Samsung Samsung OMNIA :: SGH-i900, omni u..can make the world seem bright..

WyLuxx
post Aug 25 2008, 09:01 PM

nutz
1,718 posts

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Aug 25 2008, 05:01 PM)
who interested in this http://www.zagg.com/invisibleshield/samsun...ins-shields.php

is a skin for samsung i900 i am doing a mass order on this..
looks impressive. though skeptical, i am interested in the full body one. keep me informed pls.
WyLuxx
post Aug 26 2008, 10:17 PM

nutz
1,718 posts

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Aug 26 2008, 09:59 PM)
wtf?? why all the hype on nokia map 2.0??

anyway i just combine the garmin maps + speed trap + police ambush POI for my omnia...huhuhu...save me from kena saman in a road block yesterday..
i use mapking and port splitter. doesnt have all these bells and whistles. maybe i dont know how to incorporate police and speed trap poi's.
anyway, it is a great phone. more intuitive and the sms's have become chat-like.
WyLuxx
post Sep 2 2008, 04:40 PM

nutz
1,718 posts

SAMSUNG OMNIA PROUD OWNERS' LIST

1. lynxs Omnia 16G FMG set
2. seanmilk Omnia 16G Sg set
3. sunn Omnia 16G FMG set
4. Hyde`fK Omnia 8GB FMG set 18 months w/ hard cover/screen proctector RM2550
5. antnine Omnia 16GB SG set (looking for samsung original pouch)
6. Omnian 16GB Sg set + external 8GB
7. rayfoo Omnia 16G FMG set
8. adwong Omnia 16GB Sg set
9. jimmy.soo Omnia 8GB FMG set 18 months /w hard cover/screen
10. oldfox Omnia 16GB SG set
11. hellfire8888 omnia 16gb FMG set 18 month warranty /w hard cover/screen
12. Maks pain 16gb FMG set
13. Revamperz - 8G FMG set
14.avislee
15.ericchan - 8GB + 8GB microSDHC (black +G4 fw)
16.redx's Cousin
17.kev da man
18.RX-78-2
19.redlum - 16GB
20.irenic - + 4GB microSDHC
21.index7 - 8GB
22.chikan
23.sukhoi35mk - black colour
24.keeekeee - 8GB + 8GB microSDHC
25.aero - 16GB
26.cyber_snake
27.dennooze
28.accs_centre - + 2GB microSD
29.coolboy_kl - 16GB
30.shahnakal - 8GB
31. lk_chin - 16GB
32. aero - 16GB
33. Kennexionz Omnia 8GB FMG set /w hard cover/screen/8GB MicroSD
34. chuah_ph - 8GB FMG w/ Screen & Pouch (RM2550)
35. Peeky - 8GB fmg w/ screen & pouch / 4 gig microsd
36. kinseong - 16GB (FMG) w/ Original Samsung Pouch, Original Samsung Screen Protector (RM2850)
37. Wyluxx - 8GB
WyLuxx
post Sep 2 2008, 06:02 PM

nutz
1,718 posts

just now my omnia shut down on its own a few minutes after i checked the battery level. i was very sure cos i was on the road using gps. it showed 50%, so i quit garmin, closed all programs (end all tasks). made sure the bluetooth was off also. Port splitter was off cos i wasnt using mapking. (i used an external gps unit instead of the internal one cos i think this way, the juice would not run out so fast)
the shut down was a tune and the screen showing omina disappearing. it wouldnt boot, wouldnt reset despite me taking the battery out and reinserting.
i went home and started recharging. i could turn the phone straight back on, albeit a reboot.
pressed the charging icon and true enuf, the battery level was at 50% and charging. thought it should be less than 5%. strange experience.

This post has been edited by WyLuxx: Sep 2 2008, 06:04 PM
WyLuxx
post Sep 5 2008, 10:55 AM

nutz
1,718 posts

just made a discovery last night. if you use today 2 as your today screen, if u tap on the phonebook icon on the top, you would be presented with 9 of boxes in a 3x3 array where most of us have put pics of our most-frequent contacts.
if you use your finger to slide the screen upwards, you will discover that in fact, the 'contacts array' is actually 9x3.
making a total of 27 contacts in the phonebook. only 9 out of 27 would be visible at any time.
WyLuxx
post Sep 7 2008, 11:20 PM

nutz
1,718 posts

QUOTE(arshad @ Sep 7 2008, 07:06 PM)
Does this PDA typing on-screen keyboard easy? biggrin.gif
this phone has what is called 'samsung keyboard' amongst other modes of input which i almost always use. i am a new samsung user, previously from dopod 838pro, so i dont know if this samsungkeyboard is new or not.
basically this keyboard looks like your typical qwerty on the surface. at first,i thought, oh no, how am i gonna type with my stumpy fingers. but fear not. it has a little intelligence built into it. it intuitively guesses what you want to type in english that is. for example, if you want to type the word 'example' but typed 'wcanpkw' instead ('w' is next to 'e' and 'c' is next to 'x' and so on), it can guess correctly that you wanted 'example', and present it to you to choose. my example here is just an illustration.
graffiti on the other hand is not as good as my ex-dopod. the strokes dont get registered fast enuf and i have to write more slowly on the omnia, which made me migrate to using samsung keyboard.
WyLuxx
post Sep 17 2008, 12:08 AM

nutz
1,718 posts

bought an ori car charger for the omnia for RM29 at samsung summit. dont know why my other charger (for external GPS) could not be used to charge the omnia.
WyLuxx
post Sep 17 2008, 11:30 AM

nutz
1,718 posts

QUOTE(tsh98 @ Sep 17 2008, 01:33 AM)
i juz installed garmin mobile XT, but cant find d signal, always 'acquiring satellites'...
hw long usually it take 2 get d signal for d 1st time?  icon_question.gif
that is why i still use an external BT GPS device and leave it on the dashboard. that is for speed of acquiring satellites. However, battery life running only garmin (with the internal GPS off) with external BT GPS eats up juice at the same rate i think.
WyLuxx
post Oct 6 2008, 11:32 PM

nutz
1,718 posts

QUOTE(natzakaria @ Oct 6 2008, 11:24 PM)
In the phone keypad type: *#0002*28346#
You will then have a screen pop up called audio control util.
whoa! scary no nonsense interface. didnt dare mess with it.
WyLuxx
post Oct 9 2008, 07:50 PM

nutz
1,718 posts

eversince i installed spb shell v2.1.2, my phone hangs frequently. or responses very slowly. anyone shares this experience?
considering uninstalling it or a hard reset to factory default.

0.0449sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:17 AM