All Things about BLU-RAY | V5
aiman04
Jul 3 2008, 07:10 PM
QUOTE(Sd-RawK-Cab25 @ Jul 3 2008, 06:08 PM) so long never post here...one week plus in hospital..aiyoh. anyway, thx bro mega for the BDs..nice meeting you! promised my significant other not to buy BD this month...but cloverfield making me itchy la...ho ho ho~ anyway: The Dark Knight got a 10/10 rating from JoBlo.com. can't wait for 18th July...and for the BD!!! already have Begins on HD-DVD...so not interested in BD version. if only some miracle can happen to let me get the V663 amp...can enjoy uncompressed audio...  What happened bro? Glad you're back now.
aiman04
Jul 4 2008, 11:28 AM
The BD30's advantage is for bitstreaming, everything else is the same as PS3. But PS3 still win as the fastest loader and with the latest Profile 2.0 (BD-Live, though not as important, still an advantage). Fot twice the price of PS3, in my opinion the BD30 is still not worth it.
aiman04
Jul 4 2008, 12:39 PM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Jul 4 2008, 11:38 AM) extra abit nia... if offical price, 799, ps3 is 599 mpyw, the poping sound can be settled, burn the dsp to theCD and run it on the amp Added on July 4, 2008, 12:11 pmwow, my batman shipped out liao Where you order Batman? So fast ship already?
aiman04
Jul 4 2008, 02:24 PM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Jul 4 2008, 01:38 PM) i buy from warner. btw, why hellboy in msia is name super sapien? The new movie, Hellboy II: The Golden Army, the title will not be changed. Oh OK bro, no wonder, Batman is from Warner.
aiman04
Jul 4 2008, 02:46 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 4 2008, 02:41 PM) It's just a placeholder bro. It's totally Amazon only, no announcement yet. I think you can also see placeholders for Star Wars and Indiana Jones.  Check this link: http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_ss_d?url=se...blu-ray&x=0&y=0This post has been edited by aiman04: Jul 4 2008, 02:48 PM
aiman04
Jul 5 2008, 07:31 AM
QUOTE(waeguk @ Jul 4 2008, 06:39 PM) So many old movies .... cheh. Not worth upgrading based on some bad transfers in the past. Have you seen "2001: A Space Odyssey"? Or "Patton", etc? Old won't necessarily have bad PQ. Those old movies that was shot on 70mm Panavision could just blow away most of the new 35mm Super35 films.
aiman04
Jul 5 2008, 07:37 PM
The only discs that goes into my PS3 is BD and SACD.
I use a standalone DVD player just for DVD and CD.
aiman04
Jul 6 2008, 08:20 AM
Blu-ray Disc DVD If you're buying blu-ray movies from other than region A, check this site to make sure it's region free (click on the region you're buying from): http://bluray.liesinc.net/*Not all Blu-ray movies got region coding, usually only for new titles, when some other regions may still screening in cinemas. Fox is the only studio that is known to really emphasize on region coding even for old movies.
aiman04
Jul 6 2008, 09:48 PM
QUOTE(Kernkraft400 @ Jul 6 2008, 07:44 PM) Guys please enlighten me on this particular matter that has been bickering in my mind for quite some time. Why do they release the movies on DVDs or Bluerays months after the new movies have been released. Take Batman "THE DARK KNIGHT" for an example. It is due to be released on JULY, but why the hell it is released on Blueray November 18. Theres like 4months in between. I dont think the movie will stay for 4months in the cinema to get enough profit before they're able to release digital copies of the movie. Please reply. Regards. Check the theater release for any movie at IMDB. You'll see that the release day can vary up to 3 months for different countries around the world. And usually theater runs can take up to one month. Don't you think they want everyone to see it in theater first? It's just simple marketing logic.
aiman04
Jul 7 2008, 07:00 AM
Those who bought a BD and found out the price went down after that, write pr call Amazon for a price match and they will refund to you the difference. Only make sure it's within 30 days after your date of purchase. Many of us do that all the time. And for those who still don't understand about release dates, please write to the respective studios around the world and ask them. Thanks. PS: Lucky for me Warner understands that not everyone like the whole trilogy, they're also releasing each parts separately. I'm only buying part 1. This post has been edited by aiman04: Jul 7 2008, 07:03 AM
aiman04
Jul 7 2008, 07:45 AM
QUOTE(callmevil @ Jul 7 2008, 07:40 AM) Question: I can see a bunch of guys here orders blurays from Amazon UK. ermm is it because u guys own region free players and/or a UK PS3? or does Amazon UK sells only region free blurays?? Ive looked at the discs they sell and i cant seem to find any 'region' specification on amazon.. Any info? Check my post few pages back, as quoted here: QUOTE(aiman04 @ Jul 6 2008, 08:20 AM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Blu-ray Disc DVD If you're buying blu-ray movies from other than region A, check this site to make sure it's region free (click on the region you're buying from): http://bluray.liesinc.net/*Not all Blu-ray movies got region coding, usually only for new titles, when some other regions may still screening in cinemas. Fox is the only studio that is known to really emphasize on region coding even for old movies.
