It would sail far when the time comes.
BIMB - Strong Buy!
Dec 24 2010, 06:20 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
23,851 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Welcome all on Board on this ship.
It would sail far when the time comes. |
Jan 15 2011, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Jan 15 2011, 01:12 PM) Banks in Malaysia are considered better governed, as in having strict rules in credit risk policy (adapting Basel II, Basel III). Unlike some other banks in other countries, where the banks over borrowed, and ended up kaboom when there is not enough of cash to turnaround. Good analysis It is also part of the rules set by BNM for banks to adhere to, which is a good point for investor to place their money in banking institute in Malaysia. BIMB is a good start for new entry investor (Considering the capital needed is still small compared to other more matured banks.) Affin is also heading for a good start recently. They had been making good profits since internal management changed (for the better). There will be a lot of prospect in Affin as they continue to grow overseas. BTW, Affin is still trading at Price/Book Value of 1x, others are of 2x. Expanding into Indo markets. BIMB 's Price/book value is good too. This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jan 15 2011, 01:18 PM |
Jan 15 2011, 01:19 PM
Interesting comment from Dali :-
Affin - denied by CIMB and Affin, bottomline Affin will have to merge with someone within 6 months, bottomline, its still cheap ... single girl at a party with drunks, action not over yet. This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jan 15 2011, 05:02 PM |
Jan 15 2011, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(monkeyking @ Jan 15 2011, 08:31 PM) As it is, my investment on these 2 counters had bring me returns of 5 figures $$ & I am still waiting for more returns. Now Maybank had it's hands full with Kim Eng, Hong Leong hands full on EON, Public Bank maybe merger with Hong Leong......so left with which bank, CIMB, Affin, RHB? .....or perhaps BIMB had to seek a foreign partner to buy into it. As it is, in the latest BIMB announcement on Wednesday, 12 Jan 2011 that FOREIGN OWNERSHIP IN BIMB HOLDINGS BERHAD now stands at 1.24% & so still have plenty of room to reach 30% for foreigner ownership.........so, maybe BIMB tied up with a Malaysian Bank or Foreigners? Bank Islam Malaysia Berhad : The First Islamic Bank in Malaysia With an initial authorized capital of RM500 million and a paid-up of RM80 million, the bank embraced the huge challenge of breaking new ground. Its authorized and paid-up capital was increased to RM2 billion and RM563 million respectively, over time, to accommodate the growth of its assets and the expansion and growth of its operations. With a network of 90 branches nationwide, the bank parades a comprehensive list of more than 50 innovative and sophisticated Islamic banking products and services, comparable to those offered by its conventional counterparts. The Shariah-compliant banking products and services also expanded from the traditional savings and investment types to include leasing, stock broking, unit trust management and treasury related products, catering to the personal and commercial needs of Muslims and non-Muslims alike. Being a pioneer, Bank Islam played a leading role in promoting the expansion of Malaysia’s brand of Islamic financial services to markets in the region. As a result, the Bank Islam has become a well-established and well-received brand. ..........just my 2 cents worth. BTW, statement from CIMB forbids CIMB from taking over Affin for the next 6 months, under the new M & A law. On the other hand, careful words from Affin top people like " yes, nothing is impossible " does not prevent them from merging with other banks. So, words may tell their intentions are up to, at least they are careful and trying not to be barred by M & A regulations. |
Jan 20 2011, 09:22 AM
QUOTE(monkeyking @ Jan 20 2011, 02:55 AM) So you can see Affin Bank EPS is only about 34% more than BIMB.......now see the last price ...BIMB $1.49 Affin 3.50 [Affin Bank TP as quoted $4.10]......so what should BIMB share price be actually? Personally for me, as in the past and still presently, I prefer to invest in undervalued small capital stocks ( including these 2) though these stocks , or rather many do not attract most analysts attraction to write something good about them. In fact, it is quite scary to see many analysts upgrading some fat chips like Gamuda with a fair value of PE 30X, and on the other hand , sad to see some aggressive selling by some big shareholders( Gamuda ) are going on. If you visit Bursa web, you would know what I mean. Though many analysts shy away from these undervalued small caps, I would continue to pick these up. I have personally been rewarded with good return from small cap like Mitra, and I know many more ( like these 2 banks ) could be on the way. I also like Sapuracrest and Kencana ( some times back ) , highlighted them in their earlier stages of transformations ( like what you do now ), though many investors poured cold water on them ( or rather on me ) . Now Kencana is top rated in less than a year period. Sapuracrest is 2 to 3x from where we first brought out the subject matter ( can be verified in Sapuracrest thread if you want ) All the best to you, brother and thanks for updating us always. This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jan 20 2011, 10:12 AM |
