another one is under Profile - General - Personalise - Breathing Light - On/Off.

>>its the breathing light lol... finally got it switched off!

>>If you dun wan breathing light to kick in, you can also try using the CClock software, I find it extremely understated-ly useful for knowing time and date at one glance...

SapperJones
post Aug 17 2008, 04:56 PM

26 posts

Latest topic: Always install applications, themes, & games on the PHONE MEMORY.

Read more at: http://www.e71fanatics.com/

- a website for, what else, but E71 fans, newbies and the morbidly curious
SapperJones
post Aug 20 2008, 04:52 PM

26 posts

Save Page shortcut?
=============

Is there a shortcut to save pages from Nokia web browser?

I like to visit sites and save pages for offline reading.

But u have to dig thru Tools and scroll down to Save Page command. Tedious after a while.

Mobitubia is great app.....but sometimes when you run a youtube clip, it just crashes and mobitubia shuts down. Is it the clip code that triggers it or something else? Other clips play with no issues.

Have started using Fring. Made successful VOIP test calls. Looks like a good product.

SapperJones
post Aug 22 2008, 07:00 PM

26 posts

Does your E71 fail to download video clips that are in .mpg format?

Mine displays message "Not supported". I recall that in the E61, even when the phone didn't recognise the format, it allows one to save the link to the clip. No such option in the E71 though.

any ideas on how to overcome this issue?

The E71 can download .wmv files but dunno where the heck it saved it to...used Y-Browser to trawl but can't find it. is it because it's invisible to the phone if it doesn't understand the format?
SapperJones
post Sep 14 2008, 02:50 PM

26 posts

I'm using Opera Mini more than the Nokia web browser.

About the Nokia one, even when I set Clear Privacy data/All, I still get a few websites listed when I partially enter the URL of a site I am about to visit. So the History is not totally deleted even when I set Clear Privacy data/All.

No such problem with Opera Mini though. So it looks like I have to manually trawl through the folders to permanently delete History listing in Nokia web browser.

Where do I start looking for the files to delete?

One flaw in Opera Mini is that it doesn't allow user to create folders to organise websites. Have suggested to the developers to allow this feature in the next version. Hopefully, they will.

SapperJones
post Sep 25 2008, 06:06 PM

26 posts

Nokia E71 screen protector & other thots
==========================

JUst got a screen protector from Digital Mall, PJ, for RM20. as shown below.

comes with plastic cover also for rear camera lens. from one of the booths to the right as you go up the escalator to the first floor

btw, looking for a flip-open leather case. heard in this forum the iphone version fits. there's one shop at the top of low yat (far left as you go up the escalator) that sells all manner of cases. Is that where the E71 cases might be available ...and at what price?

SapperJones
post Oct 29 2008, 04:14 PM

26 posts

Flip-open Nokia E71 case
================

For those who fancy the flip-open leather case, Novacell is selling the E71 case at RM45. The no-name product comes with a 3-month warranty.

Phone fits snugly into the case and won't drop out even if you hold the case upside down.

The flap is magnetically closed. Case has a pleasant texture and doesn't look cheap.

Doesn't add much bulk if u put it in your trouser pocket. Sideview shots blur but you get the idea how the case looks.

Novacell has outlets in KL and PJ. Bought this one at Subang Parade (tel: 03-5638 4181)

This post has been edited by SapperJones: Oct 29 2008, 04:27 PM
SapperJones
post Oct 29 2008, 04:15 PM

26 posts

duplicate: >>> junk it

This post has been edited by SapperJones: Oct 29 2008, 04:21 PM