aiman04
Jul 7 2008, 11:42 AM
QUOTE(callmevil @ Jul 7 2008, 10:27 AM) hmm does the movies on "http://bluray.liesinc.net/" reflect those being sold in amazon.uk ? it doesnt have info on "run, fat boy, run", "the island" .. and the potc trilogy is not mentioned as well, it only says that the first 2 potc is region free whilst the 3rd isnt.. no mention as to what region it is locked to, but since its sold on amazon.uk, it should be region b.. yes no maybe so? Click on the region that you want to buy the BD from, on top of the website. Locked or not it's respective to the region you chose. I can see Run Fatboy Run and The Island and the Pirate movies. Amazon or any other retailer doesn't matter, it's the BD itself region locked by the studios or not.
aiman04
Jul 7 2008, 12:09 PM
QUOTE(callmevil @ Jul 7 2008, 11:57 AM) ok run fatboy isnt region free  , ok its "island, the", and potc is AB.. alright thx for the info.. hmm weird then as amazon.uk has some bd's thats not released yet in the US but the disc isnt region locked.. same goes to the bds available on amazon.jp which i cannot find on amazon.com / uk.. many thx for the help ladies  That's the only reason we buy it from UK or Japan. Because they're yet to be release in US. Not because they're cheaper, that's for sure.
aiman04
Jul 8 2008, 07:23 AM
From my experience, standard shipping from Amazon UK always arrives in 7 - 8 days including weekends.
aiman04
Jul 8 2008, 12:25 PM
If you guys concerns about lossless audio, please check your order at Amazon UK. Some of them don't have lossless audio, i.e. The Island. Not just Amazon UK, I ordered QED cables from another retailer in UK, arrived just in 7 days also. So it's the UK's Royal Mail that's to be commended (puls the advantage of daily flights).
aiman04
Jul 8 2008, 07:55 PM
QUOTE(ar188 @ Jul 8 2008, 07:15 PM) maybe they meant recorded and compressed from blu-rays lor..  if done properly, can be better than normal DVDs (in terms of higher video bitrates) but still not HD resolution.. Ditto.
aiman04
Jul 9 2008, 06:58 AM
I've tested Shoot 'Em Up again last night. My receiver finally correctly showing 7.1 channels. Sony has fixed the DTS-HD MA 7.1 bug. And if you go to system About, the "LIMITED" is no longer there at the DTS-HD MA logo.
This is the most important fix to me for this 2.41 firmware. The other thing is the upscaling of standard-def content (special features, etc, before this they we not upscaled leaving my TV automatically turn-off the "Just Scan" screen setting). About the 1080i deinterlacing, it will only works if you use 1080i discs (like Celine Dion, etc) and you MUST have a 1080p TV.
Now PS3 is just almost perfect as a BD player. The only thing short is the bitstreaming (which is the exact opposite in standalone players, internal decoding players are more expensive then the only bitstreaming ones).
This post has been edited by aiman04: Jul 9 2008, 07:01 AM
aiman04
Jul 9 2008, 09:56 AM
The new update for upscaling is only for standard-def content in BLU-RAY DISC ONLY. See here for full details: http://asia.playstation.com/hk/ps3/eng/ps3....htm#dvd_outputYour display MUST be full HD, only then you'll see the benefit of 1080i de-interlacing. The Optoma HD65 in not full HD. You'll never get to see 1080p if your display isn't 1080p to begin with. Neoradi, Shoot 'Em Up is mindless action movie that I usually sell after first viewing. But this one is fun and the action is incredible, I keep it just to admire my own 7.1 setup. The PS3 uses the Silicon Image SiI9032, which transmits HDMI 1.3 protocols. Whether the SiI9032 supports bitstream transmission of Dolby TrueHD and dts-HD Master Audio is still a debate. It's not proven to be capable of bitstreaming HBR, but it has not been proven otherwise either. So who knows. Though I'm not hoping for it anyway.
aiman04
Jul 9 2008, 10:19 AM
QUOTE(apisgogo @ Jul 9 2008, 10:15 AM) haha dun la say like that  the main issue is shipping lah of course... usps nowadays becoming less efficient.. quite number of package get loss and slow to arrive.. must use DHL or FedEx on the other hand, DHL & FedEx always no issue with customs rite? Replace always with mostly.
aiman04
Jul 9 2008, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(callmevil @ Jul 9 2008, 11:45 AM) haha i shall lead u to this link. where it says thus... either of us could be right.. but i will stick to my conviction that it is all software.. just like how dts ma was just a another software upgrade.. Spot on. I remember back last year, everyone was saying that PS3 can never decode DTS-HD MA because of hardware limitations, need spearate chip lah, this and that lah... But just look at it now, one firmware update we can enjoy DTS-HD MA already! But I have to be honest, don't hope too much for this bitstreaming thing. This post has been edited by aiman04: Jul 9 2008, 12:09 PM