Jan 20 2011, 04:09 PM
Hi guys,
There is an offer to buy UOA at not less than 1.3x Price/Book Value. It Could fetch higher price if it is to be let go to parties outside the community. Right now , Affin NTA is rm 3.50, and BIMB is about rm 1.50. So judge your own This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jan 20 2011, 04:10 PM |
Jan 26 2011, 12:25 PM
QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Jan 26 2011, 11:50 AM) neither do I believe FA fully works, but I keep an open mind on both. its the timing to buy or sell, graph cums in This is the power of FA. Give me one stock TA can do the saiddo continue sharing ur FA on other shares in ur watchlist eh... y so much love? From Zaman, Yup, I know how crazy it can be. China Shen Zhou Mining & Resources Inc. (Public, AMEX:SHZ) China Shen Zhou Mining & Resources, Inc. (CSZM) is engaged in the exploration, development, mining and processing of fluorite, zinc, lead, copper, and other nonferrous metals in the People’s Republic of China March 2009 = 0.25-34cts December 1, 2010 $2.45 December 15 $4.60 December 27 $4.55 December 29 $9.29 January 7, 2011 $8.97 January 25, 2011 $6.19 My Quote : Time to read an interesting story:- In Australia, there are some mining stocks which were trading at very cheap prices around 10-20 cents before they found the minerals underneath the mining land. However, their shares rocketed to the sky once they found the minerals such as gold, copper, tin, gas or rare earth. There is a stock named Sanfire which traded at 9cts in May last year and had since sky-rocketed to more than A$7.00 now as they found big deposits of copper in its mine worth about A$5-6 billion at current market value. Another stock named Karoon Gas drilling for oil and gas off N-W part of Australia, has its share price zoomed from a few cents to more than $8 now!! In year 2005, a share called Redback Minerals Resource which has a very small market cap found gold in West Africa and saw its market cap. zoomed to $6 billion currently traded in Canada stock Exchange. In view of this, many Malaysians might not be aware of the craziness of share prices of mineral companies overseas. * This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jan 26 2011, 12:26 PM |
Jan 27 2011, 07:06 AM
QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Jan 27 2011, 01:39 AM) we both hav been fighting since day1 OK let try on one stock. My FA says it could go up to above rm one, time frame is 6 months to 1 year. This stock rose from 16sen to 56sen now.So how am I going to giv u one stock, which TA can do the said since u say u got power of FA, at wat price would u rekomen to enter bimb? $1.70 and average downwards from there? or y dun u giv one FA stock tat can do the said & we'll measure its performance in the coming weeks all I can see from the bimb graph is anything below $1.30 is ok to buy or anything above $1.90 anything in between is a congestion & tidur time. does buy high, sell higher works in bolehland? furthermore, I only have cincai data available to do improper analysis on bolehland shares for usa shares, I got access to uncincai data. eg [attachmentid=2017244] [attachmentid=2017243] to compare with usa, wat do u think of ownership by mgt, banks & funds? do u consider it important? if u hav data showing u no. of funds increasing every quarter? do u consider it important? how do u see where the previous volume support, resistance & moving averages is without a graph? do u consider it important? well if u consider it unimportant. wat can I say? our experience differs & its difficult for a fish to tell a bird how nice it is to live underwater we can continue our argument in a specific thread once u decided on ur share via solely FA Quotes from Warren Buffett : “If a business does well, the stock eventually follows. HWGB 9601, could your TA believe it ? This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jan 27 2011, 08:15 AM Attached thumbnail(s) |
Jan 27 2011, 10:27 AM
QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Jan 27 2011, 10:10 AM) hmm, ur FA choice cums with a graph Haha,anyway, its revenue looking good, but the net profit needs some further hard work if its net profit increase, then ur target can reach, but tis looks like a goreng share http://biz.thestar.com.my/marketwatch/fin_...?searchstr=9601 I dun use metastock or any software for those deep TA, mine is KISS method looking at graph itself, would say all indicators shows overbought, a pullback is required to shake weak holders 47 sen or 41 sen seems a safer level to enter BUT I hav no position in it & wun enter it either http://biz.thestar.com.my/marketwatch/char...9=0.813&comurl= if u recall the discussion of TA on fkli, the TA indicators shows oversold & should go down further but its a gamble to decide where the turning point is, bcoz indicators are extremely lagging as time goes by, u will get the hang of tis art & decide when to enter This stock looks very much like a goreng stock, or in fact it is a goreng stock. But you have info or indications of many tonnes of tin are hiding below their lands, and further expansion of land from 500 acres to 1000 acres, then it is about FA. They have other minerals too. Do check the tin price too. http://www.msmelt.com/ BTW, their tin mine is going to start after CNY, and tin price is likely to be firm for coming 6 months, so do not know how it could go back to 41sen soon. Profit may multiply if everything is in order after spending 3 long years of planning and bad economy in between. Chart is for you to see how price moves in one simple picture. This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jan 27 2011, 10:55 AM Attached image(s) |
