Accounting STPM, Do I need to study the Accounting subjec

TSprakash06
post Jun 16 2008, 09:42 PM, updated 18y ago

50 posts

Hello guys,

well,im confused now.
do we need to take Accounting subjects in STPM if we are planning to enter a degree course in Accounting later in IPTA/IPTS?

im in dilemma now coz my school is not offering Accounting in f6.
do i need to take accounting as my 5th subjets in stpm and study it on my own in order to enter a degree course in acctg?

This post has been edited by prakash06: Jun 16 2008, 09:43 PM
ysh_kobe
post Jun 16 2008, 10:13 PM

1,091 posts

not really, I din take accounting and I'm a science stream student, I'm offered accounting by UNITEN............but certainly of coz, if got better la.........
moniqee
post Jun 16 2008, 11:29 PM

7,864 posts

nah not important whether u take accounting in stpm or not...

since most IPTS...for art degrees... they looked at ur results.. whether u meet their requirement or not..

some college required that u have 2 principle while some college need u to have 3 principle... but bear in mind that they won't looked at ur PENGAJIAN AM... so it's all up to the other 3 subjects u take... ^__^

while i'm not really sured about IPTA. ^__^
wayne322
post Jun 16 2008, 11:47 PM

Mein Herz Brennt
635 posts

QUOTE(moniqee @ Jun 16 2008, 11:29 PM)
nah not important whether u take accounting in stpm or not...

since most IPTS...for art degrees... they looked at ur results.. whether u meet their requirement or not..

some college required that u have 2 principle while some college need u to have 3 principle... but bear in mind that they won't looked at ur PENGAJIAN AM... so it's all up to the other 3 subjects u take... ^__^

while i'm not really sured about IPTA. ^__^
Then is that means they will teach from the basic again when u study degree at IPTS?
sujend
post Jun 17 2008, 02:36 AM

627 posts

bro..u can drop one of the subject taught in school and take acc instead..go for tuition all ler...i think its possible...in my school there is one art stream acc class only...but the subject they take varies...some take maths..some dont..some take pp ..some dont..so its up to you..
better look for reliable good tutors outside skool...den u can take it up!!

This post has been edited by sujend: Jun 17 2008, 02:38 AM
moniqee
post Jun 17 2008, 07:55 AM

7,864 posts

yeah... if u take acc degree in IPTS... yep in ur 1st year... they will teach the basic again...

coz in school u learn in BM while in IPTS it's in english... so the terms are totally different... ^__^ not to mention the exam is in english also...
wayne322
post Jun 19 2008, 09:51 PM

Mein Herz Brennt
635 posts

QUOTE(ysh_kobe @ Jun 16 2008, 10:13 PM)
not really, I din take accounting and I'm a science stream student, I'm offered accounting by UNITEN............but certainly of coz, if got better la.........
u said u r science student,do u ever study account b4?
crashoverride
post Jun 21 2008, 05:26 PM

361 posts

It's better if you take accounting in F6, because if you didnt, u're not given "priority" even if your results good.
JUPLING88
post Jun 23 2008, 10:40 AM

MY SCHOOL ALSO DUN HAV ACC WHEN I WAS IN F6..
I DROP BUSINESS N TOOK ACC...TAKE TUITION...
I GOT AN A- FOR MY STPM BUT STILL I DID NOT GET MY 1ST CHOICE (ACC) IN IPTA...
THEY GAVE ME ECONOMICS INSTEAD...WHEN MY ECONS ALSO A-
SO...IF IT'S UP 2 U WHETHER TO TAKE ACC OR NOT...
AND IT'S TRUE THAT FOR IPTA IF U DUN TAKE ACC U DUN GET THE PRIOTITY...
SPECIALLY IN TOP UNI...
litaco
post Jun 23 2008, 12:20 PM

107 posts

u shld check on the entry req at mohe website be4 it gone off.Take a look on where u can go if u got n w/o acc in form6
crashoverride
post Jun 23 2008, 12:58 PM

361 posts

No matter what, even if the "main requirements" doesnt have stpm accounting in it, you will still not be given priority over students with the same result or a little worse result than you but have good accounting grades.

SPM accounting is important two. Having good spm and stpm accounting results, getting high cgpa in stpm, and active in co-curriculum will definitely be better den having not taken accounting subjects if you wanna apply for accounting in IPTA

0.0160sec    1.00    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:44 PM