Sony Ericsson Cyber-Shot C905, 8.1 MegaPixel Camera

chtan
post Oct 9 2008, 02:59 PM

2,353 posts

Beside photo, don't forget that C905 is a dumb os phone while Innov8 is a smartphone. Video quality is another down on C905.
chtan
post Oct 11 2008, 09:47 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(Seaedge @ Oct 9 2008, 04:25 PM)
chtan, dun say dumbphone.. it is featured phone.

Added on October 9, 2008, 4:27 pmand if the price at RM2099 and below, i think it is justified although it is still expensive for a featured phone. but 8mp.. cant except cheap price for initial launch.
Sorry i don't mean to offend anybody, just try to express the opposite of "smart" phone due to the OS used.
chtan
post Oct 11 2008, 08:54 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(yijzen @ Oct 11 2008, 06:14 PM)
i rather carry a dumb phone who has moderately good features than a smart phone which is capable of hitting down thieves unless i'm some policeman. sorry i dont mean to offend anybody, just try to express the opposite of "ugly object" due to the design. =D
But again, i rather carrying a metal case anytime than a plastic toy which look just like my kids fisher price toy^^.

I'm still waiting to see what Nokia has up to their sleeve..Next year the competition is going to be very fierce.

This post has been edited by chtan: Oct 11 2008, 08:55 PM
chtan
post Oct 24 2008, 10:18 AM

2,353 posts

From the latest review on mobile-review, the GPS in C905 sounds like a real dedicated A-GPS, means that you need the network mask in order for it to work (i might be wrong though). This will cost you a bomb if you want to use GPS in other country.
http://www.mobile-review.com/review/sonyer...n-c905-en.shtml

This post has been edited by chtan: Oct 24 2008, 10:50 AM
chtan
post Oct 24 2008, 10:51 AM

2,353 posts

Unlimited access won't help if you go oversea.

This post has been edited by chtan: Oct 24 2008, 10:51 AM
chtan
post Oct 24 2008, 11:44 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(IcedNyior @ Oct 24 2008, 11:18 AM)
cannot just download google maps and use it offline?
Of course if you can get the map to download into the phone. But downloading the map does equal to log-on your location. You need satellite signal to triangulate your position. Unless your phone has a dedicated GPS unit to receive and process the satellite signal itself, you have to rely on network mask to do the job for you, and hence why you need to connect on-line in order for that processed data to relay back to you.
So, even you have the map you still need to get connect to start your AGPS.
chtan
post Oct 24 2008, 12:25 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Oct 24 2008, 12:17 PM)
you talk as like C905 has no GPS... rolleyes.gif

oh i know, cause nothing can beat your beloved innov8...
Not true. I'm actively looking for others better phone to replace my set. In fact, even though Innov8 has a built in GPS but GarminXT still temporary won't be able to run on it. sad.gif
I'm just merely state the truth from the review. Or may be you have other facts regarding C905 that you can share with us.
chtan
post Oct 25 2008, 09:46 AM

2,353 posts

I'm fully aware of what the reviewer said. Whether it can download the map or not is not important and that don't account for the phone is whether a dedicated GPS or A-GPS.
The major factor here is a true GPS unit can log-on into your location as long as your can receive a clear signal from satellite, while AGPS will only able to do that thru. network mask. Due to it lacks of GPS hardware, it needs the network mask to process the satellite data and relay it back to the handset. In actual fact, i would consider it as approximation not log-on. (This software trick can be employ in other normal phone as well, not only C905)
Due to this, when your are oversea, your normal local sim card is not going to work unless you enable roaming and guess what is the cost of using roaming? What if when you are in the jungle for tracking? You loose the phone signal, you loose the AGPS.

This post has been edited by chtan: Oct 25 2008, 09:48 AM

0.0327sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:22 AM