Nokia Nokia E71, Messenger of Steel!

ReeNz
post Jul 16 2008, 08:39 PM

Glory Glory!
1,467 posts

hi everyone..juz wanna ask sumthing..hope someone can help me..i already bought this gem and i do like it a lot..how ever, i cant use my 3G (im a maxis user). wifi is ok, 3G is activated and i can make a video call, but anything that uses packet data such as MMS and internet surfing is not ok. "connection not allowed" msg appear when trying to connect using Maxis 3G WAP.

I already called maxis 4 times and each time they will send me setting's sms. I also downloaded the phone setting myself, and as E71 setting still not on the maxis website, i tried almost all other Eseries settings. Still not working thou. Hope somebody here can help me. Thanxxx!!
ReeNz
post Jul 16 2008, 09:21 PM

Glory Glory!
1,467 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Jul 16 2008, 08:49 PM)
For me, once i slotted the activated 3G simcard to E71, it automatically detect 3G, no further configuration or settings needed.

Maybe it takes some time for the 3G appear after you downloaded the setting.
The 3G already appear..but I cant use mms or web surfing (anything that uses packet data)
ReeNz
post Jul 16 2008, 09:49 PM

Glory Glory!
1,467 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Jul 16 2008, 09:26 PM)
Have you try surfing the net with "Maxis 3G Internet" instead of WAP?
yup..same result sad.gif
ReeNz
post Jul 16 2008, 10:05 PM

Glory Glory!
1,467 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Jul 16 2008, 10:01 PM)
May be you have to call maxis centre again.

However, if you have time, try to slot your simcard to other 3G phones and try whether can hook up the net or not. 

Good luck buddy.
thanks bro..its a really gud idea
ReeNz
post Jul 16 2008, 11:24 PM

Glory Glory!
1,467 posts

thanx to both of u..i already figure out that something is not rite with my SIM..tried with my moms SIM, its a 3.5G fly high, no prob at all, no need to set anything..will go to maxis centre tomorrow..thanks again guys notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
ReeNz
post Jul 17 2008, 12:20 AM

Glory Glory!
1,467 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Jul 16 2008, 11:35 PM)
It has got to do with some setting at your phone which relates to sim as well. Most of the 3rd edition FP1 has something that you need to deactivate in GPRS setting in order to access 3G internet. It's called APN control restriction.
Hmm..I found the setting u mentioned juz now..but it requires PIN2 code to deactivate it..where can i get the code?
ReeNz
post Jul 17 2008, 12:47 AM

Glory Glory!
1,467 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Jul 17 2008, 12:45 AM)
If you are using Maxis/hotlink, it should be 0123 if I am not mistaken. DiGi/Celcom I am not sure.  sweat.gif
sweat.gif sweat.gif juz try 0123, and its a code error..1234 maybe? anyone?

Added on July 17, 2008, 12:52 amat last..its 1234..and now im in 3.5G mode..thnaks to ViraVira

This post has been edited by ReeNz: Jul 17 2008, 12:52 AM
ReeNz
post Jul 21 2008, 10:43 PM

Glory Glory!
1,467 posts

QUOTE(DigitalTech @ Jul 21 2008, 05:06 PM)
Hey, i don't know whether it's me or the e71 phone.

I feel headache when I talk on the phone, even for a a while.
It seems that I can feel the radiation and making my head uneasy.

Do you guys feel the same? or it's just me?
I'm feelin' juz fine..talking for hours but feel normal..
ReeNz
post Jul 23 2008, 01:56 AM

Glory Glory!
1,467 posts

woohoo!! juz bought and installed the software..thanks for the info..$1.00 is really great..
ReeNz
post Jul 25 2008, 04:55 PM

Glory Glory!
1,467 posts

QUOTE(Seaedge @ Jul 25 2008, 02:43 PM)
i read the review from GSMarena... seems they like it very much except the camera part...
i dun mind camera since this is more into business phone... smile.gif
Yeah..even CNet Asia Review gave 8.7/10 + Editor's Choice for this phone..and a review also state that even though the picture's details cant beat N95 details, it's color is more original than the N95 one..so its still not bad though..