Jan 27 2011, 12:38 PM
QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Jan 27 2011, 11:32 AM) so u r banking on future earnings, interesting article for u haha,http://allaboutinvestment531.blogspot.com/...g-ventures.html buy the rumor, sell the news & which ceo doesn't promote his own co can anyone giv detailed graph analysis which shows some indicators with volume, daily & weekly timeframe? no doubt tin prices going up [attachmentid=2017573] price shoot up 100% after the extreme bad report from the edge. Who are buying then .....must be the sharks from the Edge lo Malaysia Boleh |
Jan 27 2011, 04:22 PM
Oklah, sold my HWGH to support BIMB
Jan 27 2011, 04:26 PM
Jan 27 2011, 06:33 PM
This stock should worth at least rm 2.25 , 1.5 x1.5 ( price/book value )
Sadly, TA people did paint a lousy picture But do have faith with Warren Buffett : “If a business does well, the stock eventually follows" This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jan 27 2011, 06:35 PM |
Jan 27 2011, 09:17 PM
QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Jan 27 2011, 08:06 PM) Can start with this one first :-http://malaysiafinance.blogspot.com/2010/1...-with-bimb.html |
Feb 7 2011, 02:27 PM
QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Jan 27 2011, 07:06 AM) OK let try on one stock. My FA says it could go up to above rm one, time frame is 6 months to 1 year. This stock rose from 16sen to 56sen now. 9601 did touch rm one today Quotes from Warren Buffett : “If a business does well, the stock eventually follows. HWGB 9601, could your TA believe it ? |
Feb 26 2011, 09:48 AM
Well said MonkeyKing You have my strong supports |
Mar 5 2011, 09:35 AM
Thanks Monkeyking,
Beside BIMB, do you have any latest report on Affin plse. Your Updates whether it is raining or sunshine is greatly appreciated. BTW, Bolehland should grab the opportunities to expand KL International Islamic Hub aggressively in view of certain setbacks in the Arab World. By putting more expertise in BIMB in a way is working towards that objective Best Regards This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Mar 5 2011, 10:06 AM |
Mar 5 2011, 05:25 PM
QUOTE(monkeyking @ Mar 5 2011, 04:17 PM) |
Mar 5 2011, 08:36 PM
Easier stake rule to boost smaller banks
A Higher foreign shareholding level for Malaysia's commercial banks would benefit smaller lenders in need of capital and expertise. This could be welcomed by banks like Alliance Financial Group Bhd and Affin Holdings Bhd, analysts said. "This will in turn place them in a stronger position to compete against the bigger banks and also the increased number of locally incorporated foreign banks in Malaysia. "A longer term investment horizon with the higher equity participation may also encourage the smaller banks to invest in expanding their branch networks in the smaller rural towns," said OSK Research in a report yesterday. Yesterday, Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak told Reuters he was open to Australia & New Zealand Banking Group raising its stake in AMMB Holdings Bhd to 49 per cent from 30 per cent now. Currently, the limit for foreigners is 30 per cent. "This sends a clear message to foreign investors, and it is a good message. It addresses the calls by foreign investors of further liberalisation in the banking sector. "This is certainly significant news, and I believe it is the first of many steps to come," said Jupiter Securities head of research Pong Teng Siew when contacted. OSK believes a higher shareholding level will help improve the competitiveness and vibrancy of the domestic financial sector, compared with issuing new licences. "New foreign banks are unlikely to invest heavily in infrastructure or develop the rural banking landscape in small towns," it said. It is also not too concerned that stiffer competition would pressure local banks' domestic margins. "We view it as a necessary measure to encourage our domestic banks to place greater efforts and commitment in expanding their regional presence, which would transform our local banks into truly regional banking heavyweights," said OSK, which maintained a "buy" call on the sector, with CIMB, Maybank, and RHB Capital as its top picks. Read more: Easier stake rule to boost smaller banks http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIM.../#ixzz1FjCJBrkq |
Mar 29 2011, 05:39 PM
QUOTE(monkeyking @ Mar 29 2011, 02:49 PM) Well done , MonkeyKing.Hopefully BIMB becomes an International Key Player in Islamic Finance. Malaysia would lead in term of Democracy cum Islamic Finance in the world. These two would work hand in hand in the new trend towards Prosperity for the mankind, particularly for the Arab World. And just my view. This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Mar 29 2011, 05:39 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0396sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:00 PM |