Ask for PDA recommendation here~!, FILL UP FORM AT FIRST POST PLEASE

n8210
post Oct 3 2008, 12:37 PM

2,678 posts

BUDGET RANGE: RM1400 or below

Brand Preference if any: Any brand with available repair and service outlets in Klang valley. Prefer those that is legitimate instead of self-declare 3rd parties.

Second hand: Yes

QWERTY keyboard: No

Keypad: Prefer Hardware (something like n95 is what I would like)

GPS: Not important

Bluetooth: Yes

Wifi: Yes

Frequent Overseas traveller to Japan and US? or other countries: No

Camera Resolution minimum: 3.0MP (prefer with flash)

Expandable Memory: Yes

3G : No

HSDPA or higher: No

Front Camera: Not important

Gaming Type: Light gaming during weekdays & Heavy Gaming during weekends

Screen Resolution: I would say screen SIZE is more important for me. The bigger the better.

Thank you in advance.
n8210
post Oct 3 2008, 03:59 PM

2,678 posts

HTC Touch Dual have wifi? Although I would like the design, but I am ok with other types like Asus P750 or Ipaq 612, with the keypad at the bottom. Just don't like the qwerty keypad because I quite often use one hand to type.
n8210
post Oct 3 2008, 10:31 PM

2,678 posts

Well, there is an advantage for using a virtual keypad, although in my perspective I am losing 1 advantage as well by giving up the hardware keypad. The new advantage is of course bigger screen.

Is it still possible to type with a single hand using the virtual keypad?
n8210
post Oct 3 2008, 10:51 PM

2,678 posts

Well, if that being the recommendation, I shall give it a try. Hence, my options are now much wider. What would fit my requirement? Thanks.
n8210
post Oct 4 2008, 11:40 AM

2,678 posts

After the advice I got, I would like to revise my requirements:

BUDGET RANGE: RM1500 or below

1st Priority:

Brand Preference if any: Any brand with available repair and service outlets in Klang valley. Prefer those that is legitimate instead of self-declare 3rd parties.

Wifi: YES

Camera Resolution minimum: 3.0MP (prefer with flash) I take a lot of pictures at customer's site/location.

Expandable Memory: Yes (prefer microSD)

Screen Resolution:
If can get better resolution of course better, like Eten X650 (480x640).
But I would say screen SIZE is more important for me. The bigger the better.

2nd Priority:

Keypad: Virtual or Hardware

Gaming Type: Light gaming during weekdays & Heavy Gaming during weekends,

Someone mentioned HTC Touch Cruise at another site.

Added on October 4, 2008, 11:41 amOther specification not mentioned/deleted means not important.

This post has been edited by n8210: Oct 4 2008, 11:41 AM
n8210
post Oct 6 2008, 11:35 AM

2,678 posts

Thank you. Much appreciation with your guideline.

QUOTE(Baronic @ Oct 5 2008, 12:41 PM)
i stand by my recommendations. Eten and o2 have notoriously lousy warranty and after sales support. i doubt u can find a second hand touch cruise with a 1500 budget. u can try though.

also, there is no pda in the market currently with xenon flash. but just FYI, samsung's hyped up 5mp camera seems to lose to HTC Diamond camera which is 3mp. but both dun fit your budget anyway.

all pdas suck in low lighting. period.
n8210
post Oct 7 2008, 02:34 AM

2,678 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Oct 3 2008, 12:49 PM)
@n82110,

for services and repairs, straight will have to be HTC Devices already.

next, for keypad, and all your other specs, it narrows it down to one and only one device that i know of. The HTC Touch Dual. Have a look at it, and browse around for the price. second hand best bought from users instead of shops with balance official HTC SIS Warranty
Hi, Baronic. One thing I never did get to understand is your advice of buying 2nd hand from users straight, instead of shops. Why? Price concerns? Or...??
n8210
post Oct 7 2008, 09:00 AM

2,678 posts

I recently bought a fake nokia battery. It has the hologram on it, and it looks about the same from shop to shop. Perhaps all of them had the same fake battery. When they sell, they will do a lot of sweet talk. After one month, the battery goes off very easily. Go back to them, they don't admit selling any original unit.

So how to decide whether it is not re-con unit? Or if the accessories are original?

But with the lesson learn, I will definitely go visit an authorized SIS shop to get more information. Just that sometimes the sales staff also with limited knowledge, and it makes purchasing experience sucks, big time.
n8210
post Apr 15 2009, 09:48 PM

2,678 posts

BUDGET RANGE: RM900-1000 (or less)

Brand Preference if any: Nokia / HTC / Ipaq / Asus and others. But like Gigabyte and O2... got service center or not? Seems like unpopular. My brand consideration is related to service center and resell value

QWERTY keyboard: No

Keypad: Virtual (in order to maximize screen size, perhaps like 3.0?)

GPS: No

WIfi: Yes

Camera Resolution minimum: 3.0 mpx (but more is better)

Expandable Memory: Yes / No (Not really important if built in memory is large like 4GB)

3G : No

HSDPA or higher: No

Front Camera: No

Gaming Type: Light gaming

Screen Resolution: VGA / QVGA / of course higher is better. Can view more on screen

0.0211sec    1.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:16 AM