And i juz installed a software called skyecaller, which allows a full screen caller's picture to appear during call and sms (both in coming and outgoing). It is quite nice in my opinion. But it cost me EUR9.++ (RM40+) after 15% discount.
ReeNz
post Jul 26 2008, 01:51 AM

Glory Glory!
1,467 posts

QUOTE(toby.c13 @ Jul 25 2008, 10:08 PM)
how u all buy these softwares ar?
credit card or paypal? hmm.gif
dunno bout others, but i'm using credit cards
ReeNz
post Jul 29 2008, 05:03 PM

Glory Glory!
1,467 posts

QUOTE(sookk @ Jul 28 2008, 11:29 PM)
Garmin Mobile XT is the best software .. especially when used with MalSingMaps (malaysia + singapore) maps. You can download Garmin from:

http://www8.garmin.com/support/agree.jsp?id=3939
But this dowload only for updateing rite? coz it says that base files of garmin must be existed..where can i find the installation file without paying 70++ pound sterling?

Added on July 29, 2008, 5:05 pm
QUOTE(mikelanding @ Jul 29 2008, 04:41 PM)
Once U kena qwerty KB poison..U wont go for other type of phone..
SMS, MSN chat is so easy on qwerty kb.
Totally agree with u..this is the first time i use qwerty and it is so damn nice! my typing speed increases a lot..now i alwiz send 2-3 pages sms, not one like before tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ReeNz: Jul 29 2008, 05:05 PM
ReeNz
post Aug 2 2008, 04:22 PM

Glory Glory!
1,467 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Jul 29 2008, 06:53 PM)
U got pm on how to "ahem" it.
I normally dun sms much..But I use my E61i/E71 to MSN chatting while I laying comfortably on my bed...tongue.gif

For those who pm me regarding how to "ahem" Garmin Mobile XT.
I will point U to some useful link that discussion extensively on how to do it. Please try out yrself first.
I wont layan any1 who ask for a step by step guide. Dun have time for each and every request.
I will share wat I learn, but dun expect me to teach U step by step like student and teacher... sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Unless U pay me like those GPS/phone seller...joking  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Thanks to ur guide bro..now my Garmin is working charmingly rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
ReeNz
post Aug 5 2008, 09:03 AM

Glory Glory!
1,467 posts

QUOTE(mafeya @ Aug 4 2008, 08:24 PM)
Hey guys, just got my E71. smile.gif

Btw, why is it that when I go to GPS > GPS DATA > POSITION

It is stuck on Waiting for GPS?
well it sumtimes take longer time to lock ur position..u hav to be patient..
ReeNz
post Aug 6 2008, 07:07 AM

Glory Glory!
1,467 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Aug 4 2008, 08:34 PM)
APAC version of E71 dun have this feature as stated by many forum like Howardforums, hardwarezone.sg.

Not sure why nokia disable it on E71-1 (APAC variant). Some said it will fix it on next firmware update...Let pray
hmm..me and my dad bought our E-71 at Nokia One Utama (Zitron E71-1 version) and the phones do have this. Does this means mine is Europe version instead of APAC?
ReeNz
post Aug 22 2008, 07:58 AM

Glory Glory!
1,467 posts

QUOTE(ggMing @ Aug 22 2008, 04:10 AM)
just got myself this phone 2 days ago..
any must have applications?? hehe..
yes, the battery rocks!
install fring..the software is very nice..u can use most of the IM with it, including free voice call and even skype callout to call oversea..it is really helpful to me as now I am in the USA..and coreplayer is also rocks!! but it will cost u around usd24.00+..and dont forget the Garmin mobile XT as well.cheers!!

This post has been edited by ReeNz: Aug 22 2008, 07:59 AM

0.0236sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:41